We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully secluded hotel.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed 6 June 2012

One of the most immaculate hotels I have ever visited. The food is good and affordable. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,955 - 7,961 of 9,914 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Been all over Mexico and stayed at true five star resorts. Unfortunately this is not one of them. The resort is ridiculously huge, 42 buildings and golf carts needed to get around. The service was ok,, they tried a few tricks to charge us more than what we should have been charged, so check your bill closely, especially "Collect" long distance calls. The food was terrible and WAY over priced. We are a young couple and would highly persuade any other young couples to divert from this place. No night life, no good bars, really odd mix of people. The rooms were clean but it was hike to get to town everyday, even though there was a free shuttle, which you have to book well in advance and can only do it in person. It cost us over 200$ in taxi rides to get to the main part of town/marina because the shuttle only takes you to other side of town. We are definitely not the type to write a negative review because we know how many mexicans depends on these jobs but seriously this place need a lot of work to get to the 5 star standard!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We booked a week at this resort with the intention of possibly buying a timeshare here. All I have to say is this is the worst place I have ever stayed in my life! The resort isn't all that bad but the staff is so horribly trained in every way. It's like staying at a 4 start resort with the staff of McDonald's helping you. Orders are constantly wrong whether you place it at the pool, restaurant, room service, whatever. There are no clean towels left if you go to the pool after noon. You can not go to the beach where the resort is located because the surf is too dangerous. The resort is basically built on a rock hill and you have to take these golf carts everywhere - to the lobby, to the pool, etc. and the smell of gasoline from these is so bad you can not leave your balcony open in your room or your entire room will smell like exhaust fumes.
Day 1:
We order 2 bottled waters to be sent to our room at 10:00 pm. Water shows up at 11:00 (yes one hour later). We actually got tired of waiting and after a long trip decided to go to bed 15 minutes before that, so it was a lovely wake up call. The delivery guy did not have a pen for us to sign the bill so we figured they could figure it out and charge 2 bottles of water to the room. WRONG! 11:45 pm while we are dead asleep someone is pounding on our door. Guess who? The delivery guy, with a working pen! By now we are really annoyed, but, it gets better. The pen didn't work. So he again returned at 12:30 am now with a working pen. At this point, we did not answer the door. So he decided to call us over and over again from the hall phone.
Day 2:
Walk up to the lobby to try and get a taxi out of here and we our accosted from everyone - the concierge, the bell boy, some random lady in the lobby, to go and listen to their timeshare presentation. After our first day there I politely declined.
Had dinner at their supposedly award winning resort "La Frida". It was so bad that both my husband and I could not eat it. I ordered the fish and it came out so greasy and slimy that I instantly spit it out. Btw, this was a $40 entree. When I told that waiter it was extremely bad and greasy he replied "it is supposed to taste like that". Obviously there is a communication gap here, but regardless, I sent it back.
We spent over $200 on one of the worst meals of our life.
Day 3:
We decided we are definitely NEVER buying a timeshare here and will never stay here again. The only way to be happy in Cabo is to stay as far away from this place as possible.
We took the shuttle to their Rose resort, which is pretty dated, but is in a MUCH better location in town and on the beach. We took a water taxi over to lands end, went on the dolphin swim, had a wonderful dinner at Mi Casa. So day 3 was great since we didn't spend any time in the hotel.
Day 4:
Had breakfast here and 6 hrs later my husband has montezuma's revenge. So now we are trapped here all day. I call up to guest services and ask for pepto bismol and they say they will have it delivered to the room in 30 minutes. One hour later I call back and the guy says that they actually don't have anymore (would have been nice for them to all me when they found out 50 minutes ago). So he transfers me to the concierge about getting some delivered from the store on site. She puts me on hold and explains that they actually ran out in the medical office and in the general store. So if I want some I can come up and give them $12- to have a pharmacy from outside the hotel deliver it and then have it delivered to the room. At this point, it is really absorb that they are even asking this since it is supposed to be stocked in their medical office. 20 minutes later I leave my husband in the room to go down to the pool and I stop off in their general store and what is sitting there right at the counter but 20 bottles of pepto bismol for $4.00. I called the concierge from there and she explained that when she called there an hour ago they didn't have any. I asked the guy working there and he'd been there all day and no one had called him asking about pepto bismol.
So...now I make it down to the pool and yes there are no clean towels again.
Also, I don't know what it is about the people that work here but they are just all extremely unhappy and unfriendly. With the exception of the lady that works in the coffee shop with the wifi (she is extremely friendly and nice) and 1-2 of the guys that shuttle you around in a golf cart. The lady that works the front desk at the spa is beyond rude and unprofessional. The waiters at the restaurants are trying, but I think it is more of a lack of proper training from management then their fault. I guess since it is primarily a timeshare the management feels like they already have your money so there is no reason for excellent or even somewhat appropriate service.
We have not decided to just cut our losses and schedule a flight out of here 3 days earlier and check into another resort for our remaining days.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, try to stay near the bottom of the property closest to the big pool so you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We loved our stay here as this was our first time here. The only downside was that there was suppose to be 5 Adult Pools and 1 Family Pool but there were kids in Every Adult Pool that we enjoyed so that was not very pleasant with screaming, splashing, yelling kids. We have grandkids but we choose not to bring them as a Resort like this is NO PLACE for children as it caters more to Adults. Parents with Children should choose a more Family/Child oriented Resort so that Adults like ourselves can Enjoy Peach and Quiet of this Adult Style Resort.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank g_kona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

So many good things! Great Pizza, happy hours, service, sister resorts. Will come back again and again. Poolside service was outstanding. The grilled sea-bass at the bottom pool was the best ever. Whale and Ray watching were outstanding. Rays jumped every morning. Whales breached all day long........wonderful! Breakfast fare was a little lacking, but If you are a continental breakfast type, it is passable. Mexican coffee a Flambe was magnificent!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife & I came to Cabo San Lucas to celebrate my 30th birthday and we stayed at the beautiful Pueblo Bonito Sunset Resort & Spa. We arrived in Cabo airport at about 4pm and the weather was really perfect – about 89 degrees. We prepaid our airport transfer thru the resort website and paid $44 for both of us. The resort subcontracts the transportation thru a company called Cape Travels. Once you clear customs and immigration in Cabo, you are sent into a virtual mosh pit of people who swarm around you and try to offer taxi services. From the moment we got there, we were bombarded with opportunities to ‘take advantage’ of special offers to do timeshare presentations under the guise of ‘free’ or ‘discounted’ sightseeing activities. In reality, the prices offered by the hotel or even at the marina to do the same activities are cheaper and more secured transactions. It can get very confusing and overwhelming but if you stick to your ground they back off. Finally we got loaded onto the van to head to the resort.

There are 5 Pueblo Bonito properties and there is a little confusion with how their system works. The older properties are the Rose and Blanco. These are old and crowded resorts and much smaller properties. The advantage they have is that they are right on the beach. But aren’t all of the properties on the beach? Yes. But the Rose & Blanco are the only 2 properties that are on swimmable beaches. The Medano beach is a cove of beachfront properties where there are tons of activities and swimmable areas. The other two properties (Sunset and Pacifica) are beachfront properties that are not swimmable. The water is too rough and they do not allow anyone in the water at all. So if you want to be at a resort where you can go into the water, don’t choose the Sunset or Pacifica; go for Rose or Blanco. Incidentally, the Rose is a pinkish color and Blanco is white. The 5th property (Quitara??) is a newer property with a golf course but we did not go there at all as it is still not fully built.

Room. The Sunset is a huge property made up of villas and each room has an ocean view. Depending on which room you get, you are either closer or further away from the beach, but I don’t think that the view is compromised no matter where you stay. The room we stayed in was a perfect view: not too far, but not right on the beach; there was only 1 building in front of ours that was closer but we were higher up so there was no obstruction. We got the junior suite oceanview room. There is a small kitchen and a large bedroom with a big balcony. There is a fridge, stove, pots, pans, utensils, etc; everything you need to cook and eat. We did not make use of the kitchen at all but beware that if you leave something sugary on the counter, the ants will get to it before you do! The bathroom is really nice: a door to the left gave us the toilet, a big shower to the right and in the middle was the sink with a huge mirror. The floors are tiled and the all of the colors are soft and pleasant. The bed we got was a king size and there is a small TV across from it. The ventilation system is a little quirky: if the sliding door to the balcony is open, the A/C shuts off and just blows air. The balcony has 2 chairs and a small table and provides a glorious view of the ocean and adjacent buildings on the property. The internet is very quirky and expensive (~$65 for 5 days). Once it works its fine but sometimes getting it to work was a challenge. They do have 24 hr IT services and they are helpful. Sometimes just waiting for about 5 mins to get connected somehow did the trick. Like most other things in Cabo, 5 mins in US time is 10 mins in Cabo time.

Sunset Property. We absolutely loved the Sunset property. There is so much flora and lush greenery. It is such a beautifully designed property. Since the property is so huge, there are golf carts that can take you anywhere and everywhere you want and need. The golf carts brought our laziness to a new extreme! Each cart can seat about 6-8 people but usually they are not so full. The main building has the main golf cart terminal. If you need a cart, just pick up a phone and ask for one (there is a golf cart button on each phone to connect you directly to the golf cart central station). There are several pools: a main pool which is huge and which has 2 parts, a large heated pool and a smaller fun pool with volleyball, basketball and hydromassage sections. There is also water aerobics if you are interested and the instructor is a riot! There are also adult pools which are located in a separate area as well as a sky pool which has an amazing view from way up top on a mountain (you definitely need the golf cart to get there!) Each pool has an infinity pool which is so cool. The pools are not really meant for serious swimming and are mainly for lounging. Each pool has an attached full service bar. The waiters come up to your lounge chairs and take your order for food and drink (the bar food is really good!)The waiters are very friendly and are pretty quick and accommodating. There are hot tubs near each pool but we didn’t use any of them. There are plenty of lawns and gardens: some of them have swans, flamingos and even peacocks! Next to the main pool is a pottery cart. You can either purchase pottery (cash – you cannot charge this to the room) OR you can paint some pottery. They will help you along and even fix somethings for you and after you are done, they will glaze it and give it to you the next day. The pottery was a lot of fun and pretty reasonably priced. The pottery is the same price whether you paint it yourself or purchase something that is already painted. Large plate $20, small bowls $15, very large bowls $30. The restaurants in Sunset are all pretty good. We liked the breakfast buffet at La Nao the best. La Nao serves breakfast buffet everyday and dinner which requires reservations. The reservation system doesn’t always work that well – they ask that you call the concierge to make a reservation at any of the restaurants but somehow that info does not always get communicated. La Nao serves a theme night each night: Monday was Mexican, Tuesday was Argentenian, Wednesday was Italian, Thursday was seafood, Friday was Asian (Thai/Chinese/Japanese, etc). Each night the buffet areas are set up to reflect the theme. The waiters are great; very polite and accommodating. The seating is indoor & outdoor – if it gets too chilly, they provide a shawl/small throw to keep you warm! La Nao is right near the main pool. The Bistro is in the same building as the lobby. All meals are made to order – lunch and dinner is the same menu. The view of the beach from Bistro is really nice – its higher up than La Nao. Next to La Nao is the Manila Bar. There is a large screen TV and plenty of seating area. They play major games (NBA semi-finals was on) and they also have an outside area with seating and bon fires.

All-Inclusive. After coming here and seeing how things are in reality, we realized that if you have a family, you are better off staying in the Sunset and if you are just coming with adults, you are better off staying in the Pacifica. Here’s why: as a guest of Pacifica, you have access to all Pacifica restaurants AND Sunset restaurants AND Rose AND Blanco. As a guest of Sunset, you have access to Sunset, Rose and Blanco but not to Pacifica. We heard good things about the food at Pacifica. Aside from that, the all-inclusive is a great deal, especially if you drink because the drinks just keep coming! They provide you with a wristband which indicates that you are an all-inclusive guest. If you purchase the all-inclusive deal before arriving, it is $89/day for adults, $79/day for seniors and juniors, toddlers (0 – 4 years old) is free. If you purchase it once you arrive, it is $99/day for adults, $89/day seniors and juniors and of course free for toddlers. These are rates are only for non-owners.

Beach bed. If you stay at the Pacifica and get an oceanfront room, you have special access to the beach bed. If you stay at any other property, you can rent the beach bed at Pacifica for $30/day (9am – 5pm). This is something I would recommend to anyone who wants to really relax. There are 6 beach beds situated on the beach facing the ocean. 2 of them are swing beds, the others are regular beds. Adjacent to each bed is a pair of beach lounge chairs and a small table. The beach beds are about king sized and offer a very relaxing and calming atmosphere. The beds are made of wood with curtains that are tied up making it look like a cabana. 2 pillows are provided and they also give you towels. You need to make reservations relatively early because they book up fast – we made our beach bed reservation on Monday and the earliest they had was for Friday. It is an amazing experience – don’t miss out.

Massages. The resorts all offer spas and massages. They are quite pricy. We wanted to do a couples massage and pre-tax it comes out to $330. We heard that there are also places on the public beaches that offer massages as well, not associated with Pueblo Bonito. We ventured out to the Rose and entered the public beach area – if you go out of the Rose resort and make a left and walk about 200 yards, there is an area where ‘Eden Massage’ set up cabanas. Eden massages are $30 for 60 minutes and it is so worth it! There are 4 professional massage tables in a large cabana. It is right on the beach but the cabana is covered on 3 sides and they provide you adequate towel coverage. They did a very professional deep tissue massage and the best part is once you wake up, you are staring right at the ocean in front of you. It was an amazing experience and we are so happy that we didn’t waste our money in the spa. The spa has its advantages – you can lounge in the spa area and use their shower and other spa facilities which is very nice and calming. If you want the spa effect, then the beach massage is not for you. But if you just need a relaxing massage – this is the most economical and satisfying thing.

The Arch. We took a glass-bottom boat tour from steps of the Blanco. We paid thru the hotel and it was $10/person for a 45 minute tour of the famous Arch of Cabo. Well worth the money and much cheaper than was quoted by people in the airport when we first arrived. The glass-bottom boat seats about 12 people and at certain points along the way, you can see fish swimming under the boat. If you want to stop and get down at Lover’s/Divorce Beach, you can or you can just continue on. They showed all of the major attractions there and even gave us bread to feed the fish. We got great shots of sea lions and marine life. All in all – it was well worth the money and we had a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank drskmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

Lured by so positive reviews, we booked our Spring break to PB. From checkin step we ran into trouble: the receptionist contested our Expedia reservation and did not provide us the all inclusive bracelets. We only got them after o long and unpleasant dispute at the lobby.

The Resort is greedly designed to extract a maximum possible number of guests on a limited given space. Built on a high slope hill, it boasts at least 7 high capacity tall buildings. Because of distance distance between lodging and Bea Ch or restaurants, resort provides, some sort of motor carts supposed to haul you anytime to any place within the resort. These carts make a terrible noise and exhaust from the engines are the last thing you wish from your vacation. It is an unpleasant way you must often rely on to be hauled up and don the steep hill from your room to the pool or restaurant. This is by far the worst aspect.

Second comes the service, with a big pondering on attitude. We all know all inclusive is not a place you expect service to shine, but here it was simply hostile. They never served you at your first call. You had to stand up, wave hands vigorously or shout for someone to notice you. Even then once a guy said his hours are off and I should call one of his colleagues because he's no more on duty.

Food was poor. Mexico is generally a good place to eat great recipes and good food, but in this place food was junk.

At the beach I was hollered at by a life guard because I was too close to the water. According to him, we are not allowed to dip our feet in the water. My wish to have a walk on the sandy shore ended with this guy screaming at me and demanding my room number so that I can be reported for my insubordination and basic wish to get my feet wet.

All in all, please seriously discount the number of stars given to this place. If you want a nice place, go somewhere else. If you want a good service, run away! Chances are wherever else you go you will get a better one.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SFbayareacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
3 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,290 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £197 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing