We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been Happier!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been Happier!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We are a couple from NY, I am 45 and my BF is 51. We inherited a RCI timeshare week from my sister.. so we had a choice of resorts… after much research we settled on Playa Grande. I can tell you that even after reading all the great reviews, we were even more impressed by Playa Grande’s location, cleanliness, accommodations and friendly service. Not to mention the comfy beds that we passed out in night after night!! The pictures do not do this resort justice. I was one of those who were stressing over staying in the Lower 40’s or the Ridge prior to my arrival. We were placed in “Lower 40’s” Building B , 3rd level up and we were extremely happy with the placement of our 1 Bedroom unit since we loved being closer to the beach.

On arrival we were asked to attend a sales presentation for Grand Solmar.. we declined.. but did consider it later. I just knew that we are not in the market to buy a timeshare and I did not want to be placed in this type of situation on our vacation.

The Location of Playa Grande was perfect for us, after visiting Medano Beach.. We prefer staying on the Pacific Side rather than the Sea of Cortez. The Beach was large, quiet and beautiful.. it is not safe to swim on this side and that was not a problem for us. We walked to the Marina a number of times which took about 15m from our room. A cab ride to Medano beach cost $12 one way. We also were able to walk /hike to Divorce and Lovers beach.

We arranged the Airport Transportation thru Playa Grand’s website, a reasonable $38pp Round Trip for shared shuttle. We arrived at 2pm and checked in immediately. The shop in the resort has a good selection of food items for the room.. we went to OXXO.. but in hind site would just have shopped at Playa Grande instead.

We signed up for the All Inclusive for 3 days (Mon, Tues, Wed) and that suited us perfectly!! We were treated wonderfully by all the staff.. it included the Mexican Fiesta on Monday night (this is an absolute MUST!! ) We had soooo much fun.. Hats off to the entertainment staff… they got everyone laughing and up dancing!! We attended the Tequila tasting with Leonardo and loved it and learned a lot!!! (he is a class act!) We did Brigantine for all 3 Breakfasts, Calima for all 3 lunches and Puerto san Lucas for dinner which was good. Then went to the Beach Party on Wed….. again lots of FUN but I was not crazy about the food that night so I just ordered food to the room at 50% off. These 3 days were soooo relaxing.. lots of beach/pool /drinking time without anyone hassling you to buy something!! No problems with the WIFi either.
We booked a Sunset Sailing Cruise for Friday night through Playa Grande on Cabo Sailing another A+++ outfit. I highly recommend using the resort to arrange activities.

I can’t say enough good things about Playa Grande.. I would consider buying a Time Share there if it was closer. Keep up the good job.. hope to stay there again real soon!!!

Room Tip: Just talk to the person on Check-in.. they will listen to your wishes and try their best to accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeenieSk8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear DeenieSk8s,
Thank you very much for this detailed and wonderful review, which help all the TripAdvisor community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for your vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our great service and selection of food.
I am delighted to read your comments and learn that you have been impressed with our place.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward to your next visit
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,291
    863
    198
    106
    80
See reviews for
1,240
1,324
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I just checked in today and wanted everyone to know the time share people do not do not hound you like I read in all the reviews . They offer a presentation you say no and that's the end of it. I was greeted with a smile by Carlos who checked us in professional and friendly . The resort has a shop with everything you need , we found out after our trip to walmart . The rooms are impeccable the one Bedroom we are staying in has two bathrooms . The food is normally priced also ,so far great start .

Room Tip: Near the pool and restaurants higher up better view but I Prefered first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Debra C,
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I am glad you enjoyed our services.
Our staff do indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This resort is amazing! We had such a great vacation! The employees are exceptional! Ernesto in the Calima restaurant went above and beyond and the food was excellent! Fernando in the lobby bar provided great service and he also held a tequila tasting which was wonderful! Everyone should do this!!! Ivan and Alejandro in the Calima restaurant provided excellent service every time we ate there!! Humberto and Roberto on the Recreation team were amazing and provided excellent entertainment! We did the all inclusive here and would do it again! Food was the best we have had at an all inclusive! Rooms were perfect, views were awesome, pools excellent! I honestly have nothing bad to say about this vacation!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom with a kitchen which was well equipped. It was higher up so we had a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Kimberly R,
What a delightful review to read. Thank you so much for sharing such lovely comments. Our staff do indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nothing in Cabo is inexpensive but this hotel was a relatively good price for a great location. Because it is located on the Pacific side the currents are too strong to enter the ocean but does give you a private-like beach, if you are not sitting around the many pools. There is an infinity pool, hot tub, and water slide at The Ridge portion of the resort and 2 hot tubs and 3 pools in the main part of the resort. Some were designated as adult-only but directly adjacent to kid-friendly areas.
My husband told them it was our honeymoon at booking so had the bedroom decorated upon our arrival. We had an ocean view room, over the main pool and beach and it was quite spacious with 2 decks, a living room, kitchen, large bedroom, and 2 full bathrooms. Since there was a full kitchen, we took a taxi to Walmart our first day and stocked up on drinks and snacks. We did not choose the all-inclusive option since Cabo has amazing restaurants, like El Farallon in the resort next door. As it turns out, we hardly ate dinner since we would binge at the daily happy hour (half off drinks) by the pool. We did order room service one night and took close to an hour for a salad and appetizer.
The hotel was located with-in walking distance (albeit via a large hill) to the marina where you can charter a fishing or whale watching boat, get a water taxi to Lover's Beach, go SCUBA diving, or swim with dolphins. We were there for 7 days and found enough stuff to do that we didn't make it much further than the marina.
At check-in, you do get politely pestered to go to their travel club presentation and in return you get discounts to certain restaurants and excursions. We refused so can't say whether the "savings" are worth it. I can say that you can bargain almost anything in Cabo so there is little need to book any activities prior to arriving unless there is something you absolutely have to do (mine MUST was swimming with dolphins, but hotel had cheaper price if I had waited - just make sure you are getting an equivalent package). We used the hotel concierge to make our restaurant reservations but went down to the marina and booked other activities at the kiosks. Although I was very wary of these sketchy-looking kiosks as being a scam, it turned out we got some amazing deals to go whale watching and horseback riding. So have some fun playing hard to get, and get some great discounts!
Cabo San Lucas is a bit of a distance from the Los Cabos airport so I would suggest pre-booking transportation to the hotel. We ended up using a shared van but had to wade through a sea of sales pitches until we found the taxi stand. It took us over an hour since the hotel is at the far end of the peninsula and made quite a few drop-offs on the way.
Cabo in general is safe, very clean, everyone we encountered spoke English and we never needed pesos.
Perfect honeymoon spot!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear NS66,
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing romantic getaway at Cabo. It sounds like you and your husband/ wife had a wonderful anniversary visit from check in to check out and enjoyed impeccable service throughout your stay
Thank you again for taking your time sharing your comments with us!
We look forward to having you back at the resort again in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This resort is in a great location. Just up the hill from the Marina and right on the coast. 4 swimming pools and great activities during the day. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cabo. You can hang out by the pool (one with a swim up bar) or have the wait staff come by your chair to order a drink or order food. Hotel food is excellent and when in the mood for something else just a short walk to the marina and you can find several good restaurants. The staff is very friendly and poolside activities planned all day long. The only downside is you can't swim in the ocean at the resort due to the current but a quick water taxi ride to the Sea of Cortez and you are at a beach where you can swim safely. My family had a great time and we will definitely be retuning this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Brian C,
Thank you for your kind words, I agree that our property offers a Great location and our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELLICOTT CITY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

It had been 6 years since our last visit to Playa Grande Resort. It was good to see so many familiar faces. Mauricio Cruz was there to greet us when we arrived. He even mentioned that he'd seen our name on the arrivals list and was excited to see us after so many years. Hugo Garcia at the concierge was particularly helpful in helping our Mom, who has difficulty getting around, with cart rides around the resort; even driving her himself. Playa Grande is a magnificent place to spend a vacation. There are so many thing for kids and adults to do and you are a short walk away from downtown and the marina where there are excellent restaurants, such as Alexander's and Captain Tony's . Avid fishermen can find a quick charter and maybe bring home that 450lb tuna or Marlin. For those interested in a more leisurely pursuit, I highly recommend the "Couple Massage" at Playa Grande's Spa ... and spend some quality time in their salt water pool for ultimate relaxation.

We loved it so much we're heading back in November!

Room Tip: Southern rooms get a great view of the ocean. Rooms on the west side have a great view of the harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Stephen C,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we highly value your loyalty as a returning guest and it’s always nice to know we have met your expectations with our outstanding service. Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We just returned from a one-week stay at Playa Grande for our annual sibling reunion and I cannot say enough about this wonderful resort. The staff members were friendly, there were so many fun activities and entertainment, and the grounds are beautiful! If you decide to go, treat yourself to the flaming mexican coffee in Lobby Bar. They prepare the drink at your table and it is quite a show...delicious, too. When was the last time you were told "it's a pleasure" while being served?! Everything about our trip was perfect...from the towel origami in our room each day to the limbo contest and dancing on the beach. You will not regret choosing Playa Grande for your next trip to Cabo!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Chani B,
Thank you very much for this wonderful review, which help all the TripAdvisor community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for your vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our great service.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward to your next visit
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing