We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this restaurant still open????”

Soave Italian Wine Bar e Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Sumner, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Is this restaurant still open????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Wondering if this place is still open???Couldn't find it when I was in Cabo this last trip.Does anyone know if they are still open?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandy3817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place was a joke! What a rip-off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My girlfriend and I have been to Cabo on an annual trip for 6 years now and know many restaurants in Cabo and thought we would try this new one that we happend to walk by one evening after dinner elsewhere. So we tried it the next night. It was Feb 28, 2012 and we were the only ones in the restaurant and the waiter and his boss stood within 2 feet of our table constantly we felt like we were in a fish bowl.They barely spoke English and didnt seem to understand very much that we requested(which is very unusual in Cabo). They brought a plate with 3 pieces of VERY HARD,DRY TINY bread to our table, it was really odd. Then we ordered the Lobster Ravioli and we said we were going to share it(which is not unusual becuz we stay 11days on our trips and every night share an entree and it is always plenty. When this entree came it had 3 Raviolis total with an average amount of sauce for 180 pesos which is about $15usd. We have had many meals for that price in Cabo with huge portions enough to share.
My advice is to skip this place and go to many of the other places here on trip advisor listed for Cabo and you will get much better food and much more for your money!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandy3817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian food and wine I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

What can we say, my wife and I LOVE this restaurant. We have visited 4 times during our vacation and we want to go back to Cabo soon to eat there again. We met the owners, they are very nice and really catered to all my wife's special diet needs (she is super picky)

Beautiful restaurant atmosphere with tasteful decorations, we just loved how warm the environment felt.

They have an awesome wine selection and make awesome home made ravioli, try it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alyu729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
260 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

I ate here for the third time in a month and have very pleased. The owners personally take care of each table and the food is also prepared by a great Italian chef. If you are looking for something quaint and very good indefinitely recommend Soave!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnMarkKucera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Find for those who love Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have been traveling to Cabo for 15 years & have our favorite restaurants: Maro's Shrimp House, Sabbatini's, Alcaravea, & Las Gucamayas. This year we discovered from our activities director on Medano beach a new Italian restaurant, SOAVE, that has only been opened about 11 months - yeah! It was delicious!
Soave is a very small (approx. 10 tables) restaurant with a great staff. The owner, Diego, greeted us with a big smile & a little English with little more Spanish.The extensive pasta menu is posted on the wall without explanation - this required our waiter, Alberto, to describe each dish to us. The menu consisted of almost 20 pasta dishes, 1 meat dish, & 1 fish dish. (One suggestion we have is that they may want to print/laminate a few menus in English so that guests do not have to ask the waiter to repeat the info about each item - too much to remember.) We were brought a great crostini dish with a wonderful dipping sauce that consisted of garlic, olive oil, & chile - this was fantastic! We had 4 different different pasta dishes & they were ALL great. The bread they served with dinner was very different then the crostini - it was very dense & not like anything we had had before. Maybe it's something from their region of Italy. We preferred the first crostini bread.
They have an extensive wine selection and since only a few of us wanted wine, we opted for a glass of the house wine. They were gracious enough to allow us to try both the while & red. Both were nice - However, when we received the bill, we were surprised to see the price of a 1/2 glass of house wine being at 100 pesos, approx. $8.50 a glass for an OK wine. And we're in Mexico....next time we'll ask first, as there was no wine list, everything is on the wall. The big reason for our surprise is that this price exceeded some of our entrees.
This restaurant is a gem - service was great, food was great, and the decor is really nice. A little Italian music would have been added to the atmosphere. We would rate this restaurant better than Sabbatini's & definitely less expensive!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank okcorralNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soave Italian Wine Bar e Restaurant also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing