We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty sushi by Walmart”
Review of Koi Sushi

Koi Sushi
Ranked #69 of 560 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tasty sushi by Walmart”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This place is tucked into a strip mall next to Walmart and Sam's Club. Very friendly service and fresh, tasty sushi. We ordered the combination plate which included teriyaki, sushi, and tempera vegetables. It was a great value given the quality of the ingredients.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WillaRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    58
    12
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must-Try!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place may be one of the best sushi places I've ever tried! The flavors they put in their sauces that go over their sushi rolls and the fresh fish is simply amazing! So Delicious! We let the chefs decide and every plate they brought out was delicious! Our first plate was just strips of fish with some type of sauce, and the rest were rolls. All of the plates had some type of sauce that went over the fish, so some may not consider it to be "true" sushi - but the flavors were fantastic! I thought it was interesting that they didn't really use seaweed in their rolls - they used the fish to wrap most of them. I highly recommend this place! My mouth waters every time I think about this place! The staff was attentive and nice also. The prices are also decent, definitely well worth it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MishiMish23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Losing its touch”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Used the be a revolutionary concept. Relatively cheap quality rolls.

I used to be the biggest fan. Then I noticed how their quality decreased. They did not invest in renovations. And most importantly they lacked variety in their rolls. Simply selling supposedly different rolls which had minimal variations.

Their fish used is also very limited:
Only: tuna, salmon, shrimp and sometimes octopus and scallops.

I still like to go. But I had to give it lower stars to balance its rating.

Helpful?
Thank Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
178 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A must whenever we are in Cabo..Great!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Tucked in behind Walmart of all places you will find Koi. A tiny little sushi bar with about 5 tables inside and several more in the food court area outside. Excellent sushi. I love sushi, I eat sushi often. This place is great everytime! They have very unique choices. They are always happy and seem to love what they do. If you like sushi...do not let the proximity to Walmart scare you away.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KMM043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fresh and Cheap Sushi”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

ate here for a saturday night dinner. we ordered a mix of nigiri, sashimi, and 2 rolls. all the fish was fresh and delicious. this place is also very affordable. 4 entrees would have cost around 70-90 USD in the states. we ate the equivalent at koi sushi for about 40-50 USD without sacrificing quality found in the better US sushi places.

keep in mind this restaurant is a little small, and you can also sit outside in the food court if it is full. it is located in the walmart plaza.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koi Sushi also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Koi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing