We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just spent a week at Grand Solmar in a 1 bdrm master suite. I gave it a 5 star for what it is - a really great property & experience (it's not a Ritz or St. Regis). The Property: really high end, great pools, waterfalls, a unique beach setting with towering rock formations behind the property and on either ends of the beach. Beach is beautiful and walkable but not swimable - fairly large crashing waves which really add to the ambiance. No beach chairs on the sand, it's a pool place but the beach begins where your pool ends and it's ~30 yards to the water. Room furnishings and size of room top of the line, good sized balconies, kitchens equipped to cook. As good as the pictures you'll see. All the accolades given to the property in Trip Advisor are true. The Staff: top notch all of the way around, aiming to please from housekeeping to the bar staff. Jesus Peluche at the Brisas pool bar is the most welcoming professional you'll come across; also Carlos and chef Hilaria (and others) working with Jesus top notch. Literally everyone from the time you get out of your car is looking to take care of you. We experienced a fast, unexpected strong storm one morning. Pool chairs/umbrellas/cabanas thrown in the pool, temporary structures being used for the construction collapsed, etc. was fixed within hours, like something out of a Disney World transformation back to normal. Transportation: Cabo Transfers was great to/from the airport (ask for Miguel, charming young professional driver with a lot of local knowledge to share). They are there at the airport holding your name with a sign and pick you up at our hotel day of departure on time. You can book online. Cabo taxis are everywhere and very efficient ($8 for a 2-5 minute ride; $12 5-10 minutes, etc.). Seems more expensive than a big city so bring your small bills. Other: be aware, Cabo is not that cheap. 16% tax on everything so by the time you add tax/tip you're 33% over the list prices. Restaurants: only ate bar food on property (excellent). Recommended restaurants on Trip Advisor are accurate. You see a lot of 4/5 star ratings and I agree, standards are pretty high overall. We're food snobs and when I say food snob we can enjoy a dinner at Per Se in NYC as much as we can the best Chicago hot dog. Wine is a challenge - you won't see many recognizable labels so good luck. Had great experiences at Solomon's Landing, Baja Cantina on the Marina & Maria Corona (same owner), Hacienda Cocina y Cantina; regret not making it to Edith's (same owner as The Office and Maria Jimenez) or Mama's Royal Cafe for bfast. Mi Suenos on the Marina cooked our Dorado (Mahi Mahi) catch from a fishing trip 7 different ways and it was killer! Quite a chef working there. Some big fisherman guy said Mi Suenos does it better than anyone he's had in the world cook his fish, and I'm not arguing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jab k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jab k

We are delighted with your comments. I am sure a lot of guest will find your recommendations very good and accurate, as there are a lot of options to do in Cabo.
As you mention, what we experience this past thursday was something unexpected for everyone in Cabo, there were even boats already at the Ocean when everything starts at 715am. Thank god nothing serious happen, but it was really something difficult to describe. I really thank you and our other guest for your patience during the hours after this happen, that allows us to put everything back to normal, and of course i thank my staff, it will be imposible to achieve this without them and the people from the Obra.

We would love to welcome you back to our resort anytime soon.

Thank you for sharing your lands end experience and for mentioning our famous bartender Jesús Peluche, who always have a smile for everyone here at the resort.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 3,027 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just returned from a wonderful family vacation and had to acknowledge the incredible resort and staff. It was the nicest resort I have ever stayed at, and I've stayed at several top notch resorts around the world. The beauty, exclusivity, privacy, and excellent food and staff at this resort made it a place you did not want or have to leave. My children, 11 & 6 yrs old were treated so kindly by all the staff, but a special "shout out" to Julio Cesar who works at the pool bars. He was so cool and friendly to my kids, they just wanted to hang out with "Jul" and he'd chat with them for hours. Ultimately, the staff at this resort is what made our experience so special. But the views, location, and privacy of this ocean front resort were a very close second to the staff! :) Thank you all for a wonderful vacation experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank polaricejr404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear polaricejr404

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful experience!
Julio will be delighted as we are right now to read this, it is always satisfying when one of our staff members receive this comments from one of our guest. Thank you for this.

We work really hard every day to keep surpassing our guest expectations, in all áreas, like more trainings in Spa, housekeeping, servers, front desk etc.

It will be a great honor to welcome all your family again to our resort. Jul and all of us will be here to pamper you again as you deserve!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from an incredible stay at the Grand Solmar. If you're coming to Cabo, look no further. Here are some observations and tips:

We purchased our airport shuttle vouchers through the Solmar Resorts website. This was economical and went without a hitch.

I've read several reviews that mentioned the construction as a detractor. To us, this was much ado about nothing. Any sounds coming from the construction area were outdone by the sound of crashing waves on the beach. We were in room 6805 and had a perfect view of the main pool and ocean. Feel free to request a room away from the construction area and they will accommodate upon availability.

Upon check-in a concierge will attempt to schedule you for a 1-1/2 hour time share presentation. If you have no interest in purchasing one, politely decline and you will not hear another word regarding this.

You have an option to purchase an all-inclusive meal plan. This is an excellent choice if you intend to spend much of your time at the resort. We did this for the first 3 days and got our money's worth. We thoroughly enjoyed drinks at the swim up bars Brisas and Las Olas. Many thanks to Jesus, Jose, Sabino and the rest of the team! We also highly recommend dining at Don Luis and La Roca restaurants as part of your all-inclusive experience. The food and service were outstanding. Compliments to Francisco (from Puebla), Francisco (from Tequila), Leonardo, and everyone who made our experiences top notch!

When in town, consider Mama's for breakfast, Maro's for dinner, and Cabo Wabo for drinks and entertainment. This is obviously a short list out of a multitude of options, but highly recommended nonetheless.

Everything begins and ends with the exceptional service at the Grand Solmar. Staff were friendly, helpful and pay close attention to detail. Their mission is to ensure you have a five-star experience. We certainly did and will be going back soon!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank KL8RBYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear KL8RBYE

We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about your most recent stay!
You are correct in what our misión is. You are here to enjoy, and relax, to do not worry about anything; and that our staff services fullfill this is something we treasure a lot.
It is very important for me to clarify that part of the construction at the momento is getting done at the arrival as we need to finish the lobby building. But passing that, it is very hard for you to hear any noise at all. Also, the person that invite you to a presentation, is a Time share hostess, not a concierge, is very important for me to clarify this, as our concierge are in the same lobby but they have completely different things to do, equaly important, Our concierge asisst you with your shuttle reservations and activities to town.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our meal plan package, and it is always pleasant to know that our pool staff Jesús, Jose, Sabino, and our restaurant staff Francisco, Leo, PAncho did a great job.

Thank you again for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

As owners at Grand Solmar ever since the pre-construction phase, we couldn't be happier with our chosen spot. Early mornings watching whales, walks around the marina for breakfast, afternoons reading books by one of the many infinity pools, fruit smoothies and wonderful service all make for a perfect vacation. Close enough to walk to all the "action" but far enough away to enjoy a private, quiet getaway.

Although pricey, dinners at the hotel's restaurant are excellent, served in a superb setting. Therefore, we save onsite dining for special occasions and opt for walking into town to take advantage of the many local culinary delights on most evenings. Kitchens in the condos are well-equipped, so dining at home is another option for those who like to cook and enjoy the best views anywhere.

I want to make special mention of Bruce at the front desk, who has been helpful and courteous, despite having to handle a thankless job, fielding complaints, answering requests, keeping everyone happy. Thank you, Bruce!

We can't wait for our next visit in January-February 2015!

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent ocean views. Those with children may want to stay in the new building with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LizattheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear LizattheLake

It is very satisfying to receive reviews like yours, that have been with us since the very beginning more tan 3 years ago when we begin this adventure. That we keep surpassing your expectations is priceless to us. You can make sure we will share your comments with our general staff including our Chefs and Bruce at the front desk.

Thank you again, See you next year.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Solmar in Cabo is my favorite hotel in this area as it is right on the Pacific Ocean and has fabulous views. The area is full of wonderful things to do and the food in the hotel as well as in the surrounding area, was fabulous. My wife and I went deep sea fishing and booked our boat for the day with the Solmar. We caught more fish than any other boat the day we went out; 4 Dorado (Mahi Mahi) and 15 tuna. As soon as we docked, the fish was brought to the business that cleans and flash freezes them and when you are ready to head home, they deliver the fish to you for the trip.
My favorite part of this story is that we were able to take one of the Dorado to the restaurant where they took great care in preparing it for our dinner in the restaurant that night. Naturally we could not eat the whole fish, so we took our dinner and then gave the remainder of the fish to the restaurant help and it was greatly appreciated.
We walked to the end of the beach and looked at the famous archway that made this beach famous. Be careful if you swim on the Pacific side of the beach as the undertow is serious.
I loved this area, this hotel, and best f all, the people. I would head back here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean and the sunsets at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerrymacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear JerrymacG

What a great story to share; it just feel great fun, and also amazing at the same time. We are delighted that your stay with us along with your fishing trip was perfect.
It is truth that our beach is very special as it is private, very few people can accesss this beach, maybe a few surfers, but it never get crowded.

We are here for you and we love that you share expereinces like this ones with us and pour fellow readers.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This year our family visited Cabo San Lucas and stayed at the Grand Solmar. Very nice resort! The interior design of our suite was fantastic, cozy yet modern. Our view is something that I am still missing to this day. The pool(s) are also very nice with the infinity pool being the major draw. The resort is closely located to the Marina so it is in a very convenient spot. All of the staff were excellent with us. We are already planning to come back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeSG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear MikeSG2014

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at lands end. We are delighted that you loved our resort in general. Many people has the same feeling about our suites, between mexican style and ultra modern at the same time.

We will be honor to welcome you back to our resort next year

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This years stay was amazing massages by the beach on my birthday, Staying in suite 7701 it just dosent get much better than grand solmar we love it more every year. Although I didn't catch any fish this year it was one of the most relaxing enjoyable trips i have had in years so thanks again to all the staff Erik,Monica,Sammy,Alicia everyone you guys are the best.!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shermanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear ShermanSki

We are delighted that you loved your stay at our resort, staying at one of our 4 bedrooms units, overlooking the pacific ocean. We will share your comments with all our staff specially Erikm Sammy, Monica and Alicia, from spa, bellboy and housekeeping áreas.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,230 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
950 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £351 - £697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing