We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Cabo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Location in Cabo”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed at Cabo Villas beach resort from March 10 - 24 , 2012. Stayed here 7 times now and the service and location couldn't be better. The resort is located on Medano Beach , the best beach for swimming in Cabo that I have yet to discover. The resort is a smaller resort , with an updated look - Best part is the staff like Martin , Norma and Roberto who each year greet us like we are family returning home ! The resort has 3 pools , 3 restaurants and a beautiful spa and fitness center. Located only 2 blocks from the Marina , you can leave the beauty of the resort and be in the center of everything the Marina shops have to offer in a short 5 to 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    318
    121
    95
    101
See reviews for
304
441
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This was our first trip to Cabo and I'm certain it won't be our last. We "won" the bid at a charity auction last fall so we know we paid more than what you could do otherwise but it was worth it. We had a one bed/one bath room in a great location - just five floors up and overlooking a lovely pool and bar, which included a wonderful view of the Sea of Cortez and beach. The resort is located on Medano Beach, the only safe swimmable beach in Cabo. All beaches in Mexico are open to the public but because this is the safest place, i.e., no dangerous undertow, it might be a little more crowded on the weekend. However, that is not a good reason for passing up a trip to Cabo - there is plenty of sandy shoreline, I promise.

Our room had a full-sized fridge, small stovetop and sink along with serviceware for four people. If you're inclined to eat in there are cooking utensils in the cabinets & drawers. We opted not to because the variety of local and hotel restaurants was too good to pass up.

Each morning, my husband walked across the hotel's back entry street to a small coffee shop where he'd buy a couple of large coffees and muffins that we enjoyed on the balcony as we planned our days' activities. Afterwards, on some mornings we'd amble down to the beach cantina restaurant and eat breakfast there; other times we'd walked to the marina, a short distance away, and eat there. Sorry for going on about this but if you're a coffee person, I think you might like knowing you don't have to drink the weak stuff in the rooms which would cost you $3 a packet! However, if you want to bring your own, there is a coffee maker in the room; I'm just not sure how many cups it makes. There is a small store located on the hotel's premises where you can buy breakfast cereals, juices, snacks, etc. But they're expensive so once you're situated, you might want to go shopping elsewhere if you're planning to stay in to eat.

The marina is a short walk away, again out the back entry. Walk down the street and take a right turn at the Marina Fiesta which is a beautifully landscaped hotel. Turn right again and walk the length of that side of the marina where you'll arrive at the Puerto Paraiso, a mall that sells everything from souvenirs to high-end merchandise. Along the marina, you can book all sorts of activities, shop, or stop for something to eat or drink. BTW the hotel water is safe to drink and probably also at the marina restaurants but we always had bottled just to be sure. The food ran the gamut from a simple "3 tacos and a Corona for $10" (Mexican $, I think) to a professionally staffed restaurant with higher prices. We thought the food was excellent with one exception and that was at a seafood restaurant located elsewhere in the town.

The on-site restaurants were very good, in particular the Baja Brewing Company which has the best view at the Villas. It's situated on a corner of the 6th floor and features craft beers and a full-service menu. The staff there and in the cantina restaurant were congenial and more than willing to accommodate us and other guests. In fact, we never experienced anything other than courteous staff anywhere on the premises.

We also went to a promised "only 90-minutes" presentation on our first morning there which did not end in 90 minutes. The salesperson said at the beginning that she'd appreciate when she was finished if we'd simply say yes or no, not "We need time to think it over." We agreed but when we pleasantly said no, that was not the end of her presentation! She gave us some new numbers and again, we said no and again, that wasn't the end; she then called a "closer type" over and we had to sit there awhile longer. We understand this is their job and we were polite but if you're not a patient person, you might want to pass up the presentation regardless of what the so-called freebies are for attending. In order to pick up our freebies, we had to go downstairs to meet another person who then tried to get us to attend a different presentation! We explained that another meeting was beginning to rob us of our limited time in their lovely resort but it actually took our becoming abrupt to finally be able to walk out with our "freebies"! I'm not sure free Wi-Fi and 20% off purchases at their hotel restaurants and small shop were worth our loss of time; you'll have to decide for yourself if it is. One word about the Wi-Fi: I don't know if it's because the cruise ships were stationed off the beach (2-4 ships most days), but our connection was spotty at best which was very frustrating. Again, you'll have to decide if the freebies are worth the pain of sitting through a sales pitch!

If you're looking for a quiet retreat, this may not be the place as there is something going on most evenings which involves loud music and noisy people. Our location over the smaller pool and bar and being fairly close to the Baja Brewing Co on the floor above certainly brought the action closer to us. We really didn't mind but I'm pretty sure I'd be careful to not book the Villas around Spring Break or other family vacation blocks of time. We left on March 11 and by then there were larger groups of students coming in and the bar scene was getting more lively. While this doesn't bother us, I know it wouldn't have been as enjoyable if we had been kept awake every night. To their credit, the bands did not play after 11 or 12 so it wasn't an all-night thing. But, if you're an early-to-bed person, you might want to make sure your room is located away from the action.

We booked a couple of activities through the hotel, again because of the so-called freebies. I think you could walk to the marina where you'd get a better deal from the various vendors. We snorkeled and also went whale watching. Both were fun and we enjoyed them; they were safe excursions and the staff very knowledgable and helpful. I'd recommend La Princessa's catamaran, the Lotsa, for snorkeling and Cabos Adventures for whale watching. I'm fairly certain you could reserve either of these the day before but please, make sure because I wouldn't want you to be disappointed if that's not the case. Two of our more special dinners out were at Edith's and Lorenzillo's. Reservations were necessary but definitely worth it. The food and service and ambience were impeccable at both restaurants.

The rest of our vacation was spent on the beach enjoying the warm sunshine, beautiful water and the opportunity to relax. We're pretty sure we'll return to Cabo, possibly staying at the Villas again although we might try another. However, it was such a good experience, I wouldn't mind a return to Cabo Villas Beach Resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robynwimmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We visit Cabo San Lucas frequently. This time we stayed at Cabo Villas and we really enjoyed the location, their beach is swimmable and liked the location close to Mango Deck and Sharky's Tacos and being closer to the down town area. At other resorts we've stayed in that have one bedroom rooms usually have 2 bathrooms, our one bedroom at Cabo Villas only had the one bathroom.We had a guest stay with us overnite and it wasn't convenient to have the one bathroom. Also the shower had mold in between the tiles. and the shower water pressure was horrible it took 45 min to wash my hair. The resort was ok it wasn't as nice as other resorts I'd stayed at in Cabo, it was comparable to a Holiday Inn. Their pool isn't that wonderful it just basic not a classic resort style pool area, which we never use the pool anyway. We had to attend a sales presentation and the sales guy was nice and realized soon we were not interested in purchasing, he did his job as he has to and was courteous and let us get back to our vacation. We've been to sales presentations at the Mayan which I thought they were going to hang us before they would let us leave, so Cabo Villas' wasn't that bad. I doubt we will ever stay there again, unless we find another real cheap deal there.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smalltownTXgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

CaboVillas Beach Resort on Medona Beach is our Heaven on Earth. The location is terrific. Right on Medano Beach near the action but quiet at the resort. You don't need a car as you can walk to all of the restaurants, the Marina, all the activities! The staff is outstanding, any problems-- just call and the units are great. It is so welcoming-- when we arrive the staff remembers our name! We own a timeshare which has worked out great for us. Regardless of how you arrange it-- time share or hotel-- you will love Cabovillas!

Room Tip: Rooms are very nice-- even if your room does not have a view you may have a great view from your bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarleneWTBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at Cabo Villas for a week and had a really great experience. We were in a two bedroom suite with the jacuzzi and a to die for view of the beach. The room was comfortable, modern, with a nice decor. The full sized refridgerator and washer/dryer were extra perks. This was in the Bayview Suites building. Another room my group rented was in the oldest building on the "basement" floor. It was AWFUL! Dark, dingy, old, and musty smelling. My friend quickly went to fight for a better room and vented our frustration with the situation. After a bit they switched that room to one in the Bayview building and it was great. Be aware that there are a wide variety of buildings and rooms. Other than this we loved the beach, the fantastic restaurants (Baja Cantina servers Leonardo and Adrian were awesome!) , lovely spa, pools, etc. This resort has a lot to offer. Medano Beach is hopping and fun but can be very loud. Not a relaxing stretch. It is a party scene! There is a lot of noise at night from live music in the Baja Grill. The locaction is fantastic as you can walk to town and the harbor which is filled with restaurants, clubs, shopping, etc. I would definitely go back to Cabo Villas.

Room Tip: See above review
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyc117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Visited with my husband and another couple, we had a 2 bedroom executive suite. This was basically a "lock-off" of two units. It worked beautifully. One suite had a wall kitchenette and bathroom, the larger suite had a full kitchen area and living room with the shared balcony off the main unit. The larger unit had an interesting bathroom setup, there was no door to separate the bathroom from the bedroom - it was not that big of a deal to us - but it might be to some people. We just locked off the entire bedroom if someone wanted privacy! Beach in front of condos was beautiful. There were designated swimming areas, but on both sides of the swimming areas were boats, jet skis, etc coming in to pick up passengers. This bothered my husband but I don't think the rest of us even noticed. We had great service at all the pool bars or eateries, even made us drinks that weren't on the menu. We were not bothered by any time share pitches, although I did see others being approached.
If you want to be able to walk the beach as well as be close to town - this location is perfect. We walked into town for dinner or for shopping most of the time, only took a cab once and that was because we weren't sure where we were going!
There are a lot of stairs from the condos at the back of the resort to the beach -- they get steeper depending on how much fun you've had at the beach :) ! Again -- didn't bother us much but might be important to someone else.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tikiville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012


Close, congenial, clean and compact  define Cabos Villas.  The resort staff go out of their way to make their guests feel welcomed to this facility that sits  on Medano  Beach,  the swimming and water sports center of Cabo.  In addition to three pools and a spa, they also have a luxury health spa, and several bars and restaurants on site.  They provide daily activities and entertainment to engage visitors who do not want to leave the campus.   It is surrounded by restaurants from the most simple to a couple of the finest in Cabo.  

 If sunning and drinking are not your favorite ways to spend your days,  it is about a five minute walk to the marina where the  sport fishing, snorkeling and whale watching boats  depart daily.  The marina is also home to the largest shopping mall in town, small shops and vendors as well as numerous restaurants and bars.  This is also where you will encounter the plethora of sales people trying to promote their resort or activity.  I was thinking of making a recording to say, "No, gracias."

There are a wide variety of accommodations from single rooms to large suites that provide a great setting for a fairly large group or family.  The kitchens are highly functional and have the basics, but you must provide all consumables except for dish soap.  Everything is well maintained but you are responsible for your own dish cleanup.  

The rooms are well insulated and neighbor's conversations  are not a concern, however the evening entertainments provide a high level of noise until 11:00 almost nightly.  The rooms are all non smoking, not so the balconies,  pool areas, and bars and restaurants.  Besides nightly noise and obnoxious smokers the biggest obstacle for some guests might be the many steps throughout the resort.  

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freeddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
#1 of 39 in Cabo San Lucas
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Villas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Property: Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Address: Callejon del Pescador s/n | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Villas Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is a luxury hotel situated on Medano Beach, the most popular stretch of sand in Cabo San Lucas. Cabo Villas is a family owned resort with 138 custom built suites and spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez and Land's End. Amenities include fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet in all areas, satellite TV, three pools, 10-person ocean view Jacuzzi, oceanfront beach club, four on-site restaurants and bars, a world-class spa and personalized service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the "Heart of Cabo", the resort is within easy walking distance to all major attractions including Medano Beach, the marina, Puerto Paraiso Mall, downtown and numerous restaurants and night clubs. With stunning views of the Sea of Cortez, Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for travelers who seek quality service while enjoying the best of the Cabo San Lucas lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Villas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Villas Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Hotel Beach
Cabo Villas Beach Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing