We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great family vacation here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a great family vacation here”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Things we loved:
- Location - walking to Marina and Downtown
- Swimmable beach for the kids
- Baja Cantina - one of the most comfortable and enjoyable oceanfront relaxation spots to enjoy some drinks and watch the kids play in the water
- Actually very good food - the Sushi was especially good at Baja Cantina
- Rooms were pretty big and nice, especially if you have an ocean facing unit with sliding walls
- Probably one of the best spots in all of Cabo for enjoying the beach and activities
- Helpful service and staff - Adrian at Baja Cantina was great

Not so much:
- Timeshare pressure upon check-in, especially when they heard we already committed to going to Dreams for their presentation
- Towel policy - at $25 deposit per towel, hold on to your towels because people are like hawks
- Maintenance could be a little tighter. The hot tub from the unit above us dripped onto our balcony for a couple of days until they fixed it.
- A little noisy from the rooftop Baja Brewing Company, but some level of that is acceptable. The food and atmosphere there was good.

Bottom line, we had a great family vacation here for a week. Enjoyable for us and the kids (ages 3 and 5). We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrisinthehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Harrisinthehouse,

Thank you for your comments - both positive and critical - regarding your stay with us at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear your family enjoyed the proximity to the beach, the marina, downtown, as well as Baja Cantina and your units.

We also appreciate the areas you mentioned that we can improve. We will pass along your concerns regarding the Jacuzzi's to our Maintenance Department, as well as the noise level at Baja Brewing. In regards to a towel deposit policy, we have found we need such a policy in place to insure the security of our towels, we apologize if this was an inconvenience for you.

Thanks again for your review, we look forward to serving you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    318
    121
    95
    101
See reviews for
304
441
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just got back from our third trip to Cabo in a year. First time staying at Cabo Villas. All I can say is the staff is fantastic. They are very friendly and accomodating. They make you feel like you have come home. I have stayed at a couple much larger resorts in Cabo and although they were fine, the size of them did not lend themselves to as friendly an atmosphere. I notice that one review said there was lukewarm water. I was there at the same time and, yes, the resort did have some hot water issues but they began repairs as soon as I called to report the problem. Sometimes repairs take longer than the resort or the guests would like. That can happen to any hotel, resort or even your house.
The resort is close to the marina and the town which means you rarely need a taxi.
The resort sits on the one section of Medano Beach where you can regularly go in the water.
Easy access to the Mango Deck, Baja Cantina, Baja Brewing Company, Edith's, The Office and other well reviewed restaurants.
We will be going back every year to Cabo Villas to see all the new friends we made!! Can't wait for 2014.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the second floor. Gives better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Rob S,

Thank you so much for you kind comments regarding our staff family at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa. We are proud to offer a friendly environment that seems like you are at your home away from home!

Thank you also for your understanding regarding the efforts of our maintenance staff. The guys work very hard, and we appreciate all they do to keep our resort functioning properly.

So glad to hear you made a number of friends during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLOVIS
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Back from the worst vacation ever in Cabo and never stay at the Cabo Villas. We had lukewarm water for 5 days. No hot water and on the 7th day, no running water from the hot water fauet. All staff would say was "sorry about that". This in not a resort for Seniors or Handicap: Only one Handicap unit and only two of the four restaurants are accessable by wheelchair. Neither is the Beach. We were told to use the public sidewalk; down a steep hill and up the same. We had a preassigned unit and when we declined to accept the timeshare presentation, the unit was change to a very small unit. We have travelled frequently to Cabo and never have we received poor accomodations and service. Interval has this Resort Rated Select. Really!!

So Now we know, Never will we visit the Cabo Villas. Never.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERNEST S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Mr. Ernest S,

Thank you for your comments. The resort values feedback – both positive and critical – to assist us in our efforts of providing an enjoyable stay.

We apologize for the water temperature and lack of water during one of the nights during your stay. The resort installed a new stainless steel water tank during the week of your stay. Our records also indicate maintenance was performed on the pipes and plumbing during your stay, which required the water to be temporarily suspended.

Baja Brewing Company and Baja Cantina are third-party businesses, however the resort has open dialogue with their management. We will be sure to communicate your concerns regarding wheelchair accessibility.

Interval International sends a confirmation letter to its clients after they reserve a stay at a resort. Included in the confirmation letter is the following text; “Please note: Your unit may vary from the one indicated. The certificate does not guarantee a view or location.” Cabo Villas does not pre-assign unit locations, nor does it change a unit location if a guest declines a presentation.

This situation was analyzed by me personally, and by our Quality Assurance team, in order to make the necessary adjustments in procedures, and apply training as needed. This will ensure that future guests, thanks to you, have a pleasurable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

...that people give CVBR a bad rap is when they get put in a lower level room. I would guess there are ways to call ahead and avoid this. Members of timeshare props will always get better rooms.

Make sure you order the No Name Roll from Baja Cantina on the back of the property. It's not on the menu and it's incredible.

Love this joint.

Room Tip: Micro brews and pizza on the rooftop....damn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Mr. Dave L,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa. We are pleased to hear you enjoy our resort.

We will be sure to pass on your praise to the folks at Baja Cantina and Baja Brewing Compnay. BBC certainly has awesome pizzas, not to mention the best view in Cabo!

Thanks again, looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We have stayed at Cabo Villas two times as guests and 2 times as owners. The staff is amazing, especially love Sophia and all her help. My husband is a stroke survivor and the many steps at the resort can be a challenge. We found there are ramp throughout the resort with only a few steps required to get to the beach. I would suggest adding handrails where there are none.
Our rooms have always been ready after check-in and very clean with friendly and great housekeeping! The location is the best and the Baja Cantina located on the grounds is the best. Both Cabo Villas and Baja Cantina staff are amazing, they really make us feel like we are coming home and being greeted by friends. I love this best of all, the fact that they remember us from prior visits really makes it special!
We are planning another trip soon and can't wait.

Room Tip: always ask for 3rd floor up when staying in "pool view" executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Ms. Kathy V,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa.

Our staff takes pride is providing a "home away from home" atmosphere for our members and guests. We will be sure to pass on your kind words of praise for Sofia, the Housekeeping Department and Baja Cantina.

We will also share your suggestion of handrails for the ramps with our Maintenance and Operations staff.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at Cabo Villas 11/9/2013 – 11/16/2013 on an Interval International trade for a two bedroom, two bath villa.

When we first arrived, we were brought to an area close to the pool bar and grill for drinks because our villa wasn’t ready yet. From everyone I spoke with, their rooms were not ready either, and this is an opportunity for a “concierge” to try to convince you to go on a timeshare tour, for which they will offer you discounts on activities. It took an hour before we were finally able to check into our villa.

First they brought us to one of the “dungeon” rooms. These are first floor villas that have a view of the pool wall. Villa 1104 smelled damp and it was dark. They would upgrade us to a better villa if we agreed to pay an extra $50 a night. We agreed on $40. I just want to mention here that a concierge contacted us via email prior to our vacation – wanting us to take the timeshare tour – she said she noted that we requested a high floor ocean view. We found out from another sales associate that they always give the first floor rooms to Interval trade-ins. Our paid-for upgrade got us a villa one floor up. We had such a difficult time upgrading and the concierge still sought us out to try to get us to go on the tour.

We spoke with 5 owners who were disappointed because when they checked in, they didn’t get the rooms that they paid for as owners. One owner had to spend the first 8 days of her 4 week stay at the Marriott because Cabo Villas was overbooked. Another who was supposed to get a 6th floor room, got a 2nd floor with no view. Another had to spend one night on the first floor – the stories went on and on.

We enjoyed the beach everyday. The service for drinks and food on the beach was excellent ++. The beach bed/loungers were the most comfortable we’ve ever experienced on a beach – but the lounges are pushed up against each other. We were lucky we liked our beach “neighbors”, although one day we got a cigar smoker AND a cigarette smoker next to us! We did notice that the beach attendants reserved some front row lounges with Mexican blankets. Lounges are not supposed to be reserved. Our travel buddies get up early so we were always able to get front row which was so nice.

We were without hot water in the shower for two days. One night they shut off the water from 11:00pm until 5:00pm. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well.

After all that, we did have a good vacation, loved that Cabo Villas was right on the beach and also liked that we were able to take the water taxi to Los Arcos right from our beach.

There are a LOT of stairs at this resort without safety railings. While we were there a woman fell on the stairs, broke her ankle badly. Our friend counted – 104 stairs from our villa to the beach – good exercise, but would have liked safety railings.

Although we did have a great vacation, we wouldn’t stay here again because of the uncertainty of the villa we would be assigned (they do not let you know ahead of time) and the timeshare pressure.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Do not get a room under Baja Brewery (noisy). Some first floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Valerie617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Ms. Valerie617,

Thank you for your comments. The resort values feedback – both positive and critical – to assist us in our efforts of providing an enjoyable stay.

Saturday’s are a busy day for all resorts in Los Cabos. The mornings are full of guests checking out after their vacation is complete, followed by new guests checking in later that afternoon. The few hours in between allows our Housekeeping team members the opportunity to prepare the rooms. Posted check-in time at the resort is 4 p.m., which we include on each reservation confirmation.

The timing of when the reservation is made is a component of the location of the unit. Members and guests can make their reservations up to a year in advance.

The resort does encourage guests to take a presentation tour. The guest always has the option of declining the invite. For those guests who join the resort as members, they purchase a room type, not a specific unit.

Baja Cantina is a third-party business. We have an open dialogue with their management and will be sure to share your concerns regarding the lounge chairs.

We apologize for the lack of water during one of the nights during your stay. Our records indicate maintenance was performed on the pipes, plumbing and water tanks during your stay, which required the water to be temporarily suspended.

Due to the boundaries of the property, the resort’s layout has a number of stairs. To help with the process of getting around, the resort has three ramps to use as an alternative to the stairs.

These situations were analyzed by our Quality Assurance team, in order to make the necessary adjustments in procedures, and apply training as needed. This will ensure that future guests, thanks to you, have a pleasurable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I agree with all the poor reviews which are spot on. The hotel is very noisy and in dire need of being updated. The pool area doesn't have a view and feels very claustrophobic since it is surrounded by the buildings of the hotel. There is no security at the exits of the hotel as in other hotels in cabo. The hotel opens up directly into the street and anyone has direct access to your room. Hallways are dark and I wouldn't be surprised if someone gets robbed. The food is average and overpriced. The roof restaurant baja brewing gave me food poisoning for 2 days after eating there. The worst part of the hotel is the front desk service. My credit card was charged for using coffee and bottled water which wasn't even supplied in the room!!

There are much better options in Cabo and I wouldn't bother using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammiLin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Ms. SammiLin9,

Thank you for your comments. The resort values feedback – both positive and critical – to assist us in our efforts of providing an enjoyable stay.

The resort property includes three separate pool areas, allowing guests to choose the location that they prefer.

Safety is a top priority at the resort. Members and guests are the primary reason of our business and we take pride in providing a secure environment. As a part of the resort’s security standards and protocol, security personnel are stationed at both entrances to the resort 24 hours a day who monitor guests entering or exiting the resort grounds.

Your experience at Baja Brewing Company is unfortunate. The restaurant is a third-party business, however the resort has open dialogue with their management. We will be sure to communicate our concerns.

Thank you again for your feedback and giving us the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
#1 of 39 in Cabo San Lucas
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Villas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Property: Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Address: Callejon del Pescador s/n | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Villas Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is a luxury hotel situated on Medano Beach, the most popular stretch of sand in Cabo San Lucas. Cabo Villas is a family owned resort with 138 custom built suites and spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez and Land's End. Amenities include fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet in all areas, satellite TV, three pools, 10-person ocean view Jacuzzi, oceanfront beach club, four on-site restaurants and bars, a world-class spa and personalized service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the "Heart of Cabo", the resort is within easy walking distance to all major attractions including Medano Beach, the marina, Puerto Paraiso Mall, downtown and numerous restaurants and night clubs. With stunning views of the Sea of Cortez, Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for travelers who seek quality service while enjoying the best of the Cabo San Lucas lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Villas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Villas Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Hotel Beach
Cabo Villas Beach Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing