We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed at The riu palace oct 28-nov 4 2011. Resort was beautiful and very clean. Food was great, lots of selection. Found out our last full day that their are two lunch buffets. The regular one in the middle of the two pools and the lunch buffet at the mexican restaurant on the left of the noisy pool. Preferred the latter as they had a huge selection of italian favourites, including more fresh salads, and hard ice cream. Glad we didn't find it til the last day as we would have gained even more pounds. LOL. Trip to Lovers beach was great. Went with the resort. Don't pay more than 7 dollars per person return. You can talk them down and they will take it.

Went into town for Halloween on the Sat night. What a blast. If you are looking for next year at the same time check it out.

Have stayed at the Riu Santa Fe three times previously, and enjoyed the palace more. Found a more mature cliental and more premium choices for booze. More stairs, but elevators are available.

Overall a great trip and we will be returning!

Room Tip: Check out the other lunch buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,048 - 4,054 of 6,853 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I stayed there the week of October 31st-Nov 7th for our honeymoon and had a great time!! The staff immediately greeted us with drinks and were friendly and honest the entire trip. The service was beyond excellent throughout the resort and our room was cleaned and stocked daily. The hotel was right on the beach and we were able to walk downtown on the beach (about one mile walk). Pool bars were extremely fun and the bars offered a great selection of high quality liquor. We were able to make reservations for all the specialty restaurants, we just had to get up early and be at the front desk at 7:00 am one morning but it is def worth it!! The rooms and hotel were very clean and the air conditioning worked great. It can be a little noisy at night from people coming back from the bars but we just turned on the air conditioning and it was fine. We used the safe and had no problems with theft. We experienced some frustration at the airport when we arrived due to the time-share salesmen so our advice is to keep walking and ignore them. They will try to sell you packages for excursions for a discounted price but you have to sit at a 3-4 hr timeshare seminar. We walked downtown and booked excursions through Baja Escape (its a little kiosk located next to the Mango Deck Bar at the Marina) and they offered great prices and it was legit. We did the ATV tour and loved it! Snorkling was also fun and it was all you can drink and eat for $35! You can also book excursions through the resort but you just pay a little bit more. Also consider riding the city bus. It costs .80 per trip, will take you downtown and is a safe ride. Overall, Riu Palace is a great resort and we look forward to going back!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndreaK201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

3rd time back to the Riu Palace in Cabo within a year. We've previously stayed at the Sandals chain in the Caribbean and do feel the entertainment and food is better with that chain - however, that being said - the Riu is an insanely great value.

Rooms:
4th floor view is great. Downside: our room did have a persistent sewage odor different times of the day. At times, nothing, other times, yucky. Really hard beds - neck ache every day.

Staff:
Can't say enough good things about the staff - these people work hard, are friendly, and, and are a huge reason why we return. I hope the Riu recognizes their value. I already miss some who have moved on to other locations. Thanks to Leonel, Berta, Luis, Jesus, and Esmeralda for helping me practice my Spanish ! Emi - you treated us like royalty! Lulu - great seeing you again!

Food:
Really enjoyed the Krystal, and the Mexican. Steakhouse was okay, didn't try the Japanese. The buffet was always great. Buffet servers & preparers always wonderful. Every morning, we brought our breakfast up from the buffet to the lobby bar overlooking Land's End...great place to eat breakfast!

Drinks:
Riu seemed to have changed their champagne for the better - really enjoyed it this time. Wine still so-so, very light. Sometimes wondered if certain distinct brands were watered down - the smell & taste were different. If that's the case, I wish they would just let you know they're out of this or that vs. watering it down. But I don't place that on the bartenders....this is a management thing.

Entertainment:
Wish they had more live music. They had some limited, however, seemed to have been cut down from prior stays. Also - still would recommend that the band play on the stage (more audience connection) vs. up on the platform. Not a good setup. Still enjoyed the piano music in the lobby bar, but still wish that would go longer too.

Guests:
Ran into a few unruly ones that at times put a damper on enjoyment. Bummer - Besides the guests, I'm sure the staff doesn't need to deal with this...

Overall - Great value. Great location. The best staff.

Room Tip: 4th floor - above the trees - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PalmTreeAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We traveled 11/2 to 11/9 and had a wonderful time! Always perfect weather in Cabo....blue skies and sunshine all day! ALL the reviews are spot on with how immaculate this resort is kept. People are cleaning everywhere all day every day. Pool had Cholorine added several times a day (we sat by him when he was doing it). Help is happy, helpful and we tipped everyone we came in contact with. At the pool all day $10 tip is nothing for the many trips they made bringing us cocktails, and they were SO appreciative. Robbie is the absolute best! Funniest entertainer ever and makes everyone laugh around the party pool every day. We just loved him and wish we too would have thought to tip him....they work 12 hours day, live on the premises and make VERY little income, and work very hard to be sure we all have a good time. We ate at all the restaurants and they were excellent! Only the Krystal must be booked the day of, but I did not make reserves till 9:00 a.m. and we got in for the 9:00 p.m. second serving. (and two empty tables too). Late to eat, but when you don't leave pool till 6ish, gives you time to clean up, change and meet upstairs in the open air bar deck for cocktails before dinner. SO gorgeous! You can walk up (we did) one night to Steak House and just waited to see if there were no shows. 3 parties did the same and we all were seated with no reservations. Drinks are definetly watered down, but there are plenty of super drunk people, so that is a good thing, can't image how wild it would get if they drank that much with fully loaded alcohol. We just asked for top shelf and asked for double shot or floater on top and figured we got a normal amount of alcohol this way. Again, what do you expect? Get straight Vodka and a separate glass of whatever your mixer is, can't go wrong that way and they could care less. We brought our own insulated cooler cups, which I highly recommend to keep drinks cold.

Started in room 3120 was corner and you looked right into other deck/room where building turned. Moved rooms and ended up in 2143,(actually the 3rd floor up from ground) and had a great view of the rocks/ocean. I will try to post a map of grounds to show you where rooms are. We loved this room since so close to stairs, across infinity edge water and we were at our lounge chairs by pool all day! Also had NO noise at all from carts (end of hall must help). we have had that before, but absolutely NO loud people or noise this time at all. Yes lots of stairs but need the exercise with all the food and drinks! Beach was much calmer this time versus the other summer months we have visited. Went downtown and ate at Pantagonia (highly recommend if you love steak, and get the variety meat for two), ate at The Winery (excellent wines which you can't find in Mexico) owned by a CA man, excellent food too, and lastly went to Marisco (sp?) Mazatlan. Excellent stuffed snapper with crab and shrimp wrapped in Bacon for only $18. SO good! Great Margarita's too.
All in all we love Cabo for its guaranteed good weather, and the RIU Palace for its great customer service and cleanliness. Oh and I left my diamond earrings and Movado watch out two different times (too much Vodka) and one time we left my wallet with lots of cash out and maid was in the room doing turn down service and nothing was EVER touched! Don't recommend, but have never had an issue here. We also left her a tip on the bed for 3 days and she never took it so had to hunt maid down and hand it to her!

Room Tip: See layout in photo below. Room 3132 to 3135 are in a taller building overlooking pool with excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Just got back from Cabo San Lucas and my husband and I both said we would go again. We have travelled to several 'all inclusives" in the Caribbean including the Dominican Republic, Cuba, Barbados and Jamaica. Also other "all inclusives" in Puerto Vallarta Mexico and not one of them would I recommend more highly than the Rui Palace in Cabo San Lucas. It was a fabulous vacation! The town of Cabo San Lucas has something for everyone (shopping, sight seeing, and great restaurants) and the resort was close enough to enjoy the town. The resort itself was clean and the staff were VERY helpful and the service was fabulous. The only negative that I would have is that the beach is difficult to walk along because of the slope to the ocean. Also this resort was not "overrun" with kids and "drunken idiots"..it appeared to cater to a "quieter" crowd.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had a beautiful ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mnchicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Very good stay. Rooms and whole complex were very neat and clean. Staff are brilliant. Make sure you tip. Stay away from the room phone though. A 6 minute call to Australia cost $45usd. Rookie mistake.

We didn't bother with booking any of the restaurants as we didn't want to be locked into a time and you had to line up at 7am to reserve a spot....pffft. In any case we found the buffet great. Plenty of choices plus they will order for your taste if you ask.

Found it very safe also.

Main complaint is the idiots who put towels on the prime pool seats at 6am then don't come back until after lunch.

There is a bus that leaves from the front gate and goes to Cabo for $1us each way. Taxis are $15. Bus is good, safe but bumpy. Cabo s no that great anyway. Good for bars.

The shows at night at the Palace are a bit cheesy but not a bad laugh.

All in all a really good place to relax. All-inclusive is good but you only get top-shelf if you specifically ask. But no problems with the generic anyway.

Pools a great but usually one is the party pool and the other is quiet so pick your spot.

Great spot with nice views but swimming is not recommended due to rips. Walk 10 minutes nearby or get water taxi.

Loved the place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We kept saying throughout our trip "This is the best vacation of our lives, and when can we come back!" Traveled with my husband for our 5th wedding anniversary over halloween for 5 nights. I read many many reviews before leaving for our trip, the good reviews were accurate and the bad reviews must be very picky people. This was our 1st all inclusive experience but I still say the bad reviews are unjust.

We noticed that the staff was ALWAYS working. I think I saw only one person once not working and it was at 2am at the front desk and he looked to be doing paper work anyway. We felt as if we were the only people there and we were just as important as anyone else.

The room was spotless, along with the rest of the hotel. Im a germaphobe when it comes to hotels and I didnt even have the urge to lysol anything.We had a Junior suit on the 4th floor, suposedly ocean view but seem more a partial. We didnt complain as we got it on a discounted rate anyways and it was in a perfect location near the lobby on the quiet side.

The in room fridge was stocked daily and we always had plenty of bottled water to take with us anywhere we went. And beer!

There are a lot of stairs, but once you figure out where elevators and bathrooms are its quite easy to navigate the grounds.

The only problems we encountered, was that twice we had to go to the front desk to get new keys (they would quit working for our door) and that the air conditioning went out for 3 days. It was out throughout the resort but somehow the only places that got warm were the rooms. We left our door open at night and it was nice to hear the ocean anways.

The reivews about the resteraunts and reservaations are accurate. We had to get in line at 6:45am one morning to make our reservation at Krystal. And like they all say the resteraunt was only half full that night. We refused to get up that early again so the next time it was 9 by the time we made one and all we could get was a 2nd seating a day later.

We ate at Krystal, very good but gourmet and had to ask how to eat some of it! We also ate at the stakehouse which was average but good, could have been worse! Otherwise we were at the dinner buffet or room service. It became routine the breakfast lunch and dinner buffets but all the food was good and we never got sick. Breakfast was by far the best.

Drinks were plentiful and always refilled at the pool, bar, or tables. If you said no to alcohol they would give you a strange look and still try and give you more. We didnt find them to be watered down at all, but you would have to ask for premium. We never did. They didn't have Crowne which would be my husbands only complaint.

We would tip when service was above average, which they always appreciated. We tipped at the begining and end of the week for the maid. I would say thats a for sure, you should tip for.

We saw a couple shows, one of them being Halloween which was a lot of fun. They were all very well done and professional.

Robby is a must see at the shows and activity pool, he was always a character and now I wish we would have given him a tip at the end of the week.

The quiet pool was very nice and relaxing, I found pool side service to be better on this side. The activity side always had something goign on and music playing.

The two swim up bars on both sides were always nice to be at. They appeared clean, contrary to some reviews.

Reviewers also stated the loud housekeeping carts in the hallways in the morning. We never encrountered this and usually had maid service between 10am and noon so we were out of the room anyway.

True- There is no swimming in front of the resort. Cabs are 12 dollars into town about a 10 minute cab ride. We walked half way to the marina to The Office bar and took about 20 minutes. The Riu Palace is located at the end of the beach and is secluded and quiet and perfect.

When we return to Cabo someday we would have no hesitations staying at this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank missa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,007 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
8,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose, km 4.5 | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £202 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 692
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing