We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fini-a-stinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fini-a-stinks”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We own a floating time share that we purchased in 2008. When we first visited this hoiel we fell in love. What a great piece of real estate. Unfortunately the owner died and his kids are running the resort. The towels are thead bare and the resort is empty. If you could purchase this place it could be a world class resort. Not a better location in cabo.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joannabisaillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,500
    905
    261
    114
    90
See reviews for
596
1,301
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed in the new part of the resort. We had a 1 bedroom room. Our towels were new. Our beds were comfortable and the view was awesome. We saw whales everyday and dolphins early in the morning near the beach. We even saw sea lions! The kids really enjoyed watching for something to show up. The only negative experience we had in our room was that the toaster didn't work and we called for extra bedding for our pull-out one night and waited for them to deliver and they never came. The 2nd night I went to the front desk and asked for pillows and bedding for our pull-out and they never brought them. Not sure why.
The staff at the front desk is helpful but not overly helpful unless a tip is involved. They only answer what you ask so be prepared. They also have a timeshare table and they will get you right when you walk in the door. Keep saying no until the offer gets sweeter. You should get at least 2 free activities and 50% off any other activities you want to try. But, you have to go the presentation. We did do this and the presentation was difficult to get out of but we just kept saying no and we finally got out of there. We were there for 4 hours though. I think the hotel should not do this though as it was bothersome to walk past these people everyday and to be asked questions all of the time.

The location was great and the food OUTSIDE of the hotel is awesome. Food at the pool leaves a lot to be desired and was often cold. No reason for this as the kitchen is 20 steps from the pool. And we tipped well so our service shouldn't have been affected by not treating the staff well. The staff is very friendly and quick. I would recommend Solomon's Landing on the Marina the Cabo Cantina behind the marina downtown and Mama's. Excellent food. Excellent service! Oh, and the horseback riding along the beach was incredible!

We took a snorkeling tour with our kids and they were so excited to see pretty fish and swim in the blue warm ocean. NOT what happened. This was our first time to Cabo and we didn't know that the snorkeling cruise was AKA a booze cruise. It took forever to get to the bay and it was an open bar so you can imagine. Then when we got there the boat dropped us about 1/2 mile from the snorkeling area into 20 ft. of water!! We have a 7 and 9 year old! And the water was cold. Then they say you need to be back in 50 minutes or the boat leaves. So, I made it over there with my 9 year old and my husband went back with a sad 7 year old and by the time we got over there we snorkeled for a few minutes and had to come back. We saw some fish but I was more concerned about running into a shark on our way back as the water was deep! Then to top it off most of the people on the trip didn't snorkel, instead they stayed back and drank. Unfortunately, we saw more drunk people than tropical fish. Sad experience and to top it off, this was recommended to us from the timeshare sales person who knew we had kids. Strange.

The hotel is struggling and that is sad because it's beautiful as well as historic. I heard form a lot of folks that the cruise ships are keeping Cabo a float but it is also wrecking it at the same time. Something to ponder.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funtimes48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todos santos, bcs
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I have stayed at the Finisterra before. Sad to see Cabo San Lucasd struggling, including the hotel. Something new ther is a certified pilates reformer instructor at the gym only mornings but I was so happy. I got the package of 4 classes. Liz is a great instructor.
I love the Finisterra, even though they seem to be struggling and maintenance is not great. The location is the best, the rooms are large and what a view. Happy as always.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Enjoyed the Finisterra very much. What a great view from the rooms of the ocean and the pool. We saw at least a couple of whales every day, some of them passing by the hotel very close to the beach.
The hotel has a great restaurant, The Whale Watcher Bar. Friends had highly recommended it as a must visit in Cabo. So you can imagine how happy I was that the restaurant was actually at our hotel. We had breakfast there every morning, watching the whales pass by and then were back there for the 2 for 1 happy hour in the afternoon.
Great pool by the way! With a swim-up bar. We made lots of friends at the pool and had friendly games of water volleyball every afternoon. Note the hotel is on the Pacific side, so you cannot swim in the ocean in front of the hotel. But that was not a problem for us. You can walk to beaches where you can swim or take a water taxi out to the arch.
I assume because of that, the hotel did not attract your typical college party crowd and the beach was relaxing and very private.
The hotel is located near the marina and on the Pacific side. We walked down to the marina (5mins) to the beach (25mins), and into town (10mins) daily.
After seeing the hussle and bussle and the busy beaches on the sea side of downtown Cabo, the Finisterra is definitely my number one choice to stay in Cabo.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahtiase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at Hotel Finisterra for two nights before moving to another property for the rest of the week. We were looking for an affordable place to add a couple of nights on to our annual weeklong Cabo trip.

We booked the hotel through Expedia and paid about $85 per night , with taxes. At that price point, the hotel is extremely worth it. The property is nice, but desperately needs upgrading. Our room was basically clean, but certainly not spotless. There were shampoo bottles from the previous party still in the shower and stuff like that. There were rust stains in the sink. And the timeshare sharks are pretty relentless in their pursuit.

Having said that, the pool area was good but not great. They have plastic furniture rather than wooden, the way you might find at a nicer place. There's three pools, but as other reports have indicated, they only had the central one by the pool heated. But it's perfectly fine for lounging, especially for the price we paid.

We LOVED the convenience to downtown. The rest of our week is always spent up on the Corridor and we have to drive for dinner every night. We loved being a short walk from everything.

In sum, book the Finisterra if you can get it for $100 or less per night. It's a decent place to stay for that price and is very convenient. If you get much above $100, you can probably stay somewhere nicer.

This property has really good bones and if the management would merely make some investments, the hotel could really be a star again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Recent stay, booked thru Expedia. Pros: Great location - walk to marina and town. Rooms large and clean. Property well maintained. Staff excellent !!! Happy hour by pool from 2-4pm. Warm - gentle breeze off ocean. Large beach for walking. Whale watcher bar at top of property. Friendly, outgoing vibes thoughout marina and town. $3 water taxi to public beach (office) for wild and crazy change of pace. Cons: No restaurant ? - had meals in marina & town (many excellent options if you like to walk). No ocean swimming - cold temp. and riptides. Bring windbreaker for cool evenings. Overall: Excellent value for a calm, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kucu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

What a wonderful stay we had at the Hotel Finisterra. This is a beautiful old Mexican hotel with lots of charm you cannot get from the trendy chain hotels located on the beach. It has 3 nice pools with a bar pool, a beautiful lobby, and it's located on the Pacific Ocean side of Cabo. Every morning we enjoyed the ocean view and watched the whales swim by. Great location- right by the marina. Walking distance to the downtown. The Whale Watching Bar is located at the hotel and we enjoyed watching the sunset while enjoying 2x1 drinks during daily happy hour.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethslar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
894 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#60 of 116 in Los Cabos
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,247 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
2,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing