We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Estancia in Cabo is great”
Review of Villa La Estancia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa La Estancia
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Estancia in Cabo is great”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel/condo. The pool is great and it is right on the beach. This is a quiet beach area. The staff are so friendly and very attentive.
The rooms are really beautiful and spacious. The valet service is quicks we felt very safe staying here.
The wi-fi available by the pool and long by is slow but perhaps it is slow all over in Cabo, I have no idea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoRWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VLE, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear. JoRWW:

Thank very much for sharing your kind comments and good experiences at Villa La Estancia with our Trip Advisor readers, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the beautiful Beaches in Cabo and the best services experience in Villa La Estancia.

We hope you give us the opportunity to host you once again on your next vacation

Best Regards
Carlos Blanco
General Manager Villa La Estancia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    190
    50
    38
    26
See reviews for
663
408
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our family's first time ever to take an international vacation, or stay at an all-inclusive resort, and we could not have found a better place to stay!

1. Friendly and highly service oriented staff -- truly, this can make or break your trip, and the staff at La Estancia MADE our vacation!

2. Best pool ever. We loved the swim up bar and casual dining poolside. The pool was quiet and surprisingly not crowded.

3. Great beach access.

4. The all-inclusive plan is HIGHLY inclusive. Only things like lobster, Kobi beef, top shelf liquor and bottles of wine are excluded....and their well liquors are names you know, not just junk.

5. Our room was spacious and comfortable, even for a family of 5. We had a 2 bedroom suite with the master bedroom, living, dining, kitchen and second 3/4 bath on one side and, through a separate keyed entrance the second bedroom with 2 queens and a full bath (for families with younger children, the separation of the two rooms might be an issue to consider, though it is easy to access all areas of the suite via the patio doors). All had access to a pool-facing balcony through sliding doors. (Just a note....if the sliding door is left ajar, the air conditioning will not run...we figured that out the hard way!)

6. The Desert Spa and Villa del Arco is heavenly.

We did a couple of snorkeling tours. The best by far was Baja Outback's Kayaking and Snorkeling tour....great snorkeling off Pelican Rock -- check out my separate review of that.

Also, we had family pictures taken at the resort. The desk for portraits is at Villa del Palmar right outside the sports bar. No sitting fee and multiple packages to choose from -- we got the one that includes 10 5x7 prints + digital images for $100 -- a great way to remember your vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kturnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VLE, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear. Kturnage:

Is a pleasure to know that your first international family vacation was wonderful, thanks for choosing Villa La Estancias and give us the opportunity to participate de in your memories vacation?
Al Villa La Estancia staff will be wearing for you and your family in your next Vacation.

Best Regards
Carlos Blanco
General Manager Villa La Estancia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We are finishing our 8th and last day at VLE! Everything has been perfect....the rooms, pool, beach, and service! Diane the concierge has been so helpful suggesting and making dinner reservations! We are sad to go, but look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kjc1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VLE, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear: kjc1212:

We thank you for your valuable comments. I will to share it with Diane, she will be happy to know that she helped to make your vacations were great.
We look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Cordially,
General Manager
Carlos Blanco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just returned to real life yesterday after spending 6 days at this great hotel. Just a quick story the airport transportation shuttle lost one of our bags ( turns out the bag was accidentally picked up by somebody that was shuttled to another hotel). Nelson at the front desk was Amazing making countless phone calls and tracking down the missing bag as if it was his own. Beautiful Amazingly Clean hotel with incredible service...I read other reviews and they mentioned slow service??? Crazy because literally the waiters were waiting for us to drink water so they could refill our glasses.. Do the all Inclusive as its great "bang for your buck" I have already booked our return visit in October.. Thank you for a great stay..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kraig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VLE, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear: Kraig H:

We thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to know that even though other reviews, services for our guest. Thanks for share your experience with or TripAdvisor readers.
We look forward to your next visit.
you took the time to know Villa La Estancia facilities and services. As you can live Villa La Estancia staff work very hard every day in order to have excellent facilities and provide the best

Cordially,
General Manager
Carlos Blanco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was our third year back to Villa La Estancia. We have stayed in different units each time, but all have been well equipped and very, very clean. The location in Cabo is perfect for the family: the beach is swimmable and close to town, but still very quiet. The housekeeping and front office services are always impeccable.

Room Tip: Pick a room in building 1 or 2 to avoid intense afternoon sun on the patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VLE, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear: Mitch B:

Thanks very much for prefer Villa La Estancia, is nice to know that your last three experiences with us were as expected, relax, help full, well equipped and very, very clean.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you by fourth time here in your home Villa La Estancia.

Cordially,
General Manager
Carlos Blanco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

First, the positives: great location, the pools are quite nice, and the rooms are amazing.

Now the negatives: I normally give nothing but positive reviews and am far from a service freak, do your job competently and fairly and I am very happy but we are on day 4 of our stay at Villa La Estancia, and have been nothing but disappointed at the service on all three properties (Arco, Estancia & Palmar). Our original reservation was at Villa del Arco, we were upgraded to La Estancia. Which was fine, but we had to argue with them that we actually had purchased an "all-inclusive", which was clearly stated on our confirmation. Since then we've had nothing but issues with the service.

1) Dinner reservations are required at the restaurants in all three properties, but the concierge wouldn't give us the extensions for the restaurants and insisted we go through them. The first time we called the concierge, he told that we didn't need a reservation (which the restaurant strenuously disagreed with). Then on a different day, we asked for reservations and the concierge told us they had confirmed the reservations but when we showed up at the restaurant, they claimed were never called. We are now collecting the restaurant extensions ourselves to bypass the concierge.

2) Since we are on an all-inclusive plan, we didn't pay much attention to our food bills until we noticed last night that they charged us for five appetizer buffets when we ordered a single one. We checked back on our bills and have found several more mistakes (on the bills we kept) including at least once when we were charged for premium alcohol (which is outside the plan) that we didn't order. Very underhanded.

3) We got a call last night where the maintenance person basically accused my daughters of breaking a vase in our outside shared entryway. Quite an accomplishment when they've never been in that space without us. In addition, we have seen other resort guests, the resort maintenance staff who spent about 5 hours working on the neighboring door on two different days, and the cleaning staff all walking through the area, often with large unwieldy objects that would have been much more likely to accidentally knock over something. It is unacceptable for the staff to decide to try to intimidate us into accepting the breakage charge for something we didn't do and, in fact, are the least likely culprits.

4) Restaurant service and food quality has been very spotty. If you wait less than 10 minutes for your bill, even after the rest of your party has left the restaurant, consider yourself lucky. Bread is supposed to be served with the meal. We've had it delivered quickly twice, once after sitting for 40 minutes (10 minutes before the food arrived, yes it does take that long) and once they never bothered. Ordered the same dish at the same restaurant twice, first time outstanding, the second time poor at best. They just don't seem to care.

Many of the staff that we speak to (cleaning staff & pool staff) are very nice and very willing to help us within the scope of their duties. One of the waiters not only remembered us and brought up something we talked about the first time he saw us, but also managed to get the bartender to put noticeable amounts of alcohol into our second round of drinks. It is sad that we feel that these people are the exceptions rather than the rule.

We expect to be very unhappy when we checkout with ridiculous charges that we will have to dispute, probably without success. This is simply not the way you should run a business.

Overall, we might stay at the location again. Never though with the all inclusive package. We are less than half way through our stay and due to the service are not feeling very "relaxed".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rgc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VLE, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear. rgc007:

We appreciated the time you took to share your experience with others. Your comments are highly appreciated as they assist us in our effort to improve our service and we would like to offer you our apologies for the inconveniences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cabo and provide you the quality and service you expect and deserve.

Cordially
Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Calif
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Third visit to Estancia. Very nice resort thats kid friendly but does not put up with riff-raff. Our 2 bedroom unit was like a home away from home. All of the staff is friendly and professional. Will be back next year.

Room Tip: Book from owner via VRBO. You will save money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GCN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VLE, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear: GCN1:

Thanks very much for prefer Villa La Estancia like your second home, our friendly and professional staff are waiting for you and your family the next Year.
See you very soon.

Cordially
Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,478 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia

Property: Villa La Estancia
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose Km 0.5 | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa La Estancia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, an idyllic retreat awaits at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa, Los Cabos. Known for its refined elegance, sophisticated style and relaxing atmosphere right on Médano Beach, this resort creates an experience to relish. The pampering begins the moment you enter the lobby of the luxurious Villa La Estancia. Located on Médano Beach adjacent to sister properties Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa and Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, this five-star retreat prides itself on offering magnificence amidst a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa La Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel La Estancia
La Estancia Hotel
Villa La Estancia Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing