We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This place was amazing even if there was some construction going on
The only thing that bothered me was that we couldn't swim in the ocean but we were fully aware before we booked
Would definitely return if we are looking for a quiet and romantic getaway
We are night owls so we had to go downtown for action after 9pm

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidnme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Kidnme2014

Thank you for your great comments and scores. We understand what you mention about the beach, but we really encourage our guest to not clinb the rocks next to us and to swim on the ocean as we do not want anyone to spoil their vacation time.
The major construction you will find it at the entrance as we are working on our new lobby, but after that all our 5 pools, and restaurant have the best views, where you can only hear the waves.

Thank you again for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,517
    306
    84
    28
    29
See reviews for
989
1,209
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Ca
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This place is great for pampering and relaxing. The food is fabulous as are all the guest services. The views are the best, you can take a short hike to Lovers Beach (tennis shoes recommended) or walk into town. The rooms are fabulous and immaculate with everything you need to perpare your own or get ready for a night out. If you want a little more of a party time, take the always ready free shuttle to Playa Grande as a sister to Grand Solmar, you can still charge to your room while playing some pool or beach volleyball or just having drinks while watching the action! Everyone I met who Grand Solmar employs is the best of the best. I can't wait to get back there!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic, I would shoot for a higher floor is all, but it's not necessary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katoz2550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Katoz2550

We would like to thank you for your marvellous words, we are here to pamper every single guest, we know that you do not come just for vacation, but to live an experience; and that is what makes us different.

We are delighted you like our food, rooms, and the service.

Thank you for consider us the best!

We feel honor and proud. We will be waiting for you for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I cannot say enough good things about Grand Solmar! I am an owner and this was the best thing my husband and I ever bought! Beautiful views, GREAT people taking care of our every need, beautifully located on the Pacific so it's very private and quiet as well as a wonderful beach to walk on or just sit in the infinity pool and watch the waves! Walking distance to town but cabs are right there if u want one. You cannot go wrong with visiting and staying at Grand Solmar!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Cindy

Thank you so much. Sometimes is very difficult to buy new things, we are affraid to do it as we do not know what to expect. We are completely satisfied that you feel this was the best thing you have ever bought.
This makes us feel great but at the same time, we have a major compromise with you and all our other guest.

See you next time, we will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We purchased this trip on Expedia when the price was right. We stayed in an oceanfront, 1 bedroom Grand Suite. It was clean, spacious, well appointed & had a large balcony with 4 chairs/chaise lounges. The suite included a separate "master" bedroom that had a door for privacy, a large bathroom, sitting area, large closet and balcony access. My mother-in-law & daughter slept in the Murphy bed and said it was comfortable. They also had their own full bath. The kitchen was very clean and user friendly. There is a coffee pot in the room, and a 12 oz. bag of delicious coffee provided at a cost of $16.99 USD. I highly recommend bringing your own powdered creamer & sugar, or stopping to buy some when you arrive in Cabo. (there is a convenient store very close) You can't beat the location! It is definitely within walking distance to the marina area. The beach was gorgeous, clean, soft sand and men were patrolling the beach by foot and on 4 wheelers when we were there. I must note that you could NOT swim when we were there. I don't know how often it's "Red Flag" but you couldn't even put your feet in the water due to the strong undertow. (note: no chairs or shade at the beach either, but also NO VENDORS, which can drive you crazy selling their junk) It's a great beach to walk. We also saw numerous whales on a daily basis. The pools were so nice that we never missed swimming in the ocean. There was also PLENTY of shade in the pool area. The entire property was immaculate & nicely landscaped and each employee we encountered was very friendly & helpful. Most all of them spoke very good English.

One thing to mention is that this property IS under construction. They started about 9 AM but noise never bothered us. Due to the construction, there is NO GYM on property. You are allowed to use the gym at their other property, Playa Grande, which is about a 10 minute walk. We were told it was a $10 fee for using their gym, however, upon check out, we were not charged.

We ate at LaRoca for breakfast, lunch & diner and the food was outstanding! (Try the Green Squash Blossom Enchilada for breakfast! OUTSTANDING!)The waiters were very friendly and accommodating. I actually gave my 1st "Trip Advisor" pin for excellent service to Juan from the state of Guerro. He had just the right touch of personality, humor and was always willing to go above and beyond. They do set "small plates" of toasted bread/jam at your table for breakfast and a sampling of black bean/salsas & taco chips at lunch. I overheard one woman tell them to take the bread/jam away. She told her friend that they "put it down" but charge you for it. However, we didn't see a charge for this on our bills. When in doubt, ask! I have seen some people on TA complain about slow service. I look at it as they are allowing us to enjoy our food and the beautiful view of the ocean. I'd rather have them not rush me! There is also a coffee shop on property that is open in the morning if you HAVE to have your flavored lattes or specialty coffee drinks. It only takes cash. (US dollars accepted)

A few things to note: because the hotel is built on the side of the rocky mountains, there are LOTS of levels. There are elevators to get to your rooms, but around the pools & restaurants, main entrance, etc., there are LOTS of stairs which would not be easily maneuvered if you are in a wheel chair or on crutches. Maybe this will be better post construction??? This IS a timeshare property. Upon check in they will ask you to attend a free breakfast and then they will show you the property. It lasts 2 hrs. They also give you hotel credits for food, spa discounts, etc. You can tell them no, but they are pretty persistent. (just doing their job) My daughter, mother-in-law and I showed up without my husband but they said they needed him to be there, so we didn't do the tour and didn't reschedule. And finally, The taxi service at the hotel was fast & reliable. Seemed like anywhere you went in town, it was an $8 - $10 ride for the 4 of us. Also the cab drivers accepted US Dollars as did most places in town.

I highly recommend Grand Solmar at Land's End! If you want a beautiful hotel with great service, great location, friendly staff and a hotel that is on the "quiet" side as opposed to a raucous spring break crowd, then this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: We were in Building 2 on the 4th floor. Great location to pool and close enough to the front of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 681TracyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear 681 TracyG

Thank you so much for your comments reagrding your most recent visit to our hotel. That you experience was phenomenal ( loved that you enjoyed your master suite, the landscape, grounds,

We inform our guest that we always have the red flag because of the proximity we have with the pacific ocean. I deeply apologies for any inconvenience you may had with the construction noise. But at the same time, you sahre what most of our guest express to us: that it really do not spil your vacation, and never bothered you. We expect to have the gym by next year.
I am delighted that you loved our restaurant! Our Chef ad staff in general will be very happy when i share this comment with them. I also try once the Enchiladas, i love them! And what can i say about Juanito! He is really the best. And with a great personality. And we do not charge for what you mention as this is part of your breakfast experience. I definetly sahre what you mention about the service, but at the same time we are definetly listening also to our other reviewers and take action on this matter.

We thank you for your recommendations, your observations are very accurate regarding taxis, hostess and many other aspects you mention. We will have many corridors along with stairs. There is a lot of walkin g, but i thing that the way our hotel is design is perfect as you can also sit and enjoy the views or the pools along the way.

We would be honor to welcome you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The facility,service, and ambiance compare to the finest resorts anywhere. This is the southernmost resort on the Baja peninsula and feels very private. The beach is not swimmable but the walks, huge waves, and views are wonderful. There are no vendors on the beach to distract. This is a very arid area so bugs aren't a problem most of the year. October and November might be different in rainy season. The grounds are impeccably maintained. One of the few resorts we have been to where there has not been pressure on poolside lounge chairs and they a very nice quality as well. No fussing about towels either.

There are currently only 210 rooms in the resort but it is expanding and that's where there is a bit of a rub. The construction noise can be annoying. We were in building number two facing the ocean so we were not disturbed except while at one of the many pools. One of the buildings is occupied even though construction continues on the top floors and others are close. I would recommend the furthest south buildings closer to the adult pool or the building we were in.

It is an easy walk to the marina where many of the tours originate and only a bit further beyond that to town. A harder climb over the rocks south of the resort (Lands End) will get you to the Sea of Cortez and swimmable beaches.


The food at the resort is very good and varied. Service is Mexican style and can be a bit slow but who cares when your relaxed. We used the available meal plan which turns the resort into an all inclusive. If you like drinking alcoholic beverages and eating three meals a day this is a very good value. No low end liquor brands either. It was $108.00 per day per person and all persons per room had to sign up. After that we only paid tips, tours, and spa.

The concierge was very helpful in arranging tours and making reservations. The staff is very well trained. Don't worry about having a lot of Pesos because dollars are accepted for most everything and a lot of things are priced in dollars or both currencies. Don't worry about language issues either because you might as well be in the United States.

The massages on the beach at Grand Solmar are very nice but the full service spa is at the sister resort Playa Grande. You can use all the restaurants and facilities at Playa Grande and it is a quick shuttle ride. The restaurant Puerto San Lucas there is very good. Playa Grande is more of a party resort so you can get your fix and return to a more peaceful environment at Grand Solmar. If you are on the meal plan you can use restaurants at both resorts. There is a very small market at Grand Solmar and a larger one at Playa Grande. Some people with families go to Walmart or Costco to stock their rooms.

We had a Master Suite with an adjoining Studio Suite. The rooms are huge and the décor and build outs very nice. Quality abounds. We faced northwest toward the ocean and over the sunset pool and our balcony was private and very large. Maid service was thorough. Beds are very good and the kitchen well equipped.

We were there at the end of whale migration and caught up to a few on a boat excursion. We also went fly boarding which a new activity which it can be somewhat physically demanding and definitely expensive. Pretty cool though. Excursions are easy to arrange.

This resort is on the expensive side of things but worth it in every way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaneB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Lane

We are delighted that you loved the decor of the room, our concierge, spa, and maid service, the ambience and service in general, grounds, privacy of our beach, and that you aprecciated the no problems regarding the towel service. Still we are doing our best to always remind people that they can not sabe towels early morning. We are very proud to let everyone kn ows that we have now 216 units.

I will share your comments with our Chef Héctor and our F&B manager Isaac on respect of the food and the service.

Thank you again for your visit, we are satisfied that you not only enjoyed our resort, but Cabo in general.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is like a fortress of solitude. In 10 minutes you can walk to the main marina in Cabo and enjoy all of the touristy attractions and be back at this nice quite resort in the same amount of time. My wife and I came here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We splurged on the suite. Very nice. We had a massage on the beach today. The massage was fantastic. I recommend Lqoru and Gissel. The staff is attentive. Eben makes the tastiest margaritas I have ever had. The property is built into a natural rock cliff. Never been anywhere like this. Never been to Cabo before and I will be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ganta07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear ganta07

Thank you so much for your great comments about the massage you just receive at our location. We will share it with our staff, and also with Eben from the lobby bar who really prepare the best margaritas posible. I invite every guest to visit him and taste them. Congratulations for your anniversary, we love to receive guest that are celebrating something special for them.

We would love to welcome you back for your 26th, 27th or 30th special celebration. We are here for you always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My friend and I had the most wonderful massage experience with Karen & Nataly. They treated us like royalty and made us feel so comfortable. Their skill level is high and very professional yet they are also warm and friendly.The setting is amazing right next to Lands End and the Lovers Arch. The serenity and peacefulness will never be forgotten. Thank you girls!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiltlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Kiltlover

We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your most recent visit to our Spa área, where you were pamper by Nataly and Karen. You deserve to be treated like royalty. Our trainings programs continue to develop, and you can count on us that we have the most skilled staff possible.

We are delighted to know that you have a great time, we are definetly in the best location.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,201 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
882 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing