We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
395
90
30
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
395
90
30
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ridge pool beautiful view of the marina murphy bed mexican fiesta the pacific ocean full kitchen bedroom unit water taxi pools are great presidential suite grand solmar adult pool downtown cabo medano beach meal plan lobby bar nice resort
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Playa Grande Resort is a five Star Resort ! We have been going every year to Playa Grande for the past twelve years. It’s our home away from home. All ages will enjoy! Lots to do, food amazing. We have brought family and friends many times and they were also impressed, we love it and know you and your family will as well.

Room tip: The rooms are beautiful, spacious. clean and all have incredible views
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sonnyboyfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Sonnyboyfs,

Muchas gracias for sharing your long-time experience with us. We are glad to hear from loyal guests that after years of happy returns take the time to share about our unique family and home away from home feel.

We are certain it will encourage others to give us a try!


Hasta la próxima vez!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Room was very nice, food and drinks were kind of spendy. We would stay again but next time do all inclusive . The pools were very nice water temperature was good, cool but not cold. Beach was nice, but could not swim in the ocean at the resort. That was a big draw back for us. We wanted to swim in the ocean

Room tip: Murphy bed was not so comfortable
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jims112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018


Dear Jims112233,

Many thanks for your feedback. We appreciate your time sharing about your experience with us. Indeed, the Meal Plan option can offer substantial savings and most certainly our beach is not suitable for swimming, but it has amazing views of the Pacific with vendor free strolls that can make a long-lasting impression while watching the whales jump a few yards away.

Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

The most beautiful view I know is the view from the ridge at playa grande. You get stunning views of both the harbor in the Pacific ocean. The architecture makes perfect use of the mountaintop and the pools are situated into the various levels at the top. I love that this resort has actually begun enforcing their own pool policy of no saving chairs with towels.

Room tip: Buildings A and c require less walking.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lindadillonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Lindadillonjones,

Muchas gracias for taking the time to share your experience with us. Indeed, the amazing views are unparalleled in the area. We are working hard with our team to bring consciousness to our guests to keep and enforce the courtesy pool rules: First come, first served, NO RESERVE.
If we have guests that come down early and leave their belongings and join us for breakfast that is fine, but to leave items at 6:00am and expect them to be there at 10:30 is not going to happen...

One day at a time we are getting our message across.

Gracias and see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Our first mistake was using booking.com! We paid them a fee of almost $1,000 (travel agent fee) to book 2 one-bedroom suites just over 6 months in advance. Provided cc and was provided a confirmed reservation confirmation. 2 weeks prior to arrival the resort contacted us to "update" cc information, which we did. Upon arrival we were told by the desk clerk that they were oversold and since our reservation was not guaranteed they couldn't provide us our rooms. Apparently confirmed guaranteed reservation means NOTHING to this resort. The desk clerk was rude and had quite a smart mouth about the situation. We ended up with 1 two bedroom suite for two families. This "penthouse" unit was in bad need of painting and was very drably decorated. One in our party is 81 and has difficulty with steps and steep inclines, and naturally they put us in a location requiring using a steep incline or using 57 steps. Of course they offered someone to pick up in a cart but the first time we requested that we gave up after waiting 15 minutes. My mom ended up spending most of the 8 days in the room instead of enjoying the resort due to the climbs.
The property is very nice with great views, but don't stay at the Ridge unless you want to spend most of the night listening to a lot of noise from the marina. Lots of leaves and little trashes scattered about especially on the steps which appear to never be swept/cleaned. Restaurant service is VERY slow from time of order to service, but the food is good once it arrives. The views are great.
There was a special of $92/day for all inclusive but since we don't drink a lot and enjoy eating at the area's many great dining locations, the all inclusive wouldn't have been a good deal. However, the menu prices are a little high, but that is probably done to make the all inclusive people think they are getting their money's worth. This was our second, AND LAST, trip to this property even though we will continue to go to Cabo.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Jeff S,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We apologize for not meeting your service standards and hope that you continue to visit Los Cabos.

Best personal regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We have been going to Cabo San Lucas and staying at Playa Grande for over 17 years and we always have wonderful service, the rooms are always clean and the food is great! They make you feel like you are the most important guest and will do anything to make your trip enjoyable! One year the staff dressed up as super hero’s for my sons birthday and came to the pool to surprise him with ice cream and to sing him happy birthday, we didn’t even ask them to do it they just knew it was his birthday and did it on their own!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tiffanystallings0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Tiffanystallings0303,

Gracias for sharing. We value our loyal guests and the memories that you share are the small things that make a difference. Hope to continue to go beyond your expectations year after year.

See you back Home again soon.

Hasta la vista!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews