We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best runaways in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best runaways in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

As soon as you step off the plane in San Jose del Cabo, minus the timeshare push, you find yourself surrounded by the beauty and loveliness of this tip of the Baha where the Sea of Cortez meets the Pacific. The landscape, the people, the sheer peace which accompanies you will transport you away from the rigors and demands of your daily life...Mendano Beach will give you the party life, but Playa Grande, unspoiled by hawkers and timeshare hard sellers, will take your breath away...

The service, the food and the activities of this resort, along with the close proximity to town makes this a vacation paradise. You can walk or take a water taxi anywhere you want to go. Or rent a car and traverse the beautiful highway back up to San Jose for the artsy feel of that town.

A vacation not to be missed in your lifetime.

Room Tip: Chose a room with views of the Pacific off your balcony and views of the harbor outside your front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ging D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Ging D,
Thank you very much for such a positive review, especially for your kind comments about the great service provided by our staff, it's a true pleasure to know that your overall experience with us was enjoyable and met your expectations. Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day.
We are looking forward to having you as our guest again and make every effort to exceed your expectations.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,251
    853
    196
    106
    80
See reviews for
1,220
1,304
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have been coming to Cabo since 2004. In recent years we've come twice, once in April and once in July. We stay at either Playa Grande or Grand Solmar. But in both instances we go to the Playa Grande spa for both a manicure and pedicure. We can't say enough about the quality of the service, normally by Ana and Leticia. Their procedures greatly improve the hands and feet, not just the nails. In fact, my brother also went to Ana and resolved a foot problem so severe that he was contemplating seeing a podiatrist. The friendly and soothing atmosphere is always something we look forward to!

Room Tip: A key point about sleeping when staying on the Ridge is whether or not the bars have live music that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickZ1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, Spa Marketing & Sales Coordinator at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear NickZ1318,
We are delighted to read that you enjoy your treatments at Playa Grande Spa , and that our girls Ana & Leticia exceeds your expectations, I will amke sure to pass this amazing review with them and the rest of the staff and We would love to welcome you back to our Spa on your next visit.

Sincerely
Jazmín de Robles Colón
Spa Marketing & Sales Coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We recently spent 3 weeks in Cabo. The Playa Grande was great! We especially want to say a big thank you to Luis, Humberto & Miriam for the fun water aerobics! They made exercise fun! If you go to visit be sure to try the aerobics every morning at 10:30 a.m.

The Playa Grande spa is WONDERFUL! Very relaxing and professional people there to serve you. I highly recommend Ericka for your massage. She was great!

Thanks Playa Grande!

Room Tip: Oceanside is the best! Love the sound of the waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Jack H
I´m glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Your comments will share with pleasure with the people you mentioned in your review who I’m sure will be happy to know that you remember them.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The GOOD

LOCATION - easy walk to the marina and downtown. We walked in several times each day.

POOLS - very nice main pool. 2 nice hot tubs, and 2 additional pools. Lots of seating - GET THERE EARLY for a comfortable chair / prime location

ROOM - we always get the king 1BR with 2 baths. Nice, big room - it's been just 2 of us, but we could easily take our 2 kids comfortably.

BEACH - Yes, you can't swim on this beach. If you book here, you know that. We LOVE the private beach. No vendors, hardly anyone on the beach. Great for walking and resting. We walked over towards Lands End - great photo opportunities. We also walked to Capella - beautiful. RELAXING!


THE AVERAGE / OK

DRINKS - tasty, but not strong! (TIP Vodka/Rum to the pool to add to your drinks!)

SERVICE - Nothing spectacular, but adequate. I would have to flag down my waiter and had to ask for towels as they forgot them in one room!


THE BAD

FOOD - Not good. It's sad, but we like to eat breakfast and dinner out anyway. We did have lunch at the pool 3 times - got chicken quesadillas - very good with guacamole. We've tried most of the items in previous visits, and were disappointed.

TIME SHARE SHARKS

HORRIBLE - that's it. Pushy, rude when you say no. They really distracted from our vacation. It has gotten so bad at PG that we may try another resort next year. If we buy a timeshare, it will be on the secondary market - PERIOD! They actually insulted you if they pressed and you said no.

Room Tip: I would stay on the 1st / 2nd floor by the main pool. The 3rd floor you have no view because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacklyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Jacklyn T
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we highly value your loyalty as a returning guest, comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide. For us is really important your feedback it will serve as an encouragement to our team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed in a top floor oceanfront 1BR/2BA unit in Building A (#1374), and loved it! Our room was well-equipped in typical Mexican style, with bright colors, tiled floors, kitchen, and bathrooms. The bathtub in the master suite was huge and a bit unwieldly to get in and out of, so we never used it, opting to use the large walk-in shower off the LR/kitchen. There is a king bed in the bedroom, a queen(?) foam sofabed in the LR, and a fold up single cot in a console in the dining area - but it would be crowded for five adults. The suite was well-maintained, but not luxurious. The daily maid service was EXCELLENT! I'd rate the rooms a solid B.

The resort is huge, and is full service, so you can get just about anything you want without leaving the property. There are loads of activities with pools, restaurants, bars, shops, spa, fishing charters, miniature golf course, tennis, photographers, kids' club, etc. We are pretty independent travelers and prefer to get out and explore the local area more than have a "resort experience", so I can't say much more than everyone seemed to be having a good time. We had family members staying at Grand Solmar who enjoyed their full spa treatments at the Playa Grande spa. It believe the amenities would rate an A.

The resort has a perfect location for watching the whales offshore and The Big Waves pounding Solmar Beach. It's also very nice to be able to walk into town, or take a short water taxi ride over to Medano Beach. I'd give the location an A+.


I would imagine that our oceanfront unit was a different experience than if we stayed in a courtyard facing unit. All we could see from our room/balcony was the beach, ocean, and sky (and a bit of Land's End and Pedregal). When we walked along the pools/restaurant up to the lobby, the difference in sounds was striking. It's not a bad thing to hear people enjoying their holidays, but all we could hear from our room was the waves crashing! If you stay here, try to get in Bldg A or P.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear PamMO
Thank you for your kind words, I agree that our property offers a Great location and our housekeeping staff does the best to provide a professional service all the time
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We owned two weeks at Solmar and recently traded to Playa Grande so this was our first time staying here. Enjoyed our two weeks of sun, pools and relaxation. Resort staff was very helpful at all times. We had a great time around the pools during our trip with the main complaint being a lack of enough chairs at certain times. Fiesta Night was very nice with a great show and nice selection of food for all ages. The fresh churros were a big hit with our boys. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2431 which is in Building N. Morning sun on the two separate patios (living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambam99801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Bambam99801,
Thank so much for posting a review, I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
Our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time. I am glad to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to having you back at the resort again in the not too distant future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The resort grounds are exceptional, but what shocks me is the food is absolutely terrible! The Internet doesn't work, and they charged us $58 to use! Couldn't pull up Skype to make calls as the speed was slower than dial-up. We signed up for Verizon Wireless's international calling plan, and that wouldn't work. Had to use our hotel phone and was charged $4.00 per minute!! Nobody informed us of the hotel phone prices!

Two months ago, booked an ocean view suite directly with hotel. We didn't want to risk using Expedia or any other travel website and be given a lesser quality room.

Day of arrival: was given the run-around at check-in on the ocean view suite. Finally got it. Went to the room, phone didn't work (no dial tone). Called maintenance who was in/out of our room from 3 pm (Cabo time) to 7 pm. Couldn't fix and absolutely no internet in that room. We have a business we need to be in touch with, so no phone or Internet won't work!

Finally blew a gasket as we couldn't enjoy our first day or leave the room as the maintenance guys seriously looked like 16 yr old boys.

Went to front desk to demand another room. Night manager said he'd switch our room next day (he did do an upgrade).

Ate a late lunch at the outside restaurant. Had 2 fish tacos, guacamole/chips, garden salad, and 2 (juice cup size) margaritas. Bill in USA dollars was $95!!

Second day: went to breakfast at the restaurant, Brigadine. It was a buffet. They literally served dehydrated scrambled eggs! I was looking at this large pan of scrambled eggs that had milk floating on top and were the consistency of styrofoam cups. Was starving, so tried it. Super disgusting and one person costs $28! Service was terrible. Nobody offered coffee or juice and it took 25 mins for check to arrive after I requested. There was literally only 4 other couples, and a lot of staff.

Went back to the room, and took a bath. When I drained tub, bathroom floor with drain flooded the bathroom floor!

Flushed toilet with only pee in it and toilet backed up. Called maintenance to unclog. The toilet clogging happened every single day! It's obvious whoever got the plumbing contract for this hotel did so in a way I'd question as this isn't the work of a qualified plumbing company!

Ended up getting sick, including a sore throat two days into our 7 day trip. Had to lay down late afternoon. Ordered room service (husband had a cheeseburger and I had tortilla soup). Husband threw away half his meal and had a stomach ache due to bad food. Soup was hideous and so salty, had to throw out.

Second night before leaving: got back from the beach. Didn't want to walk into town or taxi it to eat dinner. Tried "Grill Night". I had organic chicken with frozen vegetables. There was what they call a salad bar, was lettuce and a completely tasteless salad dressing. Husband had fish, which he said he liked. Bill was sky high at $160!

Night before leaving: still had a sore throat. Reluctantly went to outside restaurant for tomato soup. Said it came with croutons, cilantro and basil. I'm serious that it was a can of tomato sauce opened and served as soup! Husband had guacamole /chips again and couldn't eat it as it was so bad! Waiter saw I didn't touch my soup and asked "did you like your soup"? I to him no, is only tomato sauce from a can, very bitter and NOT soup! He just walks away!

Our recommendation to people is make sure you buy an international calling card you can default to.

Do not eat at this resort! Food is the worst we've ever had in our lives!

Resort staff are defensive if anything is brought up and not trained in customer service or food prep. It wouldn't cost any more for the resort staff to hire real, trained chefs as we read after our experience the "terrible / poor" reviews are for terrible food and service! All of these people, ourselves included would of come back or spent much more $$ if the resort management would hire trained professionals!

Highly, highly recommend Tres Los Tres Gallos rated no. 1 by Trip Advisor for the best, most authentic mexican food. Was unlike anything we've ever had (and we live in San Diego, CA) so have plenty of Mexican restaurants. On 20 De Noviembre St in downtown Cabo!

Major grocery stores (3) are on highway going to Todos Santos village on the coast north of Cabo. A must visit and where the original Hotel California and restaurant is located. Excellent food!

Walmart has fresh food, such as eggs, bacon, excellent refried beans freshly made daily in plastic bags and real tortillas made there also. Also homemade salsa.

The Office is a beach outdoor restaurant on the sand with hundreds of umbrellas. A must eat. The service is great too!

Best beach: playa Chileno with huts for shade, bathrooms and showers. Excellent snorkeling and swimming (bay-like)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snorkelet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Snorkelet1
I would like to extend my most sincere apologies for the problems encountered during their recent stay with us.
Please rest assured we are taking corrective action to prevent such things from happening in the future. We have distributed copies of your message to Food & Beverages Manager each of the departments involved with your comments and asked their respective supervisors to report back to us, what corrective measures they will take to ensure.
We hope you give us an opportunity to serve you in a future
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing