We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel bad for the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Feel bad for the staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here in April 2013, as part of a group. We had the all inclusive Sandos package. At check in, we were told that it includes all food, drinks, tips and room service. We quickly learned that the staff were not aware that tips were included in our rate (or they were not getting any). Over 5 days, we met a lot of angry bartenders and disappointed waiters when they opened the signed bill and saw no amount for tips. On 1 occasion, a bartender chased after us and told us to put something down. We showed him our wristband and told him it's all inclusive. He said that's not true. A few of our friends started putting cash down for tips. We were very concerned that the poor staff were getting stiffed! What an uncomfortable and awkward situation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vivian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your comments,

It comes as a surprise that you waited this long to share your opinion. If we are not mistaken we had the opportunity to talk to you about this situation and back in those days we were in the process of implementing the all inclusive program.
Some guests were on the European Plan with no meals nor gratuities included and others did purchase the Meal Plan option at very affordable rates.
We did have some confusion with our staff but overall as you can read form other guest’s comments our waiters strive to provide the best service and even though tips are included and paid to them on a biweekly basis some try hard to exceed expectations and earn an additional income directly from clients.
They know not to insinuate or ask directly for the tip. We did have some newcomers to the staff that had been released since they did not comply with our standards and policies.

Hope the next time you visit Cabo can take a moment to stop by and see what we have accomplished.

Saludos from Cabo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    867
    248
    112
    89
See reviews for
549
1,224
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at the Finisterra for a week and enjoyed a little bit of everything; the spa, dining, beach, pool, entertainment.

When we arrived, we went to the Blue Marlin for a delightful dinner and the staff was amazing, warm, and welcoming. A shout out to Fred and the rest of the restaurant team as it set the tone for the upcoming week.. The new restaurant has an amazing brunch with variety and it was delicious! (The green juice is the best!)

We stayed in a condo with a small kitchen and had an ocean view from our window. The concierge was so helpful and the front desk staff even went as far as to help us manage securing transportation for our tours and ensure everything went as planned.

The entertainment was delightful and the manager went out of his way to make sure all guests had a great time. We participated in the pool side activities and a highlight was the pool side Zumba class. In the evening we attended a beautiful dance performance at Fiesta night along with a BBQ. .

There is construction as they work to refresh the property although it didn't interfere with our vacation for a moment. Love the location, the property and would highly recommend this property to all travelers. Happy and safe travels to you and thanks to the Finisterra for making our vacation memorable!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rkvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovelly
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We booked for 6 nights but only stayed 2. The construction work everywhere, terrible food and distance to the town to eat elsewhere were just too much to overcome. It will be amazing once it is finished and the friendliness of the staff is impeccable, but don't stay here anytime in the next 12 months.

We stayed in the new rooms which were really exempt from the noise- when I was trying to deal with expedia to get out of there another 3 rooms checked out from the more noise affected main block. Beware the new wing though as you can hear everything above and next to you- toilets, footsteps, guitar practice (?), tv, cats crying at the door at night etc....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 72James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thanks for your input,

We are sorry that you feel that our Resort with all that has been accomplished will not be suitable for a vacation during the next 12 months...

As you can read, many other guests’ have enjoyed their stay and considered that our breakfast buffet and a la carte lunch and dinner options surpassed their expectations.

The work on our third pool closest to the ocean was in urgent need and we had it planned for September but opted to do it now on a last minute decision, we are almost done. It will be another highlight of the resort.

Thank you for acknowledging our staff, we pass this comments to them in order to keep them motivated and to show them that our guests do take the time to notice their efforts.

In regards to our new units and the sound proof we will look into it. We do have a stray cat that has been on premises but left due to the construction for quite a while, now is back and some of our guests care for it.

Hope to see you back on your next Cabo trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I have owned a timeshare at FINISTERRA since 1997, and had gradually, over the years, watched as the place stood still, with nicer, more luxurious hotels popping up all over Cabo, including next door on the same beautiful beach. It was in sore need of a remodel and some love, and that's what's happening with Sandos taking over.

I have always loved this location. No beach vendors, great pools, friendly staff, and the historical aura of authentic Mexico make FINISTERRA unique. You're away from the bustle of downtown Cabo, but only a 15 minute walk away. Or you can take a water taxi from the marina to Medano Beach in about 10 minutes. People say you can't swim at this beach, but being a strong swimmer and decent surfer, I have. It's definitely not for kids or for a leisurely bathe, however. Stay in the pool, or go to Medano Beach.

I DID go to the timeshare presentation, and I DID upgrade my membership to Sandos. The sales guy Mike G was great, not pushy, listened well, and he and his boss Richard worked with me to negotiate a good deal, with which I am happy. While I am not a big fan of the Sandos all-inclusive model, I am informed that most Americans are, so I am rolling with it. I DO like the other Sandos locations that they say are available, and the concept of the Yacht club and spa discounts that are included.

The property is under construction in many areas, but we arrived right after the new gym (nice!) and spa (nice!) opened, and 2 out of 3 pools were open. The restaurants were all great, food was good, and it's exciting to see them heading in this new, improved direction, can't wait to see what it's like a year from now.

Room Tip: Old timeshare rooms being upgraded. Newer rooms look amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

It was my 2nd stay at the Finisterra..guess you can tell I love the location and could not resist staying there again. This quaint and obscure hotel is blossoming into the Sandos group. The improvements from last time were quite obvious, a complete face lift is in the works. Needless to say the construction was every where but somehow being part of the transisition and improvements did not bother us.
Although apprehensive of "all inclusive" we enjoyed ALL the food, there was a great breakfast buffet in the Don Diego Restaurant and this was also the evening spot for dinner as well. This view of the marina and Los Cabos is just breath taking.
The Blue Marlin is also available and offers Italian fare, but we just could not give up the fantastic view from Don Diego to sit amongst the rocks with no breeze... to try this venue. They plan to move this restuarant back "up top" with the gorgeous Pacific view. The Crows nest is being re-done so it was missed, maybe next time....
Okay so how about that spa? One of the prettiest I have ever been to. We were the 1st customers to have a treatment, it had opened that day. It will be spectacular once is is 100% done.
You simply must go!
Staff was friendly but I have a feeling the adjustment to all inclusive had everyone a bit confused as to tipping..yes? no? maybe so? AAA said tips were included.... Staff said it was at our descretion....No one seemed to be able to answer this question and I think the staff was not happy about it. To me there seemed to be a bit of ambivalence hovering around this transistion.
Still love, love, this place, if and when I return it will be to the Finisterras!

Room Tip: The rooms will be nicer when all construction is done, they all have ocean views. We are out of sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

What a spot! The Finisterra's on the Pacific side, so no swimming on its beach. At first I thought it'd be disappointing, but quite the contrary -- watching the incredible wave sets crash into the beach was incredible entertainment each evening with a margarita in hand. Construction was in full swing when I was there (third week of May) but didn't bother us at all. If you want to sleep during the day it could be an issue, but we were in bed after dark and up by 8am each day and had no problems with it. Our room was super clean and nice with an ocean view -- not fancy, but more than nice and spacious enough. The food at Don Diego's was great for dinner (props to waiter Eugenio!) and the breakfast buffet was unbelievable! And one more tip: ask Cesar at the beach bar for a special margarita made with fresh lime -- the best!

They are offering really good deals for stays right now because of the construction, so I'll give it an "excellent" for value -- but I have a feeling those rates will go up as soon as construction finishes.

One warning: when you check in, you'll be asked to attend a breakfast to learn more about the
Sandos vacation club. After we were offered incentive after incentive to do so, we finally agreed. We shouldn't have. If you're tougher than me, go for it, but I found the hard sell incredibly hard to take, and it ended up souring our last day at this beautiful property.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_dhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington state
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

my husband and i were at the finisterra may13-20. A lot of the reno is done Don Diegos is superb The view is to die for The breakfast brunch is woinderful with your personal omellete valet!You can see the whole bay except for the arches. The food is the absolute best in fine dining and the presentation is so professional you are afraid to touch it!Our favorite waiters marino and fred were still there and several others i cant remember their names.Down at the pool was joel and abraham.They do such a great job!Yolanda is back with her fine crafts that she makes herself.Shes awesome shell paint you whatever you want.The palapas on the beach are great and you can have service down there.Tortugas restaurant is done also and is very nice. They have accomplished so much since we were there 6 months ago kudos and applause to all who made it happen!If you are interested in getting into the new phase talk to paola in the lobby She is very nice and so is jorge.Alvaro in the lobby has been there the longest and very sweet.Roberto at the front desk and miguel will make your stay a 10# Try it out The pools are awesome and the crashing of the waves at night will lull you to sleep.The maids do a great job too so remember even if you are going on all inclusive think about your servers They feed their family on what we casually take for granted We cant wait to go back When you go around looking for inexpensive authentic restaurants check out the crazy lobster on hidalgo street There also is a a place called cabo coffee on the end of that street The coffee comes from todos santos Also try la palapa by gus.Check it out on tripadvisor.Hes behind el squid You can get homemade fresh ingredients -shrimp,fish veggies ribs all the way you want them or from his personal recipe box The prices are to die for steak and eggs for $6 he can make seafood 18 ways or the way you want it.He has a special tortilla soup recipe that is said to be out of this world.We wish wed known sooner Well def go back This site is to help others find their way around who have never been to cabo or are looking for something new and extra We love cabo and cant wait to go again Enjoy!

Room Tip: the higher up the better even though most rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexicolover33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing