We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, location not the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, location not the best.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our timeshare is with Starwood so we chose this resort due to the affiliation. We knew the resort would a distance from both cities and we thought it would be fine. The resort is quite a distance from the airport, $20 on a shuttle. Upon arrival you will be amazed at how beautiful the grounds were, very neatly kept. The resort is on the beach, with spectacular views. I had contacted the resort 2-3 weeks in advance, asking for an upgrade, as it was our 25 Anniversary. We received 2 Queen double beds.. a mediocre room with absolutely no view. Disappointed, yes but we managed. It was always so warm in our room, the a/c was never up to par either. The first morning we decided to have breakfast at the resort, choosing Tomates, we quickly discovered it was a mistake, $32 a person for breakfast?? Yes a person. Estan locos. Internet access was $17 a day (Gasp!), a small Margarita $12, and a roundtrip to town $40. This certainly will be remembered as the most expensive vacation on record in Mexico, just crazy prices!
I cant say enough about the staff, they were great and so willing to assist in any way possible. They get 5 stars! Honestly, I would have stayed closer to town to avoid the taxi fare and also felt this hotel to be a more senior/retiree destination. Nothing special happening here, you have to leave the resort to have fun. This was my first and last trip to Cabo, so not impressed everything about this hotel and Los Cabos is SO Americanized, what a shame. I also felt that timeshare guests were not treated as nicely as the owners, but I suppose that's standard.

Room Tip: Not sure, as we did not get a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jnjiemtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jnjiemtz:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. I’m very sorry that your experience was not what you expected. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused. We would love for you to give Hacienda del Mar another opportunity during your next visit to Los Cabos.

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    499
    142
    60
    30
See reviews for
781
688
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Been coming here over 10 years, sometimes twice a year. The resort is my favorite place to stay down here. I'm sitting by the kids pool with my kids and grandchildren having a blast... They all love it here. We just upgraded our room to the Presidential which is a2 bedroom and has a washer and dryer which is so great with kids especially. Its also great for adults, you don't have to pack as many clothes.

The only complaint is regarding my daughters room. The A/C crapped out and despite complaints, it still only gets down to 78 degrees. Also their tub won't hold water, it leaks. Other than that, this place is great for kids, families, and adults only can find quiet too. Great views, close to Cabo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Richard A:
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused. I assure you that your comments will be addressed to our Maintenance Manager in order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
Once again, Thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our little piece of Paradise!

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful resort tons of pools beautiful grounds. Excellent staff close enough to San Lucas but far enough away. Lots of beverage options with happy hours! Nicest sand beaches and nice and close to chileno beach. Great rooms, clean daily housekeeping, comfortable lounge chairs, lots of seating and great for couples and families! Definitely will go back!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jskaemjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Jskaemjs:
Thank you so much for your kind words on our property! What we love the most here at Hacienda del Mar is to pamper our guests and make them feel relaxed. We are truly happy to know that you enjoyed the room, restaurants and service!!!

Looking forward to welcome you back soon in our little Paradise!

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We loved everything about this place. We took our two older children (18,21) and they loved it as well. Close enough to town to engage in the local culture and nightlife, but then coming back to your private retreat was wonderful. Lots of fun activities, our suite was incredible, the grounds are beautiful, staff is awesome! We did partake in a couple of timeshare activities, they were early in the morning so did not interfere with our time, and it was worth it! We received almost $700 in cash incentives, like a free rental car, free dinner cruise, discounted excursions (60-65% off advertised price), and a $200 credit at the resort. And no, we did not buy as we already belong to a vacation club. We plan to go back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Arlene R:
Wow! What a delightful review to read. Thank you so much for sharing such lovely comments.
Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day.

Thank you again for all your kind comments, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!!!

Sincerely
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First of all, the accommodations are first-class! From the beaches, to the pools and the golf courses...all so clean with floral and tropical birds greeting you each day. It is the place I look forward to going every year! There is a gem of a restaurant on the property called "Girasoles" that has the BEST meal of the day - BREAKFAST! What puts the morning experience over the top is the extremely attentive, fun and engaging waitstaff there. It is so much fun to see them every year! So to our friends Arecely T., Ana F., Deisy C., Francisco E., and of course my favorite Alejandro G. - I thank you all so much for helping us 'wake up' each morning! I am already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebOfAggieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Deb0fAggi:
Thank you very much for this wonderful review, which help all the TripAdvisor community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for your vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our great service. Every detail is taken care of with great passion and enthusiasm, so we can provide the best luxury quality services at all times.
Our team enjoyed reading your great comments and hearing that you enjoyed excellent service by all. I will make sure to pass your comments to Aracely, Marco, Daisy, Francisco & Alessandro!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, home away from home!!!
Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We attended a destination wedding at the end of May and it was absolutely stunning! Service was great. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. There are great restaurants on the property and a decently stocked store as well. Great experince and a beautiful setting. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ocean view an absolute must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerukaDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear VerukaDar:
Thank you so much for your kind words on our property! What we love the most here at Hacienda del Mar is to pamper our guests and make them feel relaxed. We are truly happy to know that you enjoyed the room, restaurants and service!!!
Looking forward to welcome you back soon in our little Paradise!
Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very nice, clean and accommodating resort. Great service and attentive personnel. The food quality was very good and there were several place to eat as well as by the pool. Service was excellent. Although a little pricey but good quality and clean and fresh ingredients. The resort is not that far from town center and outside activities.

Room Tip: The first room we got was kind of dark and we asked them to change which they did the next day. Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mac S:
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you really had a wonderful time.
Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
0.9 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
2.0 mi away
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
#12 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Property: Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Address: Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Lote D, Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing