We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay - truly enjoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
oakharbor
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay - truly enjoyed”
Reviewed 22 April 2009

My husband and I just returned from a vacation in Cabo San Lucas. We stayed in the vacation club portion of the resort and it could not have been any better. The beaches and pools are so beautiful, staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slbebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    479
    139
    55
    29
See reviews for
751
670
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

The Hacienda del Mar (and the Sheraton next door) is fantastic. I highly recommend it. The villas are large and comfortable. The grounds are lovely. The only downside is the expense of the food and drink but you are at a resort so what do you expect? I suggest going to the grocery store in town early on and picking up lunch and breakfast items and then eating dinner at the resort.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indianaalwaysonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

This was our second trip to Cabo and our first stay at the Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club which was an exchange trhough RCI. Check in process was quick. We were then brought to our room in building 36 at the far end of the resort. Upon entering the room accomodations were satisfactory, everything was clean, neat and in its place. As we were unpacking after a 6 hour flight we began hearing a very loud humming motor like noise. This noise/vibration continued to be loud and soft for over an hour. We then contacted the front desk and maintance man #1 arrived. He thought the sounds were from next door, perhaps a bathroom fan? Upon examination it wasn't that. He then went upstairs and discovered the noise wasn't there either. Enter maintance man #2 who also had no idea as to where the noise was coming from. At this point in time we were on and off the phone with the front desk trying to get our room moved. Eventually it was discovered that the compressor unit to the A/C was broken, then our room finally got moved....2 hours later. Unit 1421 was more centrally located near the main lobby area. The bellman stated that this room was much newer than the original unit we were assigned which could be easily seen. Very large plasma TV in the living room, jacuzzi in the master bedroom.

Now that we were finally settled in, the vacation began. Weather was a perfect 10 everyday. Drinks at the pool area were good. Can't comment on the food since we didn't eat on the grounds at all. Dinner at Capo San Giovvanni, La Bodega, & La Dolce all very good. Outstanding meal at Frieda's at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset. This place is a must!

Negatives: 1. Pool towels reserving lounge chairs especially by the infinity pool. Often placed on chairs by 7:30 AM and no one shows to these chairs until about noon or even 1 PM. Funny thing....they have a policy that states the towels will be removed if this is done, but it's actully not true. Never once did I see this happen the entire week we were there. 2. Couch and single chair in the living room were extremely uncomfortable.

Overall the postives of the week outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lainer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
185 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Just returned from a week (April 6-13, 2009) at Hacienda del Mar in Cabo San Lucas & it was awesome! We have the junior suite time share and hadn't been back in 5 years so we were happy to see the improvements and upgrades that were done. Our suite was larger and more modern. The staff spoke English and were all friendly and very helpful The restaurants at the resort were expensive so we cooked breakfast in our suite every morning and went to Cabo (used the shuttle) for dinner. Buy many pesos before coming because the exchange rate is not that good here. Try to use pesos instead of dollars when you can. We took the tour to Todos los Santos and our driver, Alex, was great. Took us to many sights and a great place for lunch there called Tequila Sunrise. Try the shrimp chili rellenos. They are wonderful. We will not wait another 5 years to return. We had a great trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burns, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We recently returned from a 21 day visit to Cabo. We were traveling in a party of 9. We stayed at Hacienda in 2 rooms in building #5 for 7 days.

Our rooms were cleaned by 11 am every day except one. Not sure what happened on that day, but by the time the maid got to our room, we were preparing dinner, so we excused her and accepted fresh towels.

I only have one complaint this year. The pool lounge chairs are in desperate need of new pads. Most of the pads were separating and the stuffing was exposed. In addition, the brown fabric was seriously soiled from sun lotion. Despite that, HDM remains our favorite timeshare location, and we own 3 in Cabo alone.

We are early risers, and enjoyed coffee and the sunrise every morning at the pool. Our favorite pool is the activity pool. Despite the fact the resort was supposedly full, we had our choice of lounge chairs each morning. In the early morning you will see the beach being groomed as well.

We made civiche, guacamole and mixed drinks as activities each day at the pool.
The whales were playful and plentiful.
We were pleased to see an iguana by the pool again this year. We have seen a variety of iguana's for the past 10 years at the pool area.
Mexican Bingo at 2 pm at the pool was fun, however none of our party won this year.
Happy hour drinks at the pool are 2 for 1. The regular price of a specialty blended drink is roughly $10, so that made it affordable. However, we primarily drank in the room with booze bought from town. Kahlua is $10, rum is $11 and Sol or Corona is $9 for a 12 pack.

Every year we meet new people that become lifelong friends. This year was no exception. Our new friends are a family from California-Carol, Mike, Arlene, John, uncle Kenny, aunt Alice and Jacob.

There is WiFi available for 30 minutes daily in the hospitality room. If you did not bring your own laptop, there was one PC to share amongst all the guest.

We rented a car using Expedia. The best insurance rates are purchased in advance from Costco if you are a member. Or, we were told if you have American Express, the insurance is covered. I don't know about this for sure since we don't have AE.
A cab ride from the airport is $50 for 2. To Costco is $15. To town is $20. These prices are one way. There is a shuttle from the HDM for $10 round trip with one stop at the mall.

Restaurants on site are expensive, but most Cabo restaurants are pricey. The only on site restaurant we ate at this year was Girasoles. The nachos were good. We also ordered lunch from the pool once. The hamburgers, bbq chicken sandwich and nachos were all good, and reasonably priced at $10. If you are looking for good meals in town, this year we enjoyed Padogonia's (steak), Crazy Lobster and La Golendria (sea food and Mexican). For breakfast, I recommend Mama's. In previous years we have had good food at El Galion, Mi Casa and Villa Serena. If you want to cook for yourself, there is a City Club, Walmart and Costco in town. There is a small market on site for simple supplies, however it is priced higher.

Speaking of cooking, the rooms do not have ovens or BBQ's. You will have a toaster oven, stove top and microwave. The kitchens are well equipped for family food prep, but not all rooms have the same utensils. The studios/junior suites have a small but efficient kitchen, all of the other rooms have a more spacious kitchen and larger refrigerator. Most of the Presidential and Penthouse units have a dishwasher. If the maid does your dishes, there is a small daily fee. Each unit has a coffee maker and coffee filters. You will need to purchase coffee. The water is filtered and drinkable.

When we did the owners breakfast, we were discouraged to hear the upper pool still has not begun construction. We were told in 2006 that it would be done in 2 years. A former timeshare salesman told us that it will never be completed as HDM is not profiting right now. I don't know who is accurate, but we were discouraged to see that there has been no progress for 3 years. Supposedly there will also be 2 new buildings by the new pool. We shall see. The salespeople were very aggressive on the presentation, to a fault.

The owners dinner on Tuesday was not as fun this year. However we did meet some great people. One in our family party did the Mexican scream contest and was forever recognized even in town due to his unique beer goggles.

Most of the Presi and Pent units have washer and dryer. There is a laundry mat on sight. Wash is $5, dry is $2, and detergent is extra. If you are willing to take your laundry to town, there are a few laundry mats that will wash, dry and fold for $60 pesos a load, which works out to about $4.50 load.

When we were there, the exchange rate was $14.5 US to $1 peso. During the time we were there the rate dropped and fluctuated from as low as $13 to $1. Best advise is to pay in pesos. Exchange your money at the front desk. If you pay in US $, you can never predict the change, and it is generally given in pesos. It is not uncommon to be short changed if you pay in US $.

We did many activities including: Baja's ATV, Baja's jetski, Baja's banana ride (the teens favorite), snorkel, and Pez Gato sunset tour. As always, the activites were enjoyable. You can get discount prices if you book with the HDM concierge.

Our family came to Cabo in stages. Phone calls are expensive from Mexico to the US. We had our cell phones switched to an international plan before we went down so that we could continue to stay in touch both in the US and while we were all in Cabo. If you don't have cell phones, you can purchase international calling cards, but the price fluctuates depending on where you purchase them. I would check into buying them in the US before you leave.

If you don't rent a car, and will need transportation from the airport, book Transcabo online before you get there. I think it is $30 P/P round trip. They will wait outside the airport doors for you. Walk directly past the timeshare people at the airport. However, if you want free transportation from the airport and either cash or activities are in your schedule, stop at the timeshare counter and book a tour. They will give great gifts if you are persistent. Granted, you will give up an entire morning for a timeshare presentation at another resort, but the food is generally good, and the gifts are well worth it in my opinion. It is not uncommon to be offered up to $300 cash and a taxi to your resort. You will have to leave a cash deposit to guarantee your presence, but it is usually minimal. We met one family that did a presentation every day, and made money on their Cabo trip!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OregonMom-of-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Ater reading many of the reviews, I was concerned that we would not enjoy our week at Haceinda Del Mar. We were there February 28-March 7 and loved every minute of it. The rooms are just beautiful, they are cleaned every day, and I loved the jacuzzi tub on the balcony.

The restaurants were great. We especially loved Girasols for Mexican food and Le Cortez for steaks (and a great view) . We had lunch pretty much every day on the beach from Tortuga's bar and the food there was great, too. We arrived a little late at Tomatoes for the grill and the meat was cooked perfectly, but the potatoes, vegies, and rice were old. We did eat at Pitahayna's one night. The food and service was excellent. It was the most pricy of all the restaurants, but it was very classy.

All in all, we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starzLexington_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Our first visit to Cabo, at the Hacienda del Mar surely won't be our last. The property, staff and whale watching from our private beach were absolutely incredible. The resort has several pools, 2 of which are infinity style that seem to flow into the sea.

Our room was in the vacation club and consisted of 2 queen beds which were very comfy, and a kitchenette with all the ameneties. There was a sitting room, a great balcony with a view of the sea, and a jacuzzi tub in the bath.

Food was expensive on the resort, as others have mentioned. There is a Sam's club, Costco, and Walmart nearby that you could stock your room with.

All in all the trip was great. Fishing, golfing, or just laying on the beach are all great when it is 80 degrees and sunny everyday.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — beach and the grounds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jgatROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
#20 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
5.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
2.0 mi away
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Property: Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Address: Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Lote D, Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing