We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Playa Grande - close to everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Playa Grande - close to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Beautiful resort - Grounds are kept very clean. Location is excellent - close to walk to town - best way and shortest is to cut thru the marina. Can save a lot of money by venturing 2 -3 blocks off the main street next to marina and eat at smaller taco places where the locals eat. Friendly staff. It is starting to show a few minor signs of its age if you look closely - nothing too bad to fret about. Stayed in a studio unit with a partial kitchen - was sufficient for my wife and I as we ate in town mostly.
Can walk to Lover's/Divorce Beach area if you don't mind doing a little climbing on either side. Cannot swim in Pacific Ocean side of resort - too rough. Short walk 5-10 min. down to Sea of Cortez beaches.
Seen 4 or 5 marlin that had been caught during week. About 10 Ft. long - and 100 Lbs. or so I heard.
Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mesteve121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Steve

We really enjoy your comments about your most recent visit with us. What our resort really want is to being close to the hearts of all our custumers, so that you will want to come back with us. Saying that our location is excellent, and that you will love to come back makes our day really happy.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,251
    853
    196
    106
    80
See reviews for
1,220
1,304
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I went with a friend for a long Memorial Day weekend (Thursday – Tuesday) and had a fabulous time. The resort is beautiful offering ocean and city views. We had a room facing the marina and the city. Everything about the resort was top notch – facility, pools, room, maid service, food, restaurants, concierge, entertainment staff, etc. I had no complaints. I was on an all-inclusive package for food and drinks, so that added to my happiness! There were themed buffet nights, but most meals are a la carte from the menu (i.e. freshly made). The drinks were strong, no extra shots needed. Although there’s no swimming at the beach, it offers beautiful beach views and it is walking distance to town. AND, they have plenty of pools and hot tubs. I’d definitely go back…

Room Tip: The only warning that I have is for those with walking disabilities/difficulties. The resort has man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldengirl1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Goldengirl

Thank you for saying that everything in our resort was top notch. From the facility in general, pools, room, maid service, food, restaurants, concierge, entertainment staff, the drinks, and the meal plan package service. We want to thank you for share your amazing experience with all the people.

We will love to welcome you back to paradise.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The first time I stayed at Playa Grande was 5 years ago, and since then I have enjoyed about 20 weeks there. I love this place. The lobby is so lovely with all the amenities. The beds are so comphy: firm. Pillows soft. Standing atop the grand staircase that leads to the pools and then the Pacific Ocean is such a majestic view. The activities & the people who stay there are always fun and rarely 'hokey'. Even the studios seem majestic & spacial (bathtubs in studio units). I love to stay at the "Ridge' Section (which overlooks the Marina) when I need easy access to the street, for dentist appts in town. The food is very good. I like the all inclusive for just half the week, then it's tacos in town for me!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Lorraine

You really make me smile in a fantastic way with your post, and i really want to say that we love to have people that keeps coming back year after year, it feels like family. We are continuing upgrading our suites as we just receive new mattresses, and the areas with new lounge chairs for the people to enjoy. We will be delighted to welcome you back for another 20 weeks, and why not, many more. I promise you that we will continue to have a gentle and proffesional service and we will continue to pamper our guest.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent an absolutely marvelous, relaxing week at Playa Grande. There is nothing negative to say - the resort is beautiiful. The food was delicious and reasonable and the entertainment superb - especially Roberto as the MC. He was soooo funny. We spent the week there with friends from CA and it made it especially nice to take this all in with them. Can't wait to go there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Pamela

Thank you for your comments. You make us feel proud when there are just beautiful things to say about the hotel, and the staff including chefs, entertainment staff etc...
Our dear Roberto is indeed a funny, but also an artist in what he is creating every day with the help of his staff.
I hope you and your friends will be back in the next few months to keep enjoying paradise here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Loved this place!! I have stayed at The Finnesterra, Pueblo Bonito Sunset and Pueblo Bonito Rose but this place is my favorite....the other resorts mentioned are great as well.!! Resort is close to Medano Beach, you can walk or take a water taxi. Short walk to the marina and town. Resort has nice pools, staff is great....just great all around atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Flor;

On behalf of all the staff from our resort, i want to thank you for your nice comments about us.
To being your favorite resort among all options, is something we treasure and will make us work even harder to provide always the excellent service that you and all our clients deserve.

Thank you again, hoping to welcome you back,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemon Grove, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

For the last 10 years, we return to our favorite vacation spot THE PLAYA GRANDE RESORT. There are several reasons why this resort works for us: the employees treat us like family and they genuinely care about us, they take care of our special needs, the Clemente family that operates the paint table and makes sure our projects look good, the award winning spa that offers such a great place to relax, the pool area is staffed with employees who offer their services, and a easy check-in and check-out process. The facility is kept us and very clean and we recommend this resort anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivywestmoreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear ivywestmoreland,

You definetly are part of our family. I have a meeting with some of the staff members from food and beverage, and i show them this pics of you with Mr Clemente, and they immediatly recognized you.

It really means a lot for them when you said that they genuinely take care of you, Because it is truth and has been like this for 10 amazing years.

Thank you for your lovely remarks about the front desk, and spa also.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I was extremely impressed with the service, the program they had prepared, our 2 kids (3) and (2) had an absolute blast, Viridiana, the lady leading the program did an AMAZING JOB!! Loved her!! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Maria,

I will definetly share with Viridiana your comments. She and all of our member staff work every day to provide the best possible service to address and know in advance all of our clients needs.

I am glad your kids have a blast with us!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing