We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I are just finishing a week long stay at the Grand Solmar Lands End in Cabo. This is the first time I have ever written a review of a hotel, but I feel a review is necessary because this hotel exceeded our expectations in every category. We regularly stay at Four Seasons hotels and the service at this hotel is equal to or better than the service we get at the Four Seasons. Being that this is a time share (we are not owners) we did not expect the service to be as good as it is. The hotel is extremely well managed. Everyone, and I mean everyone-- from the valets, the bell hops, the front desk, the waiters to the housekeeping staff has a smile on their face and wants to make your visit a pleasant experience.

Prior to arriving we read some reviews complaining about the construction so we were a little nervous. However, the construction did not bother us at all. We have three one bedroom suites (2 in each suite) in building B1 and the only sounds that can be heard are the spectacular waves crashing on the beach. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. Last summer we had a three bedroom suite at the Four Seasons in Costa Rica and these accommodations compete very favorably at less than half the cost. The grounds of the hotel are very pretty and with 7 pools it is not difficult to feel like you have the place to yourself. The property is well maintained. The food at the restaurants is also very good. We had the meal plan and we think it is well worth it. We routinely order things not even on the menu and the staff is happy to accommodate us. The food is fresh and beautifully presented. The staff at the restaurant really tries to please.

A friend recommended this place to us. Simply put, we never expected it to be as nice as it is. We highly recommend the Grand Solmar.

Room Tip: Building B1 is right on the beach. Highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Michael

We are delighted that we surpass your expectations.We feel privilege that you choose us as the first resort to review in a site as important like this one. When you mention that everyone ion the staff always keep an amazing smile, that makes us feel proud because that means that we have achive a very important goal in the hospitality business. And we will go for more, we promess you that.

We are also very satisfied that you notice the maintenance of our resort, and the food. Our Chef and capotains are always looking to improve their menus, flavors and presentations. I am sure you will love the new additions we will have once the construction is done. Is now at the entrance of the resort, making room for our new lobby.

We will be delighted to welcome you back anytime soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,059 - 2,065 of 3,199 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at grand solmar in late July. Wow! From the maid service Dailey (Duje?) to the turndown service nightly, I have no complaints! We supposedly had the best 1 bedroom ( beachfront, next to the pool) and I won't argue. We were all surprised by a tropical storm one morning when cushions were blown off t he terrace, no power for a few minutes, but the entire staff put it all back. Great time, gorgeous resort! And yes, better than my honeymoon 39 years ago!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank omamaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Omamaryland

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review regarding your most recent stay with us and you can make sure we will share your comments with our maid Vianney and also with the rest of the staff who really went above and beyond during the day you mention.

I am sure your honeymoon was also very special, so that you mention that this experience was as good as that day (and better) is priceless to us, and we thank you also for that.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We had previously stayed at Playa Grande but had traded our time shares to Grand Solmar. What an awesome resort! We stayed in a studio and were very pleased with our room and our views. The food was wonderful especially the club sandwich and the buffalo wings. We had great service from Gerardo at pool side. He was always attentive to our needs and was very friendly. We could tell he really enjoys his job. My husband and I also had a couples massage on the beach and it was one of the best massages we had ever had . Natalya one of our massage therapist was absolutely fabulous. Definitely worth every penny! Grand Solmar is definitely worth the money we will be back next year.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Kim

We are delighted that you enjoyed our general areas and food, specially our sandwich and buffalo wings (our chef will love this !). I have no words to express our gratitute on behalf of Gerardo. As you mention, he always has a great attitude.Along with our spa therapist. We are very satisfied that you enjoyed your massage there.

We will be expecting you, for your next vacation, we are here for you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am a timeshare owner and simply LOVE vacationing here! I typically travel over the holidays and try to stay as long as availability and time will allow. My adult daughters and I enjoy the property every chance we get ... But especially over Christmas. Calm and peaceful. Our unit is superb!

Room Tip: Beachfront but beach is not swim able here. It is still spectacular and pools are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCAngle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear LCAngle


We would like to thak you for spending your vacations with us. It was our pleasure to attend you as you deserve, And we will be very pleased if you decide to stay again with us.

We are very exited for our new projects that i am sure everyone will love, like our new lobby, gym, lobby lounge, and new cabanas.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just got back this past Saturday, Aug. 2 and wish I could return today. The 1 bedroom unit in a newer building was AWESOME to say the least! All the appliances, the layout of the livingroom, bedroom, dining room, and the bathrooms, OH MY!!!! The staff was outstanding and extremely helpful, especially the gentleman arranging for transportation. The shuttle to Playa Grande was very nice as well. The pools and restaurants were AWESOME as well. We stayed in the pool literally from noon to six pm, ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the pool. Also, we ordered groceries from PrickleyPear.com and had them delivered next day. The made it possible for us to fully stock the fridge with water, cereal, fruit, and other snacks that we could enjoy daily. This was our best vacation as we celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The only thing that was a challenge was the noise from the construction. Apparently, they are adding to the facilities including a gym (we had to go to Playa Grande to workout). It was a challenge, but we look forward to the outcome. The Grand Solmar is a quiet resort normally as all of the entertainment seems to be at the Playa Grande which is literally a stones throw away. We will return. <3

Room Tip: If you cannot tolerate the noise as for a building further away from the construction. Also, go the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eliza626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Eliza

We are extremely delighted that you love everything about our place, from the rooms (appliences, kitchen, bathrooms), the restaurant and bars, and specially the Staff, whom you find extremely helpful. You can also contact pour concierge for anything that you may need during your stay, if we have something here at the hotel, they will inform you immediatly.

I thank you in advance for you understanding regarding the construction zone at the entrance of the hotel, as you mention this is gonna be the área of our main lobby along with the bar and gym. I am sure you will love it, and you can celebrate another anniversary with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Cabo San Lucas is a great place for vacation,but not Grand Solmar. The staff is very courteous,always have a smile and very helpful.Top class housekeeping.Management should pay attention to trolley service and the guest receiving facility.It was hot and all staff members there was sweating.The two restaurants are OK.I give them OK not because of the food and facility but the staff members like Carolina,Ivan,Claudia,Francisco,Yazmin and Ada.They make you want to go back to this resort.
The resort is under new construction,so the noise and the mess is noticeable.They even don't have a spa but uses the old one and its dated.Also uses old wing for all extra activities like yoga and etc.The ocean view is spectacular.Pools are great but the water was warm even in the morning.They have a timeshare presentation and we did not had a good imprison about their official.Since we did not buy their package he clearly showed some attitude
In the end,we probably will choose another hotel or resort in future if we go back there.

Room Tip: Grand Solmar resort is good but very pricey and noisy and messy due to the construction so look for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sudhir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear SampGrenville

We would like to thank you for your great comments about our staff (always corteous, smiling, helpful),

You can count that we are looking for some options to install in our new motorlobby, (that is just provisional) while they are building our new lobby that i am sure you are going to love! Thank you also for mentioning Carolina, Ivan, Claudia, Ada, JAzmin, Francisco as staff members who provide excellent service. You can make sure that we take notice of the comments you have made and we will do our best to become much better to surpass your expectations next time.

I will share your comments with our sales department regarding what you mention. We are here for you and we will be honor if you decide to come back with us. I am sure you and all our guest are going to love all the new beautiful things we have prepare for them, amenities and also new facilities.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We love coming back each year and spending a relaxing week at Grand Solmar.
We grocery shop on the way in from the airport at the Mega market. We stock the kitchen with breakfast, lunch and snacks. We cook in maybe twice and go out to dinner, off property the other nights. The view from our unit looks directly over the ocean. We also request the building near the adults only pool as it is quieter. There is a kids center and pool that looks great.

Room Tip: We like the balconies on the 2nd floor. Better view. We like to stay away from the pools with the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jonisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Jonisb

We are always very pleased to know that each year you keep coming to our resort, and keep loving it!, That is a great compliment and we are very proud to know that we are doing a great job!

All our units are ocean view, i am glad you loved it also this year; our kids club is amazing, yesterday in our cooking clases we had 11 kids! It was fun and great to see their smiles with our Chef, showing them how to prepare some muffins!

Thank you for your great comments, we are here for you always, and we really love when our guest share their memories with everyone.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#18 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £304 - £653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing