We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel + Location + reasonable rates = Winner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel + Location + reasonable rates = Winner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

I noticed some reviews have not been kind and most had 3 main complaints.
1. Old rooms - I'm guessing they stayed in the older (original) section of the hotel which sits behind & slightly above the new section. If your hotel rate is under $80us (like mine was) then that's probably where you will be. When I checked in I asked for an upgrade to the new section (very nice rooms) which they happily did at no additional cost!
2. Cold pools/hot tubs - Hotel was been running about half full for last few months which is why only 2 of the 6 hot tubs are heated. Of the 3 pools, the middle one was the warmest, but they all are nice.
3. Old towels - I had new very nice towels so I think the hotel got the memo.
In conclusion, the hotel grounds, rooms, & staff were great. Add in very reasonable rates overall compared to other hotels on the cape and the Finisterra is a winner.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCSguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    854
    245
    112
    89
See reviews for
538
1,204
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed in the "Traditional" section of the hotel and our room was gross. The tub was stained, our lights flickered off and on, the clock and remote didn't work and we didn't get the wake-up call we asked for. We were also harassed for a time share. The only thing this hotel is good for is a cheap, quick stay. Once again tho; location is nice

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave55410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Just returned from Finisterra- 5th visit. I would agree that the towels need replacing. The room was very clean. It was great too see the same personnel at the front door, front desk and waiters and that they remembered us! Our experience was great. The hotel was probably about 40-50percent occupied - no different that what we saw in other hotels. It would make sense to only heat certain pools and hot tubs as they were not crowded and no need to waste electricity. The location cannot be beat. Beautiful view - great service - yes, we will return!! PS - the rate was great also!! Trudy and Norman Carter

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMCMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Got one of those can't say no land and air packages. This was one of first hotels time shares built and was once glorious ( Keith Richards had wedding here). but benign neglect has taken it's toll . Only one of three pools is heated, and only enough to swim comfortably on a hot day, 1/3 hot tubs is heated to
the same temp , others are cold. Towels thin and threadbare,
scattered ants but no other varmin in room . Breakfast dreadful - never
before had 5/5 tropical fruits taste
bad, coffee cold at 7 am etc. Extremely aggressive timeshare agents given prominent place in lobby. Had to call front desk to stop maintenance / repair hammering at 9:30 pm. Walls, floors and ceilings very thin- awakened by fisherman leaving at 4:40am, loud drinkers at 11:39 pm. Nice private beach no vendors but no chairs on beach and pool chairs mostly broken. Great quiet , convenient location just off marina. Wouldn't choose again

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beardiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

I recently went on my honeymoon and stayed in my mom's timeshare at the Finisterra. I was expecting a lot since it was rated four stars and since all the reviews were great. Getting there was a bit of a treck, it was about 45-1hour ride from the airport, and the drive up was not too impressive. None the less I was bound to make the best of my vacation. The decor in the hotel as well as the room was very dated. They had tacky sheets and curtains, but everything was very clean. The room was equipped with everything you would need and the view was the best part. Standing outside my balcony you could see the pools, the beach and the Pacific Ocean. People everywhere were extremely helpful in giving advice on where to go and eat and have fun. The other great thing about the resort was the location. It was about a 2 min walk to the marina and town. It was very centrally located and there was no need to rent a car. Food at the resort was not at all impressive and would not recommend eating lunch or dinner there, but breakfast was pretty good. I know a lot of comments were made about the towels, and yes they were somewhat thin , but it did not bother me much. What did bother me was the fact that only one pool was heated, and every chair I laid in seemed to be broken. Overall, the place was decent, but I would highly recommend staying next door at the Playa Grande, or the Grand Solamar opening in April 2011. We got to take a tour and it was beautiful and much more lively than the Finisterra was. Oh and one last piece of advice, watch out for the men at the airport trying to offer you a taxi. They are really getting you to sign up for a timeshare presentation. If you don't want to bother than go outside and get a taxi from the men out there. Otherwise get everything you can from them. Meaning say to them no or your not sure and they will offer you dinners, a taxi home, massages, and sometimes money in exchange for going to a 2 hour presentation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kikas321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

My husband & I have stayed at the Finisterra at least 15 times over the last several years and have obviously been very pleased with our experiences . . . until this year. It was the first time we brought our son and were frankly embarrassed at the condition in which we found the hotel.
First for the room: The shampoo this year was like dishwashing liquid and there was no conditioner. They no longer offer kleenex, and the shower head was like a water pik. Due to excessive calcification there was so little water coming out at such high pressure that it stung the skin. The towels were raggedy, grey with stains, and threadbare, it was likely they are being laundered with the colored towels from the pool area. The maid service was sporadic and incomplete. I washed all the dishes myself so I knew they were clean (with the "shampoo" coming in handy), but when we left the coffee maker in the bathroom, there it remained, still half full of grounds and coffee later that day. In addition, something was always forgotten: new soap, refilled toilet paper holders, etc. It was so bad that I had to go in search of TWO rolls of toilet paper when we were completely out one morning! They've recently installed a silly energy-saving feature that requires you keep your room key in a receptacle to keep the power on. The only problem is that without the key card in the device, you cannot power the clock or the fridge. Impractical, no? And the maid had a habit of removing it. It was always fun to come back to your warm food and drinks inside the fridge, and a clock blinking 12:00.
The facility: people's room service trays were left out all day, their napkins blowing in the wind, the scraps to be eaten by the resident cats. As written by others on this site, for most of the week not one ice machine was operating, and we had to ask for ice daily at the lobby. How lame is that?! They have also shut down the business center, so if you don't have a laptop to check emails, you are out of luck. There never HAS been an exercise room to speak of -- it's just an unused hotel room with a few rusty circa-1980 exercise machines. The Blue Marlin restaurant has been shuttered, although the Whale Watcher Bar is still in operation.
The Pool:This hallmark of the Finisterra was the biggest disappointment of all. Many of the lounge chairs are broken and most have faded and threadbare cushions. The pools have not been scrubbed and sport a greenish cast from thriving algae. The pool deck had not been power washed in many months and was grey, with cracks and tiles that have gone un-repaired. Painted surfaces had peeling paint. Although to be fair, we did see workers on our last two days begin to scrape the paint in preparation for repainting. As with room service, food plates sat around in the sun for hours attracting flies and birds. The hot tubs that surround the pools have been shut off, meaning no bubbles (filtering/cleaning process) or heat. There was one that was turned on intermittently. The water in this bacteria cauldron was about 107 degrees, and so murky with milky bubbles on the surface that it looked like someone had spilled a pina colada in it. The women's bathroom always had the lights off, and only one soap dispenser and towel dispenser were in service. The faucets spun and wiggled in their holes.
For the most part, the grounds looked well tended; the employees were always courteous and helpful.
For many decades the Finisterra has been a grand old hotel with a beautiful view on a gorgeous and vacant beach. The property was well known for the best pool area around. It is beyond sad to see the owners cutting corners and short changing its guests, while slowly fading into oblivion. This hotel was tops for years and I know it has long since paid for itself. I find it hard to believe the state that the hotel is now in is due to anything other than the greed of it's ownership.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank meegaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

First I was very worried for so many negative reviews, it all depends on what you expect for what you are paying and the location is awesome if you dont want to spend a lot on taxis. You can walk to everything. If you have a choice - stay in the "newer (12 yrs old) section called the Palypa Beach section. We were in 418. Ocean front, it was huge. 2 bath, 2 balcony ocean front w partial kitchen. We had nice towels too. I am not sure if this was because we were "RCI" timeshare or not. I know I had gone in another room down the hall 423 and they had old, greyish towels the people complained about. We never had these though, and room very clean, A/C was fine too, no problems w room at all, it was great..... Food at pool bar and staff, very good, Timeshare salesgirl downstairs was too aggressive for my taste/ Just be firm. They offer u tons of freebies and massage if you want to do 90 min presntation. I am not interested while im on vacation but she kept calling our room! That was my only complaint. Also it did not bother us but there are 3 pools and 3 jacuzzis. They only heat the middle pool and middle jacuzzi, but this place is not over crowded so - we always had poolside seats- plenty to go around. Private beach also, not vendors like on Medano. Medano is good for breakfast at the "Office"- take a boat for $4 each over there or you can walk about 20 mins. Go to Lover beach for seclusion and no vendors. Ediths for dinner was awesome, a little pricy..Mi Casa was great and although food good at Solomons landing, vendors came in. Overall- this was a great location, quiet and ocean front huge suite for the price-

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank amykins0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#60 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Res...
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing