We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't leave things on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't leave things on the beach”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My friends and I had a great time here; the pool service was good and the rooms were as expected.

Just be careful on the beach. I left a pair of sandals right next to the pool entrance (near the foot washing area) and they were stolen during the 20 minutes I was walking on the beach. The hotel wasn't very helpful about it and just told me to keep checking the lost and found. Seems like they need better beach security.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Katherine

I want to thank you for your nice remarks about our pool service and our rooms; i am delighted that you enjoy your stay and had a great time with us. We are here for you, and when someone comments that they have a great experience with us, it feels really good. Our beach is private and our staff at the moment that they find something at the beach, or any area orf the hotel, they immediatly reported,. We have a process and the place to keep those things. I can tell you that most of the time i have seen happy faces when they approach the fro nt desk and someone has returned their belongings.

I really hope to see you here next time, and again, enjoy our facilities.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,416
    896
    207
    106
    84
See reviews for
1,305
1,393
63
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kennett, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We have been to Mexico (Cancun, Mayan Riviera, Playa Del Carman area) 20-25 times in the past 10 years or so and I have to say that this right up there with any of the 5 star resorts we are used to. We chose Cabo because it was different scenery and it definitely was.
The staff was awesome, the resort extremely clean and well run, the pools were all very clean and the wait staff was right on top of it, and the entertainment was great (don't miss the Mexican Fiesta and the Beach Party!). The location was perfect; we could walk a few blocks for a scuba shop, restaurants and bars, and the marina district. We took a taxi to go to Walmart (for a few groceries) and to a couple of other places that were too far to walk. The absolute only thing negative I could say about our vacation was the horrendously irritating timeshare people who won't leave you alone! The resort doesn't allow them in but the minute you step outside, they are everywhere! The people in charge of tourism in the Cabo area really should do something about this irritation.............

Room Tip: Room 1151 has an awesome view of the beach and the adults only pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Donna


Thank you for choosing us to enjoy your most recent vacation. We are delighted that it was a perfect one. To say that our staff was awesome, the resort extremely clean and well run, the pools all clean clean and the wait staff on top form, means a lot to us. A lot of people love our theme nights, and we work every day to add new details on them.

We will love to welcome you again to our resort, and let us be there for you in service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We highly recommend the Playa Grande Resort in Cabo. It was our first time to Cabo and the experience was awesome! We all liked it better than our trip to Maui! The staff at the resort was amazing. The rooms are beautiful and clean. They have so many fun activities to do. The Fiesta night and Beach Party night were tons of fun for our whole family. We have kids ages 10-24 and they all enjoyed it and so did we! They had great entertainment and games at the parties, thanks to Roberto, Rodrigo, Hector and the other great staff people. We will definitely be going back!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AndrewsOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Mr Andrews

Thank you for highly recommend our resort. To say that our rooms are beantuful and clean, and that our staff was amazing, including Roberto; Rodrigo and Hector from the entertainment department, means a lot to us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our theme nights and that your experience with us was much better than other trips you have in the past.

We can not wait to welcome you again, and show you again, that we are here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The title line may be a bit harsh, but that's how it really seemed. Granted, we were there just after spring break, but I figured a resort of this size would have had a bit more going on at night besides crickets chirping.
The resort is very nice, the staff terrific, and the views were beautiful. Our biggest problem was the place was a ghost town. Maybe our timing was terrible. Maybe we were just to far from downtown (15 minute walk) or maybe we were just too young (40's) for the few other guests at the resort. Come 9 pm sharp, the place was a mausoleum. To find ANYTHING going on meant a trip into town. Not that that was a bad thing, I just figures a place with 5 pools, 5 bars and several restaurants would be a little more happening.
The one highlight was the room service. The food was VERY good. The prices were very reasonable as well, comparing favorably to many of the restaurants in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Ben

I want to thank you for your comments regarding our staff who in your opinio n were terrific. I will share with all of them this, specially with the guys that prepare the room service, chefs and waiters. They will be delighted to hear that you like the food. It is truth that we have the best views of the pacific. All our entertainment happens during the morning until 4pm. At night what we have are our theme nights, beach party and mexican fiesta being the 2 most popular ones at the beginning of the week, and at the end of the week we have carnavale and asian night who are becoming the new favorites.

We will love to welcome you back and kee enjoying paradise with us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Such friendly/fun staff. Loved the entertainment and activities offered! It was a wonderful experience. I definitely recoommend everyone to enjoy one of the parties offered at night, I especially liked the Mexican Fiesta night. The staff was always willing to help and make us comfortable. The food was delicious too! I recommend the sushi. Anyone who has the opportunity to visit this resort should definitely take advantage of it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Kim

Thank you for your honest and beautiful description of your most recent stay with us. We love that you enjoyed our theme nights, the activities, the flavor and quality of our food, including the sushi, and especially, that you have a great time with our staff.

We are bless to continue to have friendly and satisfied guest with our service, who wants to share the memories of their travel with everybody. We will love to welcome you back in the next future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Beautiful resort - Grounds are kept very clean. Location is excellent - close to walk to town - best way and shortest is to cut thru the marina. Can save a lot of money by venturing 2 -3 blocks off the main street next to marina and eat at smaller taco places where the locals eat. Friendly staff. It is starting to show a few minor signs of its age if you look closely - nothing too bad to fret about. Stayed in a studio unit with a partial kitchen - was sufficient for my wife and I as we ate in town mostly.
Can walk to Lover's/Divorce Beach area if you don't mind doing a little climbing on either side. Cannot swim in Pacific Ocean side of resort - too rough. Short walk 5-10 min. down to Sea of Cortez beaches.
Seen 4 or 5 marlin that had been caught during week. About 10 Ft. long - and 100 Lbs. or so I heard.
Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mesteve121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Steve

We really enjoy your comments about your most recent visit with us. What our resort really want is to being close to the hearts of all our custumers, so that you will want to come back with us. Saying that our location is excellent, and that you will love to come back makes our day really happy.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I went with a friend for a long Memorial Day weekend (Thursday – Tuesday) and had a fabulous time. The resort is beautiful offering ocean and city views. We had a room facing the marina and the city. Everything about the resort was top notch – facility, pools, room, maid service, food, restaurants, concierge, entertainment staff, etc. I had no complaints. I was on an all-inclusive package for food and drinks, so that added to my happiness! There were themed buffet nights, but most meals are a la carte from the menu (i.e. freshly made). The drinks were strong, no extra shots needed. Although there’s no swimming at the beach, it offers beautiful beach views and it is walking distance to town. AND, they have plenty of pools and hot tubs. I’d definitely go back…

Room Tip: The only warning that I have is for those with walking disabilities/difficulties. The resort has man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldengirl1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Goldengirl

Thank you for saying that everything in our resort was top notch. From the facility in general, pools, room, maid service, food, restaurants, concierge, entertainment staff, the drinks, and the meal plan package service. We want to thank you for share your amazing experience with all the people.

We will love to welcome you back to paradise.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
843 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.6 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing