We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“High class resort!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Esperanza is first class from the time you are greeted at the airport until you are escorted to the private lounge on departure. Being greeted on arrival by our own concierge started out a very enjoyable vacation. Being checked in at our suite was a pleasant surprise. The palapa suite was wonderful. The views from every room are spectacular. The staff is top notched. Laura our concierge was very helpful and a real pleasure. We had a wonderful dinner on the beach that my husband had set up prior to surprise me. The Mexican fiesta night and fireworks were great. The food was exceptional in all the restaurants. A definite 5 star resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in rm.57, Palapa suite top floor. It was very quiet with beautiful views toward Cabo. We c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    91
    31
    19
    12
See reviews for
235
593
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We went for an all too short three night stay to celebrate an anniversary and Esperanza did not disappoint! From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been friendlier. We were immediately greeted by our personal concierge with delicious margaritas and taken to our palapa suite (top floor, high thatched roof, highly recommend) which was very large and well appointed. The bathroom was nice and large, we were provided with plenty of bottled water, enjoyed the spacious balcony with personal jacuzzi, and were even given a bottle of champagne and delicious french mararons as an anniversary welcome. We went at a nice time of year (mid Sept) as the crowds were low (though the heat and humidity quite high). We never went into town as we have been before and with just three days we didn't want to leave the property. Every staff member was attentive and always knew our names. The breakfast which was included in our package was delicious and the restaurants at all meals were very conscientious to consider and accommodate food allergies, special requests, etc. DInner at the main restaurant on the cliffs overlooking the water was not only stunning but delicious, and with three courses fixed price it was more food than we could possibly eat. There was even a fireworks show which made our anniversary dinner all the more special. The following two nights we ate in the bar restaurant for a lighter meal and it was equally good. I recommend arranging airport transport through the hotel, which is pricey but no worries about having to deal with all the hustling at the airport. The only downside is the timeshare portion is so vast and built up in relation to the hotel (and many of the people we encountered at the pool were actually timeshare guests) that i can imagine it being very crowded and/or problems getting a dinner reservation during xmas/high season. That was the nice thing about visiting in september with low crowds - never having to run out early to pool to reserve a chair or having to map out your day around meals. This place is a splurge but worth it and it will not disappoint people looking for great scenery, food, service and accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mintchip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This place is phenomenal. The facilities are well-kept, the views are gorgeous, and the service is 5-star.

First, our room was beautiful. The large balcony with table for two, built-in couch, and plunge pool was perfect for morning coffee, evening cocktail, and late night dip/night cap. The open 2 person shower meant getting up, ready, and out the door to start the day without one of us waiting on the other. And the views from every room are spectacular and private - virtually no way of others on their balconies or on the ground to see you.

The restaurants are good, too. Cocina del Mar has one of the most beautiful settings I've ever experienced. The food, while arguably overpriced, is also quite good. La Palapa was also very good. On the residence side, so where families are located, it was more fun and casual. The food is actually probably better, if not as formal, than Cocina del Mar.

But the reason to come to Esperanza is the service. Everybody, EVERYBODY is enthusiastic and proactive about making the experience as enjoyable as possible. Any hint of discontent (I was unhappy for a moment about a situation with chairs at the pool, which I made apparent by speaking to the guest who was responsible) is met with rapid and zealous resolution (the staff overheard my complaint to the other guest and took it upon themselves to create a solution). All servers, managers, spa therapists, bartenders, housekeepers, even groundskeepers, greet with a smile, learn and use your name, and successfully tiptoe that fine line between attention and annoyance (never breaching into annoyance). And you gotta love a place that offers complimentary neck and/or foot rubs at the pool, and brings popsicles, smoothie shots, and fruit skewers to the guests baking in the sun.

Special recognition to the pool staff of Carlos, Jefrain, Alfredo, and Juan Jose - these guys work hard to serve in every way they can. The manager Leondardo is also very apparently personally invested in the experience of his guests. All guests also receive a personal concierge (shared of course) who will check in everyday to make reservations, plan excursions, etc (thanks, Elena).

In general, and summation, everything at this resort is designed to make life easy on you - isn't that what vacation is for? - and Esperanza does it with the highest order of success.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I recently was vacationing in Cabo and wanted to show off this amazing place to my boyfriend and have a nice dinner over looking the ocean. Service at the bar was great and cocktails were amazing. We were blown away by the scenery and couldn't wait for dinner. This is where we were let down big time... It was not very busy and yet our party of two took two hours t have dinner... ;( the food was delicious but WAY OVER priced for little amount that you got. You would think such a four/five star establishment would have incredible dishes that actually fed you and weren't under cooked. Waiting for so long, paying too much and still leaving hungry - not a good mix. I was bummed seeing that I wanted to show this place off to my boyfriend and he was disappointed too... Oh well. I'm sure staying there is one thing but if you're making a special trip to eat here - think again!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JenLandry77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Those that love the best are aware there are those special 5 star boutique hotels in Los Cabos that everyone talks about, Esperanza, Pamillia, Las Ventanas & Capella, however, if you want the most romantic, the best service, a phenomenal beach with iconic rock formations, along with a perfect setting for good food at a beautiful cliff side restaurant & bar, plus a world class spa, then there is no comparisons to be made, since Esperanza wins in all categories.
General Manager Marc Rodriquez not only truly cares but he is gracious & extremely generous & excels in providing guests with individualized services.which my husband & I greatly appreciated, We also give special thanks to Katiana. & Elena who made sure that we felt special.
We have been coming to Cabo for many years but until now we have not found our 'home away from home'

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We went there for a wedding and was blown away by the grounds, scenery, service, and dining. Rooms were above par and modern. Secluded beaches. Better experience than most high-end hotels in the US. We will go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for 5 days as a work-related reward trip. The service was amazing and the spa was wonderful.
We spent most days at the smaller of the two pools nearest the restaurant (and our casita.)
Quick cab ride into town and shopping, but very little need to leave campus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
885 reviews
3.4 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
889 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,731 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza - An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Property: Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Esperanza - An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, Esperanza is located within the private enclave of Punta Ballena in Cabo San Lucas Mexico. Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, this highly acclaimed luxury resort offers an incomparable natural setting on 17 lushly landscaped acres. Fifty-seven guest casitas and suites cascade down a gentle hill affording spectacular ocean views from every room. Resort amenities include an oceanfront infinity-edge pool, private beach, award-wining spa, yoga studio, fitness center, art gallery and world-class dining—all with spectacular 180-degree vistas of sky and sea, for a perfectly private resort escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Esperanza - An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza - An Auberge Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Esperanza An Auberge
Esperanza Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing