We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service is top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The service is top notch”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I had our honeymoon here a couple weeks ago. The rooms are beautifully arranged and decorated, and the service by the entire staff is outstanding. Whether you are sitting at the pool, or dining in one of their restaurants, they are always attentive and cheerful. There are two downsides to this hotel: 1) It is $24 to $28 round trip taxi ride into town. 2) The quality of the food is mediocre at best. So if you plan to stay on campus the whole time, you're paying the at least as much as you would for food in town but the quality is just ok. There are plenty of excellent restaurants in town. They have a shuttle that runs to the Pueblo Bonito Rose on the bay....but it is a hike from there if you want to hit some of the really nice out-of-the-way restaurants. So if you want to find good food, plan on spending some money on taxi fare.

Room Tip: Ask for a room half way up the hill. You get the best views and you minimize your need to walk up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtravelous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,591
    2,160
    821
    367
    242
See reviews for
3,556
3,169
103
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,633)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The property is expansive and beautiful. When you check in, make sure to walk out to the balcony to get a sense of the gorgeous views. The pools are numerous and lovely. Our room was spacious, if a bit outdated, and the balcony was huge and perfect for watching the sunset. It was nice to have the grocery store to get snacks and drinks (though they were out of diet coke two of the days!!).

My main complaint is that we went to great lengths to set up different "accounts" for the room so we could easily pay for our own incidentals at checkout. They assured us we could separate checks by providing both our last name and room number when we ordered food or drinks. When we went to check out, there was no record of separate accounts and we just had to split the charges 4 ways. If they had just told us this at the beginning, it wouldn't have been a big deal, but it was annoying to think we had separate accounts the whole time only to find out at the end that we didn't.

Other issues are that the food was fair at best. I would definitely not do the all-inclusive plan as you will surely be wanting to eat off property! Also, the timeshare sales people are very aggressive. We were stopped multiple times for time share solicitations. Also, the beds were very hard, the pillows were like rocks and the bedding was like sandpaper. I tossed and turned all night.

Finally, make sure to heed the warrnings about never drinking the water or any drinks with ice in them. Three of the four of us got the revenge... very unfortunate. Since we did eat dinner out, I have no way of knowing where we got it, but only drink from a can or a bottle and use bottled water to brush your teeth. And bring Immodium just in case!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasLady7509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This resort is a trip in itself. Has been described to me as the adult Disney Land, and I now know why, this place has something for everyone. With essentially its own private beach, private ocean views, and private roads, you couldn't get any more secluded and beautiful than this! Only a 10 minute ride into town, yet maintaining its own prestige, this place is well worth the visit and the stay! can't wait to go back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We've been owners since 2009 and have not regretted the purchase. The resort is huge and sometimes the wait for cart service is ridiculously long but overall those complaints pale in comparison to how beautiful the resort is (including the view of the Pacific Ocean). Sunset definitely has an older crowd but it didn't deter us from having a good time. If you want the party scene, catch the shuttle to the Rose and party on the Medano Beach. When you're done, come back to Sunset and enjoy peace and tranquility on the private (NO VENDORS) beach. The great thing about being on the resort with older people is that they go to bed early and we often had the entire pool and hot tub areas to ourselves in the evenings. The staff members were very pleasant, always greeting us with a friendly, "Hola", in passing. Blanca, bless her heart, tried to sell us another timeshare the whole time we were there! A polite "no" to her invitation to the presentation sent her away, smiling. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I liked our rooms in Building 31....if the cart service was busy, we were close enough to walk to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tgraysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We love this resort and have been owners since 2006. The view is absolutely gorgeous, every room has an ocean view! The grounds are amazing! It is bit of a drive from town(12.00 USD cab ride each way) but we love how private it is and the sunsets are incredible. We absolutely love the staff! Some of our favorites at pool 17 are Christian, Fidencio, Arturo and Alejandro. They are so much fun and the service is always great! Brander at the Sky pool is the best and we look forward to seeing him every year. We absolutely love Benito at the La Nao breakfast! He is so friendly and treats us like we are family. He makes our trip! Maria a supervisor at La Nao is wonderful, she has such a sweet presence and is welcoming and friendly!

We have noticed that the food quality has declined over the years. Not sure if this has anything to do with the push for the all inclusive program. We wish that there was a little more variety at the restaurants. The buffet style is not always appealing.

Overall, this is an absolutely wonderful hotel with a great staff! Make sure you watch at least one sunset from the Sky Pool!

Room Tip: You really cant get a bad room as every room has an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdupre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This resort is awesome. The size and scale may not be for everyone but with big scale comes big variety. Great pools and great amenities. Food was much better than I expected and the service was incredible no matter where you went. There definitely seened to be an older crowd (55+) but that was not a negative. The grounds and facilities were very well maintained and the room I had was very well appointed. I enjoyed the location and the peacefullness it offered. Having access to the other PB resorts was great and we took advantage of the free shuttle one day to enjoy Blanco and Rose resorts. This resort is not for you if you are loking for a compact layout with short distances to everything.

Room Tip: I enjoyed our room that was higher up the hill and above the lobby and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KiwiBrendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here in April of 2011 not 2013......This resort is just too big, ridiculously overpriced, inconvenient to get around, long check in and check out process, and restaraunt staff at the lower restaraunt were openly rude and not wanting to accomate preparing the fish we caught on our fishing trip. All but one of the restaraunts on site are grossly overpriced, and require reservations. I shouldn't have to make reservations at a freaking resort! The kitchen units were disappointingly small, NOTHING on the counters when you arrive are complimentary, you consume them, you pay for it, and I don't know about you, but $9 for a liter of bottled water is absolutely ridiculous. Although the main sleeping suite was gorgeous, comfortable and spacious, the furniture/spare bed in living room area was old, uncomfortable and cheap. I am a Worldmark owner that booked this through the RCI exchange, and we were inundated with up to 3 daily phone calls from their time share sales staff to attend presentations and buy. I found this incredibly annoying. We booked a fishing trip through the concierge service and got hooked up with a fishing charter group that tried to rip us off blind at the marina in Cabo. We booked a whole day for 3 people, they tried to take us back early, wanted our fish that we caught, and when we gave them a $50 tip at the end of the day, the captain chased me down the pier demanding a bigger tip! Upon check-out, check your bill carefully, they attempt to add on "charitable" donations to the owner's daughters sea turtle conservation group without your permission! I was warned about this and demanded they remove the charges. If you're not in good physical shape, walking anywhere on this resort is difficult. They do provide golf cart transportation on the resort, but I found this time consuming and not enjoyable when vacationing with older family members. Just getting to the private beach in front of the resort is a time consuming effort if you are on the upper levels of the resort. This resort only allows one taxi company to service guests so no choice there, and there is no access to more affordable public transportation because of where the resort is located. Be prepared to spend a fortune in cab fares for your excursions into town. Okay, now for the good points. The balconies are large and do have gorgeous views, great for whale watching in April, which we enjoyed almost every morning. The grounds are immaculate and well maintained and the pools are beautiful. Make sure you experience sunset at the upper infinity pool at least once. We had a non-working coffee maker in our unit and they did bring a replacement within 20 minutes of a phone call. This trip was a mediocre experience at best, with wealthy guests and owners that make sure you know you're second class, are unfriendly and quite frankly unpleasant to be around. I will not be booking a Pueblo Bonito stay again, many other smaller, more accesible/affordable and friendlier resorts in Cabo and San Jose to choose from.

Room Tip: Try and get a lower level room to be closer to the beach and largest and nicest pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nyteowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#18 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4,113 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
7.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing