We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in PBSB last week. This is a huge resort with beautiful ocean view. We took a rental car instead of all inclusive package. It saved us a lot of money. we tried a lot of great restaurants in Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo. We also got some grocery from Costco.

Please remember the most convenient location is the main building. Any buildings close to it are good. we stayed in building #26 in a top supper unit (bigger than executive unit). I believe it is one of the best room in the resort. Building #26 is close to main lobby, swimming pool and parking lot, most time we didn't need to rely on golf cart. We only took golf cart to sky pool. We only tried one breakfast at La Nao, it was okay.

The two sister resorts in town were crowd and mess. We had been there once and didn't like it. There are so many beautiful beaches you can visit in Los Cabos if you have a rental car.

Room Tip: Buildings close to main lobby are good. #27/27, #30, #31 or #17/18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacation082014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,871
    2,009
    766
    346
    220
See reviews for
3,065
2,966
97
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

All inclusive. Not perfect but had an awesome time their. Beautiful Resort. Need Cart service to get around, due to its location on a hillside. Views are spectacular. Our service at the poolside was outstanding ALL because of a waiter named Victor. Thank you Vic. At the La Nao Restaurant on site, Exceptional service from the waiter Abraham, the Mimosas at breakfast was a great way to start the day of relaxation. Do intend to go back. Not a beach to go swimming, but you have many pools to choose from at different levels.The grounds are well manicured and pleasing to the eye. Rooms are elegant and spacious with balconies. Enjoyed the sunsets as appropriately named the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palos verdes,ca.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We went to Pueblo Bonito 2 weeks ago ( my boyfriend and our three teenagers)
First of all it is very far from the airport and after dropping everyone else of at their hotels it was 2 hours later that we arrived.
There was a huge line to check in...another 45 minutes
Huge line to concierge on;y to find that the restaurants were mainly booked for the three nights we were there..we had all inclusive
The property is huge so it was a hot walk around unless you want to wait in another line for a golf cart..we opted to walk.
You cannot swim in the ocean at all in fact we were not allowed to put our feet in.
Now, the positives: good food, drinks, fun guests and nice staff. Rooms are beautiful..we are quite active however and took the shuttle or taxi to the beach frequently to do water sports.
If you want a nice setting, swim up bars, lots of pools..this may be good for you.
We also were there at the most crowded time...may be better other times of the year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaPalosVerdes_ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here in Aug 2014. We had a executive suite in Bldg 31 (Villa Delores). We felt it was a great location because it was within walking distance of the main lobby and to the pool. We walked everywhere, besides the sky pool, with no issues. Villa 31 also has a smaller pool right by it that is less crowded than the main pool and has a swim up bar. The bed was great and we had a full kitchen. Recommend that you get 2nd or 3rd floor if your staying in the 3 story villas or 5th or 6th floor if you are staying in the taller villas.
The grounds are beautiful but large so you do have to take large golf carts when going to further parts of the hotel area. We did not have issues with getting a cart, but do recommending that you tip the driver a dollar to keep them coming. They will pick you up at your room if needed.
The food was great. We ate at the Asian restaurant the most and it was our favorite. We also ate at the Italian restaurant at the Rose' and it was excellent. Breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent and right by the main pool. If you want a spot by the main pool I would get there by 10am.
If you want to go to town you do need a rental car or take the hotel shuttle to the Rose. Get your tickets the day before to guarantee a spot. Also, get reservations at the restaurants to get in quickly for dinner.
We had a great overall trip and will stay at the Sunset again

Room Tip: Buildings in the middle of the property. Bldg 31, 32, 33, 34, 27, 26. Skypool bldgs. are nice but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was really looking forward to going to Cano San Lucas but I must say the service here is awful. It took me 1hr to get my drinks and food at the pool every single time, I wanted to use a bike at the gym and they charged me money for it although the gym is part of the all inclusive, I was charged for water too.
My room was full of mold, has lizards in it which was no fun and our beds were infested with either ticks or fleas so I have a lot of bug bites and required antibiotics.
I have stayed in all inclusive places before so this is for sure the worst!!
The one star is for the drivers of the golf carts they were always nice and deserve the tips I gave them all others need to improve their customer service from check in to the waiters

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sepstef123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I would like to start by saying I am being generous giving this resort the rating. The service here was the worst service I have ever received on any vacation.

The check-in process itself took about an hour and a half. We had a group of 10 girls and requested rooms together when we made the reservation 7 months ago. We were told the resort was fully booked and they could not accommodate the request for the 3 rooms. This was not that big of a deal. After we checked in, we were stopped by very pushy sales people for a 90 minute timeshare presentation. We purchased the all inclusive package, had a pretty full agenda and were willing to pay for the spas and meals that were not included, so the incentives did not interest us. They kept pushing at multiple points in the 5 days we were there, so be prepared.

The first thing that we wanted to do after a long trip (9 hours) and our check-in was get into our bathing suits, get a drink and relax at the pool. We walked to the pool, and went straight to the pool bar. We were told by the bartender the pool bar was closed. Fine, we could just grab drinks from the closest bar and bring them down to the pool. That is when we saw the bartender continuing to serve drinks for about 30 minutes after he told us the bar was closed. This happened to us on multiple occasions at different places for the first 2 days... last call or bar is closed.

We called the front desk to file a complaint and the first time we were told a manager was not on duty. The next time we were put on hold for 30 minutes (of course, we put the phone on speaker while we got ready to go out... refusing to waste time on hold). After the 30 minutes on hold, we heard a dial tone. We then went to the front desk in person, and again we were told there was no manager on duty, but someone would call us. We never received that call.

We were now starving, so we decided to call for room service. No one answered the phone after multiple attempts and even being transferred from the front desk (in case, we pressed the wrong button), no one ever picked up. Some of us decided to walk to a restaurant called the Bistro. After ordering and eating there, we thought it would be nice if brought back some food for the rest of the girls. We ordered food to-go in boxes. The waitress told us that she did not have any more boxes. Well just behind her we saw stacks of boxes (STACKS!). We told her they were behind her, giving her the benefit of the doubt. She said something in Spanish quickly to a bus boy who came around and moved the boxes to the kitchen. Now, we were really not happy. This waitress lied to us and then tried to cover it up. When we told her this, she told us that there were "politics at the resort that would not allow her to give us to-go boxes". Apparently, these politics have to do with the all-inclusive vs. non-all-inclusive vs. timeshare. We asked to speak to her manager. Guess what... no manager on duty.

That was the first day.

We learned some "tips" as we went.

#1 Tip before you get any service. You want a drink? Tip the bartender when you order, not after you get the drink; otherwise, that drink order may be forgotten or will take forever. This can be applied to waiters, bartenders, driver, front desk... Bribe them. $2-5 per service (of course, tip more for the paid services, like spas)

#2 Walk. It takes forever for a golf cart, even if you call. If you are disabled or out of shape, do not stay here. It is on a cliff, which makes this resort beautiful, but if you want to get anywhere on the resort, it is quicker to walk.

#3 Sky Pool. Oh my god. This place is beautiful. It is the best spot in the resort. Not great for families, but for adults, it is amazing. The service changed here, bartender was attentive, waiter was quick. Probably the main reason why I gave any stars to this resort.

If you can pick where you want to stay (i.e. do not have a timeshare), stay at a different resort. There are tons in the area.

Room Tip: Penthouse is the way to go at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jita143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We just returned from this hotel, and being in the hospitality industry this lacked a lot.

1. It took over an hour to check in. Granted we had a huge group but we were there with owners. It should not take that long.
2. Our room was nice, roomy, but so far from everything.
3. Our TV did not work the entire time. We called several times for repair, no one ever showed.
4. All inclusive, but you had to sign and give a room number everywhere you went. And when I went to check out (which you have to do at the desk with another long line). They had like 7 people listed on my room and wanted money from me?
5. Towel cards. Who wants the towels anyway. And people were taking towels all day. How does one keep track?
6. Our toilet ran all day and night.
7. Electricity went off a few times and I could not locate where you place a key to run it.
8. No hair conditioner.
9. The sky pool was so dirty. There were bees everywhere. No one at the pool to clean up. Waiters were just ok. (They are cool when the tips are big)

Overall the stay was only ok. I wish I would have complained there, but the lines are so long at the desk, it made no sense to try.

Room Tip: Get closer to the lobby section. The wifi is not good, very spotty
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4peaches04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
5.3 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
2.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Travelbag so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing