We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ridge at Playa Grande
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tesoro Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viva Cabo Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cabo Pedregal Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siesta Suites(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
371
84
28
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
371
84
28
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsridge poolbeautiful view of the marinamurphy bedmexican fiestathe pacific oceanfull kitchenbedroom unitwater taxihuge balconyadult poolpresidential suitemedano beachlobby bargrand solmaramazing vacationpools are greatnice resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We love the ridge it is an oasis within the gorgeousness of Plays Brande.We love the two infinity pools and the view from our patio overlooking the Marina. We are going again July. 8 and our family cant wait for our trip. The staff at Plays Brande are all so kind. I have a very stressful job and look forward to relaxing in the infinity pools.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcw1esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Guests from Costa Mesa, CA:

We thank you very much for your kind comment “Love the ridge and Plays Grande”

We will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations during your next visit on July 8th, 2012!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Hoping to see you soon again we send you our best regards from sunny Cabo San Lucas!
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have been staying at Playa Grande and The Ridge for 14 years now (last six years at the Ridge, the first years on the ground floor on the beach at Playa Grande). We have looked forward to our stay every year. The staff here is the biggest asset. They are the greatest. Our room at the Ridge is excellent and well maintained. We have a great view of the marina. From the three pools, you have views of the marina, the bay and the Pacific. I walk for excercise every morning around the marina and into town. We walk for the hotel most nights to the good restaurants in town.

Room Tip: If your at The Ridge, take buildings A & D, not B or C
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ieduffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear Guests from Rancho Mirage, Ca:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “14 Years and Still Enoying It”.
Come back anytime to visit us with all your friends and family, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Be aware there is no way this place deserves the title"luxury villas". We booked into a master suite, to which the staff attempt to sell upgrades. The first room we checked in to was supposed to have a marina view. Although it did,they forgot to say it was above a restaurant and exposed to the noise from large exhaust fans. Besides this, the room smelt incredibly musty. We immediately returned to reception and expressed our concerns.
We were shown another room in Playa Grande(all part of the same complex) and were checked in. It was not until we checked in that we discovered this room was worse than the first one. Where do I start. Two power points did not work, the air conditioner was excessively noisy with the addition of a loud rattle, the room smelt musty, the were dirty stains on the duvet cover, which were still there the next day after service, the hot water took minutes to come through, the refrigerator was even noisier than the air conditioner,the televisions are old tube models and wifi is not available in the rooms at all even if you pay. In fact the wifi around the pool was virtually useless unless you sat close to the antenna location.
We contacted the duty manager who was next to useless but he did move us to another room, but said they were all of the same (low standard). He did check out our previous room and acknowledged all the faults and said this was unusual( I don't think so).
The next room was the same standard and still smelt musty. The duty manager promised a dehumidifier which never arrived. We the discovered if you flushed either toilet the water kept on running. The light above the sink also did not work and was poorly installed.
During this time my wife misplaced our free welcome drink vouchers. We returned to our resort hostess who had promised to anything to help during our stay. Maybe because we didn't want to attend the free breakfast or lunch, which is a disguised sales push,she didn't want to know us. Go figure!
We were also annoyed by the constant pitch to upgrade to all inclusive food and beverage package for $79 per person per day.
The current room rate is about $260 plus taxes. There is no way that rooms at this resort are worth anywhere near this price. There are far better options in Cabo for this price.
Do not be fooled the accomodation at this resort can definitely not be described as luxury in any form.
Do not stay here and if you have a pre booking do your homework and find some where else to stay. Believe me you will not regret it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. They are desperately in need of an upgrade.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 00BCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest from Noosaville, Australia:

The comments you have made describing the experience you have encountered during your stay at The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande Resort and Grand Spa, came to my attention. Please accept my apologies.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, we need to know when problems occur so the appropriate action can be taken.

Concerning your comments with your room location and smell I held a meeting with Front Desk and Housekeeping involved in this situation and measures have been taken to avoid this situation happen again in the future.

We value your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate that your past experience with Playa Grande is not characteristic of our performance, but an unpleasant exception.

As an attempt to regain your trust, we would like to ask you to please visit us again in the near future and allow us the opportunity to pamper you as intended.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We were originally booked to stay a week at the Sol Mar Beach Resort. Upon our arrival, we were informed that we would be upgraded to the Playa Grande Resort. Later we realized that the Sol Mar property was being upgraded, and this was necessary to insure our good stay. That property looked very nice also, and we would have been happy to enjoy our first visit to Los Cabos there had it been ready.

After checking in to Playa Grande, we were told we would have to move to the Ridge since our stay was from Saturday to the next Saturday. This apparently has something to do with the timeshare arrangements. The room at the Playa Grande was lovely, and had a beautiful view of the ocean.

Our move to the Ridge was even more wonderful. The room had two full bathrooms, full kitchen, dining area, private master bedroom and lovely balcony overlooking the marina. I personally didn't like the marina view, and noise from the marina at night, but the sliding door and drapes from the master bedroom kept it decently quiet. Our two kids (young adults) 20 and 24 didn't find this at all a problem.

The rooms were immaculate, and maid service kept them that way every day. The staff was wonderful: helpful and courteous. The grounds were well-kept. The pools were fantastic and hot tubs perfect.

We did not book all-inclusive, and found reasonable and delicious restaurants nearby. We even took a trip to Costco on the local bus to get some groceries.

We were asked to attend two "free breakfasts". One was for the Grand Sol Mar, the other for a sister property, Villa Del Palmar. Both were fine breakfasts, but the presentation was too long and tiresome. At least we got some nice gifts: Wave runner package, massage, snorkeling package, water taxi to Land's End, and trip to San Jose. They were all worth the trouble and very memorable.

We were nearly conned in to another presentation through a mistake we made at Walmart. The "help" desk was really a timeshare recruitment point. There are many of these in town and the marina. They masquerade as "tourist information". The guy was very persuasive, and even paid for our groceries from Costco and Walmart, and the taxi back to Playa Grande. We left a $20 deposit and committed to meet his driver the next morning. On our way out the security gate, staff from Playa Grande stopped up and asked where we were going. When we told them, they warned us that we would be taken far away, stuck to hear a long presentation, and waste our vacation time. We lost our $20, but heard a quicker presentation at the Villa Del Palmar, and got to enjoy their very nice beach.

I can highly recommend this resort to family and friends for business, family, or couples trips. The accommodations were beyond our expectations, and the staff went out of their way to make every aspect of this trip great. We plan to return to Cabo and the Ridge at our next opportunity!

Room Tip: Ask if you will face the beach or the marina.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NWwatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Guests from Everson, Washington:

Thank you for choosing The Ridge at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience during your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you had a great time!

For the whole team It was truly our pleasure to serve you.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best regards from Playa Grande and Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Everything about this resort exceeded expectations, the beautiful grounds, awesome room (3223), great drinks and food, excellent staff, fun theme nights, and gorgeous local, I loved it! I recommended Playa Grande to my best friends for their honeymoon, and they thanked me for it over and over! I'm going back next March and will be bringing another couple with us this time to show them how awesome this resort really is, I'm just sad that I have to wait a whole year to get back to paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorthVanJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guests from Rainier, Oregon:

Thank you for choosing The Ridge at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience during your stay with us was a great experience and we thank you for your nice comment "Can't wait to get back!”

For the whole team It was truly our pleasure to serve you and whenever you want to come back please let us know!

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best regards from Playa Grande and Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews