We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse Night Ever in a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We checked into the Fairfield Inn at 11 a.m. on Friday, March 14, 2014. We were told there were no rooms available but were assigned room 322 by the desk. We left the hotel for the day and returned at 9 p.m. for the night. At approximately 10 p.m. an awful sound started from a Mexican Cantina/hangout/bar. I called the front desk a was informed there nothing they could do and that the "music" would continue until 3:30 - 4:00 a.m. They did offer us a room to sleep at 11:30 p.m. which we accepted. My wife did not sleep a wink the whole night which as the saying goes "if moma's not happy ain't nobody happy". Honestly this was the worst experience we have ever had in any hotel. The desk said there is a "noisy" wing of the hotel and a "quiet" wing of the hotel - knowing that then why did they assign us a room in the noisy wing of the hotel facing the bar - unless they wanted to "screw the American "gringos". I will never stay at this hotel again and I reported this to Marriott corporate. The front desk offered me no consideration for our bad experience - hopefully Marriott corporate will make this right by us.

Room Tip: If you stay at this hotel demand a room in the "quiet" wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbredahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar Z, Guest Service Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review to our hotel, all comments are taken into consideration as a service provider, we continually aim to provide flawless service, every comment regarding our service is carefully reviewed with the team to avoid repeating.

We would like very much to welcome you again to our property if you give us the chance, please contact us directly I will make sure for everything to be fine on your next visit.

Karla Trujillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

This Marriott lives up to its reputation of U.S. cleanliness, although the breakfast is not as good as Marriotts In the States. it's easy to find right on the main road if you're driving From San Jose del Cabo. I liked the fridge In the room, and it's close enough to walk to the marina and bars and restaurants. If you just want to use this hotel for sleeping, it's good and clean.

Be aware however that it is not on the beach or marina. The thing however that ruined our trip is that the pool was closed!why would you close your pool during spring break, HIGH season?! And why wouldn't you warn your guests ahead of time when they make their reservation? I guess it was supposed to be some consolation that we could go to another hotel to swim, but it was several blocks away and when you just want to do laps in the pool in the morning and relax in the hot tub at night, that just doesn't cut it. Also they did not have out passes for the other hotel when we checked in at 7pm and told us to wait til the next morning for the concierge. We went to breakfast the next morning, she wasn't there and we were told she would be back in 10 min. Sowe are breakfast and she still wasn't there and so we wasted our morning waiting for her and she never showed up. In the afternoon we called the hotel and talked to the concierge and she said she wouldn't leave the passes at the reception but had to give them to us Personally which meant we had to leave the beach early to catch her before she went home for the night. In the end we ran out of time to use the facilities at the other hotel anyway...especially since the concierge wasted more of our time giving us the time- share talk... My family are Elite platinum members of Marriott and honestly, this is the worst one we've ever stayed at :(

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar Z, Guest service manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your experience about your stay at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos and also we really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay, we do apologize for the frustration you experienced, Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort!

Karla Trujillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nice clean hotel so no complaints there .however, we were very disappointed when we arrived to be told the pool would be out of action the whole time we were there.concierge gave us a beach club pass but failed to tell us we would have to supply Identification to get in and even to get a towel. With a ten minute walk back to the hotel in the heat we couldn't be bothered.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar Z, Guest service manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos. Please know that it is a pleasure to offer you the best service to make you feel welcome. We apologize for the incovenience about the pool, we hope to have the opportunity to host you once again!

Karla Trujillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I reserved two rooms to accommodate myself and a traveling companion. Since I had stayed here before, I was comfortable in knowing that we both would enjoy our stay. This mostly held true except for the location of my room. Regretfully my room faced the horribly loud bar next door, that played super loud until about 3am. I still think this hotel is a good value, but do not accept a room on the west side facing the bar, you'll not sleep a wink.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are anywhere near the bar next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelGregorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar Z, Guest Service Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear guest,

We really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent experience, We want to personally apologize for the noise that disturbed your recent stay.
We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything exceeds ther expectations. We are sorry if that was not the case during your stay. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were. We hope to have you once again on your next trip to Los Cabos and we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely

Karla Trujillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

If you love being hounded by Timeshare sales people, you should stay at this hotel. As soon as you check in, someone greets you telling you they are the hotels concierge and would like to get you your beach pass. Sounds official, right? Well a few minutes later this beach pass has turned into a free dinner and an activity at the Fairfields "sister hotel".... Funny, I don't recall seeing any other Marriott properties in Cabo so how can it be a "sister hotel"?

I can't believe that Marriott / Fairfield's corporate compliance control would allow people from un-related time shares to set up a desk in their hotel and trick guests into believing they are the hotels concierge just to cram awful time share presentations down their throat. It got to the point where you almost want to come in and out using the back entrance because they hound you at every corner with their fake, greasy salesman like kindness.

As a platinum elite member, I try to remain faithful and stay at a Marriott property everywhere I go, however I will never again be using a Marriott property in the Cabo area (until the Ritz Carlton opens in a few years).

Room Tip: Avoid the "concierge" like the plague. These time share sales people have ruined Cabo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar Z, Guest Service Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback, we want to personally apologize for the frustration you experienced and that we did not meet your expectations, You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely

Karla Trujillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel isn't big on frills, or hanging out at the pool, but that's not the point. The place is very clean, tidy, and well organized. The staff was friendly and helpful, and it's close by to the beach and Marina. There's a 'City Club' a short ways down that is like a Costco, but what's nice is that you can enter for a 'day pass' for about a dollar (US). There was always someone available at the front desk, and the rooms were air conditioned and in good shape. Great if you're there for business, or if you are looking for a place where you're not planning on spending a lot of time in the Hotel room, but want somewhere safe and clean to sleep.

The only downsides I would say is that the water pressue is a bit low in the showers, and there's no microwave in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar Z, Guest Service Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We’d first like to thank you for your comment about your stay in Fairfield Inn by Marriott, it’s a pleasure to host you and offer you the best possible service on your visit to Los Cabos. We appreciate your feedback and we will certainly take it into consideration.
We look forward to hosting you again and thank you for taking the time to write us!

Greetings,

Karla Trujillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here for a night with my wife. Very clean, very comfortable, very nice rooms, nice environment, adequate pool and quick continental breakfast in the morning. The price was pretty good, around $100 us or so. Frankly their rooms are nicer than a lot of the big resorts. If you don't plan on spending all day and night at the resort, I would recommend this place. Good locations and has everything you need.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMarkKucera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar Z, Guest Service Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Fair Field Inn By Marriott Los Cabos. Please know that it is a pleasure to offer you the best service to make you feel welcome. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again and thank you for choosing us.

Greetings
Karla Trujillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
#37 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#38 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Medano Hotel and Suites
Medano Hotel and Suites
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Hotel Mar de Cortez
#36 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos

Address: Avenida Lazaro Cardenas 2709 | Col Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £55 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is strategically located at the entrance of Cabo San Lucas, in the main Avenue, and within walking distance to Los Cabos principal beaches, golf courses, malls, restaurants and night clubs. We are also only five minutes away from the Marina and Medano Beach, the only swimmable beach in Cabo San Lucas, and near the main attractions of the city such as the famous Arch, Puerto Paraiso Mall, Cabo Dolphins, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn By Marriott Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing