We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bad experience after another-security is passive and terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Cabo Villas gets worse and worse each time we stay here. This is our third time here and it is becoming more and more trashy as the days go by. First, a lady had her approx two year old son in the hot tub without any clothes on (yes, he was butt naked) and after telling security the guy just laughed and did nothing about it. Second, we saw a semi-pornographic show in the hot tub one night which moved all around the entire pool area. Two couples were practically having sex in the hot tub and on the chairs near the pool area and security again did nothing about it. They must be afraid to do their jobs and keep the place a classy and clean area.
Along with that, they need to do a better job and have a better system as to what to do with people saving chairs on the beach. When there are 30 chairs covered with towels and no one showing up for hours and hours than those towels should be removed for other people who wish to lay out as well. They shouldn't be pulling plastic chairs out for guests who arrive because they are too afraid to remove the towels that are left unattended on chairs that are supposed to be open to everyone.
It is a shame that a resort in such a prime location isn't up to par with the others that are competing in the same small area. Other than location being great, Cabo Villas does not live up to the expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SC1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hotel is at a prime location on the beach in Cabo, maybe the best location if you like to be in the middle of it all. The layout of the hotel is not wide open, but more linear, giving a more intimate feel. Not crowded when we were there, allowing for prompt and attentive service.

The worst thing that happened to my wife and I was being woken via room telephone at 8am for a timeshare tour offer. Are you kidding me? That is the reason for a "very good" rating , as opposed to an "excellent" rating. I advise you to just take your room phone off the hook when you check in.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite over the beach, with the jacuzzi over the beach. Very cool!

Also, there was a fun bar with a large "bonfire" on the roof with a live band. Very romantic setting.

Room Tip: Suite Room with full kitchen and large balcony / jacuzzi over the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

stayed here for 5 days with my husband awesome spot in Cabo. Good sized rooms. Had unit with a view of the pool. although you wont be in your room much. Plenty of choice for dining at the resort. Loved the beach bar with the swings. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

If you read through these reviews, you will understand. It is what it is. You really cannot compare a house in North Dakota to a house in New York City.

What you are getting here primarily is location. It is the best hotel location in Cabo if you want to be on Medano Beach. You are close to everything. The place to be is here. This is where the beach restaurants are, the water sports, everything. If you are looking for a grand resort with huge rooms and porches that is away from it all, DO NOT GO HERE.

The room was very nicely done, using the limited space wisely. Everything was updated, not only in the room but everywhere in the resort. The cleaning lady did an incredible job…Service throughout the resort is top notch.

Regarding the complaints about not using chairs unless you are purchasing food/drink, it is because the chairs are for the Baja Cantina. Each chair has a waiter. Waiters are given specific chairs. We ended up renting chairs a few feet from the restaurant, 2 for $10.00 per day. The chairs are close to each other, so we weren’t even interested. We went to Chileno Bay 1 day, and Lands End 2 days.

Again, it is LOCATION! Don’t think you will get a huge pool. The pools are small, and most of the time shaded by the building. You get towels there, never had to wait, and they are nice towels compared to other resorts.

The 2x1 prices are good, but right next to the building on the street you can buy them cheaper (or just go to Wal Mart).

If you don’t own a timeshare there, and you get a trade there, they will put you at the bottom floor with no view. One of the workers told us that.

As for the timeshare sales, it is everywhere in Cabo. Check-in is not really check-in, it is you sitting down and getting free margaritas and chips, while they try to get you to do the breakfast. No big deal. We said no about 5 times, she kept trying until I said “You could give me $500 and I wouldn’t see the breakfast.”

Room Tip: Higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank right-here-i-say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed at Cabo Villas beach resort from March 10 - 24 , 2012. Stayed here 7 times now and the service and location couldn't be better. The resort is located on Medano Beach , the best beach for swimming in Cabo that I have yet to discover. The resort is a smaller resort , with an updated look - Best part is the staff like Martin , Norma and Roberto who each year greet us like we are family returning home ! The resort has 3 pools , 3 restaurants and a beautiful spa and fitness center. Located only 2 blocks from the Marina , you can leave the beauty of the resort and be in the center of everything the Marina shops have to offer in a short 5 to 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This was our first trip to Cabo and I'm certain it won't be our last. We "won" the bid at a charity auction last fall so we know we paid more than what you could do otherwise but it was worth it. We had a one bed/one bath room in a great location - just five floors up and overlooking a lovely pool and bar, which included a wonderful view of the Sea of Cortez and beach. The resort is located on Medano Beach, the only safe swimmable beach in Cabo. All beaches in Mexico are open to the public but because this is the safest place, i.e., no dangerous undertow, it might be a little more crowded on the weekend. However, that is not a good reason for passing up a trip to Cabo - there is plenty of sandy shoreline, I promise.

Our room had a full-sized fridge, small stovetop and sink along with serviceware for four people. If you're inclined to eat in there are cooking utensils in the cabinets & drawers. We opted not to because the variety of local and hotel restaurants was too good to pass up.

Each morning, my husband walked across the hotel's back entry street to a small coffee shop where he'd buy a couple of large coffees and muffins that we enjoyed on the balcony as we planned our days' activities. Afterwards, on some mornings we'd amble down to the beach cantina restaurant and eat breakfast there; other times we'd walked to the marina, a short distance away, and eat there. Sorry for going on about this but if you're a coffee person, I think you might like knowing you don't have to drink the weak stuff in the rooms which would cost you $3 a packet! However, if you want to bring your own, there is a coffee maker in the room; I'm just not sure how many cups it makes. There is a small store located on the hotel's premises where you can buy breakfast cereals, juices, snacks, etc. But they're expensive so once you're situated, you might want to go shopping elsewhere if you're planning to stay in to eat.

The marina is a short walk away, again out the back entry. Walk down the street and take a right turn at the Marina Fiesta which is a beautifully landscaped hotel. Turn right again and walk the length of that side of the marina where you'll arrive at the Puerto Paraiso, a mall that sells everything from souvenirs to high-end merchandise. Along the marina, you can book all sorts of activities, shop, or stop for something to eat or drink. BTW the hotel water is safe to drink and probably also at the marina restaurants but we always had bottled just to be sure. The food ran the gamut from a simple "3 tacos and a Corona for $10" (Mexican $, I think) to a professionally staffed restaurant with higher prices. We thought the food was excellent with one exception and that was at a seafood restaurant located elsewhere in the town.

The on-site restaurants were very good, in particular the Baja Brewing Company which has the best view at the Villas. It's situated on a corner of the 6th floor and features craft beers and a full-service menu. The staff there and in the cantina restaurant were congenial and more than willing to accommodate us and other guests. In fact, we never experienced anything other than courteous staff anywhere on the premises.

We also went to a promised "only 90-minutes" presentation on our first morning there which did not end in 90 minutes. The salesperson said at the beginning that she'd appreciate when she was finished if we'd simply say yes or no, not "We need time to think it over." We agreed but when we pleasantly said no, that was not the end of her presentation! She gave us some new numbers and again, we said no and again, that wasn't the end; she then called a "closer type" over and we had to sit there awhile longer. We understand this is their job and we were polite but if you're not a patient person, you might want to pass up the presentation regardless of what the so-called freebies are for attending. In order to pick up our freebies, we had to go downstairs to meet another person who then tried to get us to attend a different presentation! We explained that another meeting was beginning to rob us of our limited time in their lovely resort but it actually took our becoming abrupt to finally be able to walk out with our "freebies"! I'm not sure free Wi-Fi and 20% off purchases at their hotel restaurants and small shop were worth our loss of time; you'll have to decide for yourself if it is. One word about the Wi-Fi: I don't know if it's because the cruise ships were stationed off the beach (2-4 ships most days), but our connection was spotty at best which was very frustrating. Again, you'll have to decide if the freebies are worth the pain of sitting through a sales pitch!

If you're looking for a quiet retreat, this may not be the place as there is something going on most evenings which involves loud music and noisy people. Our location over the smaller pool and bar and being fairly close to the Baja Brewing Co on the floor above certainly brought the action closer to us. We really didn't mind but I'm pretty sure I'd be careful to not book the Villas around Spring Break or other family vacation blocks of time. We left on March 11 and by then there were larger groups of students coming in and the bar scene was getting more lively. While this doesn't bother us, I know it wouldn't have been as enjoyable if we had been kept awake every night. To their credit, the bands did not play after 11 or 12 so it wasn't an all-night thing. But, if you're an early-to-bed person, you might want to make sure your room is located away from the action.

We booked a couple of activities through the hotel, again because of the so-called freebies. I think you could walk to the marina where you'd get a better deal from the various vendors. We snorkeled and also went whale watching. Both were fun and we enjoyed them; they were safe excursions and the staff very knowledgable and helpful. I'd recommend La Princessa's catamaran, the Lotsa, for snorkeling and Cabos Adventures for whale watching. I'm fairly certain you could reserve either of these the day before but please, make sure because I wouldn't want you to be disappointed if that's not the case. Two of our more special dinners out were at Edith's and Lorenzillo's. Reservations were necessary but definitely worth it. The food and service and ambience were impeccable at both restaurants.

The rest of our vacation was spent on the beach enjoying the warm sunshine, beautiful water and the opportunity to relax. We're pretty sure we'll return to Cabo, possibly staying at the Villas again although we might try another. However, it was such a good experience, I wouldn't mind a return to Cabo Villas Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robynwimmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We visit Cabo San Lucas frequently. This time we stayed at Cabo Villas and we really enjoyed the location, their beach is swimmable and liked the location close to Mango Deck and Sharky's Tacos and being closer to the down town area. At other resorts we've stayed in that have one bedroom rooms usually have 2 bathrooms, our one bedroom at Cabo Villas only had the one bathroom.We had a guest stay with us overnite and it wasn't convenient to have the one bathroom. Also the shower had mold in between the tiles. and the shower water pressure was horrible it took 45 min to wash my hair. The resort was ok it wasn't as nice as other resorts I'd stayed at in Cabo, it was comparable to a Holiday Inn. Their pool isn't that wonderful it just basic not a classic resort style pool area, which we never use the pool anyway. We had to attend a sales presentation and the sales guy was nice and realized soon we were not interested in purchasing, he did his job as he has to and was courteous and let us get back to our vacation. We've been to sales presentations at the Mayan which I thought they were going to hang us before they would let us leave, so Cabo Villas' wasn't that bad. I doubt we will ever stay there again, unless we find another real cheap deal there.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank smalltownTXgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#26 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.1 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Villas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Address: Callejon del Pescador s/n | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £181 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Villas Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is a luxury hotel situated on Medano Beach, the most popular stretch of sand in Cabo San Lucas. Cabo Villas is a family owned resort with 138 custom built suites and spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez and Land's End. Amenities include fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet in all areas, satellite TV, three pools, 10-person ocean view Jacuzzi, oceanfront beach club, four on-site restaurants and bars, a world-class spa and personalized service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the "Heart of Cabo", the resort is within easy walking distance to all major attractions including Medano Beach, the marina, Puerto Paraiso Mall, downtown and numerous restaurants and night clubs. With stunning views of the Sea of Cortez, Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for travelers who seek quality service while enjoying the best of the Cabo San Lucas lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Villas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Villas Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Hotel Beach
Cabo Villas Beach Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing