We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place but Canadian are treated different??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
tm
Level Contributor
1 review
“nice place but Canadian are treated different??”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

nice resort but was a little put out with the time share presentation rules(So they call it) We are time share with a different resort so we know the process of them trying to get new people into going to the presentation. We were planning on doing the presentation from the start until they said it was only $100 towards the hotel credit which I knew it was more than that when I asked why it was only $100 they said because we were Canadians which made no sense to me. The sales lady would not budge so neither did I. I politely said no thanks and that was the end of it. I asked the guy at the bill boy station(??)and was told the same thing I talked to 2 other group at the pool and they said they got $250 plus $100 spa credit. We were RCI exchanger perhaps that made a difference but I was a little taken aback. But over all the resort was nice Rooms very clean Can't say enough about the maids. Carts drivers are very friendly. front desk was very easy to talk to Had a problem with our room the first night but they took care of it the next day. The resort was very nice the only thing that left a sour taste in my mouth is that the thought Canadians did not deserve what the other people got Never got treated like that before in a resort and we travel 3 times a year to different resorts.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t_mattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,244
    2,090
    796
    357
    227
See reviews for
3,306
3,080
101
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We just returned from a 5 day stay at PBSB. We loved the property and found the service to be top notch. We requested a unit at the top (bldg 22) so as to have the best views and easy access to the Sky Pool. Our family of 4 fit nicely in the 1 bedroom executive suite, though it did mean that we had to use the sleeper sofa. It was actually quite comfortable- a foam mattress that pulls out from the wall and has no center bar. We used the small kitchen for coffee and breakfast each morning, and then had fabulous lunches at the pool. We opted to not do the time share presentation as our pool time was too valuable. We did go to Pacifica one day. It is directly next door, though not really walkable. It was a 3 min shuttle ride over. Pacifica is very quiet, all adults, very zen-like and the service was fabulous. They were only at 40%occupancy over Christmas week which made for immediate service. Sunset Beach was hopping- tons of people checking in/out each day though the service was always fabulous. We ate at LaFrida, LaNao (Wed night Italian buffet), used the awesome gym daily, and went to the spa once. The service was top notch at each spot. Since we only had a 5 day stay and did not have a car, we just bought groceries on site. They have an awesome selection of cereals, chips, drinks, some fruit, pastries, etc. We found it most adequate though their prices are quite high. We saw whales from our balcony daily and walked from place to place most of the time. The property is built into the cliffs so it is quite steep. The carts zip you around in no time, but we just preferred to get the exercise and enjoy the views. This was our first time in CAbo and we were most impressed. It was very safe and clean, and it seems that most all of the restaurants in town are great. The Office was a blast, and is a must do for anyone visiting Cabo!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveToTravelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

A great plus about staying at any Pueblo Bonito resort is that you can visit all their sister resorts. You can take an hourly shuttle to Pacifica, Los Cabos or Rose. All are beautiful and offer a slightly different experience.

There are several pool areas throughout the Sunset Beach resort, I highly recommend going up to the sky pool, they have an infinity pool with an amazing view and you can see whales cresting every now and then.

The grounds are impeccably maintained and very lush. We saw plenty of dead roaches on the road and none in our room! So they must put a lot of effort into pest control :)

The carts are a bit noisy, but after about 10 pm they die down. Also, the carts aren't needed to get around if you don't mind walking, there are stairs that can get you around the resort.

The kitchenettes in the rooms are good. They have 2 burners, dish rack, plenty of dishes, pans, knives, cutting board, etc. The fridge is bigger than a mini, but not full size. There is no launder mat on the resort, you have to pay maid service to do it. But just outside the resort, there are plenty of launder mats that will do your laundry for about $5 - 10.

All rooms have an ocean view, the staff on the Pacific side seem to be a lot friendlier and happier in their jobs than those on the "party" side (aka Rose and Los Cabos). The Sunset Beach staff was very well trained to be friendly and courteous.

We are glad we didn't stay at PB Rose. Although Medano Beach has lots of distractions, Sunset Beach was a great getaway from the vendors, tourist, dogs (people don't clean up after their dogs "go" on the beach) and noise on the other side. We love PB Sunset for the peace and quite on the beach and where the sand is finer due to the stronger surf. We had family stay on Medano Beach and they complained about noise all night long.

As with any large resort, expect charges for some extras like using the gym & bottled water. But cart service, valet and resort parking are free. Resort food is expensive as with any resort, but at least it's good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeijoGitanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Thanks to previous TripAdvisor reviewers - you helped me make my decision on this hotel and your help was wonderful!

Our family of 5 (19, 16, 12 y/o kids) had a wonderful week at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. We knew to prepare for the "hard sell" on the time share and just went with it. For $200 of food credit and $100 in spa credit, my husband and I woke early one morning and attended the presentation...which basically was a private tour of all resort. Jay - our realtor - was not hard sell and very understanding when we told him we were not going to buy. The property is amazing! A different time, a different bank account, we might have done it :-)

Initially, we had two rooms - a king and two queens right next door to each other - 2222/2223. They were above the lobby (we could walk) with a wonderful ocean view (we saw whales spouting from our room). One downside of this location, it is loud in the morning as all the busses bringing workers park in the main drop off area. Also, the HVAC was pretty loud, but we are early risers so it wasn't a problem. Unfortunately mid-way through out stay our room started to smell odd. The hotel was VERY accommodating - tried to fix it three times but was unable. We were moved to a Presidential Suite (4033) below the lobby, ocean view and pool below. (We saw these rooms on our timeshare tour. If we hadn't been on the tour we wouldn't have even known to request this location!). No upcharge - they came, got our luggage and moved us right away. Paradise just got better.

Yes, you do need golf cart transportation to many locations. We walked a fair bit to the Sky Pool when we were in 2222 - elevator up to the 8th floor and then a steep climb. I considered it my exercise for the day! lol We also walked to and from the lobby quite frequently. If you are in a wheelchair or not ambulatory then the golf cart are the way to go.

There are two markets on site where we purchased food and drinks. They were very reasonably priced. We did not have a car so this worked for us. However, both units had fully equipped kitchen/kitchenettes so we could have made lunch and breakfast in room. My kids actually ate oatmeal and cereal.

The staff was incredibly nice. I felt sorry for them on more than one occasion for the rude patrons who visit...mostly from the East Coast. We learned that hotel staff have special training just to learn how to deal with them. Sad. We tried to overcome this by being especially kind. I think our kindness was repaid with exceptional service and helpfulness.

You will have to take a taxi into town, or use the free shuttle to the sister hotel Pueblo Bonito Rose and walk or taxi from there. For those looking for a wild, whistle blowing, pounding music experience this is not the place. If you are looking for a beautiful resort, with attentive and kind staff, and a more refined approach to vactation, Pueblo Bonito is for you!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rbsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We received this trip as a promotion from American Express, so we had few expectations for a free trip. We are well-traveled and have stayed in many beautiful places around the world..... yet, we were blown away from the first minute. When we drove up to the resort, the cobblestone courtyard, fountain, and gracious welcome from the staff was perfect. We were booked into a Junior Suite in Building 7, located on the first floor. We could walk right out to the beach. Yes, it is true that you can't swim at this beach, but you could take great walks including romantic walks at night along this beautiful stretch of ocean. The beach at the sister resort is fun but lots of vendors, so the quiet beach back at Sunset is just what we wanted. Listening to the power of the waves lulled us to sleep. When we called for a cart, there was always one within minutes and we had to make sure we were ready because they were there just as we were coming out the door! The staff...doormen, maid service, restaurant personnel, cart drivers, bartenders, concierge services....were polite and efficient. And fun! Yes it is true that you have to make a reservation (did I mention that it is free) to take the shuttle bus into town, but within a day you learn to make a reservation early and there was always room because of no-shows if you fogot to make a reservation. We had no intention of purchasing anything, yet ended up purchasing a fractional home that gives us so much flexibility around the world, but we expect to return again and again to Pueblo Bonito Sunset.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Twocabolovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We had a wonderful time here. It was a perfect location for us - relaxing for me, fun for my son and photo ops for my husband. My son was totally thrilled by the golf carts and their service was excellent, prompt and courteous. Resort services are very good and well provided. I wish we had wireless service in our room but then it was great to disconnect for a few days. The pools are great, especially the sky-pool and the pool side services, towels etc. are good. We were warned about the timeshare aspect and thus successfully avoided that. They pursue you for the timeshare thing but once you refuse they do not hassle you. Resort to resort shuttle service is good if you book in advance and plan. The beach while not swim able was wonderful to walk - no hawkers or solicitations like the other beaches - very peaceful and natural! The resort Bistro had very good food at affordable prices and we got complimentary drink coupons.
Overall a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Hello,
STAY AWAY FROM THIS RESORT*******
We stayed at this Pueblo bonito resort and it SUCKS. Everything sucks about it. Their golf carts smell and it takes for ever for golf cart to pick you up. It is sooooooo HUGE that you can not get around by walking, you HAVE to take their golf cart and they know it and you just wait and wait. You have to call like 5 times for for a golf cart finally to arrive. There is bugs in the room and roaches. You have to schedule a shuttle to take you to their sister resort and if don't, you might run out of room and wait another hour.

You can not swim in their beach and can only go to their sister resort which again you have to get a shuttle. We didn't get room twice.

The whoe experience is so horrible and so frastrating..

They offered us $200 in cash to go to timeshare presentation and they give you free drinks to get you drunk and sell you their crap. We ended up buying, but fought it and got our money back. Please, please stay away from this resort.

We have a lot of friends and families and no one will ever go to this resort or will ever buy their timeshare. They are such a lie...

Again, stay away from this resort, you will regret for coming here. Their customer service suck. When we complained about couple of things, they have done NOTHING and only said "sorry"... didn't even offer a drink or something. Playa Grande is not too far from them and soooooo much better. We stayed there last year and LOVED it. At least you can walk to Marina from Playa Grande. Please if you are reading this to consider staying at this resort, trust me, you will enjoy Playa Grande so much better and it is so much closer to everything. You will regret if you go and stay at Sunset beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Loovik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
6.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,775 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing