We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You need to stay here - we will be back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You need to stay here - we will be back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Please take my word for it, you will absolutely LOVE your stay here!

We were a couple that stayed here in addition to 5 other family members. We stayed from November 23rd to November 30th. Myself and my boyfriend were complimentary upgraded to a newly renovated bay-view suite...probably the best hotel room I've EVER stayed in. If you have the option to stay in one of these rooms, DO it! You will not be disappointed, the furnishings were amazing, very quiet, clean and the views were amazing. I loved having a rain shower, separate tub and king-sized bed.

Construction is seriously non-existent, you would be hard pressed to find much going on. They must be nearly done as it was not an issue at all. Best of all, the price we paid won't represent what they'll likely charge when they're 100% done - I would have expected to pay a lot more to stay at a resort like this.

PROS:
-Food was delicious, Don Diego's doesn't represent your typical all-inclusive buffet fare. Having a fresh-to-order omellet every morning was amazing! Lots of choices, all the correct temperature, the daily smoothies were unreal. Dinner at the buffet was just as great, each night they have a different theme (BBQ, French, etc). Blue Marlin is sit-down Italian dinner, I really enjoyed the pizza and pasta. Our group seemed to love the flan dessert, a must try. The beachside restaurant was great as well, we literally had BABY SEA TURTLES coming up the beach towards the restaurant while we were having dinner - what an amazing experience to not only see them and but release them to the ocean! Poolside restaurant had great Mexican/American choices, I'll miss the chips/guacamole and seafood options.

-Drinks were great, not watered down at all and were made to order correctly. They even did a great Caesar - Canadians you will love them! Order as many as you like at a time. Service was quicker through a server then going to the bar yourself. Bring some tip money with you and you're set.

-Room service is 24/7 and was awesome! I waited no more than 10 minutes late one night for a 9 inch pizza - it was delicious, hot and quick! Can't beat that! Large menu too for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night snacks. Definitely take advantage of this perk!

-Location, location, location! You will love how close you are to the marina (5 minute walk) but how far away you feel from all of the hustle/bustle when back at the resort. It's the best of both worlds! Their pictures offer a great view of what to expect, loved the layout, how clean everything was, easy to get around and get your bearings.

-Cleanliness. This place is exceptionally clean; I had zero complaints. Grounds were well kept, we constantly saw people cleaning/landscaping. Housecleaning did a fantastic job, our room was always spotless and towels/products replenished.

-Spa is so unique! As a regular massage client, I was throughly impressed with how beautiful the spa really was. It is a perfect blend of beauty and tranquility. We had a couple's massage, great value and overall experience. Please treat yourself!

-Gym is brand spanking new. As a couple that works out regularly, we couldn't believe how new the equipment was, nice and air conditioned, great view of the bay.

-Pool area is great. There's an adults only pool featuring a swim-up bar, we had a lot of fun playing bingo, sipping on drinks and relaxing. The chairs are high quality and they even have queen sized bed loungers to lay in. Best part is, no need to claim your spot or fight over chairs, the resort has more than enough to go around. Pools themselves aren't heated, which was fine considering how hot it was out, but they have tons of different hot tubs to sit in should you need to warm up a little. Pool service was great, it's usually only one or two guys managing the whole area so I was really impressed with how quick they were and how friendly they made us feel.

-Tipping is very much appreciated, we brought ~$50 each in 1's/5's and you can tell this goes a long way. Servers were attentive, friendly and did their best to accomodate your every request.

CONS:
-As great as the service is, it is not always consistent. You'll find out fairly quickly who tries and who simply goes through the motions. English language barrier might have been the issue, but overall, service was quick, friendly and accurate. Keep in mind you're on vacation so if it takes a few extra minutes for things, what's the rush?

-The beach towel service is not consistent at all. Instead of a poolside area that gives you them for the day, housekeeping stocks them in your room each night. We found that we only received new poolside towels 50% of the time. So a quick trip to the front desk was needed to get them ourselves. Not a huge problem, but a little annoying.

-Stones Club (onsite disco/bar) is brand new, renovated and clean. Not much of a vibe here on certain nights, that may be because people went to the marina to party instead. So if you get enough people to come with, it has the potential to be awesome. Great sound system and speedy service - just super dead, like 1 or 2 people sometimes.

Overall Sandos FInisterra, we were so happy with our vacation and really enjoyed staying at your beautiful resort. You can tell a lot of effort is being made to make this place great, keep up the good work and we hope to see you again!!! :)

Room Tip: Get a bay-view suite!!! Unreal amenities, rain shower, separate tub, dual sinks, balcony facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    867
    248
    112
    89
See reviews for
548
1,224
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I went to the Sandos Finisterra for a 40th birthday celebration with 5 girlfriends. It was such a fabuous time, and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! The Finisterra had recently been renovated, and it was absolutely beautiful...The rooms were lovely, beds were comfy, and the grounds were gorgeous with great pools and places to lounge. The food was quite good, especially the buffet. The fitness room and spa were perfect. And the staff was very helpful, and not to mention, a lot of fun. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would recommend the resort highly. I cant wait to go back and bring my husband and kids next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jandreyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Good resort. Great location. Clean rooms. Comfy beds. Slow service at the pool. Food just ok. Pools are really nice.

Upgrades are taking place. This place will be awesome when they are done. They really need to up the anti on the service and food to hit that five star mark. We traveled with a baby and it is very stroller accessible. The cribs however suck unless you are 6'5. It was so high I couldn't get the babe in or out so we put our suitcases under the mattress to raise it up.

The construction was not obtrusive. Overall we had a great time at this resort. Just needs some fine tuning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel in November and found it to be very nice. Everything was well taken care of and the pools were clean, even though they were colder than expected.
The location is great because you walk out the front and you are at the Marina without having to take a taxi anywhere. Right next door is the dolphin area where you can swim with dolphins although it cost about $100.
There is some pressure to attend the timeshare presentation but you can politely refuse. I learned that after the first day the timeshare employees are not allowed to approach the guests anymore so you don't get the constant pressure you experience at other hotels.
In November there weren't that many guests and there were always available chairs and cabanas at the pool. The water was cold but not so bad you didn't get used to it quickly.
We ate at the buffet restaurant on the 7th floor nearly every day because the view day and night was just so good and couldn't be beat. We tried the Blue Marlin which is by reservation only but were disappointed with the slow service and lackluster atmosphere.
The best part was the friendliness of the staff. Nearly every staff member smiled and said hello when they passed us in the hall or waited on us at the pool. The friendly attitude definitely made for a better vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have read many of the reviews for the Finisterra and quite honestly, I think that many of the people give it a bad rap. I'm sure it all depends on your "standards" and also what kind of experience you had there. Well I am here to give Finisterra a good rating!

We first came to the Finisterra in April of 2013 on the recommendation of someone at the marina. They gave us a coupon for a free week's stay if we went and listened to the time share presentation. So we thought what the heck? We scheduled the timeshare presentation (along with a free breakfast) and they even picked us up from the resort we were staying at about 20 minutes away. We were very impressed, so bought a Sandos membership. We also got a free booze cruise and a free dinner from the guy we bought it from. At the time (in April) they were doing massive construction, but we really liked the remodeled rooms they showed us. So we made a reservation for November to enjoy our first week as members.

Well the check-in process was pretty smooth. We brought friends to use the free week's voucher we got at the marina, so we got 2 rooms. The only thing that was shocking is that the room our friends had was much nicer than ours! Theirs was 4310, with a beautiful view of the marina and a wrap-around deck! Ours was 3103, and as a previous reviewer mentioned, the room was beautiful, but there was a view of the ocean about 1" high (above the main building it faces) so the 2nd day we asked for a different room and they moved us without hesitation to the same building as our friends, but 1 floor down. It had the same beautiful view of the marina, and was handy to the Don Diego restaurant and VIP pool. I really liked that location because I used the spa, the Cupcake restaurant, the VIP lounge, the gym and they were all handy. The main pools were a bit of a hike, but we didn't mind.
We thought the food was pretty good, but were irritated that not all the restaurants were open every night. We ended up going into town for dinner 2 nights, so that was a waste of money as far as the all-inclusive was concerned, but we didn't mind much. I loved the breakfast buffet every morning, but the dinner buffets were just "ok". The other restaurants were really pretty good.
Alex and Ana at the pools were great. Provided lots of entertainment during the day and also at night up at the disco. We gave them both big tips at the end of the week.
Service at the pools was sub-par, maybe because it is all-inclusive. We stayed at the Grand Solmar and the pool waiters were fantastic comparatively. We sometimes had to go in the swim-up bar restaurant and get our own drinks here.
All in all we had a great time and are happy with our Sandos purchase. We plan to visit Cancun or Playa Del Carmen next where we can also use our membership.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view room as opposed to ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janno6052096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel had very friendly and helpful staff, a lovely property, and beautiful stretch of beach (although it is not swimmable). I was able to see whales breeching from the beach, and from my room's balcony. Property is large, but very accessible. Very nice nightclub, lovely views of the marina as well as the beach from the restaurants. The property is undergoing a bit of renovation, and our room had a few minor maintenance issues. Very comfortable bed, shower a bit low pressure. Close proximity to marina, although hill is quite steep. I was able to walk it after having a knee replacement 5 weeks ago, so it's doable. One thing I would add to this property is a bar in the lobby area. Great staff, lovely property, overall very nice. Would return.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, be sure to mention this so you can be close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our stay was great with the resort the first day was a little stressful but by no means the resorts fault. Bookit. Com decided not to pay them upon our arrival in which I had copies of it being paid in full to bookit.com I had to email bookit. Com to please pay as at first the resort wanted to charge us again for the week and have us try to get our money back from bookit, as it turned out after a stressed first day it turned out they handled it with bookit and never bothered us again. And the resort was grand, people were great and helpful the spa top notch and room service kept plenty of everything in supply in our room, location you couldn't ask for better. Would go back in a heartbeat,,

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodphers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing