We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Wonderful resort”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We spent a week at The Ridge and it was completely relaxing . Condo was immaculate, quiet, well attended. Restaurants at the resort are very nice and
as reasonable as one would expect. You cannot go wrong at this location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattySue71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,412
    896
    206
    106
    84
See reviews for
1,301
1,393
63
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

My sister and I just spent a week at Playa Grande. The room was clean, beautiful, and had a spectacular view. We are vacation/hotel snobs so believe me when I say that the food here was some of the best we have ever had! We vacation to different spots three times a year and we will definately comeback to Cabo, Playa Grande. Playa Grande had the most amazing pools, joshua the pool manager was awesome. We had a great time at the pool bar, and the drinks were never watered down. Thank you to Richard who kept my glass full and happy hour happy! Playa Grande is also in a great location. You can walk to Lovers beach and downtown for clubs and shopping. There are no pesky vendors who hound you on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

My sister and I went to Cabo the last week in August. I booked using RCI last minute vacations so I got a great deal on the room!! We did the timeshare presentation and my sister ended up purcahsing at the Grand Solamar, which is still under construction . I don't think there was a whole bunch of pressure and it truly is a beautiful property. The staff was friendly and took care of us. Shot out to Salina, Edgar, Juan Carlos, George and Jose Jesus :-) Great happy hours at the pool bar and the sports bar. The store on-site is expensive, we went to Wal-mart for groceries. The pool is a great place to hang out all day, several to choose from and a swim up bar.

The hotel is within walking distance to the town and the marina. We also went to Medano Beach. It was nice, LOTS of vendors, so you either have to ignore them or keep saying "no gracias". We did an ATV Tour with Baja, had a great time! Got a discount since we did the timeshare presentation.

Black Ship and Happy Ending are our new favorite bars. Pink Kitty, Cabo Wabo and El Squid Row are also pretty good. Senor Greenbergs has some great tapas. We also ate at Galeon Restaurant. The service was great but you can probably find better food elsewhere. The food that we ordered at the hotel was good, mainly appetizers, burgers etc. Overall, I would highly recommend and I definitely plan to return to Cabo and Playa Grande!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TyFD4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This hotel is VERY beautiful and clean. The staff are super friendly and the service is great. The hotel sits on a hill right above the city, and you can walk to town if desired. Due to the heat I choose to take a cab, which was only $6.00. The hotel has a great spa and a mini golf course that has to be THE HARDEST in the world. The hotel is right on the beach, but it is on the pacific side, so it is "strongly urged" that you do not go in. Land's End and Lover's Beach is a short hike from the hotel however, which saves on taking a taxi to town and a water taxi to Lover's Beach...assuming you are okay with a simple climb over some rocks/cliffs. The beach is pretty private because the hotel is nestled between some cliffs, so you do not need to worry about people haggling you. The only non hotel guests I saw the whole time were some skin boarders. The food at the hotel is not so great though...and over priced! I would recommend eating in town, the deals are great and so is the food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sw33tmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Went to Playa Grande for one week. We stayed in a 1 bedroom master suite which was very nice and clean. All resort service was excellent. Food was excellent. Area is close by and walking distance to all shopping and nightlife. There is a nice casino downtown too. There is also another one in the mall, but it's not as nice as the one near the pier.
For a trip to see the famous arch, check out a vendor by the name of "Big Brother" and for $12 US, they will take you for an hour or so on a nice boat ride. They also have a buddy that will take you fishing privately for $30/hour instead of paying a ton at other vendors. Of course, the boat is a lot smaller and they don't go out too far. My son caught a fish that a local restaurant fixed us for dinner and we only paid $10 a person to eat it!

The pools are very nice. No swimming at the beach because of massive undertows and very high waves. We will definitely come back as soon as we can!
The hotel itself is beautiful with perfect views of the ocean. I would recommend a room on at least the 3rd floor or higher to enjoy the views of this resort.

The only negative I can think of is that if you are traveling with an elderly or handicapped person, some of the inclines on and surrounding this resort may be a bit tough to handle but you can cab it just about anywhere for $6US. There are ramps on site for easy access to all pools and restaurants too. Upon booking, they told me that they have a 9 hole golf course. Upon arrival we found out it's only a mini golf, just an FYI.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2010
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future. . As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer. Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

If there are any other ways to serve you better at this time or in the future please get in contact with us. We will be determined to promptly address your needs.
Best Regards,
The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Two adults with a 13, 8, and 6 year old.
First off, many people who have not been to Mexico complain about being hounded by "time share hound". Get over it. Almost anywhere you go in Mexico, that is what you are going to see. Say "No Gracias", and be on your way.
The resort itself is well maintained. We attended their Mexican Fiesta, Western Night, and Beach Party all at the resort. It was a little pricey, but they cut the price in half for kids, or free for the very young. All of the kids had a good time, it;s very convinient because you don't have to walk into town or take a cab. The food was good, but not great. But a good time for the family, and ends by (:00 pm (ish) if the adults still want to go out later on their own. Jose, the host of the shows was always friendly and most of the staff was courtious and willing to provide great service.
Kids Club, Not very big, not very many small kids attend, but my 6 year old daughter never wanted to leave. Celina and Vivianna(I think) were GREAT with the kids, lunches and activities.
Pools were good. Pool staff was not the fastest and the water at the swim up bar was always a little cloudy. But if you enjoy just lounging at the pool drinking Pina Coladas, you won't be disappointed.
The gym is clean and well equiped.
Room were great and well equipped.
Prices at the resort are not cheap, but any nice resort you stay at is not.
The beach is beautiful, but no swimming allowed because of huge waves all the time.
My second time staying here, and will go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RICANNLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2010
Dear Guest:
. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer. Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We were told we couldn't have an ice chest or bring our own drinks/food to the pool. Security came down and told us we had to follow the Rules Sheet given to us at checkin. We asked everyone around the pool and NOBODY received a copy of the Rule Sheet. The Security guy wouldn't even let me look at his copy - he kept covering it up every time I tried to see it.

Won't stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PantyWaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2010
Dear Guest:

Our pools are fun, refreshing and popular. To make sure all our guests enjoy a positive experience, we ask that you be aware of the following pool guidelines:
• Please do not reserve or leave objects on pool chairs or lounges unless you are using them at the time. Items left unattended longer than one hour will be collected and brought to the towel desk.
• Do not bring glass containers or coolers to the pool or beach areas.
• Do not take room towels to the pool or the beach. Towels are available at the towel desk everyday from 8:00am to 9:00pm.
• Do not take pool towels to your room. Return after use to the towel desk.
• Keep the area safe and do not bring inflatable objects, boogie boards, or other toys to the pool.
• Food and beverages not purchased at the Playa Grande Resort are not allowed at the pool. This area is licensed by Mexican Alcohol Beverage Control.
A letter with the pool's guidelines is given to each guest during the check in time.
Thanks for your undestanding
Best Regards,
The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.6 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing