We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I have eaten in Cabo.”
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #115 of 560 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bistro serves breakfast from 6 a.m. daily featuring fresh strawberry waffles, huevos rancheros and our now-famous Eggs Pueblo Bonito. For lunch and dinner there is excellent thin pizza from the brick oven, a variety of Mexican food, awesome sushi, soups, chili & chowder, creative salads, sandwiches, pastas, main courses and desserts until 10 p.m. To beat the heat, drink a homemade Mexican Agua Fresca with your meal. A night-owl menu is available from 10 pm until 6 am. No reservations.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Worst place I have eaten in Cabo.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you like high prices, long waits, and average to terrible food; this is the place for you. Pueblo Bonito at Sunset has a great restaurant in their new Chinese Restaurant but this place is awful. The servers try, but they can't help being understaffed. The food takes hours, comes out cold, and tastes ok. There are some decent things on the menu (as I ate there more times than I should have, but it is the easiest option when you are stuck at the hotel) but they are too inconsistent. After waiting at least 30 minutes each time for a bill, I never got one that was correct. Check everything, no better yet, just don't go!

I gave the atmosphere average only because the view is stunning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rovingambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    143
    83
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Not enough wait staff; food was pretty good; needed more of a variety. Pizzas were decent, the steak was a bit bland (and served with shoestring French fries?). Salads and soups were good, as were desserts and such.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service at Bistro!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have stayed here many times before and always love it. This time, we went to the on-site restaurant called the Bistro. We LOVED IT! A specific employee, Ramon, stood out to us. He was so friendly and had such great customer service. He was also very knowledgable about the restaurant and the menu. We had a great experience.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We ate here since we were staying at Pueblo Bonito Sunset. I had the Basta Pasta. YUM! Breakfast at the Bistro was horrible and so was the service. Much better places in Cabo to try.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapulpa, OK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We LOVE The Bistro”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The Bistro offers a nice variety of food for the whole family! We love the Basta Pasta, Seafood Enchiladas, Chiles Rellenos, ALL of the salads and the soups, and the AMAZING Strawberry Waffles at breakfast!
The best waiters there are Ramon (new to the Bistro from La Nao) he is the sweetest, funniest, nicest, most attentive guy!! We LOVE him!! He was our favorite at all of Sunset Beach!!!, Juan (a total class act- we definitely can picture him serving at La Frida!), and Jorge (great waiter, very attentive and very sweet!)
Silvero, who delivers the food to the tables is such a sweetheart-- he always has a kind smile and is so very polite!
Great food-- a definite must to please everyone. You can't go wrong!!

Helpful?
Thank Dmb115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing