We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Family Friendly Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our family goes somewhere different every year, and this was the best resort we have ever been to!!! Not only is the resort itself paradise, but the staff was so warm and welcoming! They really treated you like royality.We did the all-inclusive option, and would HIGHLY recommend it! The food was terrific! We participated in the on-site dinners and shows each night, and were never disappointed! The entertainment staff not only put on fabulous (and very funny) shows, but would play ping-pong or pool games with your kids if they wanted, during the day. There was a nice, minature golf course, fitness center and tennis courts. There was a poolside, pottery painting station set up that my 9 year old daughter and I enjoyed. We even had beautiful, beach family photos done, by the hotel photographer. The private beach at the hotel is not swimmable, but very majestic and my family still walking it and picking seashells. We only left the resort one day of our week-long stay, to parasail and swim with the dolphins (which the resort will set up for you). A perfect, relaxing, vacation in paradise!!

Room Tip: The 6th floor 2 bedroom unit in Building M was stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Tanya

I am delighted having read your post. All your nice comments about our food, our staff, the shows, and our meal plan package have come to everyones attention. Imagine how satisfied all the staff are. We want everybody fels like royalty at the moment they visit our Spa, when we make a reservation for them to do any activitie, when we reserve the gym or golf course to you, even when the entertainment staff play volleyball or ping pong with our guest at the pool. I will share your comments also with MR Clemente who is the gentleman that works at the pottery section and also to the hotel photographer.

We hope to welcome you back on your next vacation, and have a lovely stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,251
    853
    196
    106
    80
See reviews for
1,220
1,304
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We' ve been to Cabo several times, but this was our first time staying on the Pacific side away from Medano Beach. We could not have been happier with our choice of resorts! From the minute we walked through the lobby we knew that this was going to be a great vacation! We were in building one, which is right near the beach and overlooks the pool. Clean - well maintained rooms with plenty of room for my husband and me. Would recommend the all inclusive plan as this was so worth it.The dinner shows (Mexican Fiesta and Beach Party) were fun, but we also liked that you could also choose a quiet dining option as well. Food was amazing at all of the restaurants and the staff was friendly and very welcoming! Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: We were in building B on the 3rd floor, corner room and did not have any issues with noise. Loved h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Lesa,

Thank you for your amazing report from your vacation time with us. When someone recommend our all inclusive package, and our resort in general with comments like yours (clean, well maintained rooms, the food from our restaurants, friendly and welcoming staff), we all feel satisfied. We hope this will not be your last visit to Cabo, and that next time, you will choose us again. I am sure that at the moment you enter our lobby, you will feel the same you did this last time.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had a nice visit to Playa Grande. The resort is in walking distance to downtown and the marina. The area looks questionable, but is safe. It is across the street from the Naval station. lots of friendly, locals around the property going about their business, but not trying to sell you something at every turn.

The resort is nice, but not of luxury status, which shows by the room decor, linens, etc. The food was ok. We enjoyed the Mexican Fiesta and would recommend it. We did not do the all-inclusive, as we are not big drinkers and enjoy trying other local restaurants. Also, as you would expect, the wines are house brands.

PLEASE NOTE: the beach in this area is beautiful, but you cannot swim due to the dangerous undertow.

Our room was on the 4th floor in building O with a nice view of the ocean. There is construction on the other side of the building that can be heard during the day, but it was not a problem for us. We liked having easy access to the pool, beach, restaurants, etc. we had the option to stay at the Ridge, but did not want the marina view and heard about issues with wifi in that area. We like the ambience and decor better at Casa Dorado, but the service here trumped theirs. The furnishings are quite dated, but the bed was really comfortable. Nancy cleaned our room daily with appropriate attention to detail.


Check-in/check-out was smooth and uneventful. No issues with the bill. They add a small donation to your bill for their Foundation, which I found annoying. It should be opt-in vs opt-out.

The staff here is amazing!!! They remind me of what I experience at the Ritz. Everyone was extremely accommodating. Also, we declined the tour and timeshare presentation upon arrival and were not asked about it again.

Highly recommend the spa - Hortencia for massage and Leticia for mani-pedi. Alina was very helpful, too. The outdoor salt water Infiniti style jacuzzi was delightful.

Fitness center was sufficient.......nice array of equipment, clean, not crowded.

Regarding staff ~ the following deserve recognition for excellent customer service:
Bellman ~ Manuel and Alejandro.

Front desk ~ Hugo

Housekeeping ~ Nancy

Restaurant ~ Ramon and Cierlo

Entertainment ~ Hector, Mayrobi and the MC for Fiesta Night who was hilarious!!!

Vierediana at the concierge desk. The guys at concierge were quite helpful as well. One lady did highly recommend Romeo and Juliette's for dinner. (It is owned by Playa Grande.) we declined because of poor reviews on Trip Advisor.

All in all, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 26Mar2013q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear guest from TEXAS,

On behalf of our all staff, we appreciated your comments about your most recent visit to our resort. And also for recommend the mexican fiesta. A lot of people is loving the package we offer at check in regarding the meal plan, as you have the opportunity to visit the Theme nights, as they are included. I am also glad that you like your room location, having easy access to the pool, beach and restaurants. For us is a priority that our guest feel the check in and check out process as easy as possible. Actually the small donation to our Foundation is optional, and we have tour every week for the people to see what Solmar group is doing and where are the locations that we help. Lots of people came back amaze and with a smile on their face.

What i am impress and also thankful, is for you to have the time to wrote everyone names on this review. From Nancy, who cleaned your room daily, Hortencia and Leticia from the Spa along with Alina, Hugo at the front desk, MAnuel and Alejandro at the bell stand, Ramon at the restaurant, HEctor, MAirobi and Roberto from the fiesta entertainment, the concierge desk, i promess you that in our weekly meeting, we show to all the staff the names of the guys who provide excellent service.

We can not wait to welcome you back, and provide you again, an experience you will not forget.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We've been staying at Playa Grande for 10 years although we've not been there for the past 6 years. After the past week there we wonder why we stopped going. What an amazing experience! Exceptional food, drinks and service. Everyone we met who was working there was friendly and helpful. The only defect we could find was that the towels were a bit threadbare. A small defect when compared to the totality of an amazing experience. We will be back NEXT year!

Room Tip: Building A has fantastic views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckM105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Chuck

It is always a great way to start a week, receiving this amazing comments from a loyal guest. I will share your opinions about the exceptional food, drinks and service in general with all the staff, this encourage them every day to do a better job. They really love to hear this comments from our guests. We just receive new linens and new lounge chair for everybody to enjoy. I will love to meet you next year, and please, do not wait another 6 years to visit us!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Co United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We were upgraded to Playa Grande from Solmar through a LivingSocial deal. We had never used a LivingSocial deal so we were skeptical at first but this resort was worth way more than we paid for. We had 5 nights all inclusive and it was AMAZING. The food, service and drinks were exceptional. My only complaint is that the bartenders were rude and acted like we bothered them whenever we ordered anything.

Room Tip: Avoid Building "E" because it's quite a walk from everything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Alysse

I am glad that you have the opportunity to really enjoy everything that we have to offer to our guest. It means a lot to me that you enjoy our food, service and drinks. Our staff always want to provide the best possible service with the best attitude, and when you see someone smile, that is the moment we are all waiting for. We are working in training programs for our employees at the moment, that i am sure will help us to improve our guest satisfaction overall.

We will love to welcome you back on your next vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Was looking forward to resort stay in the middle of our trip but the hard hotel push to go on a timeshare presentation in the middle of our day and having to wait an hour for this free "tour" and lunch was a sour start to our break. We ended up boycotting the event and spent the day exploring the area instead. Pool service was great, food was average, drinks were affordable, pool was lovely. Probably wont be visiting here again anytime soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiepoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Rosie

I want to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay; it is always important to hear all our guest opinion and then be proactive and start working in all the details. I am glad you love our pools, drink and pool service. I will address your suggestions and we will love to welcome you back for you to enjoy our resort one more time. Remember that we are here for you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

My friends and I had a great time here; the pool service was good and the rooms were as expected.

Just be careful on the beach. I left a pair of sandals right next to the pool entrance (near the foot washing area) and they were stolen during the 20 minutes I was walking on the beach. The hotel wasn't very helpful about it and just told me to keep checking the lost and found. Seems like they need better beach security.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Katherine

I want to thank you for your nice remarks about our pool service and our rooms; i am delighted that you enjoy your stay and had a great time with us. We are here for you, and when someone comments that they have a great experience with us, it feels really good. Our beach is private and our staff at the moment that they find something at the beach, or any area orf the hotel, they immediatly reported,. We have a process and the place to keep those things. I can tell you that most of the time i have seen happy faces when they approach the fro nt desk and someone has returned their belongings.

I really hope to see you here next time, and again, enjoy our facilities.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing