We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great location, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My wife and I along with our two children (18 and 16) stayed at the Playa Grande for our 25th wedding anniversary. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The staff is attentive and very friendly, always making sure that you had everything you needed to have a great time.

Check in was seamless and quick. Vicente at the front desk was excellent and helped us whenever we had questions.

We stayed in two one bedroom units. They have two baths, a living room, full kitchen and balconies. All were well appointed and maintained. The pool area was very nice. Lots of chairs and umbrellas. They even have an adult pool and hot tub for those that want to be away from the little ones.

The wedding staff was absolutely fantastic! Lorena Mejia and Blanca Montes made the renewal of our wedding vows an unbelievable experience right down to the smallest of details. The beach location was perfect. The flowers for my wife and daughter were just as requested. The photographers they arranged did a great job. And especially the selection of the minister, Diego, as he was a perfect match for our family. Both Lorena and Blanca were both present through out the afternoon making sure we had everything we needed. They were also there to ensure that the ceremony went perfectly and were genuinely happy for us at the conclusion. We can highly recommend their services to anyone considerring a wedding or reneal of vows in Cabo.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnL413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,427 - 3,433 of 3,834 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

We were guests of timeshare owners at Playa Grande for one week in mid July 2010. We knew what to expect with a timeshare property, that they would try to get us to go to a presentation. We had pretty much decided before arriving that we would not attend one.

Upon check in we were told we had to go see the "hostess" in the lobby to get a card for pool towels. Our first chance to meet the timeshare sharks. We weren't interested so why waste precious vacation time being hounded and we already had all our activities pre-booked and paid for. The "hostess" tries to tell us to sit down to which I reply that we are tired and just want to go to our rooms. She proceeds to explain the presentations and gives us a sheet of paper that lists activities that we could get for free if we attended. We tell her we are pretty booked with diving and an ATV tour so we would have to get back to her. The "qualifications" on the back of the paper state in order to attend you must be married couples over 28 and must attend with spouse, gainfully employed or retired, must have a valid id and valid major credit card (yeah right), the tour supposedly lasts 90 minutes with a meal (we heard it's more like 3-4 hours) and the best part states "Singles: Only women". Hmmm, I'm not liking their methods already. A couple times walking through the lobby (which is the only way you can exit the property) we were approached about making an appointment but otherwise they didn't bother us further. I just didn't look forward to walking through the lobby all week for the possibility that they would try to stop us and we witnessed other guests blowing off their attempts as well. One couple repeatedly said no while a woman followed them out the lobby doors and down the steps.

The Room & Property:
The room was probably one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. It was a good size with a kitchenette near the entrance which included a two burner stove, fridge, microwave, etc... It also had a built in desk, sofa sitting area, a table & 4 chairs, nice comfortable bed and a decent size bathroom with tub/shower. The tile work, especially on the floor was beautiful. The room seemed very new and clean and was decorated nicely. We had a great balcony view of the pools and beach. Despite not being able to enter the ocean from the beach, the waves on the beach are spectacular to watch. The property is pretty, situated on a hill or mountain, some parts of it are grand looking. However at the end of the trip I was over the hills to/from the room and down to the main street. They have 2 pools across from each other, one with a swim up bar. They have an adults only pool which is really small but is closer to the beach and they have a jacuzzi above the other two pools. Despite having 3 pools, they are all a little small for the amount of rooms and almost all the chairs were taken. I was grossed out by the layer of sunscreen floating on the surface of the pools (visible in the corners near the pool bar) along with dead bugs.

Hotel Food:
We only ate at the hotel 3 times and every occasion was regrettable. The prices are ridiculous. It was about $90 USD for the fiesta night which was set up nicely just off the beach. There weren't that many choices and the food wasn't worth the price. I think you are mostly paying for the entertainment and booze. One night I ordered room service, bad pizza and fettuccine Alfredo which had little bits of ham in it. After that night I started having stomach cramps for about 5 days. Our last meal at the resort was Sunday champagne brunch before checking out. We had no idea how much it was until the bill came which was $60 for two people with nothing extra. The food again was just unappealing and strange choices. We just about choked at the bill, I barely even ate anything and were there for maybe 15 minutes.

We ate almost all of our meals in town and had researched a lot of great restaurants. The only disappointing thing about some of those restaurants was that at almost everyone, someone from the restaurant would try to get us to go to a timeshare presentation. One woman we had met days earlier was even yelling at us from across the street one day trying to get our attention because we told her we would have to think about it. Every time you walked down the marina, nearly every person we passed who wasn't a tourist asked us if we wanted to charter a boat or do some type of activity. Overall it just wasn't a very enjoyable or relaxing trip and I would question if we would ever even return to Cabo, which is a first for us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Playa Grande 6/26 to 7/3 with our six year old daughter.

The Playa Grande exceeded my expectations by a longshot. The grounds were immaculately maintained and the room were amazingly decorated. I felt the staff was very accommodating, yet not at all overbearing. We were there during world cup, which made watching TV in the lobby bar and other bars an event...for me.

Short walk to the marina (I think less than a mile) makes it convenient for downtown. Only about a $5 cab-ride back from town.

The food was okay around the pool. But, the sushi bar (which you could order poolside as well) was Great....I even turned my wife into a sushi-roll lover! We partook in one of the paid fiesta's beach-side which was a great time and good opportunity to meet other travelers.

Pools of all depths were available, including a swim-up bar and adult only pool closer to the beach (can't swim in the ocean...fyi).

Did I say the rooms were amazing? Lobby store was pricey...but convenient.

My daughter enjoyed painting the pottery very much and swimming in the pools, trying to make friends. The ONLY negative I can say about this resort is that there's not much to do for children, aside from the pottery or swimming. They did have a kid's club (small) but I never saw anyone attending it until the day we left...and there was only one child there. Perhaps you need to call someone and reserve it...but I really don't think she would have had fun by herself anyway. Other places I've been have really promoted their kid's club and get a lot of attendees...which is great for the kids (and the parents). This one did not.

DO NOT MISS THE LOS CABOS WINERY FOR DINNER...ABOUT FOUR BLOCKS OFF MAIN STRIP IN CABO...IT IS A MUST!!!

Overall...a very relaxing before heading up the coast for week numero dos!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed here for 1 week and we liked it very much. It is upscale resort on wide golden sand beach with 3 pools, 2 restaurants and 3 bars including a pool bar. It is only 10-15 min. walk to the marina with all the bars and restaurants. Resort offers all-inclusive plan for min. 3 days and all family members. There is basic plan for USD 75 and enhanced plan for USD 95. You can easily spend such money when dining and drinking within resort. Simply because it is expensive. On the other hand, if you go outside resort it may be less or not depending on location and your eating and drinking habits. Cabo is not a bargain but it offers a lot of options and it is beautiful place with great climate. It is not humid and we had a nice breeze so we did not have to turn air-conditioning on at night.
One day we rented a car in town (online sites like Orbitz will save you abt USD 20 for medium size car) and went to Cabo Pulmo about 2 hrs drive to dive on the only reef in this part of Mexico. Reef was so so but there was a lot of fish. 2-tank dive was USD 95 pp all included. Remember to take cash. It is very remote and without ATMs. You can also stop in San Jose del Cabo on the way.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaciejK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.
We are very happy that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future. It was truly our pleasure to serve you.

If there are any other ways to serve you better at this time or in the future please get in contact with us. We will be determined to promptly address your needs.

Sincerely yours,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We have a wonderful time when we go to the playa grande the grounds or so clean the pools are really nice they have a adult pool and hot tub which I like to go to it is close to town so you don't have to take a taxi the beach is nice to walk down and watch the surf and so many good places to eat in town we have had dinner at the brigatine which I will not eat at at anymore was disappointed in the the menu selection and food ... good food at the pool bar...if you don't want to be bothered by time share people at the airport just don't make eye contact and keep walking they will leave you along.. cant wait to go back to the playa grande next year great place thank you playa grande stuff for the helpful and friendly hospitality

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryllyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Dear Guest:
Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are very happy that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope t we can service you again in the near future. It is very important for us to listen to every client. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.

Sincerely yours,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The hotel staff was pushy, and at times, rude, especially if they thought you didn't speak Spanish. If you do, you could understand their horrible comments about you. "La Cuenta, por favor", seems to be a inside joke that they like to shout at young women. The rooms were very nice, but had no insulation, so your neighbors activities and children could be heard very well. Don't plan on sleeping too much while your there, because it is quite loud.
The food is overpriced and not very tasty. However, the Monday night Fiesta was wonderful.
Additionally, we accidentally broke a piece of furniture in the room, and they charged us $880 US dollars for replacement!!!!!!!!!! The table could not have cost that, and I am certain that they WAY overcharged us for their benefit!!!! Although I am trying to work with management for reimbursement, I would not recommend this hotel to vacationers!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniePotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to express your experience.
The comments you have made describing the experience you had during your stay at Playa Grande Resort and Grand Spa, have come to my attention. Please accept my sincere apologies.
Consequent to your comments, I held a meeting with the employees involved in restaurant service concerning the expression “ La cuenta por favor” which means “The bill please” and measures have been taken to avoid this situation in the future and about the broken marble table top this is the cost price and the hotel has to pay to replace it.
As an attempt to regain your trust, we would like to ask you to please visit us again in the near future and allow us the opportunity to pamper you as intended.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Tripadvisor reviewers rock! We knew what to expect & how handle the unexpected. Upon check in, they tried to upgrade us to the Ridge Resort for free. This is definately a beautiful resort but I wouldn't recommend it for families with children. We chose to stay @ Playa &, because they were out of the jr. suites, we were up graded to their 1 bedroom suite for free....Nice!! Now for the pool towel cards. If you want towels @ the pool you have to get a card to exchange for a towel. In order to get the card you have to sit down
with a welcoming representitive. She will give you your towel cards, 1 free drink card, & an invitation to a timeshare presentation. This will not be the last time your asked to attend a presentation but they do seem to back off after a couple days. Our room keys didn't work & after 3 trips up to the front desk to get them re-programmed they had to have the staff let us in untill they could get them fixed. Now we're waiting in our room & can't leave untill they get there with the keyes. Fortunately it didn't take too long (about the time it took to get unpacked).

Now for the resort itself. This place is awesome!! The grounds are beautiful & well maintained. The rooms are clean & very spacious. The pools were great for the kids, & the drink service was exellent. All the staff were very nice. The restaurants in the hotel are pricey but very good. We ate in town most nights & did not have one bad meal. We chose Mi Casa, Hacienda El Coyote, Shrimp Factory, Cafe Canela, & No Worries Bar & Grill. All within an easy walk from the resort. Great vacation!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatonFamily1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comments about our Property , the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
We are so happy to have you with us, and we are looking so far to pamper you in your next vacations to Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
953 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £146 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing