We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a convention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
White City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for a convention”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Traveled to Cabo San Lucas and stayed at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. It was very good for a convention / conference. Everything was good. Golf at the Cabo Del Sol Desert and Ocean golf courses was very good. These are affiliated courses and in the proximity; very short ride in the complimentary van. Food ala carte was good. Once put on the fixed menu (all-inclusive) it was limiting which likely had nothing to do with the resort. Half-hour cab ride into the marina at Cabo (had to try Ruth's Chirs Steakhouse at the marina). It was better than average. Have no reason to return and would not dissuade anyone from going there but if you want to be near the action, get closer to the marina.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteCityJoe_Public
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear WhiteCity:
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.
Our guest’s comments are very important for us and we are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation!

Looking forward to welcoming you to your home away from home!!!

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,301
    532
    152
    65
    32
See reviews for
851
711
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Our family of 6 adults stayed here and it was great. Penthouse was awesome- 3 bedrooms/4 bathrooms. Beautiful deck. Great space for all of us. In addition , there is a water area if you do have small children . Beautiful place with old Mexican charm.
Only drawback is that it is a little ways from town.

Beautiful resort! Beaches and pools are spectacular, great amenities .

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mplsrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Mplsrg:
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.
Our guest’s comments are very important for us and we are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation!

Looking forward to welcoming you to your home away from home!!!

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We have loved going to Cabo for 20 years now and have stayed a few other resorts, but in our book there is nothing that compares to the architecture and level of service offered at Hacienda. Once again... Food was great as well as the helpful staff. We rented a car and went shopping at Walmart to stock the kitchen and then were set to venture out daily. Snorkeling (Chileno Bay), market shopping for gifts to bring back, glass factory for keepsakes, and of course the drive to Todos Santos to Hotel California for lunch. Crazy Lobster and Sleepless Lobster are good local eateries as are many others...Zippers, Baja Lobster, Deseos, and Pitahayas. Party scene in evening at Squid Roe...enjoyed Dinner Cruise on Cabo Rey. Always hate to leave. Remember, Hacienda Del Mar requires a car or taxi since it it located in the Corridor between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo. We prefer it that way! Enjoy... Welcome to Mexico!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear oldfatman:
We are absolutely thrilled with your kind review. Comments like yours make us proud and encourage us to keep on working hard and offering the best of service to our dear guests.
We will keep doing our best to create new experiences for our guests, and we will be very happy to pamper you very soon!

Looking forward to welcoming you to your home away from home!!!

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had stayed at the Sheraton side in 2012 and fell in love with the resort that we purchased some time here. Our first visit as owners in 2013 was great. Everything about the resort met our expectations.

I had booked airport transfers with the Hacienda, it was about $35 pp return. We had no issues with our arrival and departure shuttles.

We had a 1 bedroom luxury suite with an ocean view, very comfortable and clean. The kitchen had everything you needed to prepare small meals/snacks. It's not a full size kitchen but ideal for only 2 of us. We did our shopping at Walmart, the taxi was about $18 for one way.

Eating at the restaurants at the resort is expensive, but that's to be expected - it is a Sheraton. We especially like De Cortez and Pitihayas, we were never disappointed with our food and service. We always followed the happy hour for drinks and participated in pool activities where we won free drinks during our stay.

The resort is beautiful and clean. Had really no problem getting chairs by the pool. The ocean is nice to look at but it's not swimmable, always red flagged. We stayed towards the end of November and found that the weather cools off a bit, some cloudy days and windy about mid 80's celsius. Our first visit, we stayed during the beginning of November and the weather was perfect for us, sunny days everyday and temps around 90c.

We had no issues with timeshare reps as we told them we are new owners and we absolutely are not interested in buying.

If you're looking for a relaxing, luxury resort this is the place for you. It's not a party resort and its location is between Cabo Del Sol and Cabo San Lucas so expect to pay to get around or rent a car.

Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Christine:
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. My favorite part of the day is to read our guests comments, because that is what keeps us focused to deliver better every day. We will keep doing our best to create new experiences for our guests, and we will be very happy to pamper you very soon!

Looking forward to welcoming you to your home away from home!!!

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The staff at this restaurant make a special effort to know their guests. I was particularly impressed with Margarita Martinez who was always smiling and warm. She epitomizes the ideal service provider.

I was a bit disappointed with the size of my room. We booked a room for three but as it turned out they had no pull-out beds and it took some follow-up a day later to get one. After buying a vacation timeshare (SPG) i am not sure i gave myself any real advantage. A good vacation depends on service providers Iike Margarita Martinez and others on her team.

Room Tip: I didnt choose a great one therefore i cannot advise anyone how to do that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Clive L:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. We are always looking for ways to improve and enhance our service, and this is what keeps us focused on delivering better every day. I am really sorry to hear that we did not meeting your expectations during your last visit. Hope you can give us another opportunity to show how committed we are with our guests and what Hacienda del Mar has to offer. I will make sure to pass along your comments to Margarita, she will be so proud to have earned such positive comments from one of our guest.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon, and please, let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The resort was beautiful, but everything else was horrible…

Our first night there, we went to their Mexican restaurant and the service was horrible!!!!! The food was way to expensive for the amount you received. We ordered nachos for $150 pesos and only got 4 chips.. We got our drinks after we ate and our complimentary chips and salsa as we were paying the bill…

The pool was filled with trash and dirt. While sun bathing near the pool, my friend and I were swarmed by bees and I was unfortunately stung.

They put us on the third floor (my mother is handicapped.) One day, the elevator broke and the only way to get down was by facing the wet flooded stairs (that weren't marked with a caution sign.) I feel down the stairs and hurt my back and now have to go to the chiropractor to get my back fixed. After (trying) to talk to some nearby staff about the incident and broken elevator, we came back hours later to find that the problem had still not been solved. A poor man in a wheel chair sat patiently by the elevator, waiting for it to be fixed (over 50 mins.) Finally he left with no way to get to his room. My mother (handicapped) decided to take on the stairs, but it took her about 30 minutes to get to the third floor, with my help of course.

The manager finally came to talk to us (Carlos) and said he would move us to a closer room that was on the first floor. The room was a complete downgrade from our previous room and we had a lot of problems. We continued to pay the same price as our luxurious sweet, for an uncomfortable smaller room.

The next day, we were walking by the front desk when we overheard a grown women crying. This women was in tears because of the horrible service and treatment of the hotel. I felt bad for the women and realized then that I was ready to move to a different hotel.

The day of our departure from the hotel, my disabled mother feel over the rocky, unstable, horrible pathway by our room. As she cried out and called my name, I realized the nightmare was nowhere near over. I found her lying on the ground in pain…. She broke her wrist, dislocated and broke her shoulder, fractured her cheek and received a minor concussion with huge bruises and cuts.

We finally arrived at our new hotel (country club) and finished off the rest of our trip with excitement and fun.

I would never suggest the Hacienda Del Mar to anyone, not even my worst enemy. Do not stay here if your handicapped or disabled. But if you don't mind paying a whole bunch of money on minimal and nasty tasting food and horrible service, than you should stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Caity F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

First off, Cabo San Lucas in general is our preferred destination in Mexico. It just doesn't have that trashy, spring-break vibe like much of Cancun does. We had the opportunity to choose a timeshare vacation in Cabo, and we opted to try Hacienda del Mar because we didn't want something right in town. So glad we made that choice! Hacienda is a sprawling complex of gorgeous, low-rise buildings right on the beach. The architecture of each building is unique, colorful, and beautiful... something you don't see much of in the actual town. The unit that we got was a 2-story unit with one bedroom, two baths, a kitchenette, and balcony. It was extremely comfortable and clean, and the beds and pillows were wonderful!

The rest of the resort is just as fantastic--the beach is spectacular (although not extremely safe for swimming due to strong rip currents), the pools are crystal clear and frequently tested, the lounge chairs are super comfy, the gym is clean and well-appointed, and the restaurants have delicious (although expensive) food. The spa was unbelievably nice, in case you want a massage. The entire resort staff was pleasant and helpful, and while they offer the standard excursions and presentations, you can opt out of them and they won't harass you all week long. That is crucial... the fact that they don't hunt you down and pressure you to attend presentations or buy off-site activities makes it a place that I can recommend and look forward to visiting again.

My recommendation if you want to save some money is to rent a car. Taxis to and from the airport and town are very expensive, and the food at the resort is pricey as well. If you rent a car from the airport, you'll find that it's a very easy drive to the resort, to town, and to Walmart for food. We didn't do that this time because we didn't know about it, but that's our plan for next time. Apparently the Walmart there is enormous and well-supplied with fresh produce and other staples such as milk, cereal, bottled water, etc. For those who might be wondering, we drank water at the resort and drinks with ice in them and never got sick.

I definitely recommend this resort and we look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank venesueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear venesueca:
We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write such a wonderful and sincere review, we are truly honored to hear that you had an amazing time at our resort!!!!

Comments like yours make us proud and encourage us to keep on working hard and offering the best of service to our dear guests. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. It is amazing, indeed.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon, and please, let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
5.2 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
449 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,122 reviews
4.6 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
5.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Property: Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Address: Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Lote D, Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing