We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here, trust me, it's worth it, even if it's not at the Marina!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We were unsure whether this was actually the Sheraton, but it was. The Vacation Club side of the resort shares all amenities and all grounds with the Sheraton. Having never used one of my family's timeshare weeks before, it was a great experience using the guest certificate. They treated me the same as if I was the owner, and never knew the difference. The staff there is extremely friendly and accomodating, especially a gentlemen Jonathan/Johnny. He was so hopsitable and was willing to go above and beyond. He customized service for us and made us feel like we were old friends. When you come here (visit only allowable once every 4 years through RCI), tell Johnny the Azzarano's said hello! Ask for him by name, trust me.

While not situated at the Marina, the resort is nestled inside a private entrance at KM 11. The grounds are nice, but be ready, as it sits on a hill so you are typically walking uphill when going back to your rooms, etc. The beach is not really swimmable...there were a few guys skimboarding/surfing on the shore, which sits on an incline and is surrounded by rocks/boulders. Waves at 7-10 feet are breaking on shore and the water is rough, undertow terrible. However, if you can make it about 20 feet offshore past the crashing waves, the water is calm. (I'm 5' and petite, I did not go out in the water. Do not turn your back on the waves, and if you lift your feet on shore, you'll be knocked over.)

Restaurants are pricey, but you're at a resort.
Pitahayas, 4 star diamond rating (does not take AAA membership), serves Pacific Rim Cuisine, we spent $200usd on two of us with a bottle of wine. They have an underground wine cellar, we didn't see it.
De Cortez, favorite by far, better than Pitahayas we thought. USDA approved steaks, surf & turf with lobster, open dining, mesquite grilled. Spent same amont of money, no wine. Girasoles (set on the 4th floor overlooking the ocean and golf resort) has specials every night except Sunday; they have lower priced items, $20-$30, to even $45 surf & turf, authentic cuisine, but...they have $16.50 all you can eat breakfast every day until 11:30 a.m.! Do it, it's the best deal at the resort. Includes unlimited mimosas and bloody marys!
2 Beach Bars, Sirenas and Tortugas, snacks, burgers, dogs,etc. Ceviche, fish tacos, etc. Serves the beach, pools, and there are seats around the palapas.
They have a sports & Sushi bar with pool tables, ping pong, we didn't visit though.

Pools are amazing, however, we didn't go to them. We were on the beach, which they provide towels and they always provide lounge chairs, and umbrellas, with tables. Customary tips were always appreciated.

Grounds are amazing, set beside an HOA and Cabo del Golf. Sheraton has a golf course, we don't play. They have a few greens overlooking the beach.

We stayed above the conference center, in Villa 36; I have to say, there was a horrible knocking noise every couple of minutes,especially at night, coming from the vents above every bed and in every room, and it was impossible to sleep. Worst sleep on vacation ever. We didn't complain, it was probably unavoidable. However, I did write it down on the review, hopefully they'll check it out.

They have a shuttle service that sits about 8-10 people to the marina and back every 90 minutes; it's $10 per person roundtrip, or $5 one way. There are many stores on site, one at the vacation club, others in the Sheraton lobby. They give you 30 minutes free online access a day, but it's continuous; otherwise, you are paying $16 a day. Everyone speaks english, except our housekeeper did not. Luckily, my husband knows spanish. there's a $4 fee per day for housekeeping, whether you use them or not. Everything there is in pesos, but they will convert to USD for you. you will receive change in pesos usually. Conceirge, snorkeling, whale watching sitting on the beach! This place is amazing; no wonder they only let you come back once every 4 years :)

Room Tip: Junior Suite = Largest Balcony available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jessazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,072 - 2,078 of 2,336 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2011

This place was really great. The room was big, more like an apartment. We were way back in building 10 and had an ocean peek, not view. It was close to everything though and super quiet. We could hear the high heels of the women above us but we asked them to take them off at night and then it was perfect. Gisela cleaned out room everyday. We left her about 50 pesos a day and note.
The beach was fantastic!! Francisco set up our chairs with an umbrella every time we came out to the beach. The pools were nice too... not crowded. We could see whales out in the ocean while we sat in the poolside jacuzzi.
The restaurants were expensive so we limited out dining at the resort. We bought food and cooked in our room, which was a welcome break from eating out. We did rent a car so we traveled to Todos santos and La Paz one day. La Paz was not anything to write about.... city like and the beaches were surrounded by industry. We went to some outlying beaches which were also pretty but nothing fantastic. The most fantastic beach experience was at the national park in Cabo Pulmo. We went out snorkeling with Paco from that beach (it's on the east side of the peninsula). We were in the water with whales and manta rays.... we swam with sea lions in their natural habitat. It was $45.00 a person and that whole area of the ocean is a protected marine reserve.
Ok back to Hacienda Del Mar. I highly recommend it, it's good for couples (there was a wedding there during our stay) and families... there are lots of activities in the resort and everyday mexicans sell things on the beach. I recommend a car because it's more fun to be able to explore the area, but you don't have to to have a great time. The gym had lots of equipment and there are massage specials at the spa.
One more thing, there will be time share presentation offers and the lure of incentives can take time from your precious vacation... and we did give about 3 hours of our time for such a presentation. Resist the offers when you first walk through the airport, we said yes to Isaac at the Thrifty rental car office and we got $238.00 off of our rental car, so we spent a total of $50. for the whole week on the car... and we got two free breakfasts and two sunset dinner cruises. We talked to others, some got more and some got less. We also got a lot more offers to attend more presentations which we turned down... and for the record... NO we did not buy a timeshare, they are always cheaper somewhere else (like Ebay) if you really want to purchase.
We ate at Sunset Mona Lisa.... which I recommend with all of my tummy... fantastic view and scrumptious food.
Have fun in paradise.

Room Tip: Tipping the desk clerk $20. can help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TracyandRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We spent spring break with my family (wife + 3 children ages 14, 11, 6) and extended family (dad & mom age 75). This is a beautiful property! The grounds, pool area, beach area, bars and restaurants are modern, clean, and well maintained. We stayed in a 2BR/3BATH unit with a full kitchen. We did not have a view of the pool or ocean, but the family didn't seem to care. It was a short walk to the pool where we had great views of the beach/ocean. It was whale season and we brought binoculars to view the whales offshore. The whales were really active in the morning and late afternoon. This was a real treat for the kids.

The employees working in the public areas were extremely friendly and helpful. We spent most of our time around the pool area where there were activities for the kids and adults peppered throughout the day. There were other pools along the beach that offered more privacy if "activities" aren't your preference. We ate dinner on the property every night but two. Our favorite meal was at Pitahayas. The food and service were fabulous and the views from under the palapa were tremendous. We dined at Tomatoes a couple of nights. Tomatoes featured nightly themed buffets and the food/service were very good. We also ate at the sports bar--we highly recommend the sushi and the pizza. Our last night at the property we dined at De Cortez and were really disappointed. We had to wait too long to get our main course and when the food came out it was cold. When we complained, the servers/restaurant manager offered no explanation or apology.

My big watchout is the price of food & drinks. We knew ahead of time to expect "hotel" prices and that's exactly what you get. An order of nachos poolside is $16USD, boat drinks are $9+USD and beers are $7+USD. Happy hour around the pool is from 2-4 (2 for 1 drinks) so that helped a little bit. But we did the Walmart run and purchased water, soda, beer and wine after the first day and brought our own to the pool/beach most days. The dinner buffets at Tomatoes was $32USD - a little pricey in my mind for buffet quality food.

My wife and I decided to sit through the timeshare presentation so we could get discounts on a couple of excursions (whale watching and sunset boat cruise). It took up most of one morning, but they never bothered us once we told them no. We also got a $100 discount towards food at one of the on-site restaurants for our time.

If you need to get online, you get 30 minutes (continuous) free each day. This seemed to meet our needs as it gave everyone a chance to check e-mail and post on facebook. If you need more than 30 min it is $18/day for internet access.

Last callout: We went on a sunset dinner boat cruise (Cabo Rey) and had a really nice time. Bring your camera and a fun mindset. This cruise features a Mexican/Argentinian performance and the whole family really enjoyed the music and dancing. Plus the views from the top deck give you a chance to photograph and video the famous "Land's End" rock formations.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NWAHeeHaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This resort surpassed all of our expectations. We had 7 nights at the resort in a 2 bdrm and 2 bath unit, ground floor. Thank god since we were traveling with an elderly person. The resort offers golf carts to shuttle, way confient since we were staying in bldg 1 and we liked the dolphin pool/ only swim up bar. This pool is off the beach but you can always find loung chairs there. The resort is amazing- we traded thru rci and were very pleased. Will be back whenever we are allowed to book again. Food is very expensive, as we knew from reading these reviews. We bought lots of groceries at Mega in San jose and Super Walmart in Cabo. We liked the Super Walmart better. We ate every breakfast in room and few lunches by pool. Would run about $45 dollars for about 3 items. We ate in town every dinner. San Jose one night at the Baja Brewery is really fun and great pizza. Crazy Lobster in town was a bargain. We took beers down to pool in bags with ice. Great idea for next time is to pack a plastic or the material like coolers. Saw people with those down on beach and they had been coming for years. Great to have internet in office across from lobby. Bell hopps Jonathon and Angel were amazing and our kids loved them too, super friendly spoke great english and very welcoming. Christian with activities made our h.s. boys feel included, they are very athletic and played lots of beach volleyball and water volleyball. Getting in the ocean there is taking a huge risk, i know of three really bad stories were people got seriously hurt. An elderly man like 70ish was standing in water only up to knees when a huge wave came and piled him face first into beach. He came up to shower with lifeguard and was bleeding really bad, after being taken care of by a retired Dr. and onsite staff, the family took him for cat scan and another lady we met blew her knee out, literally sideways, she said she was crawling up to shore on her elbows and thought she was going to die when the wave knocked her down and took her out. Respect the water- there will be local kids surfing/skim boarding on beach but they do it all the time and time waves. Enjoy the resort- it is huge bring walking shoes and use shuttle service, enjoy all the gardens. The only one negative thing is about getting a lounge chair. We had moved our 5 towels to a prime spot that had opened up after lunch. No towels on chairs, so we took them. While we had a nearby lady take our picture, an elderly lady shows up out of nowhere, her and her husband were eating lunch close to where we were sitting and yells at us and said these were taken. I said there were no towels when we sat down on them, and the lady taking our picture agreed. So a little while later, the same lady comes over with her husband after they got done eating lunch near the chairs and cursses at my husband calling him a bully and were very rude to our family. The resort has some very stuffy people there with alot of money. Some chairs early in am. have nice towels folded with flowers even placed on seats. I think i heard the staff can do this for you- don't know what the fee is. If you run into problems just go up to dolphin pool and you will be fine-
Enjoy it was perfect for our family. We had 2 H.S. seniors and 1 college girl and a grandma and it was perfect. The kids would go out later and sit in hot tub. The sports bar closes to early though. Have a great vacation and tell Jonathon hi from Spring breakers from Colo. with Grandma.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuanneMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We were here 2 years ago & now again we had a wonderful time. The staff at this resort are friendly and helpful, especially the guys at the Bell Desk - all of them! They treat you so very special. New things have been added. I especially loved the Zumba classes held under the hut overlooking the ocean. One day we were able to see the whales in the ocean. The small grocery store on the premises is filled with more items than before. We brought items from the states and with the necessities I got from the small store I did not need to go to Walmart or Costco. We went to Cabo San Lucas almost every night for dinner. They have excellent restaurants there. And, the shuttle from the Hacienda del mar costs only $10.00 round trip. It is well worth it as the restaurants on the resort were quite expensive. Everyone spoke English which I found very surprising since as Americans we are in their country & we should try to speak Spanish. The maid service comes daily. What I would suggest is leaving some dollars or pesos in the room for them daily. You'll see the difference & I know the maid service appreciates it.
As for the cons- there was a bad odor from the open drain in our bathroom every evening & the maid service came at different times even when requesting a time, noisy people above us & you can hear your neighbors.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

From the moment we arrived the staff treated us as if we were the only guests there. The entire property is landscaped beautifully and maintained impeccably. We enjoyed going to the beach daily where chairs and umbrella were set-up to your liking. Gazing out on the ocean and watching the whales jumping and diving each morning was amazing. The many pools are beautifully designed. Again, kudos to the staff that met your every need,,,they were incredible!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franzie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My boyfriend and I had a dream vacation here.... Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
5.2 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#17 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
2 mi away
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
#16 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,519 reviews
5.1 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Address: Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Lote D, Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £165 - £754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing