We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still sick and it has been a week since we returned.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still sick and it has been a week since we returned.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

*** BEST PLACE TO EAT IN LAS CABOS "MARIA CORONA" AMAZING... OTHERWISE: The experience at the airport was horrific. People hollering at you and pulling on you to listen to their spiel concerning a time share... We were looking for a certain driver and several people lied to us saying they were him. Had they not given me a description I would have been clueless. Once we got the right guy he was awesome. The resort is beautiful. The staff is very nice and helpful (if on a slim chance they understand what you are saying) However, the pools feel like bath water and were extremely dirty. We ate breakfast on the morning we were leaving I had eggs and bacon at the resort and have been sick ever since... That has been 5 days!!!! The location was great, short walk to the marina. We took a boat to Lovers Beach and the water was so choppy and bad undertows we were really afraid for our safety and the guy on the boat could have cared less.. Never once even tried to help us in or out of the boat. People are very aggressive about getting money from you. We travel a lot and will never go back to Los Cabos!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELBUG7772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,369
    853
    245
    112
    89
See reviews for
537
1,203
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

After a less than thrilling stay at Dreams Los Cabos we were moved to Sandos. From moment of arrival we were greeted by a very enthusiastic and delightful front desk clerk name Gina, who offered to go above and beyond to ensure we had a wonderful 20th anniversary. Oliver kept us energized and was hands down the best entertainment staff person I have ever met. Mari Chuy rescued us when we locked ourselves on the balcony and did so with a great smile. Every employee we encountered seemed thrilled to be working at this resort and providing exceptional service. Food was fabulous. Pools were beautiful and this resort was alive with happy guests. The first guest we encountered at the resort said "welcome to happy" and happy we were. There was free wifi, icy cold beer, and the bartenders were top notch, a far cry from our stay at Dreams despite having a lower rating! This gem of a resort knows how to treat its guests and rescued what would otherwise have been a lackluster experience to this great vacation destination. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LavetteBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The best part of this resort is its LOCATION!! It is a short walk to the marina and a lot of downtown activities. We had a blast taking a glass bottom boat ride and a tour on the PEZ GATO!!! The view of the arch was breath taking. We had a great time overall. The staff at the resort were friendly and went beyond out of their way to make us happy (Levi, salinas, Itzel, Jose Luis, Jorge ). As for negative, the checking in process is too long. We arrived at the resort at 2:15pm and then escorted to another table to receive an "0ver view of the resort and its activities" but it is really a long presentation to hear and schedule a breakfast to buy a timeshare. Olga spoke and pressured us for about an hour to go the next day to listen to this presentation. The timeshare presentation lasted 3 hours!!! We wanted to take a brochure to analyze it and make an informed decision but it is not allowed. They said it had to be bought on the spot. Of course, we didn't buy one in such time constraints. We did not let this first day deter us from having a Great time. Would we return to Sandos? Absolutely!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for several years. Although I would like to try other hotels, our small group prefers this one since it is so close to the Marina. There is plenty of shopping that is close by as well as restaraunts. The dolphin pool is right across the street. They have recently been taken over by Sandos and it has been established as an “All Inclusive”. Although it’s a short walk to places, I would advise catching a cab to go back to the hotel since the climb back up the long driveway can be strenuous. The Finnestera used to have a shuttle that went up and down the driveway and I wish that Sando would bring it back. The food is pretty good and we always love the fish tacos for lunch and cappuccinos in the morning. The service was WONDERFUL at all times! Everyone that works on the property is very pleasant and the Activity Staff was a lot of fun! There are several pools to choose from and the one nearest the ocean was more quiet, the middle one is more for activities and the one closest to the hotel was where the children and families seemed to gather. I treated myself to one of their Spa Massages and my therapist, Ruth, was fantastic! They tell you to bring a bathing suit with you so that you can sit in the sauna or hydrotherapy pool before or after your massage. I would advise to take advantage of one or both of those features but, you should also bring your undergarments and a set of dry clothes with you as well to change into. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms were refurbished but they didn’t do anything with the bathrooms. They have plastic chairs on the balcony that really should be tossed and replaced with something nicer. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Ocen View rooms have a pretty view. The rooms at the far ends of each section are pretty noisy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdventureSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked a hotel and airfare package through Orbitz to stay at Sandos Finisterra for three nights. We arrived on Saturday and were first given a room with two doubles (we had requested a king at the time of reservation several months earlier). After a lot of fuss, we were eventually given a king room. However the room was dirty and smelled of mildew (the floor was soaking wet, there were things left over from the last guest in the shower), the air conditioning didn't work and blew so much moisture into the room that the pages of my book were wrinkled in about six hours, and there was a cockroach in the shower.

We attempted to go to the pool and gave our "towel cards" to the woman dispensing towels, however when we returned the towels, she refused to give our cards back. We had to get someone from management to intervene. I also got a diet pepsi from the pool bar that tasted like no diet pepsi I have ever had before (it was undrinkable).

We returned to the room but could not sleep because it was so hot and humid in the room. We requested a room change but were told this was not possible. After spending over $100 usd in phone charges trying to get home, we finally just purchased new plane tickets and flew home on Sunday which cost us $250 each. When we arrived home, all of our clothes were STILL wet from just hanging in the humid hotel room. I had to wash EVERYTHING, even clothes that we had not worn.

I have travelled to a lot of different countries and stayed in some pretty sketchy hotels, but never one that was so below the way it is marketed. BEWARE.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cleospot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebRelations_SF, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Cleospot,
We thank you for receiving our call yesterday. As spoken, We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay, we have taken your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service for our guests.

Unfortunately due to our occupancy we could not offer you another room as we would have had you let us know the issues you were experiencing.

We did revise each topic on your comments and we will complete the follow up thru private sources.

We remain at your disposal.
Best regards!

Lorenia Muñoz | Web Relations | Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Finisterra in late July via Dream2Travel for a total of five nights. While the resort is more of a 3.5 to 4 star based on accommodations and the overall physical shape, I am marking a five based on some excellent service.

Upon arrival, we were met at the door with champagne and escorted to the check in desk. We gave them all our documents and then made our timeshare presentation appointment at another desk. Upon return to the front desk we were given keys to 1318. Our bellman helped us with our bags, but when we saw the location of the room, it obviously wasn’t an ocean view suite. We were quickly given new keys to 1311.

The room itself is a little above average. Very clean, a comfortable bed, a desk, and a table to eat. The balcony had two cheap plastic chairs, but had a great view of the pool. The bathroom was quite small and a poorly designed shower curtain led to water getting on the floor whenever the shower was used. The mini bar was stocked with six beers (Tecate, Tecate Light, and Dos Equis) and Pepsi, Diet, Orange, 7-Up, and club soda. The Tecate products could be the worst beer I have ever had, but any beer review site will tell you that. There is a mounted 42 inch TV with 50 channels (1/2 are English). However with no type of guide, it was impossible to know what was showing on each channel. Mainly HBO and ESPN channels.

Luis was in charge of making up our room and did an amazing job. A tip and a smile go a long way with people. We left a note if we needed anything (beer, towels, etc) and it was always done. Our room was always done by noon except the day he was off. We never really got service that day except his replacement came to our door at 5 PM after I had called at 2 PM and seemed to be put out. She couldn’t communicate either so I took some towels and shut the door. Told Luis the next day and he had our room done quickly and even made an elephant out of towels for our bed. Top notch.

We ate most of our meals at Don Diego. It had a good variety and themed nights. The breakfast was mainly focused on American type food items along with Mexican choices. There was a lot of fresh fruit, salads, deli meats, and cheese. They liked to use shrimp in a variety of dishes, several chicken and pork dishes and some very good bbq ribs. All of the servers did a great job of keeping our tables cleared, water full, and getting anything we needed from the bar. However, there is no question that Norman was our favorite. He was funny, attentive, and worked very hard. He made sure our drinks were filled and asked, “Do you want another blue?” We always wanted to eat in his section, and Carmen, the lovely hostess, always made that happen. You can sit inside or outside with a great view of the marina.

We did have dinner at the Italian food restaurant. My wife loved the lamb dish, but I thought my chicken dish was very plain. The “rainbow” drink was excellent! The service again was once excellent from the time you talk to the hostess to the time you leave. We didn’t need a reservation. For being a more sophisticated sit-down dinner, it was disappointing to see so many kids and guys in hats/tank tops.

The Whale Watcher Bar doesn’t serve food, but it has awesome views of the property and ocean. Levi mixes a great drink and the liquor, especially vodka, is better here. Great couches to lounge, a pool table, TVs, and an amazing patio. Normally quiet and peaceful. You could see and hear the Finisterra parties on the beach, but the most amusing was watching the booze cruises make their way across the horizon with flashing lights and listening to the sounds of drunkenness.

Underneath is Stones, which becomes a disco/karaoke bar. Good place to end the night. Went in there once at about 11 PM and was surprised to see young kids in there. Probably should make that an adult free zone at that time of night.

There is also a stage/bar outside in a common area by the restaurants. The bar is usually manned by a Finisterra legend, Ishmael. He has been there for 17 years and I am pretty sure he worked in the Agave bar back when visited in 2000. Awesome guy to talk to and he makes some strong drinks…..lost count of how many White Russians were had. Can’t say enough about him.

The Cupcake Café offers a couple of pre-made sandwiches, coffee drinks, and of course, cupcakes. The cupcakes are nothing special, but kids probably love them. Only one or two people work their so prepare to be patient.

There are three pools. Can’t say there is an adult pool as there were kids present in all three. The “party” pool is located with the swim up bar/Agave restaurant. Heck kids were at the bar stools while their parents smoked and drank. The Agave has a small Mexican buffet (tortilla chips, items to make nachos, and fruit) going from about noon to 6 or so. They also have a simple bar menu to order from if desired. Get here early (9 AM-10AM) if you want a lounger at this pool. The entertainment staff ran bingo, cocktail classes, drinking contests, etc. and did a very good job. The pool closest to the ocean seemed to have more kids so we stayed away. Also the cabanas on the beach and special loungers seemed to be for Elite Club members only.

We did most of our tanning at the upper pool. Extreme props to Francisco (I hope that is right) and Norma for their excellent and quick drink service. We brought our own big cups (M&M/Starbucks cups) and they were happy to fill them with whatever we wanted. Gilberto was also very helpful. No complaints. If the drink wasn’t strong enough, I simply asked for a double or to make it stronger. If you think the drink is watered down, then speak up and the problem will be solved. So once again, if you think the drink is watered down, ask for it to be made stronger.

Room service was great….but be prepared to wait. Burgers, pizzas (could be cooked more), desserts, nachos, etc. We abused them way too much, but they always got the order correct and honestly said it would take 40-45 minutes at night. We ordered so much that I could hear the guy kind of chuckle. You can also pre-order breakfast on a sheet of paper and they come within a 30 minute window. All the servers were kind and efficient.

Front desk was helpful too. For the most part if we had an issue, had to get money, or needed some sort of assistance, it was done quickly. Ulysses, Rigo and Martin really did a great job. The bell hop crew (I am sorry I didn’t write down any names) was always working hard and assisted when they could with front desk matters. Our mini fridge stopped working and they had it replaced within 15 minutes.

My wife set up a snorkeling tour at the activity desk through Pez Gato. They offer the same price as the booking directly through the company. Pez Gato did such a great job, she went twice.

We walked into the Marina area a couple of times. Wow…you are hit with offers from cheap jewelry, fishing trips, cigars, and even cocaine. It became very annoying to try to walk around. Everything was so overpriced. The Puerto Paraiso Mall is filled with many designer stores, but the prices were more expensive than back home. Also, it seemed that it was cheaper to pay vendors in the markets in dollars than pesos.

Overall, I can’t say enough about the staff at the Finisterra. You might give up a little quality in terms of the property, but so be it. It was the smiles and service of the fore mentioned people that made our stay so memorable. From the front desk to housekeeping to the bartenders to the chefs to the pool staff.....thanks!

Room Tip: Seventh floor rooms have access to the restaurant skybridge. If you need something, just ask. No n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank searcyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have traveled to many different cities in mexico and the Sandos in cabo is our favorite so far.Upon arrival we were greeted at the desk with champagne and received a room in one hour . our room overlooked the ocean and the pool on the fifth floor, it was nice and clean. We had no problem with maid service. The restaurants for the most part were pretty good especially the view at don diegos was amazing. but the service was dicy sometimes the waiters forgot us.We enjoyed the pool but if you want a palapa around the adult pool you better get there by 10am,all the pools need way more umbrellas it's too hot in the summer with out it. The beach is beautiful it's just to bad you can't swim in the ocean the water is way to rough. The spa and the fitness room are the best i have seen so far at any resort. We found that this resort has the best views and location in cabo and would recommend it to our friends

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#58 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Res...
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing