We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel's management has zero care for it's hotel guests. We had made a reservation for two rooms and upon check-in they could only find one. We were assured that the next day they had availability and they would provide us the second room. The sleeper sofa was terrible. You can only place the cushion on the floor. The next morning we again went to the front desk to request the second room. Again, we were reassured that the room would be waiting for us when we returned that afternoon as they were waiting for the current guests to check-out. They blatantly lie to your face and assure you that your reservation/request is being handled all the while knowing fully well that indeed they are doing nothing to correct the problem. There are many more hotels with honest management were to stay in Cabo. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Noemi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro R, Gerente at El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huesped,

Lamentamos mucho haya vivido una mala experiencia con nosotros, estamos seguros de que a traves de sus palabras corregiremos y mejoraremos la calidad de atencion al cliente.

Agradeceria me hiciera llegar mas detalles de su estadia a mi correo: Mercadotecnia@elameyal.com

Gracias por su tiempo y espacio.

J. Alejandro Rivas.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    44
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
24
39
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The best way to do this review is to lay out the good and the bad:

The good:
- delicious food
- great food service
- beautiful grounds
- big pool with great deep and shallow ends
- very good customer service

The bad:
- can only get to the center by driving
- not within walking distance to beach or center
- the rooms are extremely noisy because it is on a busy street AND because all of the rooms connect by a door with another room so you can hear everything, and I mean everything, in the other room (I.e. bad 90's music playing and even worse singing along to it....)
- the "king" beds are just two twin beds pushed together so it makes that hole in the middle that someone is inevitably stuck sleeping in

OVERALL a great value IF you have a car

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraKDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenton, OR
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Not the best place if you want to stay at your hotel all day, but worked quite well for someone who really just wanted a place to sleep in between day trips.

The hotel is not even near the beach, so don't think you will just walk down the street to the sand. To do so you would have to go through the RIU resort which is down the street about a half mile. There are guards there, and with a good story I'm sure you could get through once or twice, but I am not sure if you could get through day after day.

If you are the exploring type however, this is very convenient. Easy access to the highway, like 5 minutes or less to town if you are driving. Very close to Costco and Walmart.

Rooms are clean if basic. I did have some problem with another guest playing music too loud late at night. I went to complain, but noone was in the office that late at night. Apparently they moved the person to another room the next night.

The restaurant/wellness center was not really a factor. In the week I was there, I saw maybe a dozen people eating there, and they may have been employees. Pool was usually deserted too, leaving it for us to enjoy ourselves.

If you do stay here, there is a little taco restaurant about 1/4 mile east of the hotel. Just a little hole in the wall with tables, easy to miss. But probably the best tacos I've ever had. Unfortunately I didn't find it until halfway through the trip, but I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

It was my first time in Los Cabos and bought a package with Despegar including the Ameyal hotel. It was a good choice , nice people, clean room but some upgrades would be appreciated , TV, slow internet ..
One bad thing , it's close to the highway and can be noisy. Vegetarian food, spa, temazcal, wellness center, I enjoyed my stay and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paris2miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Never stay in this place; this is the worse hotel in Cabo San Lucas. After I booked my room with Expedia upon my arrival they told me that Expedia decline my credit card, I showed them my Itinerary and I was told that I has to paid for my room; so I gave them my credit card and they did the charges.
I call Expedia and they told me that the room was paid for already, when I went to the front desk to make a complain and talk to the manager on duty they told me that the manager was out, I explain the guy in the front desk about my double charges and he knew about the situation but was giving me one excuse after another not to refund my money.
Finally they told me that I have to deal with Expedia not with the Hotel.
Everything that went wrong with the hotel and room.
1- Window next to kitchen latch was broken
2- Bites from bed bugs
3- Couch was broken, you sink on it
4- Elevator was disgusting and dirty, broke twice on us
5- Pictures show a nice TV, what you get is a 20” old TV from the stone age
6- Hotel is next to the freeway so We could not sleep all night because of the noise
7- Door was hard to open.
8- Place stinks like motor oil
9- Not even close to the beach, Ghetto area
10- Construction on the roof at 5AM every morning
11- Internet service extremely poor
12- You get a 5 gal. water tank on every room
13- Jacuzzi extremely dirty
And the list will go on and on, for a wellness center this place sucks they have not Idea how to take care of this place or they guest. I paid $80 dollars a day for this “[--]” don’t trust the pictures.
I could add another $30 dollars more and I would stay beachfront at RIU and avoid this place. NOW I KNOW.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlexC670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro R, Director Comercial at El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huesped, Lamentamos que haya tenido una mala experiencia en su estancia con nosotros! Tomaremos nota de cada uno de los puntos que usted expone en su comentario e intentaremos resolverlos, Le envio un afectuoso saludo y agradezco el tiempo y espacio que ha dedicado para realizar su opinion.

Saludos, J. Alejandro Rivas
Gerente de Mercadotecnia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Wonderful small hotel in the Cabo area. I can't say enough about ALL the good things about this place. The staff in all areas of service that I encountered were just excellent, from the front desk to the housekeeping etc. The room I had (main floor facing pool) was clean and well-maintained with a small useable kitchen and separate bedroom with a large bedroom (comfortable king-size bed, great linens, all washed with "eco-soap") and a great large en-suite bathroom with shower and tub. The restaurant at Ameyal is reason enough to visit this hotel which you should just to have some of the best food I experienced in the Cabo area for the two weeks I visited in early March. It's vegetarian but that hardly matters for non-vegetarians as the food is just so good (fresh,organic, flavourful and unique) it's a non-issue. And the service in the restaurant is outstanding also. My last day ended quickly and I didn't get a chance to say goodbye to many of the staff here who made my stay so great. The grounds are pretty with a small lovely pool and at the back of the property is the Temazcal lodge, fitness centre but also a small Spa and Naturopathic Health Centre & Dispensary. Dr. Antonio & the Spa staff ( i so wish i could recall their names!) are definitely worth a visit to also. They offer a vast array of services in that blend between alternative treatments to standard spa treatments, they definitely know their work! The Temazcal ceremony runs every 3rd Sat? Actually, from my time in Cabos it was the only place I saw where one could experience a Temazcal ceremony. If it's not on their website then the staff speak excellent English should you need to call them to inquire about anything. It would be helpful if they had a full english translation of their website. As for the highway noise, it's there but not so bad. Basically any place along the corridor is going to have traffic noise after spending my 2nd week up near San Jose del Cabo. Ameyal is close enough to walk almost everywhere (you do need to be a little bit brave because of the highway, & always bring a hat!) but in a pinch you could walk all the way to downtown Cabo (30 min & the WalMart & Sam's Club are a mere 10 min walk on the other side of the highway (cross under the retorno on the way to cabo) Just down the street from El Ameyal is the giant "RIU" all-inclusive and if you need a taxi there are many parked here at all times. A wonderful small hotel that I will return to for either just a night or a week of health treatments again. Peace (Shanti)

Room Tip: I stayed in a main floor room facing the pool and thought it was the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks after having to abandon our previously booked hotel which turned out to be a dump [Positano Hotel - half a block away].
We stayed in a suite with a fully stocked kitchen on the second floor.
Lovely pool that was cleaned daily, nice hot tub, well equipped gym and nice restaurant.
Had a great massage. Clean room and extremely friendly staff.
Special shout out and thanks to Diego,Ely Sandy and Manuel. All the other staff where extremely friendly and helpful and worked hard. Just didn't catch everyones name.
English spoke well by Diego and Sandy.
Gracias for a great 2 weeks!!
Oh and the price was right.
A bit loud next to the highway but excellent for catching the fun buses.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy and Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#51 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Express Plus Cabo San Lucas
City Express Plus Cabo San Lucas
#53 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seven Crown Hotels
Seven Crown Hotels
#47 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#43 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
#38 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.7 mi away
Estancia Real Los Cabos
Estancia Real Los Cabos
#50 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites

Property: El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites
Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 3.5 | Colonia El Tezal, Cabo San Lucas 23454, Mexico (Formerly Vistazul Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ameyal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Vistazul Hotel Cabo San Lucas
El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing