We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a great time on our family vacation. The staff did a great job of insuring that we had a great time. Two concerns I had though were one meal had poor service and two of the pools had issues while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,361
    2,113
    807
    359
    233
See reviews for
3,373
3,117
103
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,566)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My family vacations for a week at Pueblo Bonito Sunset every year during the summer for over 9 yrs+ now and we love it! This year we brought some friends along and it's always great to share what the property has to offer with our guest. We hear what others have to say in their Tripadvisor reviews of this place and basically they are in line, but sometimes, there is an explanation and sometimes the Pueblo Bonito needs to do some serious corrective action.

So I hope to elaborate with what we feel with some of your views...Take for example people mentioning that they see cockroaches in their rooms.

I hate them but try and remember that Cabo has a sub-tropical climate, that's probably why you might see the roaches and not because the facility is unkempt or dirty.

About the timeshare people bugging everybody...they only bug you if you let them. But the PB should try and do a better job in this area, because we are their guest/owners and we don't want to be bothered, but so should every other business in Cabo because the timeshare people are everywhere (from the moment you arrive at the airport)! Cabo is a tourist based economy, don't forget Mexico is a 3rd world country. There isn't a whole lot of other industries or opportunities here in Cabo for these people to make good money so they have to hustle at selling timeshares which probably provides a nicer income for them. It's just a fact.

About the complaints of the golf carts being noisy w/ obnoxious gas fumes...on this matter,they have to be gas powered folks! Electric carts don't have the torque or the battery power to make it up those hills. Although we did notice things like the rear tires are balding! Look into it Pueblo Bonito.

Not enough towels at the pool...this has been our complaint for years. I know for a fact that they ordered a few more thousand towels. But perhaps Pueblo Bonito can put a sign up and have a bin handy and remind guest to deposit their towels when they are finished using them (this is an area where guest can help). We've watched, and basically the personnel don't remove guest towels on the lounge chairs probably because some people do stay in the pool or do other activities for long periods so they can't figure out if the lounge chair is still occupied or not.

And by the way Pueblo Bonito stop renting out the Skye Pool for weddings during the day. It's popular with us guest who want to enjoy the pool on our vacations. You got a lot of other areas on the property that are better suited and besides who in their right mind would ever want to subject their wedding guest to a ceremony or reception up there in the hot Cabo sun without being able to use the pool to cool off!

As owners here at the Pueblo Bonito we should be very much concerned with preventative maintenance/safety of every aspect of this beautiful property! For instance, the sliding glass door handle in our room was getting so loose we couldn't open or close the door and it inevitable and eventually broke, the safe battery was dead, the calking in the shower fell off and caused water to go everywhere. When we called Maintenance, they came and made repairs very quickly and did a good job.

However, from the get go, there really shouldn't be any problems for any guest to complain about during their stay. Whenever a guest checks into a room here at the PB Sunset, their rooms should be in tip top working order! We should not have to call for ANY maintenance repairs such as these at all!! Everything from the kitchen appliances, the light bulbs, the drawers,the doors, the Jacuzzi should be in top working order. EVERYTHING should be checked and inspected before the next guest arrives. This is an area the Pueblo Bonito needs to really work hard on...Customer Satisfaction and some Tender Loving Care....It is a beautiful resort, the staff are hard working, it should never fall into disrepair and the Pueblo Bonito should stay on their toes and live up to its high standards so that we won't have anything to complain about! and I mean that in a good way...

Room Tip: We prefer the higher rooms. The views are just great from the upper levels but then again every roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CART101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Have stayed numerous times at Sunset. Beautiful views, excellent service, great accommodations. Stayed at Monte Cristo in August, 2013. Staff courteous, helpful and professional. Responded to every request. Water aerobics with Sahara was amazing! So much energy, good music and comedy....you didn't realize you were working out! She is truly an asset to the resort. How about Zumba on the beach!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LyndaJHchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Lynda,

We feel pleased after reading such a nice and friendly review, we are glad that you had the time to enjoy all of our facilities and that you had a wonderful stay with us, hope to welcome you and your family anytime soon.

Sincerely,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was the second time we have visited Sunset Beach and it still is a beautiful property. The location is dramatic and the landscaping is beautiful. Even the studio rooms are very clean with comfortable beds and every room has an amazing view of the Pacific Ocean. It is a ways from town but we like it that way and they do have a shuttle bus that takes you to their sister property in Cabo. We spent a lot of time at the main pool. We enjoyed the food and drinks there and the service was amazing. We made new friends with Roberto, Angel and Armando. The resort offers
an all-inclusive option which we took for part of the week. We thought it seemed expensive at first but we were spending almost that much when we were keeping track of our eating and drinking. They had buffets every night as one of the options. The food was OK but not great.
We actually enjoyed our food and beverages at the main pool the most! I would give special praise to the waiters at the main pool and the cart drivers that would take you all over the property. They were all very personable and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jest1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

First of all, we chose to go for the time share pitch, which took close to 3 hours when all was said and done. We got $300 in credit, and the one in our party who already has a time share got $100. OK, so it paid for a few meals and drinks.

The hotel is on a steep hill, and you need to take a golf cart to go almost anywhere. We were in building 24, so I could walk the Sunrise Coffee shop for free internet, but that was about it.

Despite what you may have read, there is no longer free wired internet in the rooms. We had the blue Ethernet jack, but it comes up with the same sign up and pay home screen. (If you sign up for a second session you need a new user name.) An hour is $10, a 24 hr day is $16 and a week is $65 or so.

The pools are nice, most have the infinity edge where the pool looks full and it smooths out fast when everyone gets out. The Sky Pool was too crowded, loud and rowdy for us (50 somethings). The Adult Pool was quiet and relaxing. No swimming at the beach due to currents.

The restaurants are across the board. La Nao overcooked the pork chop, the alfredo sauce was sour, and the fish smelled funny. The bistro had ho hum enchiladas. The only nice place was La Frida, which is very classy. Make as many reservations as you can for that, especially if you go for the all inclusive (which we did not).

The drinks are usually at least 90-120 pesos, so plan accordingly. Oh, and the Mexican coffee at La Frida was 180 pesos, a detail that is left off the menu. (They use Don Julio tequila.)

The room was nice, but our time share owner should have been able to get a double bedroom, instead we had to settle for a one bedroom executive suite. The architecture is impressive.

This is the second Pueblo Bonito we have been to, the other being the one in Mazatlan. If I had to choose it would be MZT, as Sunset Beach is just too spread out, and with the hill, too difficult to get around. In MZT we could go out the back of our room and go straight to the pool in a few steps.

If you are driving, make sure you get good directions. It took several attempts to find it, as the guy at Cactus Car rental told us to just stay on Hwy 1. Unfortunately, he didn't tell us it turns right, and you should not turn. IF you stay on the main road through Centro, you will eventually see signs for it by not turning.

Room Tip: Not all buildings have elevators if that concerns you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Set atop a hill just 10 minutes from downtown, sunset beach has an exclusive feel with easy access to the fun and crazy downtown and Medano Beach. The rooms are pretty standard, only disappointment was in that there is only a 2 burner stove and no oven.
Maid service was decent but each day they seemed to take towels and not leave a sufficient amount in return.
For the most part, it was easy to get around the resort via their golf cart service.
One thing to keep in mind is that the shuttle that takes you to Medano beach fills up pretty quick. So go to the front valet and reserve your spot on the bus. You can also wait stand by buy it is luck if you get on. Make sure that when you make a reservation for the shuttle, or any other restaurant or service, be sure to get a little white receipt that proves your reservation. Without this slip you will not get on the bus!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Came for 1 week in July. The resort was full. Stayed in a one room suite and was nice, located in bldg. 40. Nice pool and not very crowed as the main and sky pool. The restaurants were very crowded and ate only once at the lobby restaurant sitting at the patio overlooking the beach. Only issue was waiting for the golf carts. Would call and wait up to 20 minutes. Went to the sister resort in the city and enjoyed the beach. Issue with the shuttle bus was a headache. Need to reserve 1 day in advance. Most of the time we were on standby without a ticket and got on the shuttle because there were many no shows. Sunset needs to work on this problem. Overall, the service was excellent and clean resort. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickrae60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#18 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,899 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
3.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing