We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A diamond in the rough in Cabo”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Guero

El Guero
Ranked #276 of 555 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough in Cabo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We heard about El Guero from a person around the pool at Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos. Since it was only a short walk from the hotel we decided to try it. What a delightful time we had! the owner, Angel, is very fluent in English so we had a great conversation with him. He makes the best margaritas in town...all from scratch...no margarita mix for him! Freshly squeezed limes, tequila and contreau poured in by eye balling it! then the secret ingredients of a dash of fresh orange juice and sugar syrup. Magnificent...he even makes them "to go!"
Our dinner was great...I had the shrimp in chipotle sauce and it was so good we went there a second night so I could have it again and get the recipe from his wife who does the cooking.
We had seen this place in years past but were also put off because it seemed like a place for the local workers. While many local frequent there it is a welcome mat for everyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank signora2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EL Paso
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Mom and Pop place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

It was our first dinner at Medano Beach. The food was inexpensive and delicious. The shrimp coctail was great, as was the sea bass with garlic and my wife garlic shrimp. The homemade salsas and torillas we very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigDog-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
237 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fresh and clean sea food and good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Fresh oysters and clams are a must. This is a place to spend sometime after a rough night to re-start again in Cabo. Do not miss it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jmcgcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best giant clam I have had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We found El Guero by accidental a few years ago and stopped in for a beer on our way to Medano beach. An English speaking server enticed us into trying some giant clam ceviche, which lead to other goodies as well . We thorughly enjoyed the meal, each had a couple of cervasa and left for less than $20.00. We have been back many times and have enjoyed the whole fried fish (usually snapper) and many other selections. We love the place and will be back in february of 2013.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I happened to see a post on a forum regarding this restaurant and decided to try it out when we went to cabo. The food and the price is incrediable! The service is very friendly. A family owned business that is willing to cook and meet all of your needs. What they didn't have, such as diet pepsi, they ran to the store to get! Now where else will you find that? The fish taco's that I had were honestly the best I've had. What it lacts in frills, it certainly makes up for in quality and service. This place wll be my staple everytime I go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Layne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Guero also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Guero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing