We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, perfect view, incredible staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect view, incredible staff!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Playa Grande does it right. They have the perfect location (away from the noisy Medano Beach), they are ocean front, with big, beautiful beach. Though the loud "activity time" around the upper pool does get a bit obnoxious when you're trying to relax, a quick move down to the lower pool, "the wall", or the beach chairs will allow you to escape. The staff is amazing. The view is amazing. But, the pool drink prices have increased. Happy Hour is the way to go!

Room Tip: Building A face the ocean! Get ready for the crashing waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Al P,
Thank you very much for such a positive review, especially for your kind comments about the great service provided by our staff, it's a true pleasure to know that your overall experience with us was enjoyable and met your expectations. Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day.
We are looking forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,335
    876
    201
    106
    82
See reviews for
1,258
1,356
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As We checked in, we asked a lot of questions, like what are we signing, and what does this mean, and the front desk agent, Hugo, reaction was irritated that we even questioned him. He had all the right scripted answers, but he had a condescending tone? At 7:00pm, we went down to the jacuzzi, all of the towel booths were closed, so I went to the front desk to get towels. It was Hugo again. I asked for pool towels, and he said No, I'm sorry, the pool and jacuzzi is closed at 6:30! I said well, there are 15 people including my family in the jacuzzi. He said, sorry, we don't have towels here. I asked where can I get towels. He said, Well, there are towels in your room. I said not pool towels! He continued to argue with me, saying they are bleaching the pools and they are closed. I said well, my family is in the jacuzzi, and need towels to dry off. He sighed, and rolled his eyes, and said, I will call housekeeping. Why did he not call housekeeping to begin with? Instead of arguing with me for 15 minutes? Was he holding a grudge because we asked questions at check in? I have never been treated so rudely in a resort. I will hesitate to recommend this resort or ever come back to stay at Playa Grande. The room was nice when you walk in, but there are microscopic bugs, in all of the cabinets and drawers, and the bathroom has a sewer smell that won't go away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Julie G,
I want to thank you for taking the time to write your experiences regarding your recent stay. Our guests’ comments give us important feedback on our performance and provide us with great ideas on how to improve our service.
Please accept my sincere apology for your experience. Rest assured I will be working very hard to ensure that all of our guests will receive consistent service according to the standards we are known for and have established here at Playa Grande.
I hope that you will decide to return in order to give us the opportunity to show you our improvements, and provide you with the excellent experience and service that you deserve.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My boyfriend and i both work full time jobs and REALLY needed a vacation! If you are looking for a vacation when you do not have to lift a finger for anything, this is your resort!! This was my first time to Cabo and will for sure not be my last. The Playa Grande was absolutely wonderful from how clean it was, the quality and service, location, and something i think very important is, the staff. They are very patient, polite, always greet you with a smile, speak wonderful english, and do not make you feel like they are doing you a favor being there whatsoever.. something i seem to find a lot of in the states. You can tell they really appreciate your service and there to help you with anything! The security is tight which will also make you feel that much safer. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Playa Grande and i can't wait to plan my trip for next year!!

Room Tip: Any room will give you a cute view of the resort, marina, or Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia_M088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Alicia_M088,
We are completely honored to read that first visit to Playa Grande was enjoyable and met your expectations. We truly appreciate all the positive remarks about our resort and especially about the service, it’s very important to know that we were able to meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your comments to my staff as they continue to improve our personalized service.
I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come. Best wishes from all of us here at Playa Grande
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Pros -- The staff was very accommodating . Christian at the front desk was very informative about places to eat and tour . Rooms had great views. You had the option of getting all inclusive for 3 or more days. The food is very good at the restaurants on site. The resort is within walking distance to downtown and other stores and restaurants if you don't choose all inclusive. Grounds are well maintained and rooms are clean and well kept.
Cons---Can't think of any.

Room Tip: Try to get on 4th or 5th floor of any building where the view is spectacular .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Oldyweds1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Oldyweds1...,
Thank you for your kind words, I agree that our property offers a Great location and our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Playa Grande staff is the best. We enjoy spending time at the pool. My children love spending time in the kids club with Vidiriam. She does a wonderful job and is an asset to the Playa Grande. The entire staff at the pool is amazing.Christina, Louis, Miriam, Roberto!!!!! We spent Easter there again this year and the staff made it special with the treasure and Easter egg hunt. The wait staff at the pool excellent. Fast and dependable. No need to leave the pool area for lunch. The food is great. We have been owners for 12 years and couldn't be happier to travel to Cabo twice a year and stay at this beautiful resort. Looking forward to our next visit in the fall.
Tom Carvalho
Bayville NJ

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Thomas C.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we highly value your loyalty as a returning guest and it’s always nice to know we have met your expectations.
My entire team and I are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit and really appreciate knowing that you recognize the devotion everyone puts into constantly caring for our guests, so we can provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very friendly staff, entertainment great, lots of laughs, and great place to relax, weather was perfect, and lots of activities, spa was the best, great drinks and service at the pool and pool bar everyone always in great mood and friendly

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank yanni551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear yanni551,
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you really had a wonderful time.
I agree that our entertainment staff is amazing they indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
I´m glad you enjoyed your stay. Will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is the 10th time I've stayed at Playa Grande. Overall it was an excellent visit. The Property is very clean and well maintained. The WiFi has been greatly improved.

I wish Playa Grande would make the on-property food a little less expensive. I would eat onsite a lot more if that would happen. I also wish there were all inclusive packages for one or two days.

Customer service and staff interaction have greatly improved over the past few year. I really appreciate that.

This is a great property. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wine_loving_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Wine_lovi...,
We are completely honored to read that 10th visit to Playa Grande was enjoyable and met your expectations. We truly appreciate all the positive remarks about our resort and especially about the service, it’s very important to know that we were able to meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your comments to my staff as they continue to improve our personalized service.
We really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.
Best wishes from all of us here at Playa Grande.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing