We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best deal around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites
Ranked #53 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago suburb
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best deal around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2006

Okay,

i decided to go to cabo san lucas at the spur of the moment. I originally booked a room at the cabo real hotel in downtown cabo. a few days before the trip i logged in and re-read some of the reviews. i immediately switched my reservations to hotel vistazul-i am sooooo glad that i did! there were people on my flight that had rooms at the real hotel, when i bumped into them the next night, they said that it was horrible, their rooms were not clean etc. i tried not to rub it in that my hotel room was fabulous. hotel vistazul is about five to ten minutes from downtown-it is a brand new hotel. You can cross the highway to catch the bus for seventy cents or you can await the small white busses that take you into town for about twenty cents (be careful on the busses, some drivers will charge you up to five dollars if you do not know how much the fare is!) my room was very clean, i had access to anything i wanted, the employees knew me by name by the second day (i stayed there for five days). my theory is that they have to be hospitable because they do not have direct beach access. here is a list of what the hotel was lacking: no blow dryer, no ironing board, the highspeed internet was only accessible by the pool (this may have been due to my inability to get my laptop functioning though), and the beds were super super firm. The workout room was great, it has three levels (although the spa on the second level was not finished yet, use of the gym is included in the price of the hotel room!!!!!!!!!I would definitely stay here before i stayed anywhere else if and when i return to cabo. Carlos and Jesus at the front desk were phenominal!!!
by all means go to the glass factory. do not go with a tour group-if you go on your own, they will let you blow glass. there also have tons of unique drinkware and vases available for purchase.

Helpful?
7 Thank zambiasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    43
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
24
39
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2006

We stayed 4 days and had 2 rooms between 2 couples. This was our first time in Mexico so we were a little worried about what to expect. Things definately looked up when we arrived at the Vistazul. Jesus, the concierge, was extrememly helpful, and honest. The staff was courteous and responsive. The rooms were wonderful, and clean. The food at the hotel was good, and we ate there more often than anywhere else, no one got sick there or after we returned. Drawbacks were, a long walk to the beach, It's located in a more run down area, on the main highway and lastly, you have only a 10 gallon water heater in each room, so shower together or quickly.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2005

My wife and I stayed here in October for 3 days. We were looking for a budget place. We got what looked like a deal from Hotwire, but it was just the official price posted in the hotel lobby. Here are some points we can think of:

* Very clean and nice rooms.
* Very well kept grounds.
* Small place, 32 rooms.
* Very friendly staff.
* My wife felt very safe.
* Great, on-site masseuse.
* While we were there they had just finished a great gym. You can do some serious weights and cardio there.
* Nice pool, you can order drinks from the restaurant.
* Restaurant food was OK. Great guacamole and fresh chips.
* Room service lacked professionalism (they forgot silverware and napkins), looks like its a new place and they needed to get this aspect right.
* Away from the Cabo city proper but easy to get to by the city by bus. Initially, we paid for cab rides $10 each way. Discovered later that there were buses plying right in front of the hotel that only cost 7 pesos. There was a bus every 10 minutes and the ride took less than 5 minutes.
* It is away from the beach it will take you a good 10-15 minute treck to get to the beach.
* It is right next to a major highway. To us the noise from traffic was bearable. May not be for others.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2005

We just got bakc from a "quick get away" ... This hotel is near the beach. Room was ok , bathroom is upgraded, but i really have to complain about the bed my back hurts sooo bad! its soo hard!!! A/C was not working and i dont have a telephone inside the room, which i brought to their attention and no action was made for 2 days. DOWNTOWN/MALL/MARINA IS ABT 10MINS AWAY...INSIDE THE MALL YOU'LL FIND CHINESE/JAPANESE RESTAURANTS ->>> CHEAPER!!! =)

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2005

The hotel is actually not that bad, is very small, the people who work in there is very nice But...is on the main Hwy, so that means, if you like a very very noisy place this is the place to be, all the rooms face the street, also the beds are very very firm(hard), and the rooms have lots of light from the hall outside.We moved after one night of no sleeping at all!

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2004

My wife & I (in our 50s) stayed here 3/04. It is a noisey place steps away from the busiest highway in the area. No place to walk. The suites are comfortable and well appointed, especially if you desire a kitchen.
The view of Lands End is quickly disappearing as a very large condo/resort project is being constructed (2 shifts of noisey construction daily) between the hotel and the Sea of Cortez. There is also construction continuing on-site. Staff is friendly and accommodating.

Helpful?
14 Thank Timoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2004

I stayed here in January 03 for a week and this place is brand new. They have 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom suites with full kitchen. We stayed on the 3rd floor and you could see the gulf from the balcony. They have a nice pool and a great little restaurant that allows you to eat under a large bamboo type hut. This was my first trip to Cabo and if i go back i will stay there for sure. Cant beat the price either.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#52 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Express Plus Cabo San Lucas
City Express Plus Cabo San Lucas
#50 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seven Crown Hotels
Seven Crown Hotels
#47 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#43 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
#38 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.7 mi away
Estancia Real Los Cabos
Estancia Real Los Cabos
#51 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites

Property: El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites
Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 3.5 | Colonia El Tezal, Cabo San Lucas 23454, Mexico (Formerly Vistazul Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ameyal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Vistazul Hotel Cabo San Lucas
El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing