We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
cal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 23 April 2007

We stayed in an executive Ocean Front 2 bedroom lockoff with jacuzzi, and loved it so much we are going back in 2 weeks from now. It took a bit of time to get checked in, but enjoyed some appetizers at the bar while we waited. Our room was gorgeous and the staff was great. After reading some bad reviews, I am assuming people with bad experiences stayed in the older buildings #2 and #3. The only area of the hotel I would recommend is Blg #1, this is the newest building and the most modern. Make sure when you book you know exactly which room number you will be in and have them email you a map - which used to be on the website but no longer. The pool was nice, but seemed full of suntan oil, so I never went in it, and why, when the sea of cortez is right there! Go in it people! Its bath water! Take a parasail, its amazing ! Take a snorkel, its amazing! The security could have been a bit tighter at the beach one day, as it gets really annoying when the solicitors come over the taped off area and invade your space on the beach. I loved the outdoor bars on the beach..and near the beach. The recreational companies were excellent and friendly. It costs more to stay in the ocean front rooms, but worth every penny for the view, and I think they give you a bit better service knowing you paid a bit more. The maids did come to the room a bit early, but we just told them to come back later.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dynamix10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    318
    121
    95
    101
See reviews for
304
441
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2007

Thought I would write a review about our great stay at Cabo Villas Resort from March 17-24 (Spring Break). My wife and three kids (20,15,13) came back after having been here last August to see how the weather was this time of year - just wonderful. In fact it was unseasonably warm which was appreciated as we all did numerous scuba dives.

The Spring Breakers were at the bars on the beach in front of the hotel but it was not a big deal. I went down a couple of times to see what the action was then went back to the magnificant pool at the hotel which was much less crowded. This time we were on the 5th floor overlooking the pool which was just wonderful. I even got up early a couple of mornings to watch the sun rise. We had previously bought a time-share with an every other year one bedroom plan and chose to upgrade it to a two bedroom. Since we had 5 people in our one bedroom we negotiated to get another one bedroom for the kids for the last three days of the stay. They said they were booked solid but did manage to get a room in the older unit on the ground level. As others have commented it has no view but the kids loved it as they got to be away from mom and dad.

We chose this time to travel from the airport by Gray Lines and they did an excellent job. We even talked the driver into stopping at a grocery store on the way to the resort so we could get groceries for the week since the rooms have stoves, fridges, toasters and blenders. This allowed us to only have to eat out once a day and kept the budget in-line.

As others have said, be sure and get your activities lined up upon arrival as they book up quickly. Claudia is an excellent hostess and will get you booked for every adventure you can imagine. This time down we rented the wave runners (again), quad runners on the Candelaria tour (awesome), sunset horse ride on the beach (ok), parasail with two of the kids (they loved it) and much shopping - all within easy walking distance.

I love vacationing in Mexico and plan on coming back in a few years but may swap for another location. With the construction of residences west of the resort priced at $750,000 - $6mm and construction of a huge resort on the east side I would think that Cabo Villas will be the place to be for the budget concience traveler.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — We had to come home.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lost_In_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida or Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2007

After reading the reviews for Cabo Villas here, Hotwire and Expedia, I was very concerned we would be in a mediocre hotel at best. I could not have been more wrong. Our stay there was exceptional in every way and we can't wait to return. The room was decorated beautifully, the bed.... oh so comfortable, the security outstanding, the service friendly and professional, but the location was the most outstanding part of all. The property is in the heart of all the action on Medano Beach, a few short blocks to the mall, downtown city center, and marina, and on top of some of the finest and most fun restaurants in all of Cabo. Dining at Edith's next to the hotels entrance was an experience I'll never forget and the hip cool fun of the Mango Deck and Billigan's Island on the beach were vacation mode 100%! The Office was expensive but worth it for the service, shrimp scampi, cold chardonay and open air tables on the beach with waves gently lapping and great live music. The pool and cabana bars were awesome and the service was perfecto. Did I tell you I just loved this place yet?!!!

The only draw back was the time share salesmen. They are a bit pesty but they do have one awesome product to sell with this property. Just say no firmly and they politely will leave you alone. We did find our maid napping in our room one afternoon (!) but she did a great job of housekeeping! After all...we were in Mexico. People here believe in afternoon siesta's and we were coming up to take ours! SOoooo; it didn't bother us one bit although she was some what embarrassed!

This is a fabulouso property, just the right size, (not massive like some of the Cabo resorts) and offers several great full service dining opportuinties. DON'T miss the view at Sunset Grill on the top of the building. You can see all of Cabo and the Pacific from here and it was great for breakfast, lunch or drinks. People watching from the Baja Cantina on the beach is so fun and the food is above average. Beautiful and clean pool areas and bars are great for pool drinks or lunch too. Staff was alwasy cleaning or painting something and the maintenance is way above Mexico standards. Guest services will gladly make any arrangements you want for day trips or activities. We visited Todos Santos via Rancheros tour company and had a fabulous guide named Melchor. There are a mulititude of spa services available on site and a health club and spa being built to be open soon. The bellmen were always courteous and around every corner just waiting to help us with anything we needed. Security is very good, especially at night and that is comforting being in the middle of all the actiojn on Medano Beach. Over all, great professional service and the best of Cabo in a comfortable oasis of peace overlooking the beach and famous Cabo rock formations, and near eveything and all the action you want. Please feel free to contact me (flaindy@aol.com) if you want further info or advice about this property. After our 3/23 to 3/30 stay, I think the previous reviews were completely inaccurate. It could not have been a more lovely expereince and we travel frequently all over the world and stay at the best places. Yes, there are fancier places in Cabo, but none can compete with this location. I highly reccommend Cabo Villas and can't wait to return. It was one awesome splendiferous week and we were very sad to leave.

  • Liked — The beautiful decorated and comfortable room, but best of all the LOCATION of teh property!
  • Disliked — The timeshare part and waiting for the 2 (not enough) computers to be available for guests to use the internet.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Flaindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2007

I just got back from staying here for spring break the 8th to the 14th and it was better then i could have hoped for the rooms were awesome and the location is unbeatable everything is walking distance and the security at the resort is awesome, all in all i would reccommend this hotel to anybody

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cubsfn187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2007

Cabo Villas is close to everything you could want in Los Cabos – the marina, a retail mall, downtown with its shopping, restaurants, bar and grills, as well as local convenience stores, a bank with an ATM and a bulk selling grocery store named City Club. After arrival, we walked several blocks to City Club to purchase beverages and food to stock our room with for the week. Our room had a mini-fridge, stove and microwave oven. We bought water at my wife’s insistence, but I experienced no ill effects from the tap water in the hotel although it was no Perrier. The rooms were very nicely appointed – modern facilities and a comfortable bed. We managed to trip the electrical breaker at least once each day, but it’s located by the door so no big ordeal. I could see someone not understanding the concept of a breaker and calling the front desk for help. The maids come early, so you must hang your “Do Not Disturb Golden Rope” on the door knob. We thought it was just a decorative rope at first but when the maid came knocking at 8am our first morning there as we slept late recovering from the previous day’s trek there, we figured it out. Also, you could usually here maids dragging furniture around on the tiled floors as they cleaned rooms around you.
Anyway, the location is great and the views of Land’s End and the Sea were spectacular. We had a room on level three by the infinity pool which permitted a nice view of the Sea. The pool does play music on loudspeakers throughout the day which might annoy some guests needing a siesta. An ‘ocean front’ room at level three or higher facing East would have been really nice. I heard some people complain of rooms at lower levels (that face North or South) for lack of a scenic view. There is a neat open air rooftop restaurant that has a spectacular view. The poolside grill has Gringo staples of cheeseburgers and beer. There are two Jacuzzis – one of which overlooked the ‘the view’ and the other that was about 50 feet long – both of which were really nice after a long day of activities.
Cabo Villas is situated on Medano (public) Beach which is billed as one of the few places that it’s safe to swim. There are several bars and grills on the beach that were “Spring Break” in style – with it’s loud music, DJs encouraging girls to reveal their breasts, and sombrero wearing staff facilitating shots of tequila. I’m not 16 anymore so this didn’t appeal to me so much. That combined with the constant and annoying ‘in your face’ peddlers who walk up and down the beach selling junk disinclined me from enjoying the Medano Beach experience.
Which brings me to my next ‘issue’ with Los Cabos – the constant hard selling of time shares. From the moment you step off the plane, there are salesmen using used car sales tactics trying to get you to “just take a 75 minute tour.” I met some people who played this system up and got cheap activities and gifts which is fine, but what I found objectionable were the manipulative strong arm hard sales methods. When we got off the plane, guys in official looking khaki shorts and golf shirts pretended to be our pre-arranged transportation service, but who really guided us to a sales counter. I later learned they call this “shark’s alley.” When we arrived at Cabo Villas, we had to sit with a salesperson at the poolside grill while we listened to another “offer” of a time share tour before we could get checked into our room.
Overall, I enjoyed Cabo Villas and the area. It’s beautiful and there is a lot to do and see. It’s a shame the experience is ruined just a little bit with the constant hard sales pitches everywhere you go.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ArkansasTraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2007

Just got back from a week at Cabo Villas. Went with my Mom and sister - it was an amazing week! We had no trouble at all with anything that others have complained about. We exchanged through Interval International. We arrived late on a Saturday evening and our check-in was smooth and everybody was helpful. We did get our welcome package and decided to go to the timeshare meeting the following morning. It was not too long at all - we enjoyed our sales guy and we were done in less than 1 1/2 hours. We politely said no and no one ever bothered us again the whole week about buying.

The meeting was worth it - 3 round-trip transportations for airport, a percentage off the restaurants at Cabo Villas, including the Baja Cantina Beach Club and 10 % off at Solomon's Landing (a great restaurant that I would reccomend to all!)

Everybody at Cabo Villas was so pleasant and helpful all week long. We did come back one day to find that our room hadn't been cleaned - I called and housekeeping was there 5 minutes laters. We got a follow-up call from the front desk to be sure we got what we needed.

I would definitely go back to Cabo Villas and stay - we were there to celebrate milestone birthdays. We all loved everything about Cabo!! We actually had fun haggling with the beach vendors. One restaurant I would not reccomend was The Office - the service was terrible -we left and went elsehwere.

ps - Construction noise was not too bad at all and was bearable. It will be an amazing property when all is finished.

  • Liked — The location was perfect - right on Medano Beach
  • Disliked — Could have used more closet space - 3 women!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshineandtequlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2007

This was a timeshare exchange. We had no idea that the one bedroom unit would be in the basement. The entrance was under the basement pipes next to the laundry room. The patio had no view. The sliding glass doors led to a patio with a tiny rubber jacuzzi surrounded by three cement walls and a tent over the top for privacy. The pullout sofa should have been replaced years ago and had springs popping out of the mattress. There was hot water available only early in the morning and after that, forget about showering since the laundry service in the basement must have used all the hot water for the day and evening. The management refused to change the room for us, even though housekeeping confirmed that there were many other units open and available. It was sincerely a horrible experience and this comes from someone who has traveled all over the Caribbean and has never given a negative review to any other place I've stayed. We had to call housekeeping daily for more towels as they neglected to give us hand towels and/or washclothes. Once called however, the staff did respond quickly.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Whinnie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
#1 of 39 in Cabo San Lucas
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Villas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Property: Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Address: Callejon del Pescador s/n | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Villas Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is a luxury hotel situated on Medano Beach, the most popular stretch of sand in Cabo San Lucas. Cabo Villas is a family owned resort with 138 custom built suites and spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez and Land's End. Amenities include fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet in all areas, satellite TV, three pools, 10-person ocean view Jacuzzi, oceanfront beach club, four on-site restaurants and bars, a world-class spa and personalized service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the "Heart of Cabo", the resort is within easy walking distance to all major attractions including Medano Beach, the marina, Puerto Paraiso Mall, downtown and numerous restaurants and night clubs. With stunning views of the Sea of Cortez, Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for travelers who seek quality service while enjoying the best of the Cabo San Lucas lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Villas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Villas Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Hotel Beach
Cabo Villas Beach Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing