We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
Nearby Hotels
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$564
US$550
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$771
US$748
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$569
US$541
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ME Cabo by Melia(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$326
US$263
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$581
US$568
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$626
US$176
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$162
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$330
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
1,243
98
32
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,243
98
32
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdel marpersonal conciergejuan josespa casitalounge barfitness classesprivate residenceprivate hot tubhotel poolinfinity edgeguacamoleamazing resortpool stafftequila tastingspa treatmentsturn down serviceour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
903 - 908 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in a villa for a week the end of January. Although I gave the resort 5 stars, there are a few negatives to get out of the way first.

The food is very expensive and just not very good. Dinner the first night took over 2 hours. Leisurely dining is one thing but this was just poor, inattentive service. The small, thin portion of fish was overcooked and the purees on the side not appetizing (to be fair, I'm not a big fan of pureed veggies). We tried several of the special dinners including Argentinian barbecue night and the Mexican Fiesta on Thursday and were disappointed with both. The Argentinian barbecue was plain, grilled meats with a couple of sauces on the side and a salad. The Mexican Fiesta night was was a buffet that reminded me of a low quality casino buffet (sorry!). It was odd to hear classic rock blaring until about 7:30pm when the advertised Mariachi band arrived. Skip this event and go downtown to the Thursday night arts event (wish we had done that instead).

Our villa had a wonderful full kitchen as well as a grill on the terrace so we decided to make a quick trip to Cosco (a five-minute cab ride) for breakfast & lunch items (good decision). We ate dinner at Edith's in town twice and would highly recommend it for both food and atmosphere.

The villas pool service was almost nonexistent but service around the hotel pool was excellent (the mgmt prefers that villa guests use the hotel pool only when not crowded as there are 3 pools for the use of villa guests). Villa guests can use the private beach area just below the hotel pool and cabanas are available on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Drinks, while expensive ($60 for 3 mango margaritas) were very good and we treated ourselves to poolside margaritas.

The staff members at Esperanza are amazing and accommodating. The grounds are stunning and well groomed. The villa rooms are beautifully decorated and maintained. The pool areas are very nice (although a little more service would be appreciated). There are a variety of comp exercise classes all day long. Patti and Raffa do a great job with the TRX classes and Gonzalo leads a fun circuit-type training class. The spa is one of the best I've ever visited. Very nice staff and amenities.

I would go back to Esperanza for a relaxing, low-key getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MONTELARGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Montelargo,

Thank you for your honest and thorough assessment of your visit to Esperanza It sounds like overall you had a very positive experience and found our staff and property to be amazing!
I do regret that you found our food & beverage service to be lacking on many account and want to apologize that your experience was inconsistent with our typical standards of customer satisfaction. Your feedback helps us to improve many issues mentioned and I appreciate your comments.

We hope you will return again in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The entire experience was incredible. Go see Oscar at the bar in the evening, he is the best and you can't go wrong with Irving poring drinks for you poolside at the quite pool. The grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: Any room is a great room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kismettv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Kismettv,

Thanks for your positive comments from your recent getaway to Esperanza, an Auberge Resort. Our Food & Beverage staff enjoyed reading your kind feedback regarding your excellent service on behalf of Oscar & Irving during your visit.
We are delighted you had an incredible experience and trust you will return again soon!

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I had the pleasure of organizing our annual corporate retreat at the Esperanza this January. Despite our many last-minute changes and requests, the staff made all our dreams come true. They went above and beyond with their kindness and genuine friendliness to make our event a fabulous one.

The food was delicious and the views spectacular, even from the lower level rooms! The rooms are all huge with giant patios, and come with AppleTV and binoculars to watch the humpback whales off Punta Ballena. Watching whales breach as I sampled their delicate ceviche and sipped my margarita was an experience in itself. All of our guests loved their stay and would love to return. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Definitely get a massage. The spa was very unique and their massages were perfect -- not too 'tickly' and not too rough. Just right!

Also, it's only a ten minute drive away from the Marina in Cabo San Lucas, so shopping and such is very nearby.

Special kudos to Hector, Ines, and Zuri for making our stay perfect!

Room Tip: They are all wonderful, but the suites are gigantic. Perfect for longer stays.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Sysgirl2,

Thank you for reviewing your annual corporate retreat this past January at Esperanza.
Hector, Ines and Zuri were delighted to do what they do best and ensure an amazing stay for you and your colleagues throughout your visit!

Whale season is a delightful time to be at Esperanza and I’m thrilled you had time to relax and be pampered at our pools and signature spa as well.

We look forward to having you return soon for another wonderful retreat at Esperanza, an Auberge Resort!

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband and I visited Esperanza for a romantic getaway (left the kids at home for a change!). We travel extensively for both work and pleasure, and we thought this was one of the best trips of our lives. Yes, the resort is incredibly picturesque. Yes, our room was AMAZING with beachfront views and an infinity hot tub. But what made this hotel truly remarkable was the EXCELLENT service. I have to admit that I am a stickler for service and I can be picky...very picky. The service was perfect. Not one thing that was imperfect. And, to top everything else off, my husband said he had the best massage of his life in the spa. I agreed. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Eduardo V,

Thank you for choosing Esperanza, an Auberge Resort for your recent romantic getaway!
It is an honor to create such a special experience and provide one of the best trips of your lives.
Our entire team was thrilled to read you enjoyed our excellent service that we are known for here at Esperanza!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This resort is not only breathtakingly beautiful, but the staff was wonderful. So nice to walk through the grounds and have everyone make eye contact and greet you.
This place is relaxation at its best. Make a reservation at Cocina Del Mar and sit out on the point, have a glass of wine and head back to your room for a soak in your balcony jacuzzi. Perfect night! MUST HAVE THE GORDITAS at La Palapa! You may need two orders!!
I love this resort the most just because its so easy, mellow and relaxing. It's never too crowded anywhere. All in all, one of my favorite places anywhere!

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor casita. The rooms in the 50's have the best view of the pool and ocean and all second and third floor rooms have jacuzzi's on their balconies.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Chelsea C,

We enjoyed reading your excellent review of your “best trip ever” to Esperanza!
I agree the gorditas are to die for at La Palapa and you can never have enough. We promise to have some waiting for you with a glass of wine on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews