We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Cabo Villas...Great Home Away From Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved Cabo Villas...Great Home Away From Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

So...here goes.

I read ALL 400+ TA reviews and various forum posts about Cabo Villas. Some were encouraging and some were alarming. But we were booked here through our vacation club so we trusted them. We were not disappointed at all.

CHECK-IN
We arrived at 10:30 PM, so there was no line. Norma did a great job checking us in and greeting us with cool margaritas. She invited us to the timeshare presentation, but was not pushy at all. We declined (politely) and that was the last we heard about it all week. We were in our room within 15 min. of checking in.

OUR ROOM
I was concerned about where we'd be placed for the week. We were originally scheduled for a 1 BR Deluxe with a pool view (Room 202). This would have been fine. What we got was a Studio Suite (Room 306) with a partial kitchen and living room with a full view of the ocean. LUCKY US! The room was very clean, nicely decorated, and very modern. This is in the older building, so the bathroom still has the Mexican Villa theme. Still, very modern. All the appliances worked. The A/C was perfect. The 2 remote-controlled ceiling fans were a nice touch as well. The furniture was new and the bedding was VERY comfortable.

POOLS
There are 3 pools at Cabo Villas. All are very clean and refreshing. The ocean was a bit cold (although beautiful) on certain days, so the pool was a great alternative for swimming. In late afternoon, there tend to be a lot of children in the pool. So, just go to the lap pool, which is adult-only. The infinity pool is beautiful.

FOOD
The food was OK at the Baja Brewery. Nothing that you cant get at a similar spot in the US. Baja Cantina (on the beach) was GREAT. Victor served us most days and he was amazing. We liked it so much that we ate or drank there almost every day. The $8-2x1 drinks are a plus and included beer, margaritas, pina coladas, and a couple of other cocktails. The beach chairs (beds) are plush and always available. No real need to get there early. There are plenty. The Wednesday night Fiesta is great entertainment. The menu is very good and the setting is the perfect location...right on Medano Beach.

SERVICE
The staff is TOP KNOTCH. Enough said.

GROUNDS
They take pride in this resort. Although it is not as grand as Casa Dorado (next door) or the Hacienda Del Mar (next door), Cabo Villas is very nice and clean. Think South Beach in Miami. It has an art deco feel infused with Mexican tradition.

Overall our stay was amazing. This was the best vacation we have ever taken to date. We will return and recommend CV to our friends and families.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor rooms if possible. If you do get these, the beach will make up for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    305
    118
    94
    97
See reviews for
295
421
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our vacation experience, overall, was quite memorable. Bartenders, servers, and housekeeping staff were all well trained in their areas of expertise and delivered excellent service. The facility was beautiful and well maintained. The only downside of the entire stay was our initial contact with sales staff, pushing their timeshare presentations. That was an experience we could have done without. I understand the importance of selling memberships, but the sales people were way over the top. People take vacations to relax, not to spend valuable vacation time talking to sales people about something they're not interested in purchasing. Norma, in particular, when told we were not interested, promised gifts and products that she was ultimately unable to deliver, in her desperate effort to persuade us to tour. This behavior is unprofessional, unethical, and completely turned us off.

I know a bit about professional development, and The Cabo Villas sales staff would benefit from an internal guest relations audit to gain greater understanding, appreciation and training in the public relations aspect of sales. They need to realize when there's a real possibility of a sale, and when it's time to lighten up and move on to the next prospective buyer. People do not appreciate it when deceptive tactics are employed to influence decision making. It's rude and dis respective to guests, and a poor business model for success.

Michael L.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in room 7018 and was extremely happy with it. We booked our room through Bob Waldrip, the owner of the room, and can't say enough how easy and wonderful he is to work with. He didn't disappoint. And an added bonus, we did not have to go through any of the time share presentations.

The room was as promised. It was well maintained, with all the extras you will or will not need. Our room had a spectacular view of the mountains and the beach. Sitting in the hot tub on the balcony watching the action at night was great. And sitting on the balcony in the morning watching the sun come up is ... well, you just have to be there to experience it.

It is a corner room toward the back, which made it so quiet. We didn't have the noise from all the hustle and bustle of the beach set up in the morning, and was, for the most part, quiet at night. We have stayed in several other rooms, but this was the absolute best room we've stayed in at Cabo Villas. Glad we found it.

Our check in didn't go so well, but through no fault of Cabo Villas. I grabbed the wrong paperwork when I left home, but Norma1 and Norma2 were very helpful. It could have been a disaster. And as always, Moises is always there to make sure our stays are perfect.

To the always overlooked housekeeping, a huge thank you. Very thorough and thoughtful. It's always nice to come back from the beach or a trip into town and have your room cleaned with some towel artwork sitting on your counters and/or bed.

Room Tip: Try to go through the owner to reserve your room when possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueVanKeizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I had read some of the negative reviews, so last year we decided to swing by and check it out. We were not impressed by how we were treated in the office, asking about the facilities etc. Basically the guy told us to go look it up on the internet. Not very happy with that, I loved the location so we booked it for July 2013.

We booked a two bedroom and a one bedroom interval international timeshare trade neither was ocean view or deluxe. Upon arrival we were in a huge crowd of people trying to check in, I was approached by an employee.. asked for the reservation name and we were handled very promptly. Off to our rooms..the two bedroom was 1104 which had a view of the cement wall of the infinity pool. My twenty somethings stayed there and were very happy because they were on the lowest level and closest to the beach and Baja Cantina. For them the view wasn't an issue. I somehow was (I think) upgraded, I was suppose to be in 305 but they put us in Villa 6. We loved it, we had to climb some stairs but who doesn't need the work out after laying on the beach all day. For us the room was beautiful, not a hotel style room but a mexican villa.

We were never hassled or asked to participate in the timeshare or property overview.

We love the Brewery on the roof. The beach service at Baja Cantina was excellent, Thank you Victor.

The only negative I can say is on our last morning we were hanging out by the pool waiting for our airport transportation and decided to grab something to eat. The pool restaurant offered a menu or buffet. We opted for the buffet and the food was very poor.

We were so happy with our stay I have already booked next year.

Room Tip: Room 1104 is located on the bottom with a cement wall view so imagine 1100, 1101, 1102,1103,1105 ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyd22w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent another week at Cabo Villas and loved every minute of it, again. May 11-18, we had beautiful weather and great service. Franco always made sure we were taken care of. We had a 1 bd deluxe. It overlooked the lap pool and was very quiet. We spent a lot of time at the beach were we always had a lounge waiting. We tried SpaRitual, the on location spa, for the first time. We had a couples massage, however, we arrived an hour early and enjoyed great service as we used the spa facilities, which was a great way to start. The food and beverage service is excellent. I would recommend Cabo Villas to anyone looking for the best resort on Medano Beach. The restaurants in the area are very good. You can walk to town 5-10 min and the Marina. There are plenty of activities available. Wide Open is awesome as you get to drive Baja Buggies out on the open dirt roads in the backcountry, and fast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I can not say enough about our last stay here We are owners and had a one bed exec with hot tub on the balcony, ocean view. We spent many relaxing hours just sitting on the balcony watching the action out on the beach. 3 days of our stay the beach was closed due to a tropical storm passing close by. So we got to see some impressive wave action. The suite was perfect. New pull out queen bed and a wonderful king size bed. I needed smaller pillows and was immediately provided with 2. We had an issue with the air con , called maintenance and somebody came right out.
We attended the members up date and learnt about the new plans for a big new building and 3 more swimming pools. Which they will probably have to remove the original building where the dungeons are located to do this. The presentation took about 90mins as promised. We declined to up grade and had no hassle.
This resort is in a perfect location to town and the Marina on a popular beach with a lot of places to eat nearby. A couple of nights were a little noisy with music coming from several locations. But it didn't go on past 11pm.
This resort is small in comparison to some of the others in Cabo, but I really enjoy my vacations here and have never had any problems. Infact we transferred to another larger AI resort nearby for our 2nd week and just hated it .One night we ate at Billigans on the beach and just had to stop by and visit our home from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I have probably been to Cabo 25+ times and I always warn first timers that they will be overwhelmed by people at their hotel trying DESPERATELY to get you to buy a place down there. Typically, if you push them off in a kind way, they get the message and leave you alone. Not the truth here!!! We own a place overlooking to Marina and staying there is great when we have several people there with us, but when it's just the two of us, we like to stay on Medano Beach (actually we were looking for a place to potentially buy), walking distance to the office, Mango Deck, all of the cool places in town as well as the marina. We had been intrigued by Cabo Villas because of it's location, as well as the fact that they have a great brew-pub on the roof.
Our encounter with them started off poorly. My husband called twice (with promises of a return call) to order a bottle of Champagne be in our room, as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. That never happened. Then, upon our arrival, Wendy told us that for $280 US in addition to what we had already paid, she would upgrade us to a fabulous room. The room was anything but fabulous! We had no ocean view, we were on the ground level, about 20 feet from a tiny, dirty pool with tons of people always hanging out. The water was turned off one night (they did warn us about this) but when they flipped the switch to get it going again, at about 4am, it made a LOUD noise which sprung us both from our bed! Oh, by the way, our bed (we were promised a king size) was a queen size, hard as a rock and pillows that were almost impossible to sleep on!
I would never in a million years recommend this hotel and am surprised that they are able to stay in business after the way that we were treated. Even after all of our concerns were voiced, we were told "that's just the way it is" and that there are plenty of people who want to stay there. Basically, they didn't need our business. Therefore, we didn't give it to them! We ate all of our meals off site and did our best to not spend any time there. Ugh... What a disappointment!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2CaboLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#22 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
#1 of 38 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#28 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Villas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Property: Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Address: Callejon del Pescador s/n | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Villas Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is a luxury hotel situated on Medano Beach, the most popular stretch of sand in Cabo San Lucas. Cabo Villas is a family owned resort with 142 custom built suites and spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez and Land's End. Amenities include fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet in all areas, satellite TV, three pools, 10-person ocean view Jacuzzi, oceanfront beach club, four on-site restaurants and bars, a world-class spa and personalized service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the "Heart of Cabo", the resort is within easy walking distance to all major attractions including Medano Beach, the marina, Puerto Paraiso Mall, downtown and numerous restaurants and night clubs. With stunning views of the Sea of Cortez, Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for travelers who seek quality service while enjoying the best of the Cabo San Lucas lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cabo Villas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Villas Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Hotel Beach
Cabo Villas Beach Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing