We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jackhammer Anoyance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jackhammer Anoyance”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just got back from a week at Playa Grande in Cabo San Lucas. Overall, this is a great property. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite from a Junior suite. We asked for a pass to "The Ridge" and were at first told that wasn't possible. Then as we were leaving the front desk, the clerk handed us a pass. Let me tell you this, without that pass, this would have been one of our worst experiences. Why? Because the adults only pool is being refinished and that meant a jackhammer from 8:00AM to 6:00PM. Our room was right above the pool which made sitting on the balcony and reading impossible. This noise was also very loud when just sitting at the other pools. The only escape was to go up to The Ridge. When we checked out, I asked if anyone was there that could consider some sort of credit for what we experienced. I was told no. I guess they felt the pass to The Ridge was compensation enough.
The food we had at the pool and the Ridge Restaurant was wonderful. No complaints there.
The property is within walking distance to the Marina but a little too far to walk to downtown, especially in the daytime sun and heat. And much too far to walk to the beach activities and swimming (did I mention the Playa Grande's beach is much too dangerous to go in? Overall, until the adults pool is done with their refinishing project, I wouldn't stay here without a guarantee of access to The Ridge.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area until refinishing project is done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Bart K
I want to thank you for taking the time to write your experiences regarding your recent stay. Our guests’ comments give us important feedback on our performance and provide us with great ideas on how to improve our service.
Please accept my most sincere apologies for your experiences with us here in our hotel. I am very sorry about the noise issues you have experienced.
Thank you again for you valuable remarks and we hope to welcome you back in a not too distant future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,412
    896
    206
    106
    84
See reviews for
1,301
1,393
63
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My family stayed here for a major family vacation, in two units. It was my first time vacationing in Mexico for an extended stay (we were there a week.) Overall we found the experience to be great. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurants was good...though we fixed many of our meals in the room and ate at 'outside' restaurants. When we had minor issues with the room (water stopped at one point, one of the a/c controls didn't work, the maintenance responded quickly and efficiently!

The pools were great. Our little one loved the water slide! The swim up bar was convenient and fast and the 2-4 two-for-one cocktail our was...well utilized.

The resort is close to the marina and a wide range of restaurants. You are easy taxi distance to an even greater range of options.

Major downside is that, as noted by others, the ocean in front of the resort is dangerous and unswimable. But an easy water taxi ride takes you to the opposite side of the town with better beaches (and lots more venders!) Wifi was also somewhat erratic and limited.

One other point, the shuttle/taxi arrangements to the airport are not cheap. As we had several members of our party arriving and departing at various times, we rented a car form Alamo in the resort. This turned out to be very easy, driving to and from the airport took about 30-40 minutes each way, but it is a direct route. We saved money and time pressure doing this.

Overall the entire family had a great time!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diplokeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Diplokeith
Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review. While I am very happy to read your positive comments, I do want to ensure you that all your comments will be follow up to avoid any lowering of our standards or inconveniences for our guests in the future.
Our goal is to provide every guest a beautiful and memorable vacation throughout great service and devotion towards our guests.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Playa Grande is a beautiful resort with many amenities; HOWEVER, it has become crystal clear that is was not a good choice to buy as a timeshare. We were promised so many things such as "maintenance fees haven't gone up in years!", "the units are cared for impeccably" etc. etc. My maintenance fee has almost DOUBLED in 7 years, am paying upwards of $1200/year, not only that, there have been so many problems and maintenance on the unit has been awful!!!! So many things in disrepair, kitchen not well stocked, dishes are not microwave safe, no music provided in the unit unless you request a stereo. I could rent my unit for the same amount or less than I pay in maintenance fees. BUYER BEWARE, THEY ARE LYING STRAIGHT TO YOUR FACE ABOUT MAINTENANCE FEES. IF YOU ARE AN OWNER CONTACT ME, WE ARE PUTTING TOGETHER A BUYERS REMORSE CLUB SO WE CAN GET MORE ACTION WITH REGARD TO THE DEVELOPER AND MANAGEMENT. THEY BRING IN MILLIONS OF DOLLARS A YEAR JUST IN MAINTENANCE FEES, THAT'S HOW THEY BUILT THE PROPERTY DOWN THE BEACH. DON'T BUY TIMESHARES HERE, YOU WILL BE SORRY!

Room Tip: I have a week at the Penthouse on The Ridge and construction is usually starting around 6 a.m., we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CopperPenny33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Grand Solmar since we traded in, but spent most of our time at the Playa Grande for the Beach Party and Boogie Nights! Outstanding food, entertainment, and drinks galore! We plan to return as we met and made some friends during the events! We also used the gym and ate at the restaurant in the lobby and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Eliza626,
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you really had a wonderful time.
I agree that our entertainment staff is amazing they indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
I´m glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We love this resort from the check in where they welcome you home, to the beautiful breakfast buffet where Ramon one of the wait staff served you with the phrase "it's my pleasure." The pools were sparkling clean, the pool service was very accommodating one server Fernando, was outstanding ! The entertainment staff Silvia, Rose, Mayra, Humberto ,Robert and Luis, were so friendly; on the day before our departure each of them came over and spent time with us visting and making us laugh it was such a personal touch. The restaurant Calient with Ernesto was wonderful ! We ended the evening with Leonardo in the lobby bar where he performed his flaming coffee show delicous! So We start the count down till we can make our return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Debbie B,
My entire team and I are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit and really appreciate knowing that you recognize the devotion everyone puts into constantly caring for our guests, so we can provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
Thank you for taking your time sharing your comments with us!
We look forward to having you back at the resort again in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Cana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This past week my wife and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary in beautiful cabo at the playa grande resort. The resort itself was nice, we've been to better and we've been to worse. Our biggest disappointment was the staff. Most were very unfriendly and wouldn't even speak. We decided to do laundry while there and had to give our passports just to get change from cash to the tokens the machines took. One lady literally yelled at us because we wouldn't do a time share presentation. We asked for a new ironing board the day we got their because ours was broke and we never received it. The remote control for the tv had bad batteries and it took 2 days for them to come replace them. Overall a nice resort as far as design and location staff was just terrible.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicago7732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member
Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review. While I am very happy to read your positive comments, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay. I do want to ensure you that all your comments will be follow up to avoid any lowering of our standards or inconveniences for our guests in the future.
Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your stay with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. Hopefully you will give us an opportunity to host you in the future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been staying at the Playa Grande Resort for the past eleven years and absolutely love it! The accommodations and staff are excellent!!! We would highly recommend this resort for anyone who loves to relax in a beautiful pool, sit on a balcony overlooking the ocean, walk to local activities and restaurants, and shop 'til you drop. No need to rent a car as the resort is walking distance to the marina and downtown Cabo.

Room Tip: The villas are very quiet, have beautiful marina views, a kids pool with slide, adult infinity pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeri1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jeri1202,
Thank you for your kind words, I agree that our property offers a Great location and our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time
I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
839 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.6 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing