We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HIDDEN GEM”

La Taverna GastroBar
Ranked #154 of 560 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: La Taverna GastroBar on the Cabo San Lucas Marina is rapidly becoming an attraction on the CSL Marina. Open for breakfast (5.99 us specials) and lunch (under 10 us) for 5 years, started serving fine dining at affordable prices on November 2012. Great ambiance, excellent food and warm service are our constant. Give us one of your nights, we´ll make sure you return.
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“HIDDEN GEM”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Located on the Marina where the Cruise ship tenders off load, La Taverna is easy to pass up when heading into town. However; you are missing a great little place to dine. We discovered it in 2013 and have been back several times. It is located on the walkway on a raised platform. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. Jimmy will make your day when it comes to great service and personality. If you are looking for something outside the usual Marina restaurants and bars please give La Taverna GastroBar a try. You will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garymstoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    32
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Tapas/Food/Drink on the Marina”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stumbled on this after purposely avoiding the food places along the marina. What caught our eye: tapas and the fantastic waiter Jimbo (Jaimie). Very personable and extremely knowledgeable about foods and wine. He also cooks several dishes at your table (e.g. Chateaubriand, Mexican Banana Foster). The banana foster was amazing to watch him prepare...all the while explaining what/why he was doing. We came back several different times...either for a glass of wine and tapas or for dinner. My husband had the sea bass and raved about it. I had chicken mole and it was outstanding. Highly recommend this gem!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank grandmamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Went here because the reviews made it sound like a great place. It was just so-so. Good price for beers and my husband enjoyed his shrimp quesadillas but I found the beef tacos really dry and lacking flavor. The cheviche was light on the fish. Service was slow and the restaurant's music competed with the party music next door. Not likely to return with all the options available.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justo C, Owner/Chef at La Taverna GastroBar, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you Lisa for sharing your opinion on TA. We take all the opinions very seriously and have revised our quality procedures for arrachera providers. I also had a conversation with our morning staff to address your comment.
Please accept my personal apology for the inconvenience.

Justo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must in Cabo San Lucas”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went to La Taverna because of the reviews. And we are very glad we did. Our waiter Jimbo made some great suggestions all of which were perfect. We had the special that night which was Sea Bass, Lobster and Onion soup. Cooked to perfection. We will return here on every trip to Cabo in the future. A small fun place for a great meal. Thanks Jimbo!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect end to the evening”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We are down in Cabo and walking back from town and wanted to stop for Sangria and their Mexican Coffee. The waiter, Jimbo, was great as always we had dessert and drinks and our teenage kids put on some entertainment of their own doing the Cha Cha Shuffle out dockside. If you are looking for fantastic, classic cuisine, then La Taverna will not disappoint. The desserts were strawberries with chocolate sautéed and poured over vanilla ice cream. Just awesome and a great end to our evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna GastroBar also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Taverna GastroBar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing