We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay! Would stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Let me start by saying that we enjoyed our stay at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort and Spa. There are a few important points about the resort that need pointing out. The resort is located on the Pacific side of Cabo (no swimming in the ocean; never!) but who cares when you have such a picturesque view of the ocean and the sound of crashing waves. Incredible! Besides you have access to 5 pools which all have views of the ocean including the sky pool at the very top of the resort, what a view!
We also need to address the fact that the resort is located on a hillside or should we say cliffside. There are several layers to the resort starting with the beach at the low point all the way up to the sky pool which is at the high point of the resort. Several long winding paths make there way from one section of the resort to the other. We stayed in building 20 which was one of the larger sections of the resort below the sky pool to the right hand side (6th floor). The view was incredible as we not only had the entire view of the resort but also 180 degrees of ocean view. It was a great spot to get up early mornning drink some coffee and lookout for whales as they made their way up the coast (late November thru Early February). For those of you who are not physically fit, walking is not an option! The path down is easy but the walk up is treacherous for someone who is not in shape. Don't worry! There are literally a few dozen carts going up and down to pick up guest to take them to their destination of choice, pools, restaurants, main lobby etc. I actually enjoyed the steep windy paths as they provided a great exercise path every morning. I would generally wake up every morning and take the stairs, yes stairs from the 6th floor to the bottom of my building and follow the path all the way down to the beach area and then proceed to walk up the path up to my building at the top of the resort and back to my room. Loved it!!! There was also a great beach area that provided plenty of running space for those who preferred to jog or walk the coast line.
The rooms were well designed and spacious. We had a king size bed with a separate tub and shower big enough for two people to shower together. Wife and I enjoyed the showers! We had my 15 year old daughter with us and she slept in the sofa sleeper (not the greatest) but it worked, along with a separate complete bathroom (well worth it). We enjoyed the spacious balcony with access from the living room or bedroom with excellent views. Balcony had some great comfortable and sturdy patio furniture to sit or simply relax.
We ate once at the Bistro and the food was good and not too expensive. We ate quite a bit outside the resort so I couldn't tell you what the other restaurants provided. They do have happy hour at the pools from 3 to 4 on a buy one get one free so keep that in mind. The service at the resort is great, from the cart service to bartenders, waiters and housekeeping. All service done with a smile. There is no nightly entertainment at the resort so if you are looking for entertainment you will need to go into town. You can either take a taxi or shuttle bus to the Rose or Blanco resort if you want to avoid paying for a taxi. We rented a car for the week at the rate of $260 for the week which included 90% insurance coverage.
This brings me to my last point. We accepted a timeshare offer at the rental car place for $200 off our rental and 50% of every activity we signed up for. $18 for the sunset cruise which included dinner and open bar. $18 for the snorkeling trip which included lunch (tuna sandwiches and chips) and open bar. $35 for ATV excursion which included a very decent lunch and 2 hr trip. $50 for tandom parasailing (two people) and $76 for dolphin adventure which provided for personalized dolphin experience.

Room Tip: Try to choose the upper stories within your designated building to improve your views of ocean and o...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Theodore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,351)
There are newer reviews for Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,704 - 7,710 of 9,351 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

I stayed one week and had a blast. The food is excellent, especially at LaFrida. The staff is warm and helpful. Two minor issues, common to many resorts: keys that easily demagnatize, leaving one stranded outside the door, and poor wireless service that is expensive. Also, the wireless is charged by device, so you can't use different devices at different times. OK, enough of the two minor gripes. The rooms are lovely, spotlessly clean, and have great views of the ocean. There are numerous pools to choose from, some busy, some laid back. They have a free shuttle to their sister property closer into town, which is very useful, if you wish to peruse the restaurants and shops. This resort always has a special place in my heart, because it has a magic to it, a combination of many little things that make it truly relaxing. It primarily has to do with how well-trained the staff is, beautifully maintained grounds, an old Mexico look to the architecture and decor, and the stunning views.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexis3245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My wife and I just returned from our anniversary week in Cabo San Lucas where we had the pleasure of staying at one of Pueblo Bonito Oceanfront Resorts and Spas called “Sunset Beach”. This is our 9th trip to Mexico and our second trip to Cabo San Lucas which has become one of our favorite destinations.

We arrived at the resort via the shuttle which was paid for in advance at a cost of $38.00. This arraignment had to be made in advance with the resort that uses Cape Travel for their guests. The shuttle was about 40 minutes long from the airport as we made two other stops with PBSB being the last one. The cost of this service is worth the money as you don’t want to haggle with the local taxi cab drivers after a long flight.

We arrived to the resort at about 6:00 pm and were able to go right up to the check in counter where we were greeted by a friendly representative. I had requested to have a special room with a hot tub and an anniversary surprise prior to my arrival via email and was not disappointed. The check in went smoothly and we were immediately met with a request to attend the presentation by another rep situated near the check in counter.

The timeshare presentation rep was not pushy and offered us a $200.00 food/beverage coupon, $100.00 spa coupon, 35% discount on all activities and 10 free drink tickets for our attendance. We normally pass on all presentations, but this time we decided to accept the invitation and attended the presentation which included a free breakfast and several more drinks. They asked for a $20.00 deposit which is 100% refundable and at the end of our stay we presented the coupons at checkout where we received the discounts as promised.

Our ride to the room was in a large golf cart as this resort is built into the side of the hillside on the beach. This resort is very vertical and one what requires some walking for its guests or a small wait for the golf carts. We did both and never waited for longer than a couple minutes for a cart which run guests all day and night around the resort. If you have mobility issues you might want to consider another resort, but the locations available around the resort and the transportation options can accommodate most if not all guests.

Our room is considered a Super Executive which is a nicely appointed one bedroom that includes a second full bathroom and large outdoor patio (approx. 500 sq feet). The patio comes equipped with 3 different sitting/table setups to include two cushioned loungers, full table with 4 chairs, as well as two chairs and another small table. The 4 person hot tub is newer with several jets and a water fall feature which we used every night prior to going to bed. This is a nice touch and was not charged extra for this upgrade from my RCI exchange. We stayed in Room 2051 which is near the top of the resort and close to the sky pool. This room provides a spectacular 180 degree view of the Pacific Ocean and most of the resort.

You can't swim on the beach at this resort because of a dangerous undertow, but they have 6 swimming pools with two that are adult only that you can enjoy. If you want to stay away from the added energy provided by children, you can layout at a couple of other pools as well. We enjoyed three of the pools which included the main pool on the beach, the quiet adult only pool and the party all day sky pool which provides the best view of the resort.

This resort has 3 full restaurants and 2 bars as well as several poolside bars that provide hamburgers and small poolside dishes. The pool staff takes very good care of you and if you tip right, they never let your glass run dry. Dinks are expensive, but they offer 2 for 1 happy hour drinks at different times around the resort. If you buy your own and have some drinks in your room, you can cut down on the cost alcohol.

The resort provides a free shuttle that takes you to the other sister resorts in Cabo where you can enjoy any of the amenities offered there as well. Two of the sister resorts are on the beach where you can swim and access the downtown part of the city to include the marina. The shuttle runs every hour from 10:00am to 10:00pm so you can access the louder hustle and bustle part of Cabo if you desire. The neat thing about PBSB is that you are secluded and in a quite part of Cabo where you can relax, but also have a free ride to the action when you want it. The shuttle saves you about $15-$20 for a taxi ride each way.

The onsite restaurants have good food and are fairly priced for dining out. We really enjoyed the Calamari, Sushi Rolls and Jumbo Shrimp Linguini! If we went out for dinner at home the cost of these dishes would be about the same, so eating out was a nice treat while being on vacation. You can shop at Wal-Mart nearby and cook in your room if want to cut down on this cost.

Overall we really enjoyed our visit to PBSB which was everything we had hoped for. We found that if you wanted or needed anything at all, all you had to do was ask and the staff bent over backwards to make us happy. This resort is moving to provide an all inclusive option for its guest in December and from first glance it appears as if the fee will be around $88.00 per day per person. This is worth the money if you don’t want to worry about staying within your budget while on vacation.

There is a lot more to say about this resort which provides several other amenities for their guests. We would highly recommend this resort for those who want to live like a king for a week and get the most out of your stay in Cabo at the same time. We look forward to returning to PBSB in the future where we might consider staying 10 days next time. Thank you PBSB!

Room Tip: The higher up you are in the resort the better the view. Ask for a room with an outdoor hot tub as i...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Getting upgraded when you check in is always a nice surprise. However the biggest surprise was the excellence of the facility, it's amenities, and most notable...the people. I had two suites booked for my Wife and I along with good friends to celebrate our Anniversary. The manager was at the front desk when we checked in and upgraded the two suites to a two bedroom Presidential Suite which was extremely nice and appreciated. We've been to Cabo no less than twenty times so we know the area well. And we found ourselves very pleased with this property. The location is secluded and out of the bustle of the city on the Pacific ocean. Great pools throuout the property with the Sky Pool being our favorite. It has to be the highest elevation pool in North Amercica and the views were incredible. We expected to be hassled for time share presentations but were left alone when we made it clear early on we had no interest as we own a 2nd home on the beach in Santa Barbara, CA. My advice is if you want to be left alone...make it clear and dont't act like there may be interest. I didnt like the first comment back of "but your at a timeshare property". My respone was "did i make a mistake wanting to book my vacation her" nipped that attitude in the bud. For those of you with security concerns...there is zero to be worried about in Cabo and this property is very safe and secure. Bottom line this is a quality property that delivers an excellent value. No it's not the Palmilla but a room is not $1,800 a night either. Dinner suggestion off property would be The Hacienda Cocina. And last but not least bring tip money for the cart drivers.

Room Tip: Be nice at check in and not the atypical ugly American and you get an upgrade.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Hawkeye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I took our two teenagers with us to Cabo for a week in early October. We had a fantastic time. The PBSB is an amazing property. The rooms are spotless, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The staff, especially the pool staff and the guys that drive you around the resort in one of the many carts that take you up and down the hill, are amazing. Very friendly, positive and happy to serve you. Having all the pools gave us great options for us and the kids, and we were able to spend a bit of time at the PB Rose on Medano Beach as well, taking the free shuttle there. We used the shuttle often to get to town and were able to save a lot of money on transportation. The beach is not swimmable, but we walked it several times at sunrise. It's breathtaking. A definite recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the ocean on the Western end seem quieter. If you can get one on the beach, all the...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaboMikeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We have been coming here for 7 years as both a hotel guest and timeshare owner. Overall the staff at this facility are very friendly and service oriented. I was particularly impressed by three individuals on this latest trip. The first was in charge of our pool food service etc for 7 of the 8 days at this resort. His name is Daniel Porras. You could tell he loved his job. He not only was service oriented. he had a great memory and you could tell he also had an eye for generating business at the pool. Everyone in Daniels area thought they were in the VIP area and i am sure he benefitted with better than average tips.

Another person who probably never gets mentioned is the man in charge of cleaning and maintaining the pool every day. ( I saw him each day As I am an early swimmer.) Pablo at the main pool worked hard with attention to detail yet still time every day for the friendly Buenos Dias, a smile and he recognized that people might want to use the pool early.

Luis at the front desk also appeared very interested in going the extra mile.

The overall ambiance of this resort and time share is relaxing with some fun encouraged at the pool. I am a little concerned however that a recent drive to sell all inclusive will change the environment in a way that I would not want to bring my grand children. So far the mix of only 10 % of small children to mature adults works great.

Room Tip: most rooms have an ocean view and there are many pools to choose from from the main pool with addito...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We have stayed at PB Sunset Beach five times, both with our kids and just as a couple. We have never been disappointed! Everyone is wonderfully friendly and professional. We have stayed in the Executive, the Super Executive, and the Monte Cristo villas. They have always been outstanding. Our kids have a blast. The bus makes it easy to get into town, but keeps Sunset Beach off the beaten path. The restaurants are outstanding and the poolside bars keep us happy all day long. We love going and hate leaving!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4,220 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
7.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £191 - £657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing