We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Hotel Gets Better and Better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This Hotel Gets Better and Better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just finished 10 days at the Playa Grande and had an even better experience than last year. We were almost going to stay elsewhere as last year we changed rooms twice for various reasons I won't get into here before settling in to a nice room for our stay. I told this to Juan Carlos, one of the front desk clerks and he was so wonderful to us and saw to it that we had the perfect room for our needs and that was the beginning of a fabulous stay. Juan Carlos was always accommodating if the concierge was busy and if he [Juan] didn't have someone checking in or out he gave us good advice, much help and patience and we just appreciated him so much.
This hotel is a gorgeous property right near the marina where tons of activities take place. If you love lounging by a pool and being pampered this is the place for you. The pools are great and we were in them early in the morning but the hot tubs could definitely be hotter. There is an activities desk right by the pools and we signed up for the Mexican Fiesta which was good but they could turn the volume down a million decibels and it would be perfect. There's a cooking class every Monday around 1p.m. and the chef makes a lovely seafood dish that everyone gets to sample and that was fun. Marina, the gal at the activities area is a treasure and our trip was so much better with her help as she gave us such great tips, advice, was accommodating and patient with our many questions and the hotel is an even better place with her around. The concierges Paula and Angel likewise were terrific and made our stay that much better.
The food at Calima and Brigantine is quite good but we like to explore so we ate there a few times and walked to many other restaurants outside the property. If you like all inclusive they do offer that and I think you'll be happy with it. Jorge and his staff at the Brigantine restaurant are wonderful and he helped us yesterday as we were running late to get to the airport, didn't have time to wait for something to be cooked, didn't want a buffet breakfast but Jorge let us pick a few things off the buffet and didn't charge much and it was delicious.
There are many choices of hotels in Cabo but truthfully, for us, once your find something you're very comfortable with why bother looking for something else. You get choices of rooms when you book this hotel and we like the luxury suite with its two bathroom and double balconies and extra square footage and it's not that much more than the regular room. All and all a great value and we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you can't do a lot of walking get a room closer to the lobby where the cabs are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Arlyhill,
Thank you very much for this detailed and wonderful review, which help all the TripAdvisor community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for their vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our great service and selection of food.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward for your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,289
    863
    198
    106
    80
See reviews for
1,239
1,323
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We always look forward to being greeted by Jesus when we arrive - he is always friendly and so helpful. We love the entertainment staff - Cristina, Umberto, Miriam, Hector, Luis and Roberto are wonderfully friendly and enthusiastic. Water aerobics is a great class. The pool service staff is also great - Gustavo, Eduardo, Arturo, Rafael, and Julio are the best!!
Paula Riopa is always very responsive to my emails and requests for things such as upgrades and staying extra days. If she can't take care of it, she refers me to the proper person.
All in All the staff at Playa Grande is very knowledgeable and helpful from the reception desk to the restaurant staff and concierge staff. A great resort and very well maintained.

Room Tip: Some views are partially obscured by the palm trees - they are trimmed periodically but it is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knotthd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Knotthd ,
We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Your comments will share with pleasure with the people you mentioned in your review.
We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

A friend and I visited this resort for a girls getaway. We stayed for 4 perfect nights! The property is beautifully maintained, the staff is SUPER FRIENDLY and helpful, our room was gorgeous (with a view of the main pool area and the ocean) and the weather was perfect! The price for value was really great as well. We chose to relax by the pool, walk the beach, and eat at the resort. If you chose to explore, town is an easy walk. The beach was so beautiful and because it is private, there are no vendors on the sand. Staff that were particularly helpful were Omar (at the front desk) and Julio Cesar (at the pool nearest the ocean). We have already booked our room for February 2015!

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms around the main pool, not up on the ridge. Many folks prefer the ridge as it...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Maureen,
What a delightful review to read. Thank you so much for sharing such lovely comments. Our staff do indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We just came back from 8 days at this resort. We loved the location. Easy access to the marina and activities in Cabo. Beautiful beach on the Pacific Ocean. While you cannot swim in the ocean (most people at resorts use the pool anyways) it was very private, had beautiful sand, nobody trying to hawk you silver and trinkets and far less busy than the hotels on Medano Beach. Our room was beautiful - king size bed, two bathrooms, kitchen, living room and two decks. The rooms are well maintained in this resort. Housekeeping service was excellent. Very social atmosphere around the pool. We stayed at the adult only pool. There were more activities and music at the other pools. We had a fabulous dinner at the restaurant by the beach on Grill Night - $29 US includes salad buffet and dessert buffet. Great value. We had Sunday Brunch - go before 9:00 a.m. and it is only $21 compared to $31 after 9:00 a.m. Didn't find the breakfast as good the rest of the week - less options for the $24 price. Sunday brunch has lots of extras so worth the value before 9:00 a.m. We had no problem communicating without knowledge of Spanish. All the bell boys, concierge, check in staff and restaurant staff speak good English. Beware of being hassled for time share upon checkin. Just say you are not interested and want to get to your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Barb;
We are completely honored to read that your first visit to Playa Grande was enjoyable and met your expectations. We truly appreciate all the positive remarks about our resort and especially about the service, it’s very important to know that we were able to meet your expectations.
Our goal is to provide every guest a beautiful and memorable vacation throughout great service and devotion towards our guests.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a beautiful resort. The pools are stellar. Family and kid friendly. Close location to downtown Cabo and the marina. Extremely accomodating staff. We've been vacationing in Cabo for the last 14 years. This was the best year yet. The weather was perfect (highs in the low '80s and lows around '60) which is great for the end of January. Special thanks to our activities people and the wait staff. Thank you Cristina, Miriam, Luis, Roberto, Humburto, and Hector. We will be back next year and hope to see all our friends...

Room Tip: Our room is on the 4th floor in Building F. Excellent balcony view. There are some trees that inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Wayne;
We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Your comments will share with pleasure with the people you mentioned in your review.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have owned a floating week all-resort unit at Playa Grande for 6 years and love coming here. To all those folks who are complaining about the noise or such - you need to keep things in context. First, the time of year you come matters, Spring break (mid-March) you will have tons of college kids everywhere. Second, as with anywhere, if you want to stay walking distance to bars, restaurants and shopping the trade off is more general activity. So yes, if you stay on The Ridge facing the marina you will hear the sounds of the marina but it is by no means "loud" unless you are expecting a farm in Iowa. The ridge-ocean side is usually very quiet, as is the pool area there.

The lower main hotel - the ocean waves crashing on the beach are loud - which is great if you're into that. We did wake to the sound of maintenance carts rolling by the pool when the windows were open. You should also expect a fair amount of daytime organized activity noise in the pool area and on the beach in the evenings (weekly beach parties 2-3 nights/week.) This is what the 30 & under crowd are in Cabo for- fun, sun and a social scene.

Hint: if you want a more quiet, adult setting go to the Grand Solmar just down the beach. Same great accommodations, quieter setting.

We have always found the accommodations & service to be excellent, and the staff to be friendly.
The "Bad":
* On the Ridge prepare to be walking up & down hills and stairs to get to the town, the pool or main hotel as the buildings are on different levels of the hill and there are not elevators between them all.
* I've never been able to connect to the wifi from the Ridge rooms-which is good if you need an excuse to completely disconnect from work.
* It is Mexico, so expect that not everyone will be fluent in English. Not so much a negative as an obvious condition.
* the ocean side beach is NOT for swimming due to the strong undertow-entire coast, not just this hotel.
* the sand is coarse and hard to walk on for long (like walking to lands end). Again, the entire coast.
* From arrival until departure there is no end to folks trying to sell you timeshares, but PG has done a good job
of ending the practice at the hotel itself.

The Good:
* Beautiful suites, pools and views (yes, including the view over the marina)
* Daily cleaning, including kitchen & dishes.
* Good food on premise and with short walk and no end of drinks available at the various bars.
* great location to walk downtown to all the coffee shops, restaurants and bars
* easy access to the marina and water taxis across to the "spring break bars", very short walk to great restaurants and coffee shops in town.
* generally good service, especially at the pool bars and the spa.
* if you're on the Ridge, have breakfast by the pool at least once and enjoy the sunrise over the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoSche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear LoSche;
Thank you very much for this detailed and wonderful review, which help all the TripAdvisor community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for your vacation.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward to your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We just returned from a stay at the Playa Grande in Cabo San Lucas and I can honestly say we had a fantastic time. Everyone from the valets, bellmen, front desk staff, housekeeping and bartenders were extremely friendly. Our only encounter with the sales staff was right after we checked in. They made their obligatory invitation for a time share presentation, which we politely declined, and we never heard from them again.

Our spacious room was on the fourth floor of Building G. We had a beautiful view of the pools, courtyard and the Pacific. We could not have been happier with our view. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The huge bathroom boasted a large tub with sliding glass doors. There is quite a step up to get into the tub which could make it difficult for some people to get in and out of easily, but we had no issues with it. One morning the tub would not drain so I informed the front desk when we left. When we returned the drain had been fixed, so I appreciated their prompt attention.

Even though you cannot swim from the beach at the Playa Grande we still had a great time laying on the beach listening to the waves roll in as we got some sun. There are 20-30 chaise lounges on the beach. We moved ours all the way out near the water. The pools and large hot tub are very inviting. It can sometimes be difficult to find four chairs together, though. Despite signs discouraging the practice, many people save chairs long before they plan on staying in the pool area.

We did not try the Calima or Brigantine restaurants while we stayed there but we did have room service one night and ate in the lobby bar another. Our food was excellent in both instances.

I highly recommend a stay at the Playa Grande. There is just something special about being able to sit on your balcony in the morning and watch the whales breaching in the distance.

Room Tip: Request a room in building G overlooking the pools and facing the ocean. Ours was room 1401.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T Darrin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Darrin,
Thank you very much for this detailed and wonderful review, which help all the TripAdvisor community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for their vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our great service.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward to your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing