We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average because of location and cost of food. Nice beds!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average because of location and cost of food. Nice beds!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The resort is beautiful...rooms great, beds good, concrete couches and metal chairs a little uncomfortable. What I didn't like....distance to town...shuttle $10.00 per person return was available. If you are an RCI person be prepared to stay in building 35 or 36 the furtherest spot from the beach on the resort. They DO NOT LIKE RCI PEOPLE THERE! That is what we were told. We were lucky and were moved to building 7....great building peek at the ocean and close as I have a heart condition and we were only staying 5 of the 7 days. They add extra tip to the room regardless. What they do when you arrive is sign you up right away for time share. They are the cheapest of all timeshare gifts. $50. towards a meal at the hotel. When we called back and declined they upped it to $100. US. Well that is good for 1 burger and fry and a club sandwhich and a bottle of water and pop. $40. US is what that cost us. The food is really expensive. $180. pesos works out to be $14.00 US based on $12.50us. The burger was $220 peso $17.60! Cabs very costly $20.00 one way to Costco. In town it was $7.00 from hotel and they charged $10.00 back to hotel. But for $2. peso you can take the bus and take a cab back or walk to talk if staying there. They have Cityview in town which is like a costco near Villa Del Palmar and Bonita Rose and all walkable to town because we stayed there as well. Stayed in Cabo for a month. In town restaurants were steak and lobster at the wharf $55.00 for 2 US. Wonderful! Happy Hour beer $35.00 pessons...$2.50 us.... If you want to just stay and relax and do nothing then Hacienda Del Mar is for you. Its great they don't like to clean rooms though, they show up around 4 pm. Ask our neighbors....it was the same for everyone. Lots of Bellboys and they have golf carts to run around so you can get picked up but from your room. If you have mobility issues be sure to get it in writing before you go what room you want cause you won't get it! The food was good but very pricey! Not for the young and par tiers. This is not the place. Go to Villa Del Palmar or Bonito Rose. Didn't use the spa, didn't know where it was. They do offer 30 minutes a day free wifi for each room. They have computers available. Breakfast very expensive. If you just want to stay like home and do your own cooking this is the place for you!

Room Tip: They don't like RCI and put you in the worst location and then sign you up for timeshare before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muskoka687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Muskoka68:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. I am concerned by your comments and I’m very sorry that your experience was not what you expected. We aim to “wow” all our guests during their visit to Hacienda del Mar, and while we enjoy a very good success rate at doing this, we really did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
We would love for you to give Hacienda del Mar another opportunity during your next visit to Los Cabos.
If we can be of any assistance on your next return trip to Los Cabos, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    430
    121
    51
    26
See reviews for
668
604
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
goffstown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from a week at the vacation club. The property is beautifully landscaped and pools and beach are lovely. I was with 3 friends, 2 elderly. We had requested a unit close to pools and beach with as little walking as possible. We were told we were in building 13, only to be put in building 15. The next day at the "time share sell" we tried to get moved. There was nothing they could do. The unit was fine, clean and modern. The a/c unit did not work in one of the bedrooms.
My 2 biggest complaints are 1: the service at Tortugas was awful, slow and it seemed the staff had not been properly trained. 2 the beach had a good amount of trash: cigarette butts, straws, etc. other resorts i have been to, beaches were raked daily. That never happened. We wondered if management was present. Service at Tomatoes was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rokyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Rockyfarm:
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused. I assure you that your comments will be addressed to General Manager in order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
Once again, Thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.
It will be a great honor if you will choose to visit us again in the near future and a great opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

First time in Cabo with our family staying with friends who own a time share at this resort. Our stay was in the 3 bedroom suite and the room was very clean and had everything we needed. The grounds were kept pristine and the pools (many to choose from) were clean and beautiful.

Positives: Clean, Friendly Staff, very good food in the 4-5 star restaurants, comfortable beds, shuttle/taxis readily available to take you to town (6-7 miles away and runs $10 each person roundtrip), beach was very nice and clean with food and beverage service available, beautiful views and sunrises, more elegant place to stay than many "party" resorts- for families.

Negatives: Since I'm not really a "high roller" (which this is in my opinion on the higher scale), I felt the restaurants, although very delicious, was on the high end for prices. Drinks from the bar were around $10 for Margaritas and Pina Coladas (they offered two for ones during certain hours of the day), if you wanted kids drinks like a virgin Pina Coladas - they were never 2 for 1 so they were around $8 for one. They did allow you to take two adult drinks with the liquor on the side and get the two for one for the kids. Couches in the rooms were terribly uncomfortable but I guess you don't spend much time there. We had to pay daily for Wi-Fi like $15 I think, and lastly they had a pool with basketball nets and volley ball nets on/in it but the 65 and older crowd would reserve their spots at that pool everyday because the "daily activities" were near there and that is generally who the activities were targeting.. not children. And my children/teenagers wanted to play basketball in the pool and volley ball and basically were glared at by the senior citizens surrounding the pool. Not a big deal but seemed odd to have that located at that pool and weren't really able to play.

Recommendations: Go to Walmart the first day and buy all your groceries and alcohol and utilize the wonderful kitchens if you have one in your room. Bring a collapsible cooler along and bring your drinks to the pool/beach. Use the blenders in the room and make your own drinks and bring down in Bubba Kegs! Works great for children who want those specialty drinks all day.

Overall this resort was very nice, I would surely go back, loved our stay here in Cabo.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doogalas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Doogalas H:
We're glad to hear you had a good time while staying with us, however we would like to extend an apology for any inconveniences you experienced as well. Feedback such as yours helps us a lot and allows us to improve our services in benefit of our clients. We look forward for your return to Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club!

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
183 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Beginning with your bell staff who were just wonderful - helpful, friendly, courteous: Fernando Jimenez assisted us with our baggage and was very helpful during our entire stay as was Ruben Solis, I hope I spelt his last name correctly, was always so friendly and welcoming to us. He even recognized us when we got there. He is very quiet and reserved and he is a caring employee. He made sure we got a taxi when needed, helped with the shuttle. There was another helpful employee, also named Ruben, who was very friendly. Antonio Rodriquez was helpful getting us the airport shuttle to and from Hacienda del Mar. He definitely pays attention to detail. Eugenia, our housekeeper, was excellent. Always going the extra mile to ensure we had enough towels and that our suite was clean. People, please give extra pesos or dollars to these hard working employees. They deserve it. The grounds are really kept up nicely.
Con: The restaurants on this compound are quite expensive. We only ate here one night when we first arrived at Girasoles and it was good. The other nights we took the shuttle downtown for dinner. The restaurants there are great (see my reviews) and the shuttle cost only $10 per person roundtrip. Although the exterior grounds are kept up, our suite was a little worn from the soiled rug, uncomfortable sofa, etc. The interior could use some upgrade.
All in all we had a great time and will be back next year. I highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Try to leave a tip for housekeeping. They really appreciate it as do the bellmen.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AZretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear AZretiree:
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. My favorite part of the day is to read our guests comments, because that is what keeps us focused to deliver better every day. We will keep doing our best to create new experiences for our owners & guests, and we will be very happy to pamper you again very soon!

Looking forward to welcoming you to your home away from home!!!

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Sheraton complex which includes the hotel and its facilities on the same property as the Vacation Club is well managed and very guest oriented. Nearly all staff speak english well and without exception they are friendly, courteous and attentive. The food service and selections are top shelf in the 4-5 star range but are, consequently pretty pricey. There always seem to be more reasonable options available on site though. The beach had some undertow warnings and most did not venture into the ocean. Other nearby beaches were better...safer. The several pools are great, they are attended by staff who will get you towels, drinks, umbrellas and assist you politely. Oh! Must mention that the pool water is tested and adjusted several times a day without excessive use of chlorination and the water from the tap is delicious and pure. They have their own purification/filtration plant. Not aware of anyone at anytime have any sort of GI problem!
The airport in San Jose is pretty good but you are hounded by the "hucksters" trafficking in rental cars, taxis, "private" taxis and, of course time share offers. As to the time share people, they will greet you at check-in and schedule your tour of the facilities and a 90 minute "presentation" offering $200 dollars upon completion, They ask for $40 cash deposit which you get refunded when you attend the presentation. If you skip, they keep it. If you would really rather not get involved, be prepared for the pressure, cajoling and having to say "no" repeatedly! Great experience but don't see it as a "must" when and if we return to the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear carl v:
Thank you for sharing your comments about Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. We are glad that you enjoyed the pools, our convenient location and accommodations. It makes us proud that our staff made you feel welcome and assisted you during your stay. We´ll be happy to have you back again next time you visit Mexico!

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caliente, CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Being timeshare owners at HDM we travel to Cabo quite often. This stay at HDM was great. We had a great room (#111). Great service, great staff. This is a wonderful resort to visit. Now there is a down side though. The restaurant prices are off the charts. We visited the local Wal-mart and purchased breakfast and lunch supplies. We did dine out at night. HDM is actually located approximately 10 miles north of Cabo so staying here one avoids the hustle and bustle of the "in-town" resorts If you want a wonderful place to stay in Cabo then one can't go wrong with Hacienda Del Mar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Ron M.
Thank you so much for your very positive review “Anothe year and another great stay at HDM" and for taking the time to send us your comments through Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our property and service. Each staff member on our team works very hard to pamper our guests and ensure they go home happy!

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon in your home away from home!!!

Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
205 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Hacienda del Mar is, overall, a very nice resort. The architecture is attractive and the grounds are pleasant and very well maintained. The resort has a long stretch of beach and a number of pools. We had an ocean-view room which was large and well-appointed, and the bed was firm, which we like. It had a balcony which allowed us to take the air with our morning coffee. The bathroom was large, with a nice walk-in shower and two sinks. The mirror was bad for shaving, but that is not uncommon wherever one goes. On the downside, there were several places in which the walls were inexpertly patched, and there was a lot of noise from other rooms. One night it sounded like somebody was pounding nails into the walls. On another night it sounded like a neighbor was pouring bucket after bucket of liquid down a drain. On our last night a woman above us seemed to be flaminco dancing in high heels. The maid service was fine when it came to making the bed and cleaing the bathroom, but sweeping the floor was apparently optional.

Our major problem with the resort was that it was too American. Virtually all of the guests appeared to be Americans, or Canadians, everybody spoke English, and you couldn't even get real Mexican food (one guy we talked to asked them why they didn't have Mexican food and was told that American guests complained that it was too spicy). You are kind of isolated here, so unless you want to rent a car or take an expensive cab ride it is hard to get much variety. This is not the fault of the resort--we probably just chose wrong. We like a little more Mexico when we go to Mexico. If you want Topeka with palm trees you'll be perfectly happy here.

One big annoyance was the difficulty of getting a lounge chair with an umbrella on the beach or near a pool. The resort has a policy against people claiming chairs--by, for example, putting their towels on them--and then not using them, but most guests ignore it. When we would go out in the morning virtually every chair would be claimed, but up to 80 percent would be unoccupied. When we complained, the front desk explained to us that we must be wrong, because there was a policy against it, and the towel concierage just gave us the famous Mexican shrug. If you go to the Hacienda del Mar do not follow their rules--you would be a sap to do so.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plainsrefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi plainsrefugee,
Thank you for reviewing Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. We are glad to know that you liked the Resort, however we would like to extend an apology for any inconveniences you experienced as well. Comments from our clients are very important for us and we truly appreciate your feedback that makes us improve our services in benefit of our clients. We´ll pass this information to our management team.

Thank you.

Sincerely
Claudia Trujillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Property: Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Address: Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Lote D, Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing