We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viridiana is wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have been owners on The Ridge at Playa Grande for about 8 years-our son has been at Kids Camp for many, many years. Besides being a great resort with a great location-the employees are wonderful. Viridiana has been in charge of the Kids Camp and she is great, my son and nephew look forward to seeing her every year! We have been there on quiet weeks when it has been only the 2 of them in camp, and this year at Thanksgiving and even though it was crowded they had an awesome time. Highly recommend the resort and look forward to seeing Viridiana next year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Susan,
Thank you for your lovely review, It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I´m glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Your comments will share with pleasure with Viridiana who I’m sure will be happy to know that you remember her.
We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,807)
There are newer reviews for Playa Grande Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,389 - 2,395 of 3,807 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have been coming to Playa Grand for the past 13 years because we have timeshare here. In the past 13 years we have seen the best and the worst. This year we decided to trade our week for a later week in December due to conflict in our schedule. We found the noise level around the pool area to be unacceptable due to various maintenance and construction projects going on around the ground during prime time hours. We enjoy coming here to get away from our hectic and everyday life in hoping for a little quiet relaxing time. The food used to be good and authentic and we liked the choices and variety the menu had to offer and to our surprise it had changed. The food is kind of bland and not seasoning very well. Ceviche was my favorite and now it's bland. Poor wifi connection, I hope we are not charged for poor connection. One good thing that has not changed is the service staff. They do great job of accommodating the guests and work very hard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Kaye C,
I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations on this visit. I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the team to ensure we handle things differently in the future.
We appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback helps us to constantly strive for excellence.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have a timeshare and go to Playa Grande every year. We go the same time/same room-a penthouse right on the Pacific. We love this location because the Pacific side is quieter than the Sea of Cortez side. We also love to be able to walk into town. We no longer rent a car. There are great nearby restaurants.
They are trying to get more activity in their restaurants and are doing a good job. There is food is good and their servers are great-very friendly and accommodating.
Definitely would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for P building if you like to te on the water. If you are in "P" building, you will ha...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKS0577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Hi. Thanks so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a lot of fun. I love reading the experiences of our guests, and yours is no exception.
I am agree that our property offers a great location and everything is nearby.
Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

As an owner here, I have been coming for several years. Although the location is excellent the customer service is poor. I was charged $4 usd per minute to make a toll free call to a Mexican number to check on my lost luggage. I only was handed a printed copy of their phone charges the next morning when I was presented with a $106 US dollars accounting of my charges to date. When I tried to explain to Adrian the manager about my plight, having no clothes or toiletries, he actually laughed and then told me it wasn't their fault my luggage was lost and they shouldn't have to pay the cost of my call. While I agree that they are not responsible for my situation, I reasoned that I was simply trying to call what I thought was a toll free number. He offered to take 30% off. Then he reneged on that saying since I was upset with the lack of customer service I could pay the whole amount.
Too bad for Playa Grande. I will make full use of the lovely location. However, I will send every penny elsewhere. We had planned to have massages at the spa as we have done before but I will be checking out the massages on medano by Sand Bar per other TA user reviews. No drinks or food by the pool for us and we canceled the reservation for the breakfast buffet ( presentation) as I refuse to consider purchasing anything else from this group. Lots of other places out there! Good Customer service would be writing off a $106 (outrageous) phone charge in order to make a return customer less upset in an already stressful situation thereby ensuring their repeat business not upsetting them further and in the process losing future business.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
10  Thank jenandcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear jenandcody
I wanted to offer my apologies for your experience with us. I have discussed your concerns with the appropriate employees, and I can assure you that these issues won´t occur again.
I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon. Be assured that my staff and I will take the utmost care to make sure you´re accommodated in everything you desire.
Please if you have any further assistance do not hesitate to contact me.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

During a recent week in Cabo, we needed to spend our first night at an alternate location. We chose the Playa Grande, and were very pleased with our stay. If there is a downside, it is that some of their rooms are older and the decor is showing it's age. The staff, location and facilities are outstanding. They have a mile of private beach, with NO vendors.

One of our couples had trouble with their door lock, and were upgraded to a two room suite at 11:00 p.m., upon returning from dinner. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or understanding.

This is a timeshare-based hotel, so you'll be "asked" to go through a breakfast meeting and tour. For those of you who are not interested in the least, simply be assertive and decline the offer.

Room Tip: Pick rooms that are above the 2nd floor, and on the north wings.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Lyle,
Thanks so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a great time I love reading the experiences of our guests.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms.
We look forward to hearing from you in the near future
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

So, the reason we stayed at Playa Grande was because the last time we were in Cabo (Feb 2012) we got suckered into a time share presentation at the airport. At the time, we were staying at RIU Santa Fe. We went through the presentation, and in the end, turned down every deal except for the exit offer - which was one week back at the Playa Grande. We bought it!

We had two years to use it. Boy, did that two years fly by! But we got the trip in. As part of the trip, we had to go through the time share presentation again. Start to finish (including an awesome brunch) was 3 hours. Really, it is no big deal! Some of the reviews are saying how pushy the sales reps are. Yes, they are pushy, but just say no people! And drink all the beer you can while in the presentation!

From the start, our experience was great. We are 30 years old, and it was an older crew at Playa, but it was truly a fab trip. Beautiful beautiful resort, clean rooms, and friendly employees. The foods is priced very well, much less than the Bahamas, which was our last trip. Beers are 2 for 1 at the pool, and all the dinners were well priced. We got free internet and gym while we were there - super awesome. This was the best vacation I've ever been on.

On day one, we went to Wal-mart to shop. We decided not to do their all-inclusive package, which would have been $91 per person, per day. Now, I did the math, we only saved $200 by not doing the all-inclusive when we tallied up everything else we did instead, but I also saved myself a lot of calories!! I always overeat at al-inclusives, and feel worse when I return from Vacay.

Not doing the all-inclusive forced us off the resort. We tried some awesome restaurants - Maro's (two lobster tails, plate of shrimp for $17!), Captain Tony's, Puerto San Lucas, Hacienda El Coyote (best enchiladas EVER!), Tiki Bar, Giggling Marlin, and the fabulous Buccaneer Queen sunset cruise. We also did a glass bottom boat ride, which may look like a cheap boat ride, but we had an awesome tour guide who made it one of our favorite things to do!!! One night we did do the party at the hotel. It was Asian night, which was super fun. Three hours of open bar, all you can eat deliciousness, and entertainment. Great price, too.

While at the Marina, we almost got suckered into yet another time share presentation (too much to drink!) When I later researched their property, found out it sucked!! We are luck to have gotten the Playa Grande presentation. It seems like everyone has a timeshare to sell, but I am glad that we found Playa. You don't need to be an owner to be a guest here. Over all, this place rocked. My husband and I had a GREAT time!! Oh, and definitely get a back massage while there at their spa. I got one on the beach, WHAT an experience!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Stephanie,
What a delightful review to read. Thank you so much for sharing such lovely comments. Our staff do indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing spa experience.
I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We basically picked this resort after reading other peoples reviews on Trip Advisor. Well, my fellow travelers....You got it right! This resort was beautiful, the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Our screen door came off the track and one of the toilets clogged. Maintainence fixed everything right away. The maid service was a nice touch. Other timeshare locations we have been too do not always offer this amenity.
The food by pool was very good & the 2 for 1 daily drink specials are not to be missed! The pool staff kept us busy with water games, water arobics and bingo. Not to worry they didn't keep us that busy we had plenty of time to relax and enjoy.
We were at this resort over the Thanksgiving week. The resort offered a very nice Thanksgiving buffet by the beach with Mexican style entertainment. $35 for adults, 12 and under 50% off. The entertainment was a lot of fun. A very different Thanksgiving then your use too but we would definately do it again!
My only gripe would be the poor interent connection that you have to pay for if you are not a timeshare owner at this resort. You also have to pay for the gym & mini gold if you are not an owner at this resort.

Room Tip: As for a room close to the beach.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank AM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear AM,
We enjoyed reading your wonderful review, Glad you had a great time at our Thanksgiving Dinner and I´m delighted that you were able to spend time to relax & enjoyed.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the internet access, I would like to inform you we are at the moment looking for another options to increase our band. We will be working on this.
Hoping to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
928 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
1.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
6.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £133 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing