We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We visited with 2 other families and had a great stay. There is lots to see and do and the hotel is great and very nice. We ate out every night in town and the food was excellent but expensive. CAbo is priced like a major American city. We were most impressed with how safe it was.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Mike,
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing getaway at Cabo. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful time and enjoyed impeccable service throughout your stay
We look forward to hosting you again.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,335
    875
    201
    106
    81
See reviews for
1,258
1,355
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Had so much fun! Beautiful hotel, grounds, location & room! Food and staff wonderful- Activities personnel Cristina, Miriam, Luis, Humberto so entertaining! Clean beaches and pools, fish tacos amazing! Get the all inclusive meals and drinks for $90/day, worth it. Great place w/ or w/o kids! Will return!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Diane D,
Thank you very much for such a generous review. I am delighted to read your comments and learn that you have been impressed with our place.
I agree that our entertainment staff is amazing they indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
I am glad you enjoyed the all inclusive option, we are looking forward to your next visit
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My daughter and I went to Playa Grande for her senior spring break with another family last week. The resort itself is nothing short of luxury and has phenomenal views. I was a little hesitant about the beach because it is a non-swimming area, but the pools more than made for it. Walking on, and eating near the beach still gave us the perfect beach experience.

However, the staff makes Playa Grande over-the-top. While relaxing by the pool, Humberto always put a smile on the girls' face and Luis was always made them laugh. Julio made sure we were taken care of every day at the pool with a gracious spirit. Every morning we looked forward to Ramon serving us breakfast at the Brigantine - his happiness is contagious. These people really were what made our trip so memorable. We felt like they were truly our friends while staying at Playa Grande.

Overall, our trip to Playa Grande was filled with beautiful views, relaxing beach days, and laughing with the staff. :)

Room Tip: Participate in 11:30 am water aerobics with Humberto - it is such a good time! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMallinckrodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear DMallinckrodt,
My entire team and I are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit and really appreciate knowing that you recognize the devotion everyone puts into constantly caring for our guests, so we can provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
Thank you for taking your time sharing your comments with us!
We look forward to having you back at the resort again in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Top to bottom, front to back excellent.

Squeaky clean, excellent food, terrific drinks, resonably priced, tranquil when you want it,
hotbed of activity when you need it!

Great location...5 minute walk to the marina and a zillion places to eat and drink. 15 minute walk to Cabo Wabo.........somewhat longer stagger back......

Room Tip: We had a beautiful king suite with 2 full baths. balcony overlooked central gardens....... Watched...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Bill,
Hi. Thanks so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a lot of fun. I love reading the experiences of our guests, and yours is no exception.
I am glad that you enjoyed our services.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It is our third time at the Playa Grande. First time on the Ridge. The place is exceptionally clean, the staff is cleaning all of the time. We were served our first night in the lobby lounge by Vilma. She made us feel at home from the beginning. We went back a few times just to see her. My wife will always remember our room number in Spanish thanks to Vilma. Our whole family loved her. I hope we can see her again when we return. Our room on the Ridge had a great view of the Marina, harbor and the hills. Bands on Medano Beach could be a little noisy, but not so noisy that it disturbed your sleep. It is a great location right at one end of the Marina and not far from other restaurants off the Marina.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our spot on the Ridge. Our room in Building D was great. The marina side has a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miketraveler351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Miketraveler,
We are completely honored to read that second visit to Playa Grande was enjoyable and met your expectations. We truly appreciate all the positive remarks about our resort and especially about the service, it’s very important to know that we were able to meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your comments to my staff as they continue to improve our personalized service.
We are looking forward to having you as our guests again soon..
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

having just returned last night from a week at the Playa Grande, my most satisfying memories are the made-to-order omelettes (claras con mozzarella y jalapenos y chorizo) watching the late sunrise over the wide arc of the unbroken pacific horizon.. my thanks to the Brigantine's Mgr Sr. Jorge, and his great waitstaff, especially Luis, Ramon, & Yvonne (eng. sp.). The entire resort staff are among the most caring that I have encountered anywhere. I also wish to recognize the entertainment and hospitality team of Christina, Miriam, Humberto, & Luiz. Cudos to the quality of the cocktails as well, especially the mojitos-- we most definitely will return.

Room Tip: I would request a room as near as possible to the beach, and balcony facing northwards. the views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmarcoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear DrMArcoW,
My entire team and I are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit and really appreciate knowing that you recognize the devotion everyone puts into constantly caring for our guests, so we can provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
Thank you for taking your time sharing your comments with us!
We look forward to having you back at the resort again in the not too distant future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was my first trip to Cabo and I loved our location on top of it all at Playa Grande.
It was quiet but not too quiet. The room was lovely with a perfect view of the ocean and situated so nicely by the adult pool. The weather was sunny and 30 every day!
Watching the whales go by made it even more memorable.One day they were so close you could see their eyes. Mamma and Baby breaching for an hour!
Gloria our daily maid was incredible. One day she even turned our bedroom into a romantic love nest complete with fresh flowers.

The service around the pool was great. Attentive but not pushy. Julio Cesar and Eduardo were exceptional.

We cooked in a lot but ate at the resort a few times and were not disappointed. The food was very good. The kitchen in our suite was well equipped with everything you need to create a meal.
We loved going up to The Ridge and spending the day in the infinity pools enjoying the views of both the Sea Of Cortez and the Pacific.
The location was great. Away from all the spring break action down on Medano Beach. We walked everyday down to the marina and often to Medano Beach.
A negative of the resort would be the terrible WiFi and the cost of it. The computers in the business centre are also slow.But most of the restaurants on the marina have complimentary WiFi.

My favourite part of Playa Grande were the activity staff. Humberto was very charming and upbeat! He was so positive and funny. He was always smiling. Luis and Miriam were also fabulous at their jobs. I highly recommend the water aerobics, stretching and Spanish lessons.
Maria and Dolce at the front desk were very helpful. The concierge system worked very well.
We highly recommend the Mexican Fiesta night! Especially the tortilla soup!! Great entertainment and value.

Room Tip: We were in C block and near the beach and adult pool. We liked being on the ground floor for easy ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Michele R,
Thank you very much for this detailed and wonderful review, which help all the TripAdvisor community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for your vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our great service and selection of food. I am sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to our team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward to your next visit.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing